WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kurt Cobain Biopic is Moving Forward

Posted: February 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kurt Cobain Biopic is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Oren Moverman just received an Oscar Nomination for Best Screenplay for "The Messenger," which he also directed. And now, he is in negotiations with Universal Pictures to helm a Kurt Cobain biopic.

Material on the life, music and 1994 suicide of the Nirvana singer-songwriter will come at least partially from Charles R. Cross' 2001 biography, "Heavier Than Heaven: A Biography of Kurt Cobain." The studio originally purchased the life rights of both Cobain and his widow, Courtney Love, who had already optioned the film rights to the Cross book.

Screenwriter David Benioff first took on the project in 2007 and did first-hand research with Cobain's old friends. Moverman will rework the script.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 6:46:54 PM

interesting. i like the Nirvana song (the only work i've heard from this dude) so i may watch this if it's any good ...
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 6:55:55 PM

Don't forget to mention that Kurt mentioned Freddie Mercury in his suicide note (well... suicide if you count his woman didn't kill him).
GIST writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 7:08:57 PM

Lithium.

'Yeaaaaahh Yeah, Yeaaaaahhh Yeeaaaahhhh!'
wonderBOY writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 7:17:11 PM

whats that movie with jake gylenhall and it has the kurt cobain suicide tribute thing and an alligator boy
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 7:21:06 PM

October Sky?

(lol)
streetlawler writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 7:37:56 PM

Wonder when WP will start with the rumors of the entire cast of Twilight bein in the movie? That and Courtney Love wanting to play herself.
drewsmit24 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 7:40:05 PM

Highway! gold star!
vivier writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 7:59:02 PM

Last Days was excellent, trying anything else would be stupid.
TeemSelami writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 8:00:37 PM

courtney did it. they should can this movie and make a snuff film with her.
bale01289 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 8:12:35 PM

SPOILER - Kurt dies at the end!
Could be ok. I hope they do this right! They really ought to scrap this project and do a biopick on Dave Grohl (seeing as though he ended up being the most talented out of the 3 who made Nirvana), but I guess he'd hafta kill himself first. Oh well....
Salvador writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 8:18:15 PM

Who is Kurt Cobain?

>:)
SofaKing writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 8:21:34 PM

I didn't even know there was a "suicide note". I just read it, he was a Pisces as is my girlfriend and I know all to well how emotional they can get. She even told me we can never have a gun in the house in case she gets too depressed. I don't get it, I'd never kill myself I am too awesome! I am a Leo though...
encoreyourface writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 8:25:33 PM

"SPOILER - Kurt dies at the end!"

lol!
johnny_boy writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 9:08:33 PM

Lindsy lohan as Courtney love. Not much of a stretch there is it?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 9:17:18 PM

lol
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 9:41:30 PM

I heard Will Smith was up for the lead in this.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 9:48:59 PM

This could be real good, there was a movie on Kurts like a little while ago, the name of the movie escapes me.

Highway, was a great movie! It was heaps fun! It had IMO the greatest soundtrack ever, QOTSA and Desert Session tracks through out the whole thing! Too bad not many people have seen it.
telur writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:05:36 PM

@encoreyourface

LOL, yeah that spoiler must be hidden
telur writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:06:07 PM

James Franco is perfect choice
thedotsays writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:52:55 PM

#d right?? Especially for the final scene.....
BDeck writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 11:35:30 PM

god i hope coc takes notes.
gtrip writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 11:49:04 PM

they should get Michael pitt to play kurt again... he got it dead on with that movie last days
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 12:50:17 AM

@BDeck - LOL we can only hope!
Ranger writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 12:54:01 AM

I was going to watch this until Bale ruined the ending for me.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 1:47:22 AM

I can sum this up for the viewing audience Denis Leary style. He's nobody he's stoned, he's rich he's stoned, he try's to kill himself, he f*cks that up, he's stoned he's f*ckin dead. the end. oh and there's an insert in there somewhere where Courtney Loves try's to hire El Duce to whack him.
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 1:48:45 AM

Michael Pitt was decent in Last Days. However, I believe that the part of Kurt Cobain should be played by his Murder by Numbers co-star(I will explain the choice so, try to read the whole post before going ape sh*t)...Ryan Gosling.

For those of you who have been living under a rock, his only role wasn't in the Notebook. While that is arguably his most popular role, Gosling has consistently gotten better as an actor with each film he has done afterward. I highly recommend Half Nelson (Drug-addicted teacher at an urban school with a badass soundtrack by Broken Social Scene), Fracture (attorney who verbally and mentally spars with Sir Anthony Hopkins), and Lars and the Real Girl (the less you know the better).

In addition, Gosling is musically inclined/has been since he was in the goddamn Mickey Mouse Club. He sings, plays guitar, and other instruments in a very interesting band called Dead Man's Bones (http://www.myspace.com/deadmansbones). He has a Roy Orbison type voice but I believe the method actor in him can learn to imitate Cobain in voice and left-handed guitar playing.

If not him, I suggest his Stay costar, Ewan McGregor. He can sing, act, and looks eerily similar to Cobain. He was actually rumored to play Cobain a little while back.

For Courtney Love (A.K.A. Crazy Bitch - I am not misogynist it is simply the truth), I believe that Maggie Gyllenhaal would do a good job. She wasn't good in Dark Knight but she has the potential to be a wrecking force (Sherrybaby, Secretary, Crazy Heart, and Stranger than Fiction). I think that she looks pretty similar to Courtney Love if you compare their faces.

Courtney Love said that she wanted Scarlett Johansson a while back which is a pretty good choice, also. In my opinion, Gyllenhaal is a better actress, but I (and every other man for that matter) would love to see Johansson 1.Naked 2.On Drugs 3.Naked 4.Sing (she can't but she tries(http://www.myspace.com/scarlettalbum)...and 5.Naked

Sorry for the long post.

P.S. Casey Affleck as Krist Novoselic and Jason Lee as Dave Grohl!!!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:10:44 AM

@AA and who would you cast as El Duce???
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:13:52 AM

Did anybody clear this with Courtney Love? you know that bitch is gonna say something about this. That bitch rides his corpse's coattails like it was the RTD bus.
Ranger writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:21:39 AM

She's too drunk/stoned all the time. The movie will be out for 10 years before she hears about it.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:37:25 AM

Courtney Love is a massive c*nt. even if she didn't kill Cobain she's just as much of a little crack whore bitch as Lohan and Britney Spears are, only older and wiser at it. she can't even take care of her own daughter, to busy whoring her ugly vag off ...

her last name is kind of funny, because NOBODY loves dirty, dirty,c*nt.

also i think she did give her permission to do the film. and if she did she was probably stoned and thought she was getting spanked.
so when they said "is it okay to do this film?"
she said "yes ... yes!YES!YESSSSS!!!!!!"



Ranger writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 3:07:57 AM

I suspect Courtney love Strawberry Shortcake:

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=the+strawberry+shortcake
Flav writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 3:13:33 AM

Charlie Hannum will play Kurt. I'm sure of that.
trailertrash writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 3:32:13 AM

the whole thing freaks me out.... still remember the pics of the body in his house..strange very strange , could be a good movie though , knowing hollywood he will live at the end and come back to win the X factor !!
trailertrash writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 3:34:08 AM

i mean American Idol, lol
Osiris3eagle writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 11:31:53 AM

Gus Van Sant made that unofficial Kurt Cobain (they didn't use his name) biopic "Last Days" a couple years back, it was pretty good.
GIST writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:00:22 PM

Macauley Culkin as Kurt Cobain.
He'll put tarantulas on everything.
SugaTits writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 1:09:56 AM

Ledger has the lead locked, no question.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved