WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Atari's "Missile Command" Video Game to Become a 3D Movie

Posted: February 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
AtariSubmit Comment
Atari has been digging through its video game library to figure out which properties would be perfect for adapting for the big screen. "Asteroids" has already erupted in a bidding war, and after discussions with 20th Century Fox, the two companies have decided that "Missile Command" is also ripe to become a theatrical film.

In the 1980 game players were asked to defend six cities from an onslaught of ballistic missiles (represented by the sort-of squiggly lines) with the help of anti-missile weapons (represented by flashing cursors) fired from alongside said cities.

There are traces of science-fiction elements to "Missile Command" as well as military overtones. And the film would likely be shot in 3D. While story details are worked on, Atari is said to be developing a multi-player remake of the game.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:34:29 AM

Come on! I know desperate times call for desperate measures but this is just f*ckin ridiculous
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:37:12 AM

...and still it sounds better than Battleship.

Wonder when Pong will be hitting the big screen?
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:38:53 AM

well sh*t if this gets a movie then i cant wait for "Ow, My Balls!"
-Today I step into the shoes of a great man, a man by the name of Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho.-
shayhiri writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 8:49:57 AM

DIE, imbecile gaming no-life nerds!!

NONE of all these "movies" will ever happen. And if one does, it'll be a monstrous flop.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 9:14:05 AM

@Shayhiri: Welcome f*cktard. I was wondering when you were going to show your transgender face here.

Where, oh where, did you get the impression we wanted to see these become movies? Just because I said I'd rather watch this than a Battleship movie, well, that's just like saying I prefer plague before cholera.

And for a guy who's having Kristin Kreuk-avatar calling someone else "imbecile", "no-life" and "nerd", well, that's quite ironic. But please, keep tossing stones in that glasshouse of yours. If we are lucky, it will collapse upon you and shredd you to tiny pieces, which we can put tiny jars and sell to COC as lube.

Sometimes I think you must be of Norwegian decent...
barley_cat writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 9:32:54 AM

@Shayriri, It strikes me as ironic that you're calling the site-members "no-life nerds", when you're the one logging on just to make a pathetic attempt of an insult.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 11:02:31 AM

itll probably be campy like Speed Racer was...they should do Pitfall next hah
LordLlewellyn80 writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 11:40:21 AM

Frogger is gonna be made soon. Apparantly James Cameron couldn't wait to make a 3hr long movie about frogs being squished to a bloody pulp by moving vehicles.
JRprime writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 12:24:42 PM

you could've left out saying 3D, i think it's implied for every movie thats being made now ...
shayhiri writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 1:10:22 PM

Ha, sorry! :)

Insult wasn't directed at you, guys (unless some of you are "imbecile gaming no-life nerds" indeed). I was hating at the producer idiots and at the eventual public (if there is such at all) of such "movies".

Believe me, when it comes to insulting you, I'll do so only if I have "good" reason to.
shayhiri writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 1:12:51 PM

And I don't care for the bitch in my av, I don't watch TV at all, so I don't know who she is. She just looks like the babes I bang in Pattaya, so that's fine enough for me.
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 2:04:25 PM

NEXT:

'Grass Growing' and 'Water Evaporating'...

in 3D IMAX!

DON'T MISS IT!!!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 2:04:42 PM

'Paint Drying' will round out the boxset.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 2:05:15 PM

I was just about to say "When is Gayhiri gonna say 'LOLGAMERSNOLIFELOOSERS'" And here she/he/it is!

Please Shayfairy, tell us how Super Mario Bros is stereotypical of italian plumbers!
shayhiri writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 2:20:08 PM

STFU, nerd! :)

Really. I hate gaming "culture".
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 2:30:27 PM

@Gayhiri - So you have been banging underage transgenders in Thailand? Sick f*ck.
shayhiri writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 2:53:02 PM

Nope, them girls only LOOK underage. :)

Stick to banging 300 lbs American cows (if anyone), you wanker.
FBO writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 4:37:48 PM

HAHAHAHAHAA fat American joke! I've seen your euro trash so let's not have a war of words. And just for the record the fattest person in the world lives in england and weighs 980 lbs. (that's right, we don't weigh things in stones, what a dumb concept) Even your Health Sec. says that brits are great for watching sports, but are the worst for getting up to play them. OUCH! The UK hockey team couldn't even qualify for the Vancouver olympics against teams like Belarus and Latvia.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:17:17 PM

they have got to be sh*ting me. these games have no stories in them, so the only thing related from game to movie is the fact that it's a missile command center and it's name.

are they really this desperate for money? are there no original ideas left in this world?


and @shayhiri- considering you didn't give a sh*t about our explanations of gaming earlier, i'm not even gonna try now. you probably have a sibling that meant something special to you that's become a video game addict and doesn't respond to your coming on to him like he used to in the back of your mobile home. a strap-on wasted ...
Kurskij writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 6:24:29 PM

Mother...f*cking... idiots...

"This Summer Will Smith taking a sh*t in a glorious 3D!"

"From the creators of Ping-Pong 3D and Suck my Balls D.O.C.! 3D! Tetris 3D! (featuring DOC sucking balls... in 3D!)"
Kurskij writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 6:30:14 PM

@shaihiry

WTF kind of answer was that?

q: So, you were f*cking transgenders?

a: No, their girls only look underage!

Them girls don't look underage, they look like they've had their balls stuffed up their asses to make them look like girls.

So, next time one of "them girls looking underage" asks you to suck her "clit" - just be aware that it was a tai c*ck.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 6:47:38 PM

i think he just likes sucking c*ck ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 7:42:41 PM

@Shayhiri: I understand you hate gaming culture. Not having two oppositional thumbs, because years of inbreeding can do that.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 8:10:28 PM

years? i think generations sounds more like it ..
TeemSelami writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 9:24:44 PM

Battleship will at least take #1 opening weekend! i'm hoping for some sort of weird underwater aliens or at least aliens with advanced aqua technologies. if they go for a hard R it will definitely be a hit. instead of having lasers that completely vaorize people they could just melt away parts of them leaving hundreds of bloody twitching piles. maybe they could look like amoebas and be oversized space bacteria from mars? maybe reptilian?

wild hogs 2 update?
Kenny writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 11:05:13 PM

I think Missile Command could easily be turned into a very interesting spy movie, along the lines of Tom Clancy's novels.
Acording to the article the script reminds me of Sum of All Fears with a twist of sci-fi in it.
At least it's an adaptation and not a remake/reboot of a pre-existing movie!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 3:13:52 AM

Someone mentioned Pitfall. That could actually be a good movie, as could Jungle Hunt, being as both those games have stories and are adventurous in nature. Even Missile Command has some sort of potential. But Asteroids???? Gimme a f*ckin break. I'd actually like to see Venture made into a movie.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 3:14:23 AM

Zelda of course would be the ultimate video game based movie
Goober3000 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 3:47:04 AM

Tetris live action "Coming Soon"
telur writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 8:06:56 AM

it's uwe boll job horaaayyyy
barley_cat writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:39:35 PM

Lol Shayri, Sorry mate, missunderstood you.

By all means, call the game-nerds anything you wish. lol.
steaknugget26 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 6:36:21 AM

so when are we gonna see a Crossfire movie...that game was the sh*t!!!
steaknugget26 writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 10:40:45 AM

here's another one...Yo-Yo the movie, or even a Ball in a Cup action film...that one can star Mika Tan!
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 5:46:49 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved