WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage Promises to Repay IRS Debt

Posted: February 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage Promises to Repay IRS DebtSubmit Comment
Nicolas Cage sat down with In Touch magazine to talk about his IRS problems, revealing that he wanted to "crawl up and hide at the end of the world" when he found out that his financial situation escalated out of control.

Cage was forced to put several of his houses for sale to pay his debt. And just recently he was able sell his 14,300 sq ft home in Las Vegas for a whopping $4.95 million. Unfortunately, he paid $8.5 million for it back in 2006.

The actor blames his bad decisions on being naive and on his manager's terrible advice. But he's determined to bounce back. "I have a responsibility to my sons and my wife. I have to get back on my feet," he said. "I have a new manager now, so I'm halfway there. And I will pay off all those debts, to the last cent."

Cage earns about $20 million per film, but has also been known for wasting his money on things like yachts, castles, islands, mansions and a 67 million-year-old dinosaur skull that he purchased for $276,000.

Source: In Touch


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:34:11 AM

If you earn 20 million per film, it's f*cking mandatory to buy a dinosaur skull.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:39:14 AM

Am I a bad person for liking he's in trouble like this? I mean he makes millions and alot of his movies are awful and he's so dumb not paying his taxes
FBO writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:45:24 AM

Instead of going after the middle class, Obama should just force all of Hollywood to pay their back taxes. It might even be enough to get us out of this recession. And then we should tax the sh*t out of Hollywood because they all make too much money anyways... well that or studios should pay less for each movie so that tickets don't end up at twenty dollars a pop.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 6:23:47 AM

@FBO: Get your facts straight. This is exactly who Obama wants to tax. I don't think $250,000 and up qualifies as middle class these days.

I'm constantly amazed by Cage's situation. He can't possibly be spending that much money anymore. The amount of debt he owes must be grossly misrepresented. The guy was one of the top 20 earners in Hwood last year! Did he use any of that money to pay off some debt? f*ck waiting to sell a house, just hand over 2 paychecks and you're done right? Wrong, because you still got to pay millions in income taxes on those checks you just handed over to the IRS. "The government do take a bite!"

No wonder this rich guy few a plane into the IRS building down the street from me a couple of days ago. He only owed $50,000. Cage must be a ticking timebomb!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 6:42:45 AM

Maybe Cage will launch is dinosaur skull to IRS building?

No, that would be a complete waste of good dinosaur skull.

The man OWNS a f*cking real dinosaur skull
SACdaddy writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 7:25:22 AM

He probably owns the museum its in too!
barley_cat writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 9:28:39 AM

Lol freud, well he'll be sleeping in it soon if he doesn't sort himself out.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 9:43:44 AM

@Barley: That would only add up on the awesomeness
barley_cat writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 9:49:31 AM

Well it depends which dino he has the skull of! I mean if its a T-rex or something, then great, hell he could live in it! But it could be like a raptor skull or something..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 10:47:38 AM

That's true. Well, we have on old saying here in Sweden "If there's room for love, there's room for ass".

I must say, the translation sounds way dirtier than the original meaning.
Lowryder writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 11:29:05 AM

and dandy promised that he would rape helpless little boys anymore, and yet there he is, with his 1cm d*ck up cocs ass
Lowryder writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 11:29:35 AM

^wouldnt^
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 1:43:54 PM

@Freudian... lol! The dinosaur comments are priceless. Maybe he comes home after a tough day (meeting with the IRS maybe) - looks at it and says: 'Whip me some skull you old Bitch!'

And Nic doesn't make $20mil as per this article. He CAN make that much... but in the same year he'll also do a movie that pays $2mil. And that $2mil. job takes up as much time as a $20mil. flick. I wish these sources like: (not) In Touch would get their sh*t together.

I like the guy. He likes to work. He cranks out a LOT of commercial sh*t... but it's still good enough to kill 90mins. It's just another 90mins. COC isn't jackin-it at Mommy's grave site.

Salary
National Treasure (2004): $20 million
Adaptation. (2002): $2,000,000
Windtalkers (2002): $20,000,000
Captain Corelli's Mandolin (2001): $7,000,000
Gone in Sixty Seconds (2000): $20,000,000
Bringing Out the Dead (1999): $1,000,000
Snake Eyes (1998): $16,000,000
Face/Off (1997): $6,000,000
The Rock (1996): $4,000,000
Leaving Las Vegas (1995): $240,000
Vampire's Kiss (1988): $40,000
Valley Girl (1983): $5,000.00
MattMcaskill writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 3:11:27 PM

freudian, I support all your views and opinions and would like to subscribe to your newsletter. also ranger rules too.
AshTrey writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 4:27:19 PM

I HEARD IT WAS CAGES PLANE THAT FLEW INTO THE IRS BUILDING... HE WAS RETURNING IT.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:22:01 PM

if Cage is really buying those things, maybe, just maybe, he has a spending problem. just throwing that out there ...

Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:43:10 PM

@Matt - $29.95 a year... or you can real our bullsh*t on here for FREE! Your call.

@Ash - LOL!

@Encore -without a doubt. But with his income he should certainly have some of these things. For a guy that's make well, WELL over $100mil. in his life should have. But (obviously) he wasn't only too aggressive, but if he does/did have 4 yachts... yeah, that's excessive. Were he to spend his $'s on apartment buildings and have a management Co. handle them for him, THAT's investing. I think he may have been doing some showing off.

I'm surprised this article didn't count his expensive comic book collection. But a dino-skull for 1/4mil. for what he's made is f*ck-all. These are the 'sh*t lists' the media throws out there to bash someone (like they did with Jackson and his wanting to buy the Elephant Man's bones - which he actually did not want to).
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:48:00 PM

real = read.

And whatever he makes per pic... he has expenses.

1/4 to 1/3 to taxes (ZERO $'s IF he has a fab. Accountant), he probably has a full-time staff of 50 people (between those maintaining his assets), plus he's catching up on back-taxes, the big mortgages + bigger interest 2nd. or maybe even 3rd. mtgs. on his refinancing to keep things afloat - is expensive if he doesn't have any equity in those homes. I doubt he'll see a penny of that $4.95mil sale. Then there's the maintenance on said assets.

It goes faster than people think.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:52:42 PM

"i think he may have been doing some showing off"

you're probably right, i mean obviously if you're a movie star you are gonna have some expensive things. but how many castles does this guy have? Cage should be happy with 1 of each of these things, but you'll notice in the article everything is plural. he needs to sell some of these things, cut the spending by a lot if he can't afford it and pay off his damn debt.
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:54:14 PM

And he's trying to come off sounding magnanimous here:

"I have a responsibility to my sons and my wife..."

Translation: "I don't want to have my anus plundered repeatedly in prison."
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 6:04:09 PM

I mean... 4 yachts? How much 'deck f*cking' does this guy plan on doing (with his... wife?), and still find time to act?!?!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 7:47:14 PM

"wanting to buy the Elephant Man's bones - which he actually did not want to"

Who would, in their rightful mind, be buying Leemaca's mom's bones?
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 8:00:02 PM

I believe that's the dino skull he owns.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:42:42 AM

I can forgive him for Ghost Rider, now that I know he own's a dinosaur skull. That is just f*cking tremendous. And being that it's 67 million years old, it's probably a T-Rex. Granted there were other dinosaurs around in those days, but why the f*ck own the skull of one that wasn't T-Rex???
trailertrash writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 10:44:51 AM

let's hope he's not banking on the gross of the bad lieutenant: port of call new orleans, 1.6 mil errrrrrrr maybe do another national treasure quick.....
triggax writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 1:04:10 PM

If i've said it once, i've said it a million times... I love Nicolas Cage... He's fantastic... He's a working mans actor and he has real working man problems with the tax man.. all the more reason to like this guy... Down to earth, strange mother f*cker... Good actor... Has anyone seen the new Bad Lieutenant? Awesome.. he was awesome... cage has the right stuff..
trailertrash writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 2:28:08 AM

not seen that movie yet, will catch it when it comes straight to blu ray over here sometime this year....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved