WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Borat Almost Hosted the Oscars

Posted: February 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Borat Almost Hosted the OscarsSubmit Comment
Before the Academy Awards decided to bring on Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin to host the Oscars, they were thinking of going in a slightly different direction.

Show producers Adam Shankman and Bill Mechanic were looking for ways to shake up the ceremony and have agreed that the person to host would be Sacha Baron Cohen.

But just as quickly as they came up with that idea, is how long it took for the Academy to reject it. "They thought it was too big of a wild card," said Shankman.

Regarding whether Cohen would have hosted it as himself or one of his many characters (Borat, Bruno), we'll never know.

Source: Reuters


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 8:39:55 PM

too bad.. the oscars were almost watchable
encoreyourface writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 9:00:54 PM

i would feel sorry for every body attending if Borat did host, but besides that i don't give a gay mans diseased ass ...
GIST writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 9:01:44 PM

Sacha Baron Cohen should've combined all three of his egos to create Brunat G. Then he would've been a shoe-in for sure.
triggax writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 9:15:35 PM

Sacha Baron Cohen should have hosted with Alec Baldwin... I f*cking cant stand Steve Martin...
murphyslaw93 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 11:45:53 PM

Cohen's a smart guy, all the crazy sh*t he does at any award ceremony (falling on Eminem ass naked) is all planned and he makes sure everyones gonna be a good sport about it. He would definitely tone down the theatrics if Shankman asked him. He would have been great, hopefully people will realize this and he'll host them in the near future.
autiger10 writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 1:39:00 AM

@triggax
how do u hate steve martin? he grew up in the house of a poor black family from mississippi too.
him, chevy chase, and bill murray are up there on my list as aces. jesus, he's a f*cking riot in "little shop of horrors". the man took comedy (and banjo play'n) to a different level
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 2:59:58 AM

I just rec. my Steve Martin - The Crow (his Bluegrass CD - I have pretty eclectic tastes in music and bitches). Haven't heard much past 'Wally on the Run!' but this CD and 'The Jerk' is enough genius from this man for one lifetime.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kRfWrOuXlo

Oh, and Borat almost hosted the Oscars?

OK, I almost f*cked Shania Twain.

Next!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 3:12:38 AM

@autiger - nice 'The Jerk' reference my friend.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 4:50:48 AM

Let a jew-hating character host the Oscars? It would be fun, but ut will never happen. It would be easier to get Bruno to host a republican convention
FBO writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 5:54:14 AM

I DID f*ck Shania Twain! In my head for like two months. If ever given the chance I'd stuff her portabella mushroom like I was Emil Lagasse. Speaking of food and sex, Gida De Laurentis has got to be the most beautiful women alive!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 6:02:58 PM

'In my head...' - LOL! One of the best lines on here ever!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 5:56:43 AM

FBO, if you get f*ck her, see if you can convince her to get her family to by back the rights to Conan to save it from the brutal assraping it's about to receive

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved