WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ian McShane is the Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 4"

Posted: February 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ian McShane is the Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 4"Submit Comment
We already know that Johnny Depp will be reprising his Captain Jack Sparrow role in "Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides" and that he will star alongside Penelope Cruz, who is described as his foil and equal in many way.

But now, THR has learned that Ian McShane (Kung Fu Panda, "Deadwood") is now in negotiations to join the cast as the villainous Blackbeard. The story is said to revolve around the Fountain of Youth.

And despite Geoffrey Rush claiming that he will return as Barbossa, there is still no official word from the studio.

The fourth installment will be directed by Rob Marshall (Chicago, Nine) and is set to begin filming this summer in Hawaii. It is scheduled to hit theaters on May 20th, 2011.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
D.O.C. writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:36:19 PM

Ian McShane? I thought they mean't Ian McKellen.
KalVicious writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:38:35 PM

Now, this could be interesting. :) Lol. :)
MattC903 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 9:20:05 PM

this is going to be great.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 9:33:05 PM

"The story is said to revolve around the Fountain of Youth."

interesting, if they do that it may turn out to become around the likes of the 'Indiana Jones' series ...

i'm not expecting a whole lot from this but an okay film, but if it's better then i think it will be all the better ...
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 9:33:23 PM

He is an awesome actor. very old school. He is a subtle actor so he'll bring a new style to the famous Blackbeard character.
telur writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 9:42:58 PM

whoever the actor, if the director is rob marshall, it must be dancing
Ari Gold writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 10:23:26 PM

He looks like a wax figurine in that picture, or a muppet.
SaulSilver writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 10:25:26 PM

DAMMIT!

Now I actually have to watch this movie.
coldplayesence writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 10:35:51 PM

What? No Geoffrey Rush? sh*t they better bring him and Kevin McNally back if they want my money.
Kurskij writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:09:07 PM

f*ck YEAH!

Now that's news! As SaulSilver said, now I not only have to, but will watch this movie.

Ian Mc-Effin-Shane playing a pirate. It can't get any better than this.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:18:18 PM

Great choice! I hate to say it, but this film is starting to spark my interest.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:27:09 PM

Great news. He's a class act.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:28:07 PM

Oh, and WP community: Is anyone else kinda bummed that almost every headline has to do with a sequel or a remake? I know this is nothing new, but every once in a while it kind of pisses me off.
Kurskij writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:33:41 PM

@Scrooge

Yeah, but this is the way Hollywood works today, so WP has no other options than to write about that.
MadHatter writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:37:30 PM

Oh my god, this is one of the best things i've read yet about Pirates 4. It looks like everything for this movie may finally be going into the right direction. I wonder if this also means that the fact that johnny depp and ian mcshane and geoffrey rush might all be in the same pirates of the caribbean movie means that we may have a big box office hit coming our way! Maybe it'll be as big as big of a movie as Pirates of the Caribbean: the curse of the the black pearl. Could that be possible?
telur writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 12:04:45 AM

damn it! i want mark strong to be villain
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 12:35:42 AM

Oh hell yes
warriors187 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 1:12:36 AM

All great men have mustaches!""""
Ian McShane: Yeah, but real men actually grow them!

Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 1:17:06 AM

This is awsome news! Remember his Deadwood character "Al"?? One of the best characters ever.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 1:40:16 AM

@Scrooge: Yeah, it's annoying. However, not very surprising.

And then I have to agree with you all, this is great news sequel that have all the possibilities to suck. Hopefully this is only the first step to making this not to suck. One of many steps.
trailertrash writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 2:32:15 AM

Lovejoy the Villain ??? never ....
VDODSON writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 2:51:57 AM

Sweargen was a badass in Deadwood, this guy is the real deal.
vwkombi writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 3:50:57 AM

After no interest in the film because of the underwhelming sequels, they finally make a good decision.

This might be awesome, PURELY because of McShane. He is the kind of actor who simply walks around screen awesoming up the place.
SofaKing writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 5:23:13 AM

Wow, the majoirty of you Negative Nancys actually had positive comments about this article, I am amazed. I agree whole-heartidly Ian McShane is awesome, He won't be able to cuss like he does ever other word in dead wood but its all good.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:12:16 AM

I used to watch this dude in some sh*tty BBC program 15 years ago called Lovejoy.

He has come a long way from that. Is Russell Brand still tied to this?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:27:16 AM

McShane is the bomb! All the other pirates are f*ckin' c*cksuckers.
liverpool67 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:48:24 AM

Hell Yes!! Now I am interested in this movie. He kick ass. But I want Geoffrey Rush as well.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 9:46:09 AM

@VDODSON
wake up baby, no actor is badass they are sissy girls hidding behind their body guards they are cuck suckers and drug addits no more!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 10:58:01 AM

@Trueman: I would like to see you say that to McShane's face and then watch you get the Al Swearengen-treatment.
rocketman writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 12:51:27 PM

f*cking Lovejoy hit the big time in America?
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 1:18:32 PM

Sweet good choice

@trueman - what the f*ck is a cuck sucker did you mean c*ck sucker? (if you did mean c*ck sucker you must be talking about COC since he like to play hide the salami with his mouth and *sshole)
Rich k writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 1:39:55 PM

they should get russell grant in this movie.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 2:10:28 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare
name the place or the time dude im ready to hit him with a statue, but, maybe his bodyguard problally won't let getting close to hit him!

@jeffw1978
is c*ck sucker sorry for my bad english
TwoTakez writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 2:11:42 PM

Yeah 'Lovejoy' is smashin it in America after Deadwood.............He'll always be a ropey antiques dealer to me though
D.O.C. writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:57:36 PM

@jeff- Your seriously trying to get a rise out of me. To bad I'd rather talk about the actually topic above.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:26:54 PM

Ian Mcshane made the f*cking seeker watchable, the man is awesome.
MadHatter writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 9:17:06 PM

@liverpool67-
Geoffrey Rush is going to be in Pirates 4, it just has not been officially announced just yet, expect to hear about it soon because of the fact that they are now starting to let out the casting information for Pirates 4 on the internet.
Snootch writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 9:21:57 AM

My wife was watching a rerun of Dallas the other day and there on the TV was Ian McShane....talk about righting your career over the years. So happy to see Swearengen as Blackbeard.
MadHatter writes:
on February 26th, 2010 at 2:37:54 PM

Could it be that Ian McShane might do a better job at playing as Blackbeard, then Geoffrey Rush playing as Barbossa, and Bill Nighy playing as Davy Jones?, I thought i'd ask this because, well, there is always the chance that Ian McShanes playing as Blackbeard could do a better job then Geoffrey Rush as Barbossa, and Bill Nighy as Davy Jones.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved