WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Damon and Jake Gyllenhaal Turned Down "Avatar"

Posted: February 23rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Damon and Jake Gyllenhaal Turned Down "Avatar"Submit Comment
Now that "Avatar" has broken just about every single box office record, James Cameron has revealed that Sam Worthington wasn't the only actor he approached to play Jake Sully.

Even though the relatively unknown Worthington was his first choice, Cameron said that he offered the role to both Matt Damon and Jake Gyllenhall due to the fact that 20th Century Fox wants a bankable star to offset some of the risks of the expensive project. Both actors turned down the offer.

"I donít think they ever had a problem with the CG," said Cameron. "Honestly, did I go out and try to woo them? No. I had my heart set on Sam. Maybe they sensed my lack of 100% commitment from me. Maybe it was the subject matter. This was a big 'Star Wars'-type movie. They're both serious actors."

I'm not sure how serious Damon and Gyllenhall are considering that one is working on "Happy Feet 2" and the other on "Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AshTrey writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 6:26:58 PM

I'm surprised Jake didn't blow Cameron for this role.
Salvador writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 6:35:20 PM

"I'm not sure how serious Damon and Gyllenhall are considering that one is working on "Happy Feet 2" and the other on "Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time."

LOL.


Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 6:35:58 PM

Well... Cameron is bullsh*tting us yet again.

You don't have an unknown (relatively) like Worthington as your 'first choice' then have actor's like Damon and Gyllenhall as your 'back-up' choices... it's the other way around... always... 100% of the time.

So JC, go shovel you sh*t and your Earth Day stripped down, hug a tree with plastic DVD cases, and paper for the inserts bullsh*t some place else!
Salvador writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 6:38:03 PM

Matt Damon turning down James Cameron?

I find this news unbelievable!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 6:42:20 PM

Ranger-i agree. and if this is true suck it JC!
BigTate writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 6:43:55 PM

I bet they knew they wouldn't actually be ACTING, but wandering around a blue screen for two months of their lives and decided that it'd be better spent doing ANYTHING ELSE! Just because it made alot of money does not mean it was a good movie. Anyone see Idiocracy? We're on our way to "ASS" being the best movie of the year.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:08:23 PM

i still wounldnt se it although i like both of them more of matt.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:41:27 PM

"You don't have an unknown (relatively) like Worthington as your 'first choice' then have actor's like Damon and Gyllenhall as your 'back-up' choices... it's the other way around... always... 100% of the time."

I dunno, I think he wouldn't have wanted a big name actor for this movie, but was willing to go with one of those guys if Fox pushed for it hard enough. If it were me, I wouldn't've wanted it to be a 'Matt Damon' movie; I would've wanted it focused on the nature element of it.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:42:59 PM

"You don't have an unknown (relatively) like Worthington as your 'first choice' then have actor's like Damon and Gyllenhall as your 'back-up' choices... it's the other way around... always... 100% of the time."

I dunno, I think he wouldn't have wanted a big name actor for this movie, but was willing to go with one of those guys if Fox pushed for it hard enough. If it were me, I wouldn't've wanted it to be a 'Matt Damon' movie; I would've wanted it focused on the nature element of it.

Also, I think the reference to Cameron as 'JC' is hilariously ironic.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:43:45 PM

Oh wtf.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:52:06 PM

lol.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:54:44 PM

Neither actor probably could fit it in his schedules. The movie took forever to shoot! They obvioulsy have a problem doing voiceover or CGI crap (PoP, Day After Tomorrow).
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:01:50 PM

Stop comparing your movie to star wars James, you aren't fooling anyone.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:05:20 PM

"I'm not sure how serious Damon and Gyllenhall are considering that one is working on 'Happy Feet 2'"

- Hey, Brittany Murphy died over "Happy Feet 2", so it must be a very serious f*cking movie, right?
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:19:20 PM

How long after a person is dead is it considered inappropriate to have sex with them. Because even though Brittany is having the big dirt nap... I'd probably still tap that.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:26:59 PM

... is sex with dead people EVER inappropriate at all?
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:27:10 PM

After putting her on a hot plate or under a heating blanket for a bit.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:27:30 PM

@PP - I like how you think!
KalVicious writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:32:36 PM

Wow Ranger. Lol. :)
SACdaddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:35:14 PM

I can't wait for everyone involved with Happy Feet 2 to start dropping off and dying in mysterious ways. I wouldn't mind seeing Gyllenhall get hit with a bus or fall into a wood chipper.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:35:26 PM

She had those big doe eyes I could stare into (with the aid of a couple of toothpicks)...
Peter Parker writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:38:21 PM

"What? I can't be a penguin anymore?
Life has no meaning! I'm so tired...

... so tired. Goodbye.

Jake"


(jumps off the bridge)
encoreyourface writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:43:08 PM

"sex with dead people EVER inappropriate at all?"

how can you even question that? of course it isn't! necrophilia for life!!!

ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 9:05:33 PM

Doesn't Cameron know he shouldn't be talking?? Great filmmaker, Lousy human being.
ian_918 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 9:12:42 PM

Screw if he had interest in em! With all that money the movie made i would let Sigourney Weaver give me a dirty sanchez if they told me to! God damn drama queens.
the_dude writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 10:25:22 PM

He should have been a f*cking man and let Christian "The f*ck are you doing!?" Bale play the role of Jake Sully for screwing him over by taking Leo instead of him for Titanic... I could imagine great things there instead of Sam Worthlesston playing a smurf. I still can't believe he actually cast that dumbsh*t from Dodgeball though... Here's hoping humanity strikes back and nukes Pandora in the sequel leaving all those hippie dipsh*ts who think it really exists a nice sh*t sandwich to choke down in the last act.
lost_addict writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:12:14 AM

I wish cameron turned down 'avatar' and made 'true lies 2' instead...
Eben1277 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:12:31 AM

Darknight, I usually agree with whatever you have to say, but I'm going to have to differ with you on this one. JC should only stop comparing his movie to Star Wars, because when he does people might get the impression it's as bad as Star Wars. Well, I shouldn't be that harsh, I actually did like episodes 4 through 6, and enjoyed intermittent parts of the other 3, BUT, in no way is Star Wars better than Avatar. People dog the Pocahontas in Space, Dances with Aliens used storyline, but the fact is it IS a used storyline, and he wasn't the first person to use it after someone else did, he just seems to be taking an inordinate amount of sh*t for it. the reason it's a used storyline is because it's a good one. Dances with Wolves wasn't the first movie to use it either, but no one bitches about that, and that movie was an Oscar winner. Not that being an Oscar winner means anything anymore, but I digress... sh*t I'm rambling, what the f*ck was I saying?? Oh, back to Star Wars. None of the concepts in Star Wars are original either, but it holds it's place in history because it changed the way Sci-Fi was filmed. Avatar will do the same, because no matter what you say about the contrived story and the performance of Trueman's bitch Sam W., the way he filmed it was completely original. The use of 3D in it immersed you in the movie instead of standing out on it's only like it does with every other 3D movie. I think Cameron thinks in 3D, so to speak, because if you watch his other films and look at how the scenes are blocked, I think they would all work well as 3D. I could also be talking out of my ass right now since I've been up since 6 am and it's now about 1. Long story short (too late) Avatar is comparable to Star Wars.

And before you guys go crazy, I've never even been to the f*ckin Naviblu website, I'm mot a f*ckin Avaturd or treehugger wanting to live on Pandora, I just thought the movie was entertaining. And really, while I'm far from an environmentalist, is conservation of nature really such a bad idea that we need to hate on it? I plan to live as long as I can, and I don't want the place to go to sh*t while I'm still around. Or my kid, or potentially grandkids. After them though, I don't really give a f*ck.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:14:33 AM

wow, I'm quite the windbag tonight aren't I?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:26:32 AM

I would actually want to live when the world goes down the sh*tter. Think about it? If you're going to die, why not dying during the end of days?
Eben1277 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 1:53:41 AM

Good point. You are wise beyond your years Freudian. Of course, I would expect nothing less from a Swede.
trailertrash writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 3:17:16 AM

Maybe Big Jim is pissed that Matt Damon would rather play a penguin than a giant blue errrrrr what ever they were or maybe his wooing technique is just plan sh*t !!!
takai writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 3:35:22 AM

I'd rather not get into a discussion on the topic proposed by Eben. You presented it well, but I'm just too dang tired.

I will say, that if you look at the actors actually involved in 'Avatar', you don't really have any CURRENT 'A-list' actors. BigTate made a good point in that, they would in fact be motion capturing for a long ass time. Also, think about it, you're a fairly successful actor and you get this script in the mail from James Cameron dated 1985, with a note posted on it reading "I know it sucks, but the visuals are going to be AMAZING."

Now, as an actor, you have to choose between keeping a steady paycheck with mediocre to good movies, or risking the next couple years with no guarantee that it'll payoff career wise.

And honestly, do we see huge pushes for the main actors in 'Avatar'? Yeah, for the chick who wasn't actually IN the movie! And let's not forget, even though the money keeps making money, the actors DON'T. So in reality, Damon and Gyllenhall are probably thankful they didn't get ripped off that hard.

And yeah, Damon is doing 'Happy Feet 2', who the f*ck cares? He probably has a kid he's doing it for. Or maybe he's just doing it because it's easy and, again, a paycheck.

(before I go to actors outside of Avatar)

Sigourney Weaver did 'Happily N'ever After' in2006

Bruce Willis did 'Hammy's Boomerang Adventure' in 2006.

Mel Gibson did 'Chicken Run' in 2000.

Brad Pitt did a Sinbad (no, not THAT sinbad) cartoon in 2003.

Christian Bale did 'Pocahontas' in 1995. (mmm. Pocahontas)

George Clooney did f*cking 'Spy Kids'!


Nice try, but that's a really weak stab at someone's credibility. Just because they decide to do a kids movie, doesn't mean they're being any less serious of an actor.

Gyllenhall doesn't get as much defense from me as Damon does, because I like Damon more, but I will say that Gyllenhall has more credibility and respect as an actor than anyone in 'Avatar' (except maybe Weaver)

You could insert some joke about 'Brokeback Mountain' here, but 'Avatar' is lesser to it in both acting and visuals.

hahahahahahahahahaha

In all seriousness though, Brokeback won 3 oscars and 78 other awards. Avatar has nothing on a movie about gay cowboys. Wow.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 2:32:00 PM

i don't see why this is an important news, that character was desing for douche bag, c*ck sucker lover like SAm W. nothing more!
warlord writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 2:35:14 PM

that was a smart move unless they was blue noone would even know they was even in that peac-o-sh*t
Hollywood1086 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 5:28:07 PM

i don't think either of them regret passing on this. avatar will go down in history for the technical and visual stuff. not for the acting. no one gave a sh*t about the performances.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved