WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spider-Man" Reboot is Based on "Ultimate Spider-Man" Comics

Posted: February 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spider-Man" Reboot is Based on "Ultimate Spider-Man" ComicsSubmit Comment
Back when Sony Pictures announced that it would be rebooting "Spider-Man," it was also revealed that the new movie will be based on "Ultimate Spider-Man" comics by Brian Bendis and Mark Bagley where the villain-fighting took a back seat to the high school angst.

At the time it wasn't clear how much of the "Ultimate" storyline will be taken, but Bendis has now revealed via his Twitter account that he has been brought on as a consultant. He said: "Just spent a very interesting morning at Sony with the entire spidey movie team!! Very very cool stuff!!"

So this pretty much guarantees that the new film will revolve around a 15-year-old Peter Parker, so actors like Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Zac Efron and Robert Pattinson are out. Logan Lerman (Percy Jackson), however, may still have a shot.

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man."

Source: Twitter, LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 5:29:50 AM

smart move... just stay away from Green goblin and Doc Ock for the first two films

Do what Begins did and go with the new prospects first
nope.com writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 5:33:18 AM

btw, that Chris Nolan mentoring Superman and all that sh*t?

... DEBUNKED


f*cking idiots.. if people are giving good marks for the move why not go with it

http://splashpage.mtv.com/2010/02/18/watchmen-sequels-and-christopher-nolans-superman-are-just-rumors-says-dc-president/

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Poniverse/news/?a=15047

nope.com writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 5:37:13 AM

dunno if "high school angst" translates well into box office success


oh wait... I forgot about the 2 sh*t Twilight films
alexgi writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 5:38:21 AM

@nope.com: Don't believe what DC Comics says. They'll call anything a rumor until they announce it. I've seen this done a million times and which is why we didn't post the story.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 5:45:44 AM

How can they call something "Ultimate" if it's less fighting? Where's does Ultimate fit in with high school angst?

Peter: I'm so ultimate depressed that my uncle is dead and I'm so ultimate in love with Mary Jane. Too bad I got homework to do. Ultimate homework.
eddie499 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 6:08:48 AM

As much of a fan of action as I am, I have to admit that I'm very interested in this concept. We'll have a nance to finally see a deeply character-driven origin story of Spider-Man. It's more than just teen angst. We'll also get to see Peter really struggle with the morality involved in his decision to become a hero. Webb is definitely the man for the job here. He's got a great ability to create great characterizations and canalso rope the audience in to really feel what the characters on screen are experiencing. Definitely going to give this a chance.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 7:14:20 AM

If they're going for a more character driven teenage angst storyline, then why the f*ck are they consulting James Cameron for 3D advice? This film is all over the place.
VDODSON writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 7:49:40 AM

Sounds like a turd about to drop. Who the f*ck are they marketing this towards, f*cking teens. Who wants to see high school angst, this isnt Twilight. Sounds like some rubbish I threw out last night.
barley_cat writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 9:25:06 AM

So there's going to be a spider-girl then right?

I vote for Spiderman blue, that was better!
makingcircles writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 10:29:39 AM

yawn
pnkntndr writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 10:53:45 AM

f*ck this sh*t. Spider Man 4, the reboot, the recast, the rehash and premature "it doesn't happen all the time... I swear" ejaculation: Ultimate garbage
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 11:14:06 AM

This is still sounding Ultimately GAY!
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 11:28:14 AM

This could be very interesting.
rabid writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 11:41:47 AM

Idiocy. That comic was never very successful and never got close to the numbers of the real Spider-Man. They tried to make a cartoon of it too and that flopped. People just don't like the idea of Spider-Man being a kid.

and the Ultimate Goblin is a giant apelike demon. Nuff said.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 12:47:16 PM

oh boy this is gonna fail.....you know from now on, I'm just gonna use 3D for fail...

...oh boy this is gonna 3D......hmmmm works for me.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 12:47:23 PM

"He said: "Just spent a very interesting morning at Sony with the entire spidey movie team!!"

Let's get something straight pal, you are not the spidey movie team. You are a poor substitute for the real spidey movie team and this proves it. Ultimate Spider-Man had it's moments, but it was definitely a more "Style over substance" in comparison to the heart-wrenching stories of the original series Sam Raimi so wisely used has his source material. Keep acting like you're doing something great. All you're doing is trying to take what Raimi already did in the first like 20 minutes of the first one. I watched it a couple nights ago with a friend...still epic! Raimi's Spider-Man all the way you basterds!


Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 12:56:26 PM

@eddie499

I don't mean to trash you on this, but uh...THE GUY HAS DONE ONE FILM OF NOTICE! Webb did a surprise hit, a romance flick I might add. The thing about Spider-Man is it is every genre from one time to another. Romance and characterization is just one of the elements. He did a straightforward romance film and after just one film how the heck is it assumed he can skillfully blend characterization with action, drama, twists, and also use the source material correctly, source material practically no one here even likes. That director of "District 9" wasn't given "Halo" because they didn't think he could handle it. He goes and makes a great film with great action, story, AND characterization. Not to mention he converted it from his 10 minute long short film into a full feature film! I'm I forgetting something? Oh yeah, now it's nominated for Best Picture! Webb made a popular, okay romance film. He doesn't deserve the honor. He needs to earn it with more then one hit before getting to fill Raimi's 20-30 year experience and hit films like Darkman, Evil Dead, The Gift, and etc.
rabid writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 1:21:27 PM

The 3D aspect of it makes sense. The reboot does not. Why reboot something that's so recent and so beloved, especially to change it from the source material?
I'm usually a wait and see kind of guy, but this entire project sounds like a bad prank.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 1:29:02 PM

So it's Spider-man for the High School Musical crowd. THIS WILL BE sh*tTY!!!!!
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 1:39:12 PM

i think the spiderman days are over here comes spidergayman!
Matiax writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:09:44 PM

Zac Efron and Robert Pattinson are out.

YESSS!
GIST writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:32:42 PM

& Macauley Culkin is in...Mila Kunis.
BK-201 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:45:48 PM

I just want a witty spider-man that's talking ALL the time instead of a whiny maguire... like in these videos from the 90's cartoon and even one of the more recent series...I want TONS of one liners. That was spider-man to me, always had something to say even if it was corny as hell haha.

(Spider-man TAS)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7RN9fHk9eg
(The Spectacular Spider-man)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FDT6r-R0Vs&feature=related
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:52:24 PM

@Gist: What a waste of good ass.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 3:10:38 PM

the dude from Percy Jackson is a fag, don't use the douche.

if they somehow get a villain fight INSIDE the highschool, i may walk out of the theater right there. (if i even see this in theaters)

and using a frsh villain would be a good idea. somebody unknown ...
GIST writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 3:32:56 PM

@Freudian_Nightmare

Yeah, tell me about it. They are compatible though, they used to live in my glove compartment. But now they relocated to the Shire.
FBO writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 3:46:45 PM

@SAC - Acne in 3D!
eddie499 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 6:35:59 PM

@ Sleuth - No problem. I'm a huge fan of Raimi's also, especially the first 2 Spider-Man movies. I might just be making the best out of this otherwise crappy situation, but you can't deny that a different interpretation might actually turn out well. I will admit, however, that I have my misgivings about Webb. He can do characters, but this is, after all, a hero film and I'm not sure that he has any eye for the scope involved with an action film. For the sake of the fans and the wonderful canon of this character, I hope he can handle it. If it blows, I'll be the first to admit that I was wrong.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 7:51:57 PM

@eddie499
Fair enough. As a fan I hope it works out too, but Sony is going to have a lot of pissed off fans. The first three didn't make so much money on nothing. Sony didn't go about this the right way and that may come to bite them in the butt when the movie comes out.
eddie499 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 8:19:16 PM

@ Sleuth - Agreed. Sony is on some serious sh*t lists right now. With how they ousted Raimi and their decisions regarding them not submitting Moon and The Road for the Oscars, they're definitely not making any friends around here.
like-mind writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 10:06:57 PM

Jeez, next will be a film based upon the Bazooka Joe comix
SaulSilver writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 12:38:40 AM

I know this is the internet....but people are overreacting bout this. This is Spider Man were talking about, not Twilight or High School Musical. Let's say it has twice as much High School stuff as the original Spiderman....that would end up being what like 1/4 of the whole movie? I could live with that. It will end up being like a slightly older skewing version of The Spectacular Spider Man Animated Series.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 1:17:09 AM

yes but Spectacular Spider-man sucks ass. i don't want this movie to suck ass.
pnkntndr writes:
on February 21st, 2010 at 9:47:43 AM

@encore I think we're way past hope of this not sucking ass, brother
vampires_suck writes:
on February 23rd, 2010 at 5:36:33 PM

From the looks of things, no-one here has actually read an Ultimate Spidey comic!
Whoever said it wasn't a popular comic is kidding themselves....it made it way past 100 issues!! Yep, you're right...no-one liked Ultimate Spidey.
FYI...the book is awesome, yes there is a little bit more focus on Peters normal life but its all good, and whoever said he wants the wisecracking Spidey then pick up the back issues, when he is fighting, he doesn't shut up, in fact its a running joke through the whole thing bout how he never shuts up during battle.
So maybe instead of pissing n moaning for a change you check out the source before hand.
And with Bendis on board you know he'll look after it, coz the Ultimate Spidey universe is his playground.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved