WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

WWE Wrestler in Talks for Villain Role in "Conan the Barbarian" Remake

Posted: February 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
WWE Wrestler in Talks for Villain Role in "Conan the Barbarian" RemakeSubmit Comment
About a month ago, WWE Wrestler Shad Gaspard revealed on his MySpace blog that he auditioned for the role of Ukafa (the main villain) in the remake of "Conan the Barbarian." At the time he was convinced that he did a good job, but was worried about all the other "Hollywood heavy hitters" that were also being looked at.

Gaspard has now updated his blog again, this time stating that he has passed the first part of casting and that the role is now down to him and only a few other actors. If he ends up getting hired he will star in the movie opposite Jason Momoa ("Stargate: Atlantis"), who has already been cast as Conan.

The wrestler is 29-years-old, 6'7 feet tall and weighs 285 lbs. Seems like a good fit for the role, despite the fact that he's not really an actor.

Ukafa casting call: He's in his 30s-40, very dark-skinned African or African American, massively framed at six-foot-five, gold-toothed, hardened by a lifetime of war, a leader of Kushite Tribemen from the savannahs of Kush. Ukafa is Khalar Singh's second in command, jealous that Singh's son, Fariq, will one day be warlord. He obeys his leader but plots the overthrow of his son. He is a mighty warrior and unbeatable in battle until he comes face to face with Conan.

Source: MySpace


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 70 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 2:09:28 AM

This would be interesting news if I hadn't stopped caring about the movie as soon as Jason Momoa was cast as the lead.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 2:32:00 AM

why is it that people think wwe wrestlers can act outside the ring. the only exception is the rock who im starting to doubt due to that tooth fairy movie he made.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 3:43:45 AM

Dwayne has been making some sketchy choices, but hopefully this cop movie comedy he has coming this year will put him back on the path I can get with. A couple kid's movies are fine but he's done like three in a row. Switch it up buddy!
rocketman writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 4:12:16 AM

Wrestlers and queer looking Hawaian barbarian romp!This film needs to do a 180 and start again.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:27:39 AM

rocketman has said it all for this thread
rocketman writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:35:39 AM

@Eben..All im getting so far is a sub Beastmaster/Scorpion king vibe with a dash of that crappy 10,000 year remake from a few years ago.Wrong from word go.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:41:30 AM

At least they aren't hiding the fact that they won't even try to make it good.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:48:48 AM

Beastmaster is definitely better than this movie will be, and Scorpion King has a 90% chance of being better (well let's say 100% based on the presence of the awesomely hot Kelly Hu, and Rolf Moeller, which gives it a connection to both Arnold (friends) and Gladiator)... This movie would probably be better than 10,000 BC, except for the fact that they got a Pacific Islander who looks in no way European to play a character who is basically the super great grand daddy of William Wallace and Michael Collins... and Boudica!!!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:50:23 AM

That would be like hiring Gerard Butler to play a famous Hawaiian.
rocketman writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:53:13 AM

Well there is that i suppose,but if honesty makes bad film then i want politicans to start directing. Tony Blair is gonna clean up at the Oscars if that happens.
nope.com writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:58:51 AM

"Shad Gaspard"?? f*ck kind of name is that?

Whatever happened to names like The Rock or Mankind

'Shad Gaspard' is flimsy enough it competes with 'Criss Angel' as one of the worst showbiz names ever.. though can't blame Angel for changing his (given name was Sarantaco which sounds like it belongs on a menu at taco bell)

btw.. wrestling is still popular? That fake sh*t that kids used to watch?
rocketman writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 6:07:01 AM

@Eben
Beastmaster will easily better this,thing is i love BM not because its a great barbarian film,its because its as camp as a row of tents.Like Rocky Horror Picture Show with swords and less singing. Conan should be a somber,violent one man epic,this new Conan is coming off more like the O.C/90210 six pack bender fest.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 6:25:33 AM

100% correct Rocketman. BM was good because it had charm. Conan is supposed to be brutal as f*ck. That's where they went wrong with Conan the Destroyer. Barbarian they ahd the right idea. It could have been executed a little better, but for it's time it was out there. They tried to water it down for the next one and ended up with a lackluster sequel. The best representation (non book) I've seen of Conan is the 360 game, that sh*t might not be based on any REH story, but it keeps the spirit of it all the way. In fact, the little plot synopsis they offer here indicates the movie will keep the spirit, story-wise, of the REH stories, but it just wont work with a metrosexual looking Hawaiian playing the part of a proto-celt that is the most masculine and barbaric motherf*cker that ever lived (didn't really live, but you know what I mean).
rocketman writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 8:06:25 AM

Spot on Ebden.
rocketman writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 9:38:34 AM

Der,without the d..^
SACdaddy writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 11:14:20 AM

I think you guys forgot how they cast the first Conan film. The henchmen in that film were Arnie's bodybuilding friend Frank Columbo and the other guy was an ex NFL star. How is a WWE star any worse than that? I just saw this guy the other night, HE'S f*ckING HUGE!!! This will easily be the most intimidating character ever in a Conan film.

Why hasn't that huge f*cker from Troy and The Protector been cast as a bad guy yet for this film? That animal was born to split wigs with a battle axe in a Conan film. He's probably sitting by the phone in the gym he lives in just waiting for the call. Dont make him wait too long Hwood or he may kill somebody.
dx7825it22 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 11:32:08 AM


I looked it up, Shad Gaspard is his real name, and his nickname is THE BEAST!!! 6’7”, 290lbs. now that’s a warrior.

Why is everyone downing this film before it even gets started? I bet when John Milius casted Arnold for the first Conan everyone was like “Are you kidding me, the body builder from Hercules hits New York is the lead!” (Yeah I went there)

If Jason Momoa is as good of a fighter everyone says I would love to see him fight this big monster, rather than the same old movie big guys.

I like this guy for Ukaffa, I'm still optimistic that the new Conan will be a good film
SACdaddy writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 11:35:49 AM

BTW, there have been some good performances by WWE stars in the past:

Stone Cold -- The Condemned
The Rock -- The Rundown, Walking Tall, Be Cool
Rowdy Roddy Piper -- They Live
Hogan -- Rocky 3 and No Holds Barred
Jesse The Body Ventura -- Predator
SACdaddy writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 11:56:58 AM

@dx: Making Conan a tall slender (compared to Arnold) Hawaiian that looks black is the main problem. The guy could be the king of cagefighting and fans of the character and Arnie still would be put off by the huge leap in look. Its not racist, its loyalty, and it seems like such a basic thing to mess up. Let's just say it doesn't exactly exude confidence in the rest of the film.

Sometimes I forget that these are things that the average moviegoer may not give a sh*t about. Many aren't even old enough to care about the original or the comic. But why piss off those who would be buying a ticket merely because it carries the title of Conan? Why not cast a hulking white looking guy and get both fans and new audience $$$$
Charlie9 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 12:23:16 PM

"not really an actor"...but isn't that what wrestlers are? Actors, and some of them are actually pretty good.
dx7825it22 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 1:58:39 PM

He's going to Kick Jason Momoas ass!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 2:53:23 PM

Maybe this is like the fake Transformers script that leaked. Jason Momoa was cast but he's really some Nubian king or something, and out of nowhere Daniel Cudmore with a spray on tan comes out as Conan.

Is this the dude from Cryme Time or whatever that tag team is called??? If so he's got some potential. Wrestling isn't what it was in the 80's, the action takes a back seat to the acting now, and some of these guys are pretty convincing.
Kurskij writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 2:54:09 PM

You know the movie has a problem, if the casting call for a f*cking Conan movie says "african or AFRICAN-AMERICAN"
dx7825it22 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 4:11:34 PM

Kurskij

Why is that? James Earl Jones played Thulsa Doom in the first Conan and was one of the best villains in history and he was african or AFRICAN-AMERICAN" as you put it.

So are you saying in the world of Conan every on is just one color and from one background?
pomme writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 4:13:24 PM

it feels great acting!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 4:20:38 PM

@dx: I think Kurskij meant that it was quite redundant to have a casting call read both african and african-american
Taranaich writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 4:35:38 PM

"This would be interesting news if I hadn't stopped caring about the movie as soon as Jason Momoa was cast as the lead."

Most Howard and Conan fans stopped caring when the script and character sheet was linked. A good Conan wasn't going to save this train wreck.

"In fact, the little plot synopsis they offer here indicates the movie will keep the spirit, story-wise, of the REH stories"

It really won't. It gives Conan a contrived "traumatic childhood" origin story, makes a mockery of Howard's world, and is filled with things swiped from other fantasy and even comic films. It's Scorpion King 2.

"I think you guys forgot how they cast the first Conan film. The henchmen in that film were Arnie's bodybuilding friend Frank Columbo and the other guy was an ex NFL star. How is a WWE star any worse than that?"

That'd be all well and good if this was meant to be a remake of Conan the Barbarian, when it's supposed to be a remake based on one of the most iconic and influential characters in 20th Century fantasy. Not that it's being anything like that, of course.

"Why is everyone downing this film before it even gets started? I bet when John Milius casted Arnold for the first Conan everyone was like “Are you kidding me, the body builder from Hercules hits New York is the lead!” (Yeah I went there)"

Howard fans did exactly that, and they were still right, seeing as Conan the Barbarian has about as much in common with Howard's work as Jon Peter's idea of Superman matched the comics. It was a great film, but it wasn't a Conan film.
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 4:54:01 PM

So the entire cast seems like an affirmative action poster. Didn't anyone tell them Conan is a celt? This is shaping up to be 10,000 BC redux.
KoJay writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 4:55:35 PM

I love this guy. Don't hate on him he's one of the few people that is making WWE still interesting.

Like Cryme Tyme says, "Money Money Yeh Yeh, Money Money Yeh Yeh, Money Money Yeh Yeh, Money Money Yeh Yeh.....
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 4:56:13 PM

Actually, the guy who plays Crixus on Showtime's Spartacus would make an excellent Conan is he grew out his hair. He's a little too bulky to match Conan's panther-like litheness, but close. And he seems a decent actor.
Kurskij writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:14:21 PM

@Freudian and dx

Thanks, Freud ))).

But what I've actually meant was:

"He's in his 30s-40, very dark-skinned African or African American, massively framed at six-foot-five, gold-toothed, hardened by a lifetime of war, a leader of Kush*te Tribemen from the savannahs of Kush".

They're describing the character. From the conan universe. Kush etc. Yet they say he can be either african or african-american. Nit-picking on my side for sure, but still this call looks funny.

Kurskij writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:17:04 PM

btw, freudian, you're right, it also was quite redundanå ). But maybe it's just good olde american P.C.
Kurskij writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:23:01 PM

Damn, I'm slow today...

BTW, if the guy is 6'7 and 285 and Momoa is 6'4 and looks about 220, how are they supposed to look on screen? Conan was always meant to be the biggest MF in the room. In this case, I can hardly see that.
dx7825it22 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:31:15 PM

@Kurskij ok i understand... Sorry

I think I know why they gave the role to Jason Momoa. Barbarians where considered the mutts of Europe. Traveling from northern Europe to Africa and Asia. And where a mixcher of people, of dark fetchers.

Momoa is a mutt in a good way, Hawaiian Caucasian, and Samoan. He is what most barbarians would be like.
Kurskij writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:51:09 PM

@dx

No problem, it's cool. )

About Momoa and barbarians - you're right, but there is a big BUT: Conan is kimmerrian (possibly comes from region of Crimea and Caucasus). He was born in a country surrounded by mountains (sounds like Caucasus) and REH described him after himself (but big, buff, badass and not completely insane) - dark hair, blue eyes, white but very tanned skin. Momoa looks hawaiian. He doesn't look like a guy born in mountains.
3934brook writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 6:58:13 PM

Hell YEAH!!!! Finally some real muscle in Conan. Shad Gaspard is the man. He's a very talented big guy and is going to be like Dwayne Johnson in the next 3yrs.

He's got my vote for Ukafa
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 7:33:01 PM

Danny Glover will be playing Conan's dad. He'll say "I'm too old for this sh*t" before the villain kills him. The dude in the Medea drag will play Conan's mother. As Conan's love interest - Martin Lawrence in Big Fat Momma fat suit. Maybe get Chris Rock to replace Mako. And for history lover's Barbarians weren't mixed race mutts. Until the invasions by Moors and Mongols most if not all European tribes, barbarian or otherwise, were caucasoid (white). So no Samoans running around. Sorry to disrupt your homo fantasy. Since REH built a pre-historical fantasy world in which the Cimmerians were based on the Celts who were white and Conan was described as white MAYBE Conan should be white. On top of that it's a Samoan who can't act. The dude's biggest role was on a Stargate spinoff, ripoff, or some sh*t. Why are we getting subpar Samoan? Most likely, he gave the best head. And movie producers love blowjeez.
n/a writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 8:46:33 PM

he is from WWE, that means he is a better actor then most of the rappers doing movies. And all the bad sh*t people have to say about this dude, is prob the same thing people said about Arnold.
3934brook writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 8:48:36 PM

@HideousSecretion ... Dude your a close minded d*ck,
encoreyourface writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 9:03:11 PM

he's black! they only want him to be the villain to show that all blacks are bad,those f*cking Nazi's! those damn racist's are as bad as Vanity Fair!

seriously though he's what a Conan villain should look like, big and bad-ass. and if he's with WWE he should really know how to act! like n/a said, better then most rappers ...
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 9:08:34 PM

Tamarich

It really won't. It gives Conan a contrived "traumatic childhood" origin story, makes a mockery of Howard's world, and is filled with things swiped from other fantasy and even comic films. It's Scorpion King 2.

I was not aware of these things, thank you for reinforcing my decision to not bother to see this movie.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 2:46:53 AM

Sure seems to be a lot of fuss about a black guy being in Conan. Strange since there's been one in a major role in both movies so far. Casting this WWE monster is basically in the tradition of a Conan film.

BTW, while I'll agree I dont like Conan's new look, I would like to clarify that JM isn't black at all. He's a Hawaiian with dreads. After a few HGH cycles and a shampoo he wont look any worse than the Rock in the Scorpion King. The main villain's casting may make or break this film. Where's Mickey Rourke when you need him?
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 2:53:05 AM

@ 3934brook Stopping thinking about my d*ck. Why am I close-minded? Cause I don't want a beloved character played by someone that looks nothing like him and can't act. How about we get the kid who played McLovin to play Othello. Skin color is as valid a casting criteria as age, gender, attractiveness, etc. When skin color isn't important for a role I don't give a sh*t. When it is of importance I give a sh*t. For instance I don't give a sh*t that the above wrestler playing a villian is black. If you have a problem with Conan being white #1 stop being so close-minded and #2 take it up with REH since he wrote Conan to be a white guy who spent 80% of the stories killing thinly-veiled Arabs and Africans.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 2:59:43 AM

The level of violence might make or break this also. With this new, somewhat unknown cast theys should concentrate on making this at least as violent as the first film. sh*t, up the violence! They're going to have to do something to fill the void Arnold leaves behind, why not just up the body count and make Conan a killing machine? Don't make the same mistake McGoof made with Term Salv. Arnold's legacy is bathed in blood and can't be followed up with some PG-13 nutless insult of a movie.
Kurskij writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 3:30:45 AM

@SAC

I agree, and Marcus Nispel in director's chair is at least promising, but Taranaich made a very good point - with wrestlers attached and hawaiian dude in the leading role, Nu Image producing and reported 90mil budget. Plus with all the problems this project have already had and might have in the future. PG-13 is almost a lock. Looks like it'll be "Scorpion King meets yet-unreleased Prince of Persia". But they don't have Bruckheimer, Disney and the fan-base will likely be turned off by this.

Conan means big sets, epic sceneries, lots of hot badass chicks, badass MF villains and main hero with balls so big a Ray Charles could hit them with a dart from 500 yards. So it's at least 100mil budget (if no big stars) and hard-R.

Not going to happen in this life.
CGI MAN writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:53:42 AM

He said hm and a few others,one of those others is Raw Leiba(The guy whom the producers actually want)but the rumour is they cant get him because hes already signed to do another movie,but the conan producers are trying to work it out.he looks much better as a villian then this wrestler dude,check IMDB
CGI MAN writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 8:54:59 AM

He said him and a few others,one of those others is Raw Leiba(The guy whom the producers actually want)but the rumour is they cant get him because hes already signed to do another movie,but the conan producers are trying to work it out.he looks much better as a villian then this wrestler dude,check IMDB
3934brook writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:03:29 AM

@CGI MAN...LOL.... Compared to this guy that Raw Leiba looks like a girl and really old. maybe he can play ukafas Uncle. Shad looks big and bad ass.

Pluss Shad has that WWE audience following him to the film and the come out big for wrestlers. Look at the Rock, I bet he wasn't the first pick for the Mummy returns, but pro wrestlers have that following that puts asses in seats.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:10:07 AM

@Kurskij: I completely agree with your ominous predictions. But to me the push for a big budget may not be necessary. We all get caught up in the brilliance that was Conan the Barbarian so much that we forget that it wasn't really a huge costly production to begin with. A Conan film can be epic without the big dollars. Its not like they're droppin big bucks on the cast. There's really no reason for any CGI expenses. A smaller budget is ususally good for refining what goes on camera and focusing the director on things that really matter (like plot and acting) As long as they rely on great cinematography and brutal violence (it cost pennies to chop someone head off) the smaller budget can help the film not hurt it.

SACdaddy writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:16:20 AM

@3934: Yep, that's why WWE is producing its own films now. Though most of the films suck, their bulit in audiences and low budgets always generate nice profits for old Vincey bulging pockets. He and Dana White might be the smartest business men in the entertainment industry right now.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 4:15:13 PM

this thing is just f*cked already!!! Just give the smurfs porn spin-off and let's call it a lifetime.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 5:19:43 PM

Smurfs porn spin-off? Sure!
Here you go:

http://xhamster.com/movies/40179/mogvid_-_smurf_f*ck-o-rama.html
CastingDirector writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 10:06:32 PM

CGI MAN YOU KNOW YOUR STUFF you must work in the business,Im a casting director and I would cast Raw Leiba way before I cast Shad Gaspard AND ITS NOT EVEN CLOSE,1.Hes an Actor and Stuntman and a CHAMPION martial artist,2.His physique is incredible,do your homework this man actually won an award for being the fitest human on earth!! Shad is very out of shape and bulky and would look quite horrible as a villian..the producers and casting got this one right the WWE makes there own films and other then THE ROCK,there guys should stay there.

Kurskij writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:22:33 PM

CastingDirector, do you have any idea, how miserable will Momoa (f*cking Conan, the fittest man of his own universe) will look next to Leiba?

Like a labradoodle puppy in a cage fight against steroid enhanced pitbull.
Kurskij writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 11:29:57 PM

@SAC

I hear you, and agree completely (we're like London Gentleman's Club lately - everyone agreeing on everything :).

Conan the Barbarian was awesome beyond awesome, but it wasn't exactly REH's Conan.

Conan means scale. I've also imagined this as an ultimate epic not in terms of 200000 men battles, but in terms of how you feel this enormous world. Southern cities, deserts, giant trees, badass ships. So the budget must be there to do credit to the original story at least.

Milius's Conan was great in its own right, but I've never felt that there really was this incredible world beyond those forests and rubber castles shown in the movie. That was pretty much it's only letdown for me.
3934brook writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 12:36:45 AM

@CastingDirector Shad did an interview today and it sounds like people like him for the film.

He gives allot of old school Conan fans confidents about the film now if, they should cast him just biased on that and his look. Raw Leiba doesn’t have the audients fan base Gaspard has or star quality. Gaspards a big deal, just check him out on the net. I don’t see nothing about Raw Leiba.
dx7825it22 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 2:26:54 AM


@CastingDirector...LOL Google search on Shad Gaspard results 949,000. Google search on Raw Leiba 9,560. Shad Gaspard is a celebrity; Raw Leiba is just a stunt man or big guy #4. Shad is more of a lead actor. If you don’t believe me youtube shad, then Raw, and judge for your self.
Blank x2 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 3:32:13 AM

@CastingDirector - Do you need to pass English 101 to be a casting director, or is knowing how to read, write, and spell optional?
CastingDirector writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 9:03:20 AM

Hey dx did you really say youtube?.lol.lol..Ive been in this business along time and I admit I dont know alot about wrestling but I DO KNOW MOVIES AND TELEVISION.Lead Actor?.Shad Gaspard doesnt have one ,JUST ONE actor credit on his resume period let alone a lead actor credit(check IMDB),are you kidding me?Ive seen Mr Leiba act on a variety of venues The Wire on HBO, LifeSupport And he was a regular on G4's Street Fighter TYL produced by CH. Ive even see him outside the UNITED STATES on a doc*mentary about the Brazilian Fighter Squadron.Mr Gaspard needs to get an extra credit first..with all due respect don't say Mr Gaspard is a lead actor,hes a wrestlers whos trying his hand at acting..thats it..Mr Leiba is an accomplished actor who's never wrestled,we at casting use IMDB,but heres some else to think about,the producers put him in the Conan credit already which means they want him,so I,m I and Marcus Nispel,Boaz Davidson all wrong?
You might end up getting Gaspard anyways because Mr Leiba has other movies hes signed to do,so who knows.
dx7825it22 writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 5:14:26 PM

Hey hear is another interview with gaspard on MTV



http://splashpage.mtv.com/2010/02/23/shad-gaspard-describes-his-conan-audition/


I like him for the film... Sorry Raw Leiba
mattcl23 writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 4:20:30 PM

@SACdaddy: you were thinking of Nathan Jones and yes he's as f*cking big as a bear.
CastingDirector writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 10:27:07 PM

Hers's an interview with Raw Leiba,we love him for the role of UKAFA.Great picture too !!

http://thetorchonline.com/2010/02/24/interview-raw-leiba-says-hes-still-in-the-running-for-conan-villain/

Sorry Shad Gaspard.
mishka writes:
on February 24th, 2010 at 11:34:59 PM


@CastingDirector

Lol Raw Leiba interview sounds just like shads, but weaker. Plus Shad’s press is on MTV.com, ComicBookMovie, WorstPreviews, USAToday, and WWE. And Raw responds by doing an interview on the torch online? Doesn’t sound like he is taking this role serious. And scheduling issues? Come on Raw your all ready to big a star for this film. LOL…He didn’t mention Shad not once in his interview. Shad mentioned him and even wished him good luck in one of them. Shad sounds like a class act and better for the role. Good luck to them both.

Raw Leiba 42yrs, 6’2”, and 200lbs
http://thetorchonline.com/2010/02/24/interview-raw-leiba-says-hes-still-in-the-running-for-conan-villain/

Shad Gaspard 29yrs, 6’7”, and 285lbs
http://www.wwe.com/inside/news/shadauditionconan
http://splashpage.mtv.com/2010/02/23/shad-gaspard-describes-his-conan-audition/

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/rorschachsrants/news/?a=15151

http://splashpage.mtv.com/2010/02/22/will-wwes-shad-gaspard-play-conan-villain/

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=16821&count=0

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/rorschachsrants/news/?a=15115

http://content.usatoday.com/topics/article/Places,+Geography/Towns,+Cities,+Counties/Hollywood/0gZOc8U2kB1zC/1


CGI MAN writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:21:28 AM

MISHKA
your info is screwed up I promise you,RAW LEIBA IS 6 FT 3 INCHES TALL AND WEIGHS 230 POUNDS..but what makes him the producers favorite (and he is the favorite see IMDB) is the fact hes so ripped AND I mean RIPPED !!,I like Shad alot Im a huge wrestling fan,but Raw Leiba is an actor/an award winning stuntman and a Champion martial artist the guy just seems to be great or adleast very good at everything he does,AS I said I love Shad,but hes a wrestler trying his hand at acting,I DONT WANT THAT.I want a good movie,that makes RAW LEIBA THE OBVIOUS CHOICE. SORRY SHAD..THIS MOVIE IS TOO IMPORTANT.
CastingDirector writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 12:51:00 AM

Mishka also got Leiba's age wrong he was born AUG 12,1975 that makes him 35..the role of UKAFA calls foe age 30-40,which puts Leiba perfectly in the center..hes also a great athlete and thats another thing besides the fact that hes an ACTOR not a wrestler,look at his bio..and by the way,the guy once won an award for being the fitest human on earth and was even on E Entertainment Television for that award..Im a gym guy and I remember how impressed I was seeing that.I wish them both luck but if its that close,go with the actor.

3934brook writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 1:22:37 AM

@ CastingDirector & CGI MAN…. Are you guys still on this, when it comes to judging talent and potential you guys suck. Shad is bigger (6’7”, 290lbs), stronger, younger (29yrs), and better looking. Raw is old looking. Shad is the next Dwayne Johnson. Look at his press and look at Raw’s press. Shad is all over the net and on every web page 85-95% of the people like him. Who does Raw have some producers, who? If the like him so much why let shad try out. He should just tell the producers to a nouns him as ukafa and end it, but the wont BC shad has momentum. Just look at this page out of the 66 post on this page 59 are in support of Shad Gaspard. How many are for Raw? Shad Gaspard is Ukafa!
3934brook writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 1:45:30 AM

Shad Gaspard press for the last week 11,800 web pages

Raw Leiba press for the last week 27 web pages

Shad wins
CastingDirector writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 8:22:57 AM

3934brook All your questions are very easy to answer,Not sure about your web page theory thats neither here nor there,But It's funny that you mention Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson,did you know that Raw Leiba doubled for The Rock? Obviously you did not otherwise you wouldnt have made that insane statement DO YOUR HOMEWORK!! (check his credits IMDB) Now as to why they havent named Leiba UKAFA yet,its really Mr Leiba's call (again do your homework)THE PRODUCERS put Leiba on the credit already in hopes that Mr Leiba can get out of Two other movie commitments and do the film,he controls it,thats the beauty of it all.If Leiba can get out of those commitments hes clearly the guy they want,If he can't he drops its anyones game
ItalianMovieCritic writes:
on February 25th, 2010 at 8:54:16 AM

CastingDirector seems to know his stuff. If I may chime in here, I went to IMDB as suggested and everything CastingDirector said is true.I also saw that Mr Leiba was on a "E" show called "Shirtless:Hollywoods Sexiest Men"which to me suggest that 3934brook is wrong and Mr Leiba is the goodlooking one or the "Sexiest"I also read where he is among the top sportsmodels and to be quite frank Ive seen him in GQ twice and MuscleFitness once..Raw Leiba is just blessed with a uncanny physique and a great look. Also did you know the Gaspard doesnt have one acting credit? Listen I really dont care who gets the role but Id have to go with Raw Leiba. Muscles(Raw Leiba) look better then fat(Gaspard) thats why men try and get them right? Raw Leiba has gotta be the thinking mans choice.


CGI MAN writes:
on March 4th, 2010 at 8:08:15 AM

Damn I knew there was a reason the producers never took Raw Leiba off the credits.

http://www.saching.com/Articles/Director-Nispel-Really-Wants-Leiba-in-94.html

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved