WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith's "Uptown Saturday Night" Remake Status

Posted: February 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will SmithSubmit Comment
Back in January we reported that Warner Bros hired Mark and Robb Cullen to re-write the most recent draft of the remake for Sidney Poitier's 1974 comedy "Uptown Saturday Night," which Will Smith now owns the rights to and Denzel Washington has been circling.

During the "Cop Out" press junket, we had the chance to catch up with the Cullen brothers to get an update on the project. "We're waiting on Will, he's got 'Men in Black 3,' he's got four [projects]," they said. "He's the biggest movie star in the world, it comes down to what Will wants to do."

They continued: "We wrote it obviously for Will and Denzel to [play Sidney Poitier's and Bill Cosby's roles]. Hopefully it will be that with David Dobkin (Wedding Crashers) directing. It's a very funny script."

Regarding story: "Will bought the properties for all three, he owns 'Uptown Saturday Night,' he owns 'Let's Do it Again' and 'A Piece of the Action.' So we married the elements of all of them. It's a big movie. A big, fun movie."

The original film followed the misadventures of two friends who sneak out of their homes to visit a legendary - yet illegal - nightclub. But when the place is held up, and their wallets are taken, the pair must recover a winning lottery ticket that was lurking within Cosby's wallet.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 3:04:36 AM

Sounds great! Make room for Will back at the top of the industry after taking a year off.
trailertrash writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 4:38:07 AM

sounds ok ... maybe skip men in black 3 and do this instead....
VDODSON writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:16:39 AM

Men in Black 3 can eat a d*ck, this sounds a hell of alot better. Maybe a small cameo for Jazzy Jeff can be included.
VDODSON writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:27:00 AM

Does anyone know why Carleton from the Fresh Prince didnt become a big star? Its a riddle wrapped around an enigma. Hands down funniest character on tv ever.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 7:54:25 AM

Vdodson: According to the rumors, the reason why the other cast members of The Prince of Bel Air didn't become more famous was because of Mr. Smith himself. The show was all about him and anyone getting more popular was kicked off the show.
barley_cat writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:08:58 AM

Yay, my two favourite black men!

Men in Black 3??? OMG I think I may wet myself!

Yes in the dirty way.
VDODSON writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:25:28 AM

How about giving Danny Glover a role as the aging janitor who dreams of retirement.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 10:46:50 AM

@Horror: Actually it was kind of the other way around. Some cast members became jealous of all his attention and wanted more money for their contributions. Aunt Biz was fired for her demands and easily replaced. As far as I know she was the only one let go according to E!THS.

@VDODSON: Carleton Banks (Alfonzo Ellis) just fizzled out like other TV child stars. Remember he had been famous since he was like 9 yo and was on Silver Spoons. He had a good run and made a lot of cash which I heard he invested well. Now he just dates porn stars! Hopefully he's somewhere doin the Carleton dance right now :-)

Men in Black 3 will kill at the box office!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:35:33 AM

@VDODSON: "I'm too old for this sh*t..." Love it!!

The MIB films are great!! They serve their purpose as a seat filler and just all around good time. Never expected much from the first one but was pleasantly surprised.
That being said, MIB3 can wait. We already know it will be in 3D so feh. But this project sounds so much more fun and entertaining. I really hope it takes off and gets done.
It'd be one hell of an opportunity to pool all the best comedic black actors into. I would love to see Chappelle, Lawrence, Rock, I don't care.....well no Wayans rather cause I do actually care.
Although I'm sure Smith would never put that much of a lineup together in one film. He has that ego problem that plagued his show as Horror mentioned.
rabid writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 12:23:04 PM

They have to spring Rip Torn from jail first before they can shoot MIB3!
rabid writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 12:49:13 PM

I do like the MiB films,I just wish they'd stick to the comics better. It should be a lot more violent, and why does it always have to be about aliens? MiB mainly deals with the supernatural in the source material.
c-prime writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 1:18:01 PM

@ SACdaddy: Ha ha. The name of the actor who played Carlton on "Fresh Prince" is Alfonso Ribeiro, dude, but your mistake plays off wonderfully against the fact that you said his career just "fizzled out." Clearly - nobody can even remember his real name. Ha ha.
rabid writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 1:49:25 PM

I will always remember Alphonso from Silver Spoons and his Michael Jackson lip synch act on Puttin on The Hitz.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 3:02:09 PM

@C-prime: LOL!!! I knew that sounded wrong but I didn't think anyone would care enough to correct me, further proving your point. sh*t, I thought I was earning points for just remembering him in Silver Spoons. That was kind of easy though since his name was Alfonso on the show.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 3:02:11 PM

sounds interesting ... even more so if it's a comedy (which i'm assuming it is)
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 3:12:03 PM

LMAO @SAC, I think you may have been thinking of LaPhonso Ellis NBA player who was with the Nuggets / Heat.
I can't stop laughing
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 4:31:26 PM

@Bunny: Ha! I was wondering where I got that. Thx man :-)
Peter Parker writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:16:07 PM

Speaking of remakes, Ryu and Chun Li's new movie:

http://www.empflix.com/view.php?id=17955
Ranger writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:47:55 PM

That pic... lol.

Denzel just heard Will made $80mil. the year before last.
LeeMaca writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:48:48 PM

Are you mib 3 haters NUTS? whats going to be funnier than agent Z robbing a back pissed with the little girly gun from the first movie!
LeeMaca writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:50:45 PM

ok i do realize theres no mib 3 hating on going on here sorry 'ma bad' was reading about mib 3 before i read this
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:44:15 PM

f*cking COC just j*zzed himself at the though of MIB3 though. Stupid faggot.
D.O.C. writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 7:32:23 PM

@jeff - You just had to f*ck the mood up. Just couldn't let everyone be excited about the news. Anyways, I hope this film is made by at least the end of 2011. Will Smith has been gone for a little while. If Will is producing I'm pretty sure it will be good. MIB 3 can wait.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 7:47:40 PM

f*ck will smith. I never saw what the big deal is about him. Sorry if I'm not on the side of most of you here.
GIST writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:13:09 PM

If this is a periodical piece that takes place during the 70's. Please, I hope the black men in the film don't have proper line-ups.
Meaning: the cleanliness of a man's hairline after a haircut.

I always lose the believability of the story when I see that sh*t in a dated time frame. I know it's small, but it get with the times. American Gangster is one example. No one was swaggin' out with a laser line-up back in the day, when they was shootin' up some blue magic.
trailertrash writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:16:26 AM

@Ranger, think will just said i passed on the book of eli years ago and they offered me 20mil plus 10%, what did you get !!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:17:42 AM

@SAC, I'll take that "man" as a simple sign of pal'ing around. What "man" names his login "BunnyFooFoo" and has a pic of Watership Down?
Last time I checked (this morning whilst peeing sitting down) I was 100% woman lol.
Not as much as Dandy but still qualifying nonetheless.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 11:47:53 AM

@Bunny: Sorry Bun, was typing on the run, won't happen again. I'd watch out though, looks like some of the other WPers are horny and on the prowl for female posters. I think Barley_Cat got propositioned last night.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 2:09:24 AM

Carlton should get together with Elaine Bennis (sp?) and have a dance off. Silver Spoons! takin it old school. I was but a wee tyke when that was on.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 2:10:14 AM

BTW, P.P. nice link. I can always count on you and Ranger for some interesting websites to look at.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 12:30:27 PM

@SAC, ugh I saw, good gal though, she's taking it in stride. Ehh whatcha gwon do enny way? That's the life of a female blogger.

Shall I assume the SAC reps Sacramento?
Vin12 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:06:03 PM

IT'S GONNA BE A BIG WILLY WEEKEND!!
Vin12 writes:
on March 3rd, 2010 at 10:06:43 PM

IT SHOULD BE IN 3D

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved