WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Damon Wants "Bourne" Prequel, Without Him

Posted: February 27th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Damon Wants "Bourne" Prequel, Without HimSubmit Comment
At the press junket for "The Green Zone," both director Paul Greengrass and star Matt Damon were asked about the status of the fourth Jason Bourne movie.

"I just love the Bourne franchise and I owe it a great deal, and I gave my all on the two films that I made," said Greengrass. "But when I was honest with myself last Autumn, and I was starting to get going on other things, you just come to a point where you realize you've done it. You don't have anything more to contribute to a franchise that needs to continue obviously, and in order to continue, a franchise needs to be rebooted and reenergized by new perspectives."

He added that there was never an argument between himself and Universal Pictures that caused him to leave the franchise. In fact, he spent some time considering returning for one more film, but in the end realized that he wanted to do other things. "I explained it to them," said Greengrass. "We had a very nice discussion -- they were completely understanding -- and I said 'We'll make some other movies.' They said 'Excellent.'"

Later in the press conference, Damon said the following about the franchise: "I think they have a good way to do a prequel with someone else, and basically make it about the Bourne identity, the actual identity. Any studio is interested in making it go on and on and on, and it never will with our character because he's resolved his issues now. He's got his memory back three times now."

He continued: "I think what you could do is [make] some movies with another actor, anyone, whether it's Ryan Gosling or Russell Crowe or Denzel Washington, and he's Jason Bourne, and at the end of his one or two or three movies, you see them getting ready to pass the identity onto me, so it just becomes like a 007, it becomes the name that they give this certain person who is uniquely positioned."

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 6:50:19 AM

But the whole point is that Jason is chasing for his identity and he can't chase it forever and they can't just change the storyline.

And the Bourne-films are connected. They follow a chronological order. Bond-films have no real storyline that connects, besides having the same character. Therefore you can change actor. Bourne doesn't work that way.
SofaKing writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 7:14:59 AM

I don't hate the idea of a Bourne prequel, there was some interesting stuff going on that led up to his memory loss. But knowing H-Wood they'll find a way to screw it up.

Gary Coleman is Jason Bourne in the movie that started it all! Newly Bourne: "Birth Defects!"
@nchorman writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 7:29:11 AM

and so,a bourne without damon...thats like asking a pirates of the carribean movie without depp...absolute flop.but things can always work for the best
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 8:12:43 AM

Get that guy who played kirk's dad in Star Trek, he looks like a younger version of him!
KalVicious writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 8:37:41 AM

I hope they don't do another Jason Bourne film without Matt Damon. :(
KalVicious writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 8:38:09 AM

Also "SpookyCupcakes", that's Chris Hemsworth. :) Lol. :)
Agent Calavera writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 9:04:40 AM

GTFO! i thought it was Chris Pine with some makeup!

no way!
KalVicious writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 9:38:24 AM

Give me a break. :) Lol. :) I was just letting him know who it was.
masht7 writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 9:51:35 AM

WHAT! NO DAMON, NO BOURNE! NO sh*t PREQUEL!
Kurskij writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 10:21:20 AM

"We had a very nice discussion" - You will make this movie, you english sheepf*cker, or we'll hire the real Bournes and a couple of negros equipped with autogenous welder and a chainsaw so they'd do your ass!

"they were completely understanding" - You do understand that you'll never see your english puppy Mr.Picwic again, do you?

"and I said 'We'll make some other movies" - and then added - "Please, don't cut off my balls!"

They said 'Excellent.'"


SACdaddy writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 10:51:56 AM

The Bourne films gave me a headache anyway. Can't wait for them to reboot it with even shakier camerawork.
Rodge88 writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 12:23:37 PM

The only way I want a prequel is to have it animated like The Bourne Conspiracy. And I agree, no Damon = no Bourne. And there was only three Bourne books by Ludlum. The rest have been written by somebody else and haven't been received well.
Wallace writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 1:24:36 PM

Let it be.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 2:17:29 PM

@SofaKing - Bourne prequel starring Gary Coleman:

Get ready...




Bourne Defective!
SofaKing writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 2:22:04 PM

Dammit! That was way better than mine... I gotta go work on my material.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 2:24:53 PM

lol... you're generous, thank you.
0110100101010010011101000 writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 4:45:37 PM

MAT DAMON!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 7:37:23 PM

@Ranger-loL!

"they give this certain person who is uniquely positioned."

a dildo to shove up his ass? in that case it truly is Gary Coleman?


Osiris3eagle writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 7:48:14 PM

I think the idea of seeing how Bourne became an elite covert spy is a good idea, but without Damon it's destined for failure.
mariachi writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 12:34:20 AM

No more movies. They need a Bourne tv series that starts from the momemt of memory lose and have someone else take over the vision of the character. If SouthLAnd wasn't so good I'd want Ben Mckenzie for the role.
Nohands[NL] writes:
on February 28th, 2010 at 4:04:53 PM

No Damon, no Bourne, no Greengrass no Bourne...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved