WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

3D is a Health and Hygiene Risk?

Posted: February 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
3D is a Health and Hygiene Risk?Submit Comment
It's pretty obvious that 3D is here to stay considering that Hollywood has currently over thirty 3D movies in the pipeline and manufacturers are already releasing 3D television sets. But not everyone is happy with the new trend.

The Italian health ministry has confiscated about 7,000 sets of 3D glasses from cinemas, claiming that they pose hygiene problems if not properly cleaned between screenings.

Meanwhile, University of California Berkeley has determined that 3D movies can cause eye strain, blurred vision and headaches. Martin Banks, professor of optometry at Berkeley, said that 3D doesn't allow our eyes to follow the normal rules since we're focusing on things both far and near at the same time.

"You're taking that normal relationship which has been coupled in the brain for years and you're changing it. And what we showed is that can cause fatigue," Banks explained, adding that he has already received word from movie producers that they will make adjustments to reduce eye strain.

Source: Reuters, VOANews


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:14:05 AM

only the ones that feature James Cameron's work
johnny_boy writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:48:46 AM

Wow they just realized 3d glasses can mess up your eyes?! Next thing they'll tell us is that popcorn is very high in sodium
wonderBOY writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:51:43 AM

you have to give back the glasses in aus they make you throw them in a recycle bin or keep them
Ranma-Irias writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:52:06 AM

3D glasses gives you aids!
Theatrdude writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:54:48 AM

3D glasses killed my father and raped my mother.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:10:14 AM

3D glasses is a used condom from the guys who got all the known sex diseases from having sex with lindsay lohan that is in your face.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:29:42 AM

"University of California Berkeley has determined that 3D movies can cause eye strain, blurred vision and headaches."

Watching Bourne movies, porn, or Keeping Up with the Kardasians has been known to produce the same ailments, so this proves nothing. Something tells me the brilliant minds at Cal Berkeley are researching the 3D effect in the same labs they're using for medicinal marijuana testing :-)

rocketman writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 8:05:47 AM

Got to admit about an hour into Avatar i kept taking my glsses off partly due to a vauge headache/eye strain and partly through sheer boredom.I was left with a stinker of a headache after the film for about 3 hours.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 8:16:11 AM

^^^ Funny most people who saw the 2D version a
had the same reaction.
rocketman writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 8:20:41 AM

Ha,yeah twas a very ropey film effects aside,i only perked up when humans started shooting blue rubber hippies.
Kurskij writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 9:16:54 AM

Yo, italians, as we know from your porn you started shaving pubes waaaaay in the 90's. Talk about hygiene.

"University of California Berkeley has determined that 3D movies can cause eye strain, blurred vision and headaches".

Also 3D movies can cause pretty nice blowjobs. I've determined that from taking a girl to see Avatar in IMAX. And I don't even have a Ph.D!

CCBlev writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 9:30:31 AM

Well I'm suing James Cameron, wearing those 3D glasses for seeing Avatar gave me herpes, the Bastard.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 10:37:24 AM

Well I DID have radioactive j*zz in my pants after watching the tron legacy trailer in Imax 3-D, so I concur with this article.
pomme writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 10:49:54 AM

James Cameron's tastes are like tobacco:it kills!
ProfMovies writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 10:59:11 AM

In al seriousness, 3D is what Hollywood HOPES will stem the huge migration away from theaters.
But, it's not really about gimmicks, and bells & whistles; it's about making quality movies!

And that is something Hollywood grows increasingly incapable of being able to do.
OneTime writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 11:55:23 AM

after i watch a 3d movie i make sure to whipe those glasses against my anus after sitting down for a few hours.
shayhiri writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 1:22:00 PM

FCUK 3D!!

in 3d
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 1:51:27 PM

When I get my 3D glasses, I lick them because I like cold sores.

Also... if a headache comes on, I find the distraction of stroking the girl next to me (sometimes I know who she is, sometimes not... sometimes some else's girlfriend), I find fondling her nipples, or stroking her clit helps.

I'll also invite my new female friend to stick her hand into my pockets (I cut the bottom of them out).

So all in all... I like 3D.
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 2:03:07 PM

"You're taking that normal relationship which has been coupled in the brain for years and you're changing it."

Yeah --- Heaven forbid we give our brains a new task to adapt too. Does Dr. Martin the douche want us all to just remain 'another brick in the wall' and avoid evolution or stretching the body-mind barrier?! f*cking box-thinker!

pjmbdm writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 2:26:47 PM

Damn! Maybe I'll second guess going to watch Captain EO today......nah!
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 2:29:28 PM

Weren't the Italians bitching about something else in cinema only a week or two... what was that (that's how much attention I gave it)? Did they remove a movie from their theaters...

Oh right... Paranormal was scaring people.

Whiny bitches!

I'll bet every Sicilian Mob Boss is rolling over in their graves right now.
OneTime writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 2:30:44 PM

why dont they jsut sell 3d glasses...so u can have ur own...someone should market 3d glas....uh....nm
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 5:03:30 PM

VD is also a Health and Hygiene problem.
barley_cat writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:13:37 PM

These glasses are only health risks if you put them somewhere you shouldn't then the next idiot decides to lick them!

In the Odeon you pay like 80p on top of your ticket to buy the glasses, then you take them home and take them to the next 3D movie you see.

Why can't the Italians do that?

Oh yer- 'cos they're stooopid.

You know what a real health risk is? Re-using condoms!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:14:24 PM

well ... if you stick 'em up your ass then maybe, just maybe ... the next person wearing them may get health problems ... it's a stretch, i know.

also i wish the Italians would stop their bitching

"claiming that they pose hygiene problems if not properly cleaned between screenings."

you know how to solve problem, you damn retards? f*ckING CLEAN THEM AFTER EVERY SHOW!it's not that damn hard ...


Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:15:22 PM

'...the next idiot decides to lick them!'

HEY! I represent that!

As for used condoms... wow, don't look at what's hangin' over my shower rod then.
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:26:01 PM

Is the dago in the middle of that picture picking his nose?!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:55:51 PM

I love the picture on the article.

1st row: Michael Douglas.
2nd row: Dude having a good nose pick.
3rd row: ''sh*t my eyes have been burnt out''
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:57:28 PM

Also ill note that the guy in the bottom right is sniffing that girls hair.

Is this you Ranger?
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 8:59:56 PM

No, I'm just out of frame diddling a little girl just out of Sunday school (her pleated skirt and tickle me Elmo panties were just too much!).

RE: Michael Douglas... LOL!
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 9:04:29 PM

Unlike COC's 'Tickle me Emo!' panties encrusted with his Dad's spooch!
BigUnit writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 9:42:41 PM

obviously lol
Mudders writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:26:15 AM

in new zealand we just pay for them and use them again when there is another one coming out....but its not something id be in a hurry to see again
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 1:00:53 AM

You're talking about COC's mother, aren't you?
masht7 writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 1:26:03 AM

So 3d can give you an STD?
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 1:28:22 AM

COC - you want to get your dad out of your mouth and answer that one please?
barley_cat writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 7:58:39 AM

@ Ranger- you're dirt lol. I suppose the good thing is that you're actually using condoms! Safe sex and all that!

After all Durex is responsible for preventing the birth of retards since 19 something!

Shame COC's parents used a sh*tty Trojan.
ChadRo writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 11:49:50 AM

This is the Law of Natural Selection at work. These are the same people that ate paint chips as kids and expect the government to take care of them.

Here Geniuses, if the 3D bugs your ittle peepers, don't watch the damn thing in 3D.
warlord writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:13:33 PM

if you put it that the crazies should have been in 3d
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 2:19:11 PM

@Barley - lol. I have a few boxes of Durex as we speak (2 week supply). Trojan does however make a 'Twisted Pleasure' and a 'Sensation or Her - Ribbed' that gets the ladies barking like Harp Seals and squirting like Geoducks... so it's all good.

@ChadRo - 'if the 3D bugs your ittle peepers, don't watch the damn thing in 3D.' --- EXACTLY!
barley_cat writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 4:15:25 PM

Lol Ranger, Durex have them too, but it seems to me, that if you need that "extra pleasure" then you just aint doing it right boy! :p
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 5:25:07 PM

The ladies wear me out, and honestly I care less these days.

Were it not for the condoms doing their part, I don't think I'd care to f*ck anymore. As there is that cuddling, hogging the sheets, they wanting to stay over, get serviced again, they telling me 'what's on their minds', etc. that most certainly ensues afterward...

It's a f*cking headache.

encoreyourface writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 8:27:35 PM

that's why it's better when there dead.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 11:44:45 PM

WORD!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved