WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

John Krasinski in Talks for "Captain America"

Posted: February 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
John Krasinski in Talks for "Captain America"Submit Comment
Director Joe Johnston (The Wolfman) recently revealed that he has until March 1st to choose the lead actor for the "First Avenger: Captain America" movie. He currently has a wishlist consisting of six names, and thanks to the always reliable Deadline (confirmed by THR), we now have that wishlist here for you.

At this point, the six contenders are: Chace Crawford ("Gossip Girl"), John Krasinski ("The Office"), Scott Porter ("Friday Night Lights"), Mike Vogel (Coverfield), Michael Cassidy ("Privileged"), and Patrick Flueger (Brothers).

The site adds that Johnsotn has also been looking at Garret Hedlund (Tron Legacy), but the actor has yet to test for the role.

The reason why Marvel is looking for unknowns is to keep the budget low. The chosen actor is said to get only $300,000 for the "Captain America" film and will be asked to sign for another nine options for future films, sequels and spin-offs.

Photos: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: Deadline, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 61 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:34:22 PM

Garret Hedlund would be the best if he hit the weights real hard.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:37:23 PM

If that is the wishlist, then John Krasinski without a doubt. All the other ones are merely pretty boys. Krasinski is an actor and if he just butch up, he fit the bill quite nicely.

But 300 000$? That's bullsh*t. Cheap bastards.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:40:20 PM

crap, no McPartlin. they all don't look to bad, but the majority are form f*cking stupid shows.
Absolution writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:42:39 PM

you can kinda already tell there not serious about this film if they have actors like these...but then again it is marvel =]
Ari Gold writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:44:54 PM

Garret can act! I didn't even recognise him in Death Sentence till I saw his name in the credits.
Bazinga writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:49:11 PM

I Hope krasinski gets hit hes great in the office and is actually a very actor in anything else ive seen him in.@encoreyourface i hope your not talkin about the office.
Bazinga writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:49:41 PM

*IT
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:51:50 PM

John Krasinki is good on the Office, but he's isn't right for Captain America. None of those above are. Guess Krasinksi is the best out of them. f*ck, this movie is going to be a giant turd.
eddie499 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:58:55 PM

With the right direction, I think he could pull it off. People were hesitant about RDJ for Iron Man so it might work. He does have the acting chops for the role. My vote is still for Chris Pine.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:59:41 PM

@Bazinga-no, the office is hilarious i'm talking about gossip girl,privileged,etc.

nope.com writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:05:38 PM

wait a second... how is deadline reliable wp??

... None of their latest news regarding comic book films have been confirmed
HannibalK1ng writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:06:59 PM

wtf paying an actor 300k for a title roll like this? thats a joke maybe do some stunts instead of green screening it will look better and cost less. and for 300k i hope the actor only gives it a halfed ass effort. 300k is alot of money to most people but for an actor in a roll/movie like this thats a fu*ken joke.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:08:41 PM

@Nope.com-THR also confirmed it.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:14:13 PM

i think the reason they're paying so low is because they'll be getting other deals in the future

"will be asked to sign for another nine options for future films, sequels and spin-offs."


RoadDogXVIII writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:25:34 PM

I'm not too sure. His acting leaves much to be desired. I saw him on "License to Wed", and he struggled to get through the material, even under the hand of his "Office" director Ken Kwapis.

But I think after "Leatherheads", he could easily play a 50's-era soldier. And he has the height factor on his side. What is he, 6'3?
MattC903 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:26:38 PM

love john as an actor but this isnt for him.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:31:13 PM

Wait a minute, NINE other options! WTF Marvel, getting a little greedy aren't we? This guy will be 50 before he's able to ditch the blue tights for another gig, if he doesn't kill himself first. JJ and Marvel are digging a nice, huge hole for themselves.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:33:03 PM

$300,000 for the title character? That's not enough to motivate him to do a good job. He'll slack off. Plus why this guy?
Jergyn writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:43:45 PM

I think that Cloverfield guy could make it
Jedimax writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:47:00 PM

Finally a somebody! Great Idea!
rcazzy writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:07:50 PM

Krasinski, while being a good enough actor (outside The Office, there's still bits to be desired) doesn't seem to fit with me. As someone said before, he's a bit "doughey" in his looks, something that even working out won't fix. A few of these guys, despite being on certain shows viewed as "crap", I've seen and are pretty decent in what they do acting wise, and considering they have the right looks, a big plus! Hedlund would be great if I were to choose!
AshTrey writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:17:49 PM

everyone just say who u want...

Garret. sorry Jim you look more like the flash.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:18:59 PM

Well, looks like this one is already f*cked to hell and back...Next the Red Skull will be played by Andy d*ck.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:27:35 PM

i'm very interested to see who plays Red Skull ...
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:36:16 PM

@encoreyourface-The Red Skull needs to be played by the Jew Hunter...he did it in "Basterds" he just wasn't wearing the make-up.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:41:59 PM

John could do it but it'd be tough tough. I do like Garrett in the role ever since four brothers he has always been under my radar great actor
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:46:01 PM

To be honest guys I'm not believing anything on this untel I hear it from the studio itself, I don't believe a word out of this director because he's let too much info out. I have a strong feeling he's letting lose false infi to keep us guesing. Witch makes sense
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:48:46 PM

I think the guy on the far left looks most similar to Steve Rogers in the comics. He's got my vote, although I don't know if he can act.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:49:19 PM

ACTIONFIGURE-never saw Bastards, but it does look interesting ...
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:09:37 PM

Holy Crap!!!

First... this is CA's build:

http://www.sideshowtoy.com/?page_id=4489&sku=71611&utm_source=search0109

Do you see ANYONE on that list that weighs 250lbs? Because I sure as hell don't.

What's this Joe... 'This is the Captain as a 90lb. weakling... this is the Captain with AIDS?!?!?!?!'

Get a f*cking grip!!!

And as no one has touched upon the full sh*ttiness (yet) of that $300K offer (Routh got $1mil. for his first Supes), let me tell you how BAD this offer is!

$300K the winner will ONLY get IF he signs the 9 movie option deal. And it's at THAT point they agree to the price for ALL 9 flicks. The do admit for wanting an unknown so they can f*ck him with his pants on (and don't anyone bother adding - 'Oh... it's all for Old Glory!'). No, they're going to get exactly what they're paying for (no offense to these 'fine' actors).

If the 'chosen' actor refuses the $300K, he refuses the 9 movie option deal (also with salary suckage!), then... THEN they go to the runner-up.

I don't know what ANY of YOU have read in the comics, but Captain America isn't a 'runner-up' kind of SuperHero!

And do ANY of the above 'fine, fine' actors strike you as The Leader of the Avengers?! An 'equal' to Thor, The Hulk and Iron Man?!

And if they can make this origin movie WITH WWII. Remember that war folks?, It was a pretty big deal... it was in all the papers! The Red Skull, AND The Invaders, AND Bucky, CA's freezing and thawing (maybe the beginning of The Avengers)... if they don't lose his origin in all of that in the mix... I'll be f*cking amazed!

This sucks more sh*t than Lohan's mouth after giving up anal to an entire NFL Teama DP!!!!
BigFoot writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:09:45 PM

@SACdaddy: I think that's what Marvel's going with for most of their actors. Samuel Jackson signed on for 9 other movies, not sure about Robert Downey Jr. though.
vaodsi writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:22:18 PM

OMG I TOTALLY MADE A JOKE ABOUT THAT ON THE LAST CAPTAIN AMERICA THREAD!
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:23:59 PM

@vaodsi - refresh our memories please.
lost_addict writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:31:40 PM

is captain america suppose to be gay?when wtf is that gay list???bring some bad ass actor like gerrard butler that looks like a man and not like he just had sex zach efron...
johnny_boy writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:33:21 PM

They're gonna cast some Douche bag with no brains that has no acting talent and no muscles what so ever. They might as well cast topher grace as CA
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:34:17 PM

My comic collecting story, Marvel, and an ex-girlfriend - By Ranger.

Got out of collecting about (ok... a LONG time ago). Go back about... half of that time... walking with a girlfriend, came across a comic shop. Said to her: 'Come in... let me show you what I used to collect. Store owner and I chat... find out Marvel was BANKRUPT!

WHAT?! WTF?! f*ck Me! How is that possible?! They were a Juggernaut when I was collecting: Frank Miller, Walt Simonson, John Byrne, Terry Austin, John Romita Jr., Bob Layton days of collecting. Even had John Byrne draw an Iron Man for me in pen (one hand had 5 fingers and a thumb - he didn't like being reminded of that). There's also a Todd McFarlane story I could tell... but this is about Marvel.

So how did this financial Juggernaut go under?!

NOW I SEE HOW!!!! Marvel Entertainment, Marvel Comics - same sh*t, same pile! They only licensed a TON of their characters that made MILLIONS of $'s to those studios, until Marvel got the balls to finance Iron Man (a no-brainer) themselves.

This CA news today is the worst I've heard yet.

They've f*cked around long enough. Now a deadline with decide who will pay CA and who is DUMB ENOUGH to sign a 9 movie options with fixed fees (believe me, the actor is in NO position to ask for a 15% take of ticket sales like a Harrison Ford can or up to 20% for Keanu did for The Matrix sequels).

I'll be the first one to admit I doubted this project if it turns out great (and I like a lot more actors, movie ideas, and directors on this site than many others)... but I am not seeing it.
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:40:22 PM

Now I see why Neil Fifer's name hasn't been mentioned on any list since his talks with Marvel earlier last year.

Unknown and build yes. But the guy would be in a f*cking walker by the time 4-5 movies went by... let alone all 9.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:48:04 PM

@Ranger- i can see what you're saying, but I'll watch it regardless unless they completely rip it to sh*t like making CA gay or in the future or something absolutely ridiculous like that. he is one of my favorite characters and it's about time he actually gets a film with a budget over $5.
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:54:07 PM

Thx. encore. I think CA is a LOT of people's fav. (if not for iconic reasons alone).

But it's this very jack-in around sh*t they're doing to it that will more than likely keep me from paying theater price to see this (not saying I won't buy the DVD) but I'm losing faith and may just watch this one at home. I hope I'm wrong... I really do. But they're throwing a lot of flavors into the mix... and it may just come out tasting like sh*t.

First 'Star Wars' (now called episode 4) - simple.
First 'The Matrix' - simple.
First 'X-Men' - simple.
First 'Spiderman' - simple.

There's a PATTERN THERE MR. JOHNSTON!!! And you're pissing in it!


encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:55:44 PM

"But the guy would be in a f*cking walker by the time 4-5 movies went by... let alone all 9."

true, and how many of these nine films are actually focused on Captain America? they obviously can't be CA 1-9, but like in the Avengers etc. still, for a guy like Fifer it would be most likely to much.

also it mentioned spin-offs? perhaps a Bucky spin-ff when he becomes Winter soldier?just throwing that out there ....

Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 10:04:36 PM

I think (as before when Marvel when bankrupt), they're biting off a LOT more than they can chew.

If this movie turned out well, it would boost the career of the guy play CA, no doubt. And as they're fixing that poor bugger NOW to a fixed income for future movies - when he could spend his time making higher paying movies, we can only begin to guess the resentment that this could build.

Oi Marvel... you suck!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 10:58:06 PM

Dumb f*cks!!!! and by that I mean MArvel, not the WP posters
Barney Stinson writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 11:16:17 PM

No Ryan McPartlin? f*ck you Joe Johnston. The only good movie you made was Jumanji.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 11:39:18 PM

In terms of this list, Garrett Hedlund is a no-brainer. He seems to have the best credentials, and he notably put on 30 lbs of muscle for Troy and then another 20 lbs for his role in Friday Night Lights which he appeared to have lost for Four Brothers (imdb). An actor with Baleian (should be a new term) weight management like that would be key to getting the transformation from scrawny Steve Rogers to WTF!?! CAPTAIN AMERICA down. Also, as Ari stated he was unrecognizable (in a great way) in Death Sentence.

Runner-up I would say goes to Mike Vogel as he was the runner-up to Chris Pine for the role of Captain Kirk (that would suck for him). He might have been sucking Abrams d*ck as he was the star of Cloverfield, but he most likely has potential (we all know he was sucking d*ck).

I have respect for John Krasinski, but I think that would be taking the Steve Rogers as an average guy idea way too far. In my opinion, I have a great imagination but I can't imagine him as Captain America at all.

It is cool that Scott Porter is a huge comic book fan but so are most of us for that matter.

I won't waste words on the others (Dammit I just now did).

*My $0.02.*
Kurskij writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 11:52:44 PM

Krasinski? CA will have a Mickey Mouse style helmet to fit those ears? Porter is OK, but all those guys are... how should I say not to get anyone offended?...

They're all to f*cking physically unimpressive. I don't know what are they thinking? Krasinski may fit if he it's steroids with his morning milk.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:05:09 AM

Jim Halpert FTW
VDODSON writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:08:48 AM

That is probaly the sh*ttiest list ever made. What the f*ck is wrong with this guy, none of those guys have the proper look. Johnston is a dumbass, I hope Marvel steps in. They should just let Stan Lee pick the guy.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:23:21 AM

Stan Lee would actually probably be a better choice than any of these pussies. Next thing you know they will cast a faggy looking Hawaiian to play Conan!

The only way I can see one of these dudes playing Cap in if he plays the 98 pound Steve Rogers and they CGI his face onto a CGI body for the CA parts.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:32:37 AM

HBO's Funny or Die Presents is the funniest sh*t I've seen since Kids in the Hall!

f*ck Captain America! (I'm a little drunk but f*ck this stupid lineup of jabronies!) Call me Spooky, I don't care, this movie will SUCK. Marvel's taking a sh*t with this one.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:48:07 AM

^^spooky!
johnny_boy writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:48:39 AM

Just kidding even though I disagree
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 3:19:37 AM

@SACdaddy
omg i so agree Funny or Die Presents was is so epicly hilarious!!!!
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 3:23:24 AM

@SACdaddy
"Donut mind if i do"
boiler tk writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 8:19:24 AM

I was hoping for Ben Browder (Farscape and Stargate SG1), but he is probablly too old for the role.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 9:14:19 AM

Wow, I just threw up a little
KindredMac writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 9:14:26 AM

Krasinski For The Win!
I have this feeling that he could lose the weight for the infirm Rogers and then bulk up for Captain America. I think he has the chops to portray some real emotion to the character as well.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 10:58:57 AM

@encoreyourface-you've got to see basterds...best movie of 09 next to The Hurt Locker.
LeeMaca writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 2:09:28 PM

Has nobody f*cking watched wolfman at the studio how the f*ck can this guy possibly be directing the "first" cap movie, I hope i can be the first person to come on here and say i was wrong but cant see it happening
Ranger writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 2:45:25 PM

@boiler - Ben is even 2 years older than Neil Fifer. But he's a hell of a lot better choice than the 98lb. runway models making this short list.

@lee - I didn't even know Joe directed The Wolfman until you mentioned it (and I looked it up on imdb). It's no secret his latest movie out now is a huge bomb.

If Captain America turns out well (better yet, GREAT), it will truly be a miracle.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 2:59:32 PM

ACTIONFIGURE- maybe i'll have to watch it then

and i liked Wolfman, it was entertaining. but yes that kind of director shouldn't tackle something like CA, that deserves a truly great director that can make you feel the iconic hero, and i don't know if Johnson can do it ...
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 5:22:34 PM

@encoreyourface-Wolfman had some stellar gore and Hugo as always is the bomb. The DP (Shelly Johnson) know her craft and I'm curious to see what she does with this movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved