WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Academy Awards Make a Controversial Decision

Posted: February 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Academy Awards Make a Controversial DecisionSubmit Comment
Every year the Academy Awards honor those who passed away and every year there is a bit of controversy. In 2008, Heath Ledger was honored but not Brad Renfro, even though Renfro died one week before Ledger. And this year's Oscars are no different.

Deadline is reporting the death of writer/director John Hughes (The Breakfast Club, Ferris Bueller's Day Off) will be handled a bit differently than just showing a brief clip. Academy's Tom Sherak, show producer Bill Mechanic and hosts Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin have all worked with him, and have decided to find a different way to honor the man.

The plan now is to have a separate and special tribute to Hughes, complete with film and cast members, while everyone who died will get the usual brief clip. Some will obviously have a problem with this since Hughes is being treated as someone more important than others.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Whitta writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 3:06:58 AM

thats because he directed Ferris Buellers Day Off and Breakfast Club, Brad Renfro didnt
Barney Stinson writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 3:16:26 AM

He also directed Plains, Trains, and Automobiles. He also wrote and produced Home Alone 1&2, Christmas Vacation and wrote the original National Lampoon's Vacation. Brad Renfro - didn't really know who he was.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 3:23:41 AM

Really? how can anyone hate on Hughes... he needs this recognition... he died too soon... the man was a genius.
realgirl76 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 3:24:16 AM

John Hughes was the sh*t in the 80's. Some of the best 80's movies were from him. As far a Renfro, he had his moments, but only one that really made him famous....another actor who ODed
encoreyourface writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 3:40:21 AM

i don't really care how they do it, it's not like i'm gonna watch it.

i'm only interested in who wins or not. other wise i don't give a sh*t what they do.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 5:08:02 AM

Who gives a sh*t? When I read controversy in the title, I thought lindsy Lohan was gonna flash the cameras or something. People just get easily butt hurt now a days
chrisc20002003 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 5:29:53 AM

Well he is more important. Poor people want food, People in hell want ice water, and fat people need Mc Donalds. Get over it.
SofaKing writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 5:31:36 AM

Well it serves you right for dying the same year as someone more famous then you.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 6:47:38 AM

What Whitta said.
Bob82 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 7:28:32 AM

They did the same thing with Stanley Kubrick, I remember Steven Spielberg presented the special tribute, but I don't recall any controversy about that decision. I don't think he's been treated as someone more important, he had a very beautiful filmography, full of great moments for movies and actors, so it'll be a nice special tribute to watch. When Ingmar Bergman died, you would expect a tribute like that, but in a show like the Oscars would've been really boring. So, I'm ok with it.
BondMcClane007 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 8:32:22 AM

In all fairness... he had significant contributions to Hollywood.. as does everyone else but his resume was ridiculous
bale01289 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 8:40:01 AM

I'm still trying to figure out why this is so "controversial"?!? Thank God they are honoring Hughes instead of Michael Jackson! The man deserves a huge nod from anyone who enjoys movies! Where's the problem?
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 9:42:56 AM

Now if they lumped him in with the rest of deadies, then there's your controversies. Honoring him separately is the right thing to do. Those that complain can die along with whoever they are complaining for.
Renfro was a douche who didn't even deserve to be up there.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:09:29 AM

Wonder if they'll play a clip from Ghost for Swayze. How ironic would that be?

Got no problem with them honoring one person more than the others if that person has contributed more. And there's really no arguing Hughes influence on the industry and an entire generation. Film lovers my age owe him our youth, and half of the actors in Hwood over the age of 28 owe him their careers. So yeah, honor the sh*t out of him.

I just hope that when Eastwood kicks the bucket they ad an hour to the Oscars so they can honor him the right way.
johndillinger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:13:44 AM

when will WP get an educated person to write an article?
johndillinger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:13:54 AM

when will WP get an educated person to write an article?
barley_cat writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:16:51 AM

i agree SAC, I don't even know who Brad Renfro was... he couldn't have been that influential!

To honour a director/writer above an actor seems perfectly just to me. You gotta have talent to act in a movie, but you gotta have talent AND brains to direct one.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:54:25 AM

^Tell that to Uwe Boll...
bale01289 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 11:18:30 AM

Why make a stink and THEN, to top it off, put Brad Renfros name in it.......RUBBISH!
@barley - Renfro had his big break in "The Client", opposite Tommy Lee Jones. Other than that, he was in "DeucesWild" and then fell into an alcoholic swamp and then killed himself...sounds like an honoree if I ever heard of one! Maybe for the Arkansas Hall of Fame,......maybe!
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 12:03:14 PM

These awards are all about awarding the best/most successful (despite their political/cash, favoritism agenda crap). So setting Hughes above the rest of those that have past away is just what they do (with the living - why not do it for the dead?). I think he deserves the extra attention.

Heaven forbid Hopkins ever dies. But should Lohan O.D. the same year, I trust (and hope) they'd give the attention to Hopkins.
rocketman writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 12:49:23 PM

I think what they mean is that he made Hollywood more money than anyone else who died recently. That makes him important.Not that he was only a Director who defined a generation? Would he get this treatment if his films bomed?Saying that he should get a nod for Beulers,top film.
tcu21 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 1:20:09 PM

I'd rather see a John Hughes tribute than another f*cking Michael Jackson tribute.

Look at all the stars who got their start with Hughes, his movies will forever be rerun on countless networks, the Breakfast Club is one of the greatest movies of all time in my opinion and Ferris Bueller's Day Off is a gift to high schoolers every where. This man was a true artist and deserves his own damn ceremony, rather than his own tribute in my opinion.
tcu21 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 1:22:50 PM

And @SacDaddy

Don't worry, Clint Eastwood can't die.
gtrip writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 1:28:59 PM

Hughes=awesomeness. i wouldn't be offended
gtrip writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 1:29:12 PM

Hughes=awesomeness. i wouldn't be offended
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 1:45:05 PM

@tcu - 'the Breakfast Club is one of the greatest movies of all time...'

It most certainly is!

holtlt writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 2:00:14 PM

It's just fame, it's how you make it in Hollywood, if you make something bigger than the others, you get a bigger picture in the wall.
darthraige writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 2:23:23 PM

How was picking Heath Ledger over Brad Renfro controversial? No one knew who the f*ck Brad Renfro was. People are so f*cking sensitive these days, it's f*cking pathetic. Build up your f*ckin' name, and you'll be f*ckin' honored.
GIST writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 2:27:09 PM

Controversial? I don't think so.
It would be a great way to commemorate a man who created the 80's teeny-bopper films. I used to base my life off of John Bender's adolescent view on isolation, and dissimilarities of high school social groups.

John Hughes is walking that football field cloud, with one arm up in heaven, listening to 'Don't You Forget About Me' by Simple Minds.
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 3:52:36 PM

@Gist - it is a great movie isn't it?

Even though I have it on DVD... if I'm channel surfing and it's one... my 'Things to Do! - job list' that day gets sidetracked.

KoJay writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 3:57:28 PM

That's stupid. No disrespect but why treat him more important than other deaths?
bale01289 writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 4:38:34 PM

^^^Cause he was tha man, and the rest of them dead f*ckers weren't! Pretty simple, really....
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 4:39:50 PM

Hughes had a real and lasting impact on hollywood and people. It's good that the academy wants to honor those that have passed on but I feel that he deserves this. Look at it this way, when Spielberg or Scorcese die, should they get a brief clip??

Not all in the movie industry make the greatest achievements. However, the ones that help shape cinema and audiences deserve more then just a mere footnote.
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 4:55:33 PM

@KoJay - you're too young to remember the impact Hughes had on movies (not just the 80's but mainly). You ask a fair question.

Trust us... he made his mark.

He was to 80's movies like music from that time was... memorable (and both are still played frequently).
GIST writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 8:15:54 PM

@Ranger

Soooo good at the point that when it plays on television.
I'll watch the encore presentation and the re-runs. Mind you,
I also own it on dvd, vhs, & betamax.
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 9:48:04 PM

But not laser disk?

Slacker!

KoJay writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:40:53 PM

Look I understand that he is a legend. I totally respect that. But to just throw all the other dead people who themselves made an impact probably not as big as Hughes, aside in one part, and put a bigger tribute to Hughes, that's disrespectful to them.

I am not disrespecting John Hughes at all, I've seen Ferris Bueller's Day Off, National Lampoon's Vacation, and the Home Alone 1 and 2 so I'm not entirely off his fans, I love those movies.

Well I hope they do it well then. And they better do one when, God forbid, Clint Eastwood passes, he deserves it.
KoJay writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:42:11 PM

I was supposed to say "entirely off his list of fans".
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:48:32 PM

I don't think you're disrespecting Hughes either. You have a valid point.

But the other side of the coin, I don't think a tribute to Hughes is disrespecting others on that list either.

Hollywood (like any business) is $-driven. And the Biz did well by Hughes work.

I see your point/concern. But I think the tribute is well deserving, not just because of the $'s he made for everyone. But you can't think of the 80's without thinking of Hughes. He gave the 80's movie 'their look.'

Again, I use the example... let's say Eastwood passes away (Heaven forbid!) and Lohan bites it the same year. Do you think she will deserve a tribute like Eastwood would?
thedotsays writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 10:58:05 PM

Hughes gets a tribute.... COC's mother's dead body continues to get sexually abused. Aaahhhh balance.
Ranger writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 12:11:06 AM

Bwwahahahahahahahaaa!!!!
GIST writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 1:26:28 AM

@Ranger

My father predicted it would come in a smaller disc.
The only movie I begged for on laserdisc was Street Fighter The Animated Movie Unrated. So you saw the Chun Li shower tits.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 1:31:07 AM

Laserdisk is still the sh*t
Ranger writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 2:32:13 AM

OK. So are 8-tracks then (I could use them for wheel chocks when I park my car off season - or for Gary Coleman's little red wagon - meaning his wife: Andre the Giant!).
KoJay writes:
on February 19th, 2010 at 8:15:57 PM

@Ranger

Lol.. Yeh I know what you mean. Eastwood is HOLLYWOOD LEGEND. No one will ever be like him again.

Fine, Hughesy, you can hae your tribute at the Oscars.

RIP
bacci40 writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 12:53:50 AM

hughes did not make groundbreaking films...he should not be given a seperate honor

if they didnt for paul newman, who was truly royalty...they shouldnt for hughes
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 3:23:00 AM

@KoJay - kewl.

@bacci - I didn't know Newman was overlooked. Yeah, that's a mistake. But it shouldn't be repeated overlooking Hughes either.

Newman was Hollywood royalty, no doubt. Plus what he's done (and continues to do) for charity.
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 3:24:03 AM

@bacci - you can't look at 80's movies and not think of the style/spin/look Hughes put into them.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved