WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Disney's New Strategy Kill "Ant-Man"?

Posted: February 26th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will DisneySubmit Comment
Even though Disney's 2009 hit "The Proposal" grossed $315 million on a $40 million budget, the studio has no plans to develop a sequel.

Producers of the film told NY Magazine that Disney's current strategy is to make only two kinds of films; $150 million-plus blockbusters with lots of special effects and built-in merchandising, and low budget productions.

Films like "The Proposal" do not fit into that formula anymore, but what about films based on such Marvel characters as "Ant-Man," "Iron Fist" and "Doctor Strange"?

"Iron Man" and "The Incredible Hulk" were both made for around $150 million and both were some of the more popular Marvel characters. "Ant-Man" is hardly well-known. So will Disney allocate only $5 million for it, or does this mean that we will never see "Ant-Man" on the big screen?

Of course another option is that Disney hands over $150 million to director Edgar Wright and makes "Ant-Man" a huge summer tentpole. After all, Wright is currently working on the second draft of the script.

Source: StudioBriefing, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 11:59:10 PM

We don't need to ever see Ant-Man aka Giant Man aka Pym drunkard, wife-abuser (not saying she doesn't deserve it... just saying I won't pay to watch someone else do it).
encoreyourface writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 11:59:37 PM

it would probably benefit them to make Ant-man an actually well-made film, then maybe they won't have to worry about him not being well known ...
Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 12:06:10 AM

This could star Lohan. She just parts her thighs... and ants show up!
telur writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 12:10:21 AM

what kind a name of Ant Man? Maybe later a superhero called Dog Man or p*ssy Man
Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 12:13:01 AM

COC will audition for the latter, no doubt.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 1:02:41 AM

This article is misleading due to the interpretation they're giving this.

The producers of "The Proposal" could have said whatever they wanted, doesn't mean it's actually the direction Disney is taking.

David Hoberman isn't president of Walt Disney Pictures anymore and Todd Lieberman has no particular connection to Disney so, whatever they may have said, it can't be considered decisive.

Disney certainly hasn't released anything that could substantiate the supposed new strategy.
Also, Disney Pictures has more than 60 movies in production right now, and most of them don't fall in either of those two categories, in terms of production costs.

Moreover, there's also the fact that Hoberman and Liebeman didn't specify what a Disney "low budget" movie would actually cost.
Maybe it means that, if a big budget movie will cost over $150 mil., then a low budget one would cost anything bellow that.
Maybe they'll consider $50 mil., or even $100 mil., a low budget. Who knows?

All in all, it seems to me that "Ant Man" is definitely NOT dead.

Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 1:05:19 AM

Damn!
nope.com writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 1:08:42 AM

wasn't Pixar doing this? If the quality is as good as The Incredibles it could work
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 2:00:12 AM

Maybe if they make a summer blockbuster of it, it will boosed the charater hype and sell more books. Such has happened with iron man, spiderman, and so on
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 3:15:24 AM

ant man sucks
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 5:38:01 AM

If it weren't for the fact that Edgar Wright was involved, I would have no interest. Ant-Man is a quite useless hero. I know he's supposed to have the strenght of ant, but since Superman is in the same team, that means f*ck all. And be able too shrink and communicate with insects? Big whoopie doo. His version of kryptonite is bug spray.

Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 5:40:08 AM

Or a big Dago's shoe!
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 7:58:17 AM

@FN - Superman is DC, Ant-man is Marvel, they aren't on the same team.
MattC903 writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 8:19:09 AM

all they need is a good teaser trailer then eventually a great trailer and those seats will be filled.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 8:25:50 AM

@Guitar: Right you are. Still, CA, Thor and The Hulk are all very strong dudes. Having a strong bug doesn't really help the team that much.
CCBlev writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 8:58:50 AM

who gives a sh*t I wasn't gonna watch it anywys.
VDODSON writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 9:12:54 AM

Nice joke Telur, but please do not use my avatar ever again, thank you.
Dre-EL writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 10:42:27 AM

Instead of using Pym, maybe they plan to use the new Ant Man and bring SHEILD and everyone else in the mix.
Dre-EL writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 10:46:36 AM

Sorry I cant remember the new Antman's name cause I dont keep up with that character at all. I only discovered him through World War Hulk.
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 11:30:50 AM

A studio like Disney would see 5 million dollars as a small budget movie. Whether Ant Man stays or goes depends on the amount of pre-production already completed and wether the studio suits think what they've seen will turn into box office cash.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 12:05:07 PM

Dr Strange should happen...if done right and in the right hands(Del Toro), it would kick-ass and make money...Ant-man? Hasn't Marvel learned that not every character needs to be a movie?
rabid writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 12:21:00 PM

It's retarded to think you can't make a good film for 5 million. Not a blockbuster sure, but you can still produce a good film for that amount.
Personally I think Ant-Man deserves more respect, but the character has alot of leeway as to use, so they could make a kids film out of it and it would still work. I'd even watch an animated Ant-Man movie.
warlord writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 2:31:59 PM

oh come on now you know disney can kill anything!
Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 2:52:53 PM

@rabid - sure a movie can be made for $5mil. Just not by Disney. They spend more on Craft Services.

Those in comics after I got out...

Isn't Ant Man old school... wasn't it the same Pym that dumped being Ant Man to become (just as lame) Giant Man?
barley_cat writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 6:33:27 PM

disney's going down-hill! I remember the good ol' times when Snow White was amazing and Aladin was the tits! Now they're taking on sh*t like High School Musi-crap and ruining everyones expectations for Disney.

Vanessa Hudgens is a whore.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 6:41:12 PM

@Ranger-yes it is the same person, and yes, those names are lame. his best persona i think is Yellowjacket ...
Kurskij writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 7:05:41 PM

Ant-man vs Slipper-Man and Raid-man.

Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 8:06:20 PM

'Vanessa Hudgens is a whore.' - lol.

@encore - I think Yellowjacket too was after my time in comics. It rings a bell though.

I can imagine the conversation around the table...

'Well... Ant Man... that sucks... he controls... ANTS?! WTF?!?!

'Well, ahhh... ok, let's say we make him Big. Y'know... like a Giant... man?!'



f*ck me!
Ranger writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 8:07:15 PM

And he drinks... and abuses his wife!

Yeah.. go-go-go... they're warming up the presses now!!!
masht7 writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 3:36:16 AM

If this happens, I lose faith in Edgar Wright.
vampires_suck writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 8:21:52 PM

@ Dre El - thats what i was sayin in an earlier post, they could use the current Ant-Man who stole the suit while working for SHIELD. The picture on this article is of him.

@Telur - If that's your reasoning then Spider-Man and Superman, anything with ....man is stoopid, think dude.

Also, Hank Pym is no longer ant-man, giantman, yellowjacket.....he is now the Wasp in memory of his ex wife dying during Secret Invasion.
vampires_suck writes:
on February 27th, 2010 at 8:27:41 PM

BTW, seeing as Disney hasn't actually done ANYTHING yet to threaten Marvel properties in any form there's no point pissin bout it.

Also just coz all he does is 'shrink and control ants' doesn't mean sh*t, he's the perfect dude for espionage and recon being so small, as a matter of fact he doesn't even need to go in himself, just send a few ants around the place and he can relay it back to the team.

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved