WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Full Length Trailer for "The Karate Kid" Remake

Posted: February 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Full Length Trailer for "The Karate Kid" RemakeSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures claims that their upcoming "Karate Kid" remake, starring Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith, has been testing through the roof. And today we have a full-length trailer for the new movie. Check it out below.

Plot: Dre's Mom (Taraji P. Henson) moves to China for work and takes her your son with her. Not knowing the language, Dre (Smith) immediately catches the attention of the local bullies, and before long, he is coming home with bruises. During regular service of the apartment, Dre meets Mr. Han (Chan), the building maintenance man. Han spots the bruises and offers to teach the young boy martial-arts and the Chinese language.

"The Karate Kid" is directed by Harald Zwart (Agent Cody Banks, The Pink Panther 2) and is scheduled to hit theaters on June 11th.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "The Karate Kid."

Source: Yahoo! Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:25:27 AM

my kids want to see this , for me when jackie and hollywood make a movie together its know where near as good as his HK films which is a shame he is a true action legend
Rick Taps writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:37:16 AM

Damnit... I really wanted to not want to see this... and now I want to see this.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:39:17 AM

nope... still staying away from this
BrundleFly writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:41:35 AM

I thought this was called The Kung-Fu Kid now.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:42:10 AM

Jacket off kid!!

dodgy
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:43:45 AM

whaaaaat! from the director of Agent Cody Banks...AND... The Pink Panther 2?! seriously...
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:45:12 AM

also... am I the only one who thought... little 10 year old boys don't fight like that? I don't buy it...
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 5:16:32 AM

GODDAMNIT!!......I really want to hate this I do...but the two trailers I have seen don't look bad.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 5:59:41 AM

It had some nice reference to the original, if I was 13 years old Id watch it. I find it amusing that they put a scene in were Jackie Chan kicks the sh*t out of seven 10 year olds though.
ShaunyG writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 6:50:20 AM

Rick Taps I'm with you on that one, I really wanted to avoid it, but I know I'm gonna end up seeing it!!
MattC903 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:51:06 AM

ypu, still seeing this.
ifakos writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 7:56:13 AM

The hitting sound effects suuuuuucks!
Sonic writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:18:00 AM

I will watch just because Jackie Chan is in this.

PS. I didn't know movies can Tweet?
Peter Parker writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 8:54:39 AM

Life is Kung Fu, everything is Kung Fu, Kung Fu lives in everything, I will teach you real Kung Fu, Kung Fu jacket, Kung Fu monks, Kung Fu tournament, Kung Fu, Kung Fu, Kung Fu...

... and what do they call the movie? Karate Kid

(sigh)
SACdaddy writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:20:54 AM

@PP: $$$$$$$$ trumps common sense every day in Hollywood. At least they discussed changing the title.
eddie499 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:21:12 AM

Aside from the title and the fact that this is a blatant ploy to capitalize upon children and the nostalgia of their parents, it doesn't look like the total train wreck I thought it was going to be.
atn5022 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:22:15 AM

my question: why the f*ck would you go to China for work? Theres over a billion people in china, and no offense to any chinese people in here, but it doesnt look like a fun place to be
atn5022 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:22:17 AM

my question: why the f*ck would you go to China for work? Theres over a billion people in china, and no offense to any chinese people in here, but it doesnt look like a fun place to be
SACdaddy writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:30:45 AM

Still looks like a great kids movie. It'll be a good launch vehicle for Will's kid and its always nice to see Jackie doing something with a real budget.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:30:59 AM

@ SAC:

No argument there.
Anyway, the castings for the movie looked way more interesting than the actual movie.
Here they are:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fa-PhBRiuMU
telur writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:34:47 AM

again.... it's stupid kung fu called karate... like football called soccer... :P
SACdaddy writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:37:21 AM

@atn: FYI English teachers are in demand all over the world, but especially in Asia and India. Its a decent paying job and its a great way to see the world. Check out the Travel Channel, China is a beautiful place with a sh*tty government.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:42:55 AM

LOL PP!!! I've seen that about a thousand times and it never gets old. Brotha backflip is the best though. "Is he OK? No he's not OK. Why don't you sit down." LOL!
takai writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 9:54:05 AM

@ PP - "... and what do they call the movie? Karate Kid"

Too true. That is the one thing I truly hate about this movie. It wouldn't be surprising if the Chinese got offended over this. They do all the time. Hell, in Memoirs of a Geisha, the Japanese got pissed that a Hong Kong actress played a Japanese character, so you'd think they'd care more about someone butchering their actual culture.

They do still have 4 months to insert 'Kung Fu Kid' somewhere. Here's to hoping they do. At least they're not calling the actual art 'karate' in the film. I wouldn't be able to watch it if that was case.


As for the trailer, I'm amazed at how good it looks. In all honesty, it looks far more badass than any of the originals ever did. Changing of times I guess.

Jackie has been doing martial arts since he was 10 years old or younger, so he looks way more believable and legit that good old Pat did (considering they had to teach him Karate for the role). Not to mention the fact that he is actually from Hong Kong, so the accent is real.

I had my doubts in the beginning, and I was going to see it no matter what, being a big Chan/martial arts movie fan,(distasteful nod to 'Around the World in 80 Days') but after seeing the trailer (and keeping in mind that it's a kids movie) I can definitely say I'm excited for this. It could be one of the most badass, legitimate kids action movies ever made.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 10:11:22 AM

@ SAC:

What about the fat Chinese dude? "What kind of wood is this?" - LOOL!

@ takai:

Right there with you on that.

Regarding the trailer, I was happy to hear Hans Zimmer's "Spectres In The Fog" track, from "The Last Samurai" score in this trailer.
Even after being used in dozens of movies until now, it always sounds amazing.

It's curious that it was originally used in a movie about a Japanese story.
Coincidence? Probably, but still...
CCBlev writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 10:45:57 AM

being a martial artist my whole life of course im gonna see this, but after watching this tralier it might actually be good after all,
TheStig writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 12:03:45 PM

You gotta love the last clip where the theme song from the old one is playing and the fly swatter hahaha
takai writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 12:30:35 PM

That bit got a good laugh out of me.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 12:32:30 PM

I want to put the Dim Mak on whoever put this movie together with Will Smith's stupid brat. Better yet, I would rather do it to him.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:24:44 PM

A very disturbing issue has been brought to my attention (no, not the existence of Shayhiri). The director is a Norwegian. Let that one sink in. Norwegian...
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:35:20 PM

i have to say it f*ck remakes!
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:47:59 PM

If I hear he diddles the kid... I'll watch this.
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:48:47 PM

@LastActionHero - LOL!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 3:05:38 PM

well it was fun to watch Smith's kid get the sh*t beat out of him,and the jackie chan beating on kids was cool as well. besides that this movie really doesn't look very good and it'll probably die in Lohags ever-gaping anus.
Wallace writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 3:05:54 PM

According to Chan, it will be called Karate Kid in the States, and Kung Fu Kid in Asia.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 3:59:25 PM

In Hong Kong he'd already be dead.
Ranger writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:29:00 PM

... and used for meat in a restaurant.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:33:07 PM

I have to admit, the part at the end where they play "The best Around" from the original movie while Chan tries to get the fly was a good homage to the original. I will see this only on the grounds that it doesn't look EXACTLY like the original. I definitely is following the story, but a little bit of a different feeling. Here's hoping it doesn't completely disgrace the original. Still, hope may not be enough.
outofshadow writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:37:18 PM

hahaha your the best around is playing in the background
Eben1277 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 11:53:04 PM

I have that song on my exercise playlist, along with eye of the tiger, burning heart, no easy way out, and gonna fly now.

PP, that link is too awesome

I hate to admit that I want to see a movie about Kung Fu that's called the Karate Kid, but I do think it looks good. I hate that the corporate big wigs think that the general viewing population is so stupid that they don't know the difference, and I hate even more that they are probably right.
blinkbomber writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 3:53:35 AM

"You're the best!... AROUND!! No one in the world can keep you down!"

now i'm gonna have that song in my head for like a year!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 5:08:14 AM

That song will never leave your head!!
Snootch writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 9:25:42 AM

@blinkbomber, "Karma Karma Karma Karma Karma Chameleon"

See now you have the previous song out of your head.
darthraige writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 3:05:52 PM

f*cken stupid.
gimple writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 3:45:23 PM

Ugh, looks lame. This just makes me want to watch the original Karate Kid again.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 11:18:33 PM

Well looks ok but not really in the mood for this at all, just thinking if they do a 2 & 3,in the second one they went back to miyagis home town so how will that work in part 2 haha, and don't get me started on the third on lol
Jedi masturbator writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 11:42:25 PM

Really sick of Re-makes. Since everything about this film has changed. setting, names, ie. may as well change it to KUNG FU KID. KUNG FU PANDA did fine. or better yet, re-make that and call it the Karate Panda.
masht7 writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 1:23:15 AM

Seems like Gary Coleman is acting again and is teaming up with his old pal, Lohvag, and is learning how to fight paparatzzi. It also seems like Showgirls 2 isen't the only piece of sh*t film coming out later this year.
koul writes:
on June 4th, 2010 at 9:06:38 AM

this will be just a fun movie to watch. it probably has better fight scenes than the original

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved