WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Comic-Con Poster for "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Jul 21st, 2014
"Dawn of the Planet of the Apes" Remains on Top at Box Office, "Sex Tape" Bombs
Jul 21st, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Says Hercules Would Beat Superman in a Fight
Jul 21st, 2014
First Teaser Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler"
Jul 21st, 2014
"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21
Jul 21st, 2014
Legendary Actor James Garner Dead at 86
Jul 20th, 2014
First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive
Jul 20th, 2014
Kevin Sorbo is Angry He Didn't Get a Cameo in "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
Batman and Superman Will Not Appear in "The Flash" or "Arrow" TV Series
Jul 20th, 2014
"Watchmen" Creator Alan Moore Asks Fans to Boycott "Hercules" Film
Jul 20th, 2014
James Gunn Says He'll Direct "Guardians of the Galaxy 2," If The Sequel Happens
Jul 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith and Bruce Willis Defend "Cop Out"

Posted: February 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith and Bruce Willis Defend "Cop Out"Submit Comment
I know lots of people who enjoyed "Cop Out" (including me), but I also know about ten times the amount of people who hated it. In fact, most film critics had nothing but bad things to say about the movie.

To fight back, director Kevin Smith has now taken it to Twitter to defend his creation. And his message is simple: if you didn't like "Cop Out" then there's something wrong with you.

He said: "A movie like COP OUT, while an easy target for critics, is clearly not intended to impress those prone to show off their cinema erudition. Critics can stab at COP OUT with their poison pens all they want, but it still doesn't change the fact that it's a funny flick."

Meanwhile, Bruce Willis is claiming that the reason he took a role in "Cop Out" is because he hates playing cops. "There's only so many times you can do a scene running down the road with two guns in your hand, screaming and take it seriously," he said. "You just start laughing in the middle of the take. I'm sick of playing cops, that's why I wanted to do 'Cop Out' that was just about funny cops."

Source: Twitter, PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:15:46 AM

a valid point, you make a stupid movie just for the hell of it sometimes

this is one of those

Don't get me wrong, it has no story and is a sh*t scripted film in parts but the fun is there
@nchorman writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:28:17 AM

i agree...sometimes its these stupid movies that give you a sense of humour...i love movies like meet the spartans or the scary movie franchise...but lets admit it...they can be quite terrible in the critic department.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:35:43 AM

I don't think thats his message Alex lol He's just saying its not an oscar worthy movie by all means nor was it ever supposed to be taken seriously. All the critics are just having a field day on bashing anything they can watch thats remotely cheesy. The critics won't stop me from seeing this. It still looks like a fun ass movie. Notice how i said fun and not funny for all you psychos who claim its not funny at all.
alexgi writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:39:47 AM

@Ted Mosby: Smith said that those critics who didn't like his movie are the ones who feel that they need to show off their film knowledge.

I know plenty of people who hated "Cop Out" and they have nothing to prove and definitely not trying to show off.
wonderBOY writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:40:18 AM

johnny depp is in alice in wonderland for only 18mins 36secs
@nchorman writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:50:44 AM

well its a movie made for fun..and thats the end of the story...BOOOM
fade out*
johnny_boy writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 6:51:56 AM

If Kevin smith defended that movie like he would a Twinkie, then it must be in good, barbee-q soaked hands.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:55:28 AM

Hello, this happens everytime a KS movie comes out. He's never had critical support or mass appeal. Most people either love or hate his films. Its funny that Smith even cares anymore what the critics have to say. Take some notes from Michael Bay and learn how NOT to give a f*ck.
Kurskij writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:56:24 AM

That's a cheap argument. Show off cinema knowledge? On Cop Out? How the f*ck can you possibly do that?

The movie itself is so-so. Had it's moments, but mostly thanks to Scott.
Kurskij writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 8:00:32 AM

@Sac

It's a lot easier for Bay not to give a f*ck - his movies almost always hit the bank, he shoots Victoria's Secret commercials, f*cks Playboy models. Also he's pretty damn fit.

The only way Bay will thrown out of a plane is if he bangs a stewardess on the flight deck. Wait, he won't - he most likely has his own plane.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 8:14:32 AM

I wonder if Smith thinks that his poor returns are down to the critics now.
ProfMovies writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 11:17:52 AM

A salt & pepper buudy cop movie.
Welcome to the '80's!
Think of something NEW, please!

And Kevin Smith needs to work on his diet before making any more movies!!!!
Peter Jackson did it, dude; so can you!

Put down the cookies and pick up some inspiration!
MattC903 writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 11:56:50 AM

my opinion means nothing but but some human beings have to lighten up.. you people actually think kevin smith was directing this thinking "I can feel the oscar in my hands already". lighten the f*ck up people.
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 1:54:13 PM

I think if Kevin feels the need to 'defend' his work, even HE knows it's bad. And not the 'good-bad' of some movies. This just sounds 'bad-bad'

As for his comment: '... something is wrong with you.' f*ck off fat ass! Everyone is entitles to their opinion (like, you're really, REALLY FAT!). So go eat your anger away. Go break another toilet. And go lick your failed box office wounds elsewhere, you sour grapes, squat to piss, whiny bitch!
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 1:57:43 PM

entitles = entitled.
Aingx writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 2:46:36 PM

Nothing that Smith or Willis says can 'defend' the fact that Tracy Morgan is a sh*t-poor 'actor.' The man just simply isn't funny and it ruined the whole film; that and the fact that Smith SOLD OUT to Warner.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 3:06:09 PM

@Alex
true... I just think it's funny when critics have to evaluate a movie that isn't supposed to be taken seriously. Oh well I still haven't seen the movie yet so i can't really say my 2 cents about it so if people hate it, so be it. Long as it's not written by Kev it's not a huge deal to me. I'm glad you were one of the few people to actually ADMIT they ENJOYED the movie Alex, and not completely bash it.
SofaKing writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 3:22:32 PM

Critics are d*ckheads and I rarely agree with them, thats why I like this site you people are normal... ok, not normal but not pretentious faggots with a job I would kill for. I looked up the soon to be released straight to DVD/BluRay Boondocks Saints 2 on Rottentomatoes and they bashed the hell out of it. It actually got 5% better than the original which I love, so I am definately buying it. f*ck the critics!
SofaKing writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 3:24:01 PM

On a "lighter" note have you guys seen Horatio Sanz lately? He lost like 50 or 60 lbs, I didn't even recognize him... Kevin just lay off snacks man.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 3:26:06 PM

@SofaKing
I'm with you brotha, We only have to wait a little over a week for BS2. Totally buying that.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 3:31:06 PM

@SofaKing
YES! i saw him on Late Night w/ Jimmy Fallon singing "I wish it was christmas today", which is a classic skit he did years ago with Kattan, Jimmy, and tracey morgan on SNL. This time he did it with Jimmy & the lead singer of the Strokers. Horatio killed it and the song gets stuck in my head haha
Snarebeast writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 3:37:49 PM

See, I'm not getting a bitter vibe from his comment at all. It doesn't come off as "something is wrong with them if they didn't like it!". It's more of a "I didn't really make it with critics in mind. I liked it, so I'm good".

Having said that, I can't comment on the overall quality of the movie because I haven't seen it. And I might not see it because, despite being a Kevin Smith fan, it just doesn't look very funny.
JazzyJD writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 4:03:27 PM

This flick is just an innocent attempt to make the audience laugh. Lower or raise the bar of expectation based on the creator's intention. Critics raise the bar tremendously for Smith flicks then lower it for the undeserved.

Avatar, for example, had amazing special effects. Visually, this movie did not disappoint and I loved it for that. It also harnessed some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard in my life. Not to mention a story that just rips off Pocahontas and rubs in a little dances with wolves and Furngully. NO ONE SAYS sh*t, and I wouldn't either, had this movie not had the hype of being over a decade in the making. Critics had this movie at 5 stars before even seeing it, and they had cop out at no stars before seeing it.
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 4:36:02 PM

Anyone noticing Kevin Smith's ongoing theme? Cop Out sucks so it's the fault of critics and the audience. He's too fat for an airplane seat it's Southwest's fault. He's accused of making a leftist Red State movie cause he says it'll be a leftist slam so it's the fans' fault for calling him on it. No one will fund his box office flops cause he has no talent but it's the fans' fault so they need to donate money to fund his next turd. Smith is fat and lethargic from gorging on foot and weed but I'm sure that's someone else's fault too. The way he killed off those Mooby execs in Dogma he probably blames McDonald's for his morbid obesity. That fat bastard's only talent is writing and filming mildly amusing monologues. Smith was a promising amateur independent director who never evolved past amateur. Kevin Smith has really become an unappealing no-talent Hollywood douche.
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 4:42:30 PM

Well said.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:22:01 PM

@Hideous-i agree, there does seem to be a pattern ... "it f*cking wasn't MY f*cking fault he f*cking died,he f*cking made my f*cking foot hit his f*cking throat!!"
Ranger writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 7:33:06 PM

Does Kevin really think crtics sway a lot of people's opinions over seeing a movie or not?

I've GONE TO MORE movies the critics have panned than I could count and enjoyed them very much.

It's word of mouth that tanks a movie - friends talking with friends.

And Kevin - (SPOILER AHEAD): like ALL business, Hollyweird is driven by $. And people VOTE with their $'s.

If your movie tanks at the box office... it sucks! Live with that knowledge whilst you pound back another case of Ding Dongs you whiny, fat c*nt!

We all have our thoughts on Avatar. Was the story original... no. Were the effects fab... yes (which is how Cameron marketed it as - a visual spectacular). Not ONCE did he say the storyline was the end-all, be-all of scripts. IS the movie (Avatar) successful... of course. ANYone that denies that is simple (not saying they had to like it). But to deny the OBVIOUS ($'s brought it).

Thus, KEVIN... PEOPLE THINK YOUR MOVIE SUCKS sh*t LIKE YOUR MOUTH DOES A TABLE FULL OF SWEETS. DEAL WITH IT!

Bitching that 'there's something wrong with us' (I know he didn't say that directly) - is NOT going to gain you fans or butts in the seats you dumb sh*t!

You made a movie with Bruce Willis in it that failed at the box office... nice job. Say you failed and move on.
Aingx writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 9:50:30 PM

Hideous pretty much hit the nail on the head.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 11:45:45 PM

that he did ...
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:10:23 AM

Yep.
Mudders writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:22:40 AM

Bruce Willis is claiming that the reason he took a role in "Cop Out" is because he hates playing cops. "There's only so many times you can do a scene running down the road with two guns in your hand, screaming and take it seriously," he said. "You just start laughing in the middle of the take. I'm sick of playing cops, that's why I wanted to do 'Cop Out' that was just about funny cops."

so does this mean die hard 5 isnt on the cards now??
HideousSecretion writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:22:51 AM

Thanks.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:36:05 AM

@Mudders - great point. I'm starting to see Bruce forget what he's said from one day to the next.
masht7 writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 1:24:46 AM

I have to admit, I really like action comedy films with chessy bits and cliches, its what makes it a good comedy. But not a sh*t load of it.
telur writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 4:59:43 AM

the title should be CRAP OUT
Wallace writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 5:45:00 AM

Sorry guys, there's nothing to defend.
Rodge88 writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 12:39:03 PM

I have yet to see the movie, but honestly.. there is much better choices than Tracy Morgan. Chris Rock or Chris Tucker would have been a way better choice.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2010 at 4:06:35 PM

The critics didn't hurt ticket sales to this movie. Nobody here on WP wanted to see this movie more than I did. But from listening to the viewers on here (and not the critics), I'll await it's appearance on my movie channel.

Sorry Kevin, the people have spoken (with their $'s). This movie sucks!
Snarebeast writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 2:10:08 AM

I'm sorry, I guess I just don't see where all this talk of him blaming his fans and critics for his troubles are coming from. Seriously. In that comment he doesn't say they're wrong for their opinions, he merely says that it wasn't meant to impress them. Furthermore, he doesn't lash out, nor has he ever, lashed out at his fans. Whether he may think negatively of them or not (because let's face it, if he loses his fans then he's probably not gonna be able to pay the bills).

He has never been one to blame others for his problems, whether it be food or weed. If he has, it's always been jokingly. I don't see where people are getting these ideas from. And sure, maybe his movies have gotten bigger budgets and, from the sound of it, gotten worse, but I don't think he's much changed from the person he was when he started. Is that a problem? Possibly. But as far as his personality goes it still makes him likable in my eyes.

Having said that, the backlash I'm seeing from people isn't shocking. He's always had those people who talk him down.
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2010 at 9:29:34 AM

And he eats because he's angry...

And he's angry because he eats.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Michael Bay Responds to Negative Criticism of "Transformers: Age of Extinction"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved