WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Shutter Island" Takes First Place at Box Office

Posted: February 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Shutter Island" Takes First Place at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Martin Scorsese's $80 million "Shutter Island" thriller opened in theaters this weekend with an estimated $40 million at the domestic box office. The movie was evenly split among genders, attracting 51% male and 49% female.

"Shutter" was also the highest opening for both Scorsese and star Leonardo DiCaprio. Scorsese's previous top opener was "The Departed" which earned $26.9 million in 2006, while DiCaprio's was "Catch Me If You Can" which took in $30.1 million in 2003.

As the only wide release, "Shutter" had no trouble beating last week's winner "Valentine's Day," which fell to the No. 2 spot, earning $17.2 million. The $52 million film has now earned $87 million in two weeks.

20th Century Fox's "Avatar" continued to perform well at the box office, grossing an estimated $16.1 million in its tenth week for a domestic total of $687.8 million. The film's worldwide total is now $2.46 billion.

Meanwhile, "The Wolfman" has underperformed in its second week, grossing only $9.8 million for a new domestic total of $50.3 million. The film cost $150 million to make.

Click here to read our "Shutter Island" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 68 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 6:31:43 PM

Great movie, glad to see it getting the money is deserves.
triggax writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 6:31:55 PM

So sad that DiCaprios and Scorseses biggest opening were less than 40 million and Robert Pattinsons best opening was like 155 million... that make any sense to you? Oh yeah it does.. Everyone on this planet is completely f*cking retarded.


Loved the movie though.. DiCaprio is a class act.. And he was excellent in this.
Kindlegolas writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:01:22 PM

I really hope DiCaprio gets an Oscar someday, he is the one actor who deserves one
eximius007 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:03:16 PM

@triggax well you gotta look at another point too, when the Dark Knight came out and than Twilight later that year came out winning the mtv award for best movie. when CLEARLY its not, its all thanks to the twifags who do not know a good movie when they see it. hell they proly think Monopoly will be a good movie.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:09:33 PM

Is anybody here watching the olympics? Because I sure as sh*t aren't.
eximius007 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:13:06 PM

the only thing that is watched during the Olympics as of now is the guy that died
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:16:17 PM

EXACTLY, I can't understand what's so f*cking important about the Olympics, all I care about is the cameltoe on the Japanese speedskater
barley_cat writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:18:40 PM

So you ARE watching the Olympics then spooky?
eximius007 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:20:03 PM

japanese. cameltoe. O__O must look.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:23:03 PM

Anything with hot japanese girls who have cameltoe in skin tight golden suits catch my eye when I flip through the channels
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:25:00 PM

http://www.chinasmack.com/pictures/japan-speedskater-miho-takagi-g-string-underwear/
eximius007 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:25:06 PM

@spooky ah so thats how you came across the Olympics
barley_cat writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:25:38 PM

Spooky said: "Is anybody here watching the olympics? Because I sure as sh*t aren't."

I'm confused.


SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:26:08 PM

She's 15? Shiiit, That makes her even more fappable
eximius007 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:26:55 PM

ha wow, that link, i can guess what color your panties are, but then again i can SEE your cameltoe
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:27:18 PM

Exhibit A
"Is anybody here watching the olympics? Because I sure as sh*t aren't."

Exhibit B
"I flip through the channels"

"I'm confused."
Clearly.
The Ripper writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:33:07 PM

Shutter Island equals Camel Toe Conversation??
The Ripper writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:34:06 PM

Clearly I'm confused,
The Ripper writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:34:12 PM

Clearly I'm confused,
eximius007 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:35:08 PM

SPOILER ALERT: THERE ARE FEMALES IN THE MOVIE. So yeah it could lead to a camel toe conversation. Clearly.
The Ripper writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:37:03 PM

I saw the flick last night.
The Ripper writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:37:32 PM

Michelle Williams is f*cking crazy, lol
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:46:11 PM

Well Clearly he's crazy, Clearly.

I'm gonna watch the hockey game, it actually interests me.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 8:18:33 PM

I just saw Shutter Island this morning and I must say, it ended better in the movie then in the book.

Saw The Wolfman this afternoon and that was a little dissapointing. The only reason why I'm hoping for a sequel is because of Hugo Weaving.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 8:50:14 PM

i watched the wolfman and i thought it was great. however, as someone else pointed out it was quite obvious they cut out some scenes and side-plots to make it shorter.

haven't seen shutter island but might watch that later today if all goes well.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 9:18:59 PM

Damn wolfman cost 150 million? Such a waste, even on paper with that talent it's a waste. Horror films shouldn't cost that much money to make, they just shouldn't.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 9:59:10 PM

Well, once again Team Canada sucks my balls.

Why was Dennis Quaid coaching? And WHY THE f*ck would you take your goalie out of net at such a crucial moment? This is why I don't watch the Olympics.
lost_addict writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 10:10:21 PM

'Meanwhile, "The Wolfman" has underperformed in its second week, grossing only $9.8 million for a new domestic total of $50.3 million. The film cost $150 million to make.'

great!lets give the same director 'captain ameriaca'!!!

otis writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 10:30:24 PM

Wolfman may go down as one of the biggest flops of all time. Here's to history, boys!
Ari Gold writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 11:38:07 PM

What the f*ck is that picture Otis?
triggax writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 12:32:54 AM

Im no scientist but it looks like Sally Jesse Raphael..
Peter Parker writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 12:39:46 AM

In Brazil, women have the biggest, roundest, phatest, juiciest, most f*ckable asses I have EVER seen in my life!

And just to make this relevant to the topic at hand, Shutter Island should be a tropical island with big assed women.
wonderBOY writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 1:01:25 AM

@Kindlegolas
what about gary oldman or steve buscemi they deserve one befor leo
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 1:03:28 AM

How in hell did Wolfman cost 150 millions? It doesn't look that impressive. Hopkins must have taken a serious paycheck.
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 2:57:22 AM

Get ready for another batch of unfunny Spooky comments. Offcourse you aint watching the olympics you fat obese retard.

nope.com writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 4:44:13 AM

Scorsese finally got that oscar for Departed

... I won't watch anything of his that's not on par with that

certainly not sh*tter Island
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 7:40:03 AM

encore: Maybe they will have a director's cut of those lost scenes from The Wolfman on DVD. So far the worldwide box office of this film brings it to $100 million. I'm hoping it makes it's budget back in the next few weeks.
barley_cat writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:00:05 AM

@Spooky, let me rephrase then, you stated you aren't watching the olympics (completely irrelevent to this news of course), then when someone said they do watch it, you then changed your mind and said you do watch it to see all the "cameltoes".

I am CONFUSED as to why you would change your statement just for the sake of conversation over the internet.

NOT confused about your f*cking post you retard.
barley_cat writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:04:32 AM

I actually get it though, you're trying to proove your sexuality to us.
Pretending you're interested in sports and women! Ha!
I quote: "I'm gonna watch the hockey game, it actually interests me."

NOT something a straight male would say Spooky, just so you know.

A real man just likes sport, they don't have to say it!

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 9:02:55 AM

Real men watch figure skating
j-man writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 10:08:13 AM

@Kindlegolas

cudnt agree with you more, he should have got one for blood diamond
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:53:03 AM

Great movie.

Funny how Avatar is still in the top 5. I wonder when it'll drop out.
I finally saw it this weekend and the IMAX.

Visually, my eyes needed a cig afterwards. Story-wise, ehh not all bad as folks say. I was quite entertained by the film.
barley_cat writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:58:32 AM

Lol no Freud, real men DO figureskating!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 12:32:54 PM

Didn't even know men were allowed to do figure skating. Special Olympics here I come!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 3:04:30 PM

@Horror-yeah i'm waiting for the eventual directors cut, i'm sure it will be better (like DareDevil so i hear ...)
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 3:52:27 PM

"I actually get it though, you're trying to proove your sexuality to us."

HAHAHAHAHAHA WHAT THE f*ck?! I'm not trying to "proove" anything, I could care less if you think I pumped hot sweaty manpole on my free time, I even have a pink hitler as my f*cking avatar!

"Get ready for another batch of unfunny Spooky comments. Offcourse you aint watching the olympics you fat obese retard."

"retard"

"Offcourse"

right.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 3:55:01 PM

The only men I have seen in figure skating are the pillow biters like COC, so I think I will stay far away from the skating rink on those days.

@FN Special Olympics Figure skating on the other hand would be f*cking awesome and hilarious to watch.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 4:10:08 PM

Shutter Island was kick ass!! Damn movie made me sleep with the light on with my thumb in my mouth...the right thumb not the left...that's the one thats up may ass...don't wanna get those confused.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 4:12:56 PM

"I am CONFUSED as to why you would change your statement just for the sake of conversation over the internet."

jesus f*cking christ

"I flip through the channels"
"I flip through the channels"
"I flip through the channels"
"I flip through the channels"
"I flip through the channels"

Understand now??
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 4:17:34 PM

You f*cking ARE confused, but I guess you don't have anything past an 8th grade reading level, because you write like you belong in the paralympics.
lawman writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 4:55:27 PM

SPOOKY>>>> You honestly suck everytime you put finger to keyboard. You come busting in, begging for attention, flame people (or rather, attempt to) for no good reason, then run like a c*nt before they post a response you cant handle! I hope your parents are divorced, and if they are not, I hope they do so soon! And despite what anyone says, IT WILL BE YOUR FAULT! I would divorce the woman that birthed me such a fag in a heartbeat! Squat on a fist you little H.S. locker room meat gazer!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:01:18 PM

" You honestly suck everytime you put finger to keyboard. You come busting in, begging for attention, flame people (or rather, attempt to) for no good reason, then run like a c*nt before they post a response you cant handle! I hope your parents are divorced, and if they are not, I hope they do so soon! And despite what anyone says, IT WILL BE YOUR FAULT! I would divorce the woman that birthed me such a fag in a heartbeat! Squat on a fist you little H.S. locker room meat gazer!"

"You... flame people..."

Double standards are cool
Peter Parker writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:39:58 PM

I find double standards quite limiting!
I prefer to have multiple standards, one for each situation in life. Much more practical.

Multiple standards are cooler.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:02:56 PM

I'd agree with you but I might get bombarded by Barley_cat comments saying that I'm changing my opinion over the internet for the sake of conversation! (who f*cking cares if I did in the first place anyways?)
triggax writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:05:11 PM

@peterparker...

Having multiple standards is genius... But you run a very high risk of being labeled a "c*nt"
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:08:54 PM

I could deal with being labled a c*nt as long as it does not keep me from getting some well c*nt!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:18:54 PM

@ Spooks:

Well, here's my plan, then: Make peace with her, pretend you're her new BFF, or something, and then help the rest of us talking her into showing her tits here.
Apparently, she has quite a rack, so it might be worth the effort!

Afterwards, you can go back to using multiple standards and call her an inarticulate confused woman again.

BTW, women love to be treated like trash so, by following this course of action, she might actually fall in love with you... or something!

... anyway, I'm divagating now. Topless barley, that was my point!

@ trig:

I could be called a c*nt, or just a very practical individual. Relativity...

Regardless, I'm not one to worry about what others may think or say about me, so... meh

I do love c*nts though!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:25:44 PM

Barley's a chick???

I nostalgia'd to a few months back when there was that whole thing with lost_rose on that 'twilight 3 will be more guy friendly' thread lol.

@PP

sounds like too much work, I'm gonna let her pms and sh*t, you guys have fun looking at her rack though, she probably weighs 431 pounds...
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:32:18 PM

431 Huh(that's a little exact isn't it)....Tits are Tits as long as that is all I am seeing and no rolls included.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:35:45 PM

Sometimes Jeff, you make too much sense
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:38:37 PM

I know and its f*cking amazing the like 5 times it has happened.
Tizzle writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 7:52:39 PM

The hatred between you guys seems quite unfounded however it is very funny so you should keep it up.

On topic: They should call this movie sh*tter island.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 12:54:09 AM

If i didn't know any better, I'd swear Spooky and Barley are in love. you can feel the sexual tension through the internet.

(Just joking folks. I think)
lawman writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 8:21:46 AM

SPOOKY>>>>Great rebuttal! Guess you neglected to read the words 'no reason' in my post? When I flame people on here, it is NEVER without reason. Like you for example. You are like the pain in the ass 12yr old third cousin at Christmas that insists on sitting at the adults table. You hold conversations that you know just enough about the topic to come off as trying to hard and sounding immature! You name drop like you are a major player in "the biz". I dont like you and do not pretend to! Your a pompus little ass that probably is like a ghost at home and in school! Did I mention that your a c*nt?
barley_cat writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 9:13:45 AM

Parker, NOT cool, NOT big, NOT clever.. bad boy!

Spooky, I can't even be arsed to retaliate, seeing as my reading level is below grade 8.

I could be a 400 pound lard arse but i'd still be better than any woman you'd have a chance with.
barley_cat writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 3:53:02 PM

@ triggax your right p.parker is close to bein labeled a c*nt... or is a....
Peter Parker writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 7:13:58 PM

Labels are for imbeciles that can't think for themselves and need to recur to labeling in order to understand certain concepts.
It's a little like organizing socks by colors, so that the kids will know which pair to use each day. Something a child, or a simpleton, would need.

What you meant to say was not that I am a c*nt. You meant you're pissed at me because you were incapable of comprehending the humor in what I wrote, you mistook it for rudeness, and now you're just lost and talking sh*t.
Get your act together.

Regarding c*nts, I f*ck them, then dump them.

Now, start using some of that f*cking sense of humor you used to have, because your latest posts have been filled with nothing but complete and utter idiocy.

... or you can just show your f*cking tits already.
Humor or tits. Or both. Think about it.
3934brook writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:58:30 AM

We just saw this tonight it was great

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved