WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron to Help Make "Spider-Man" Reboot in 3D

Posted: February 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron to Help Make "Spider-Man" Reboot in 3DSubmit Comment
Now that "Avatar" has become a big success, many filmmakers are reaching out to James Cameron to get a few insights into how to properly add the 3D aspect to their own movies. Such directors as Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson have already sat down with Cameron, and now "Spider-Man" director Marc Webb has as well.

"Last [week] we met the director of [the next 'Spider-Man' film]," said Cameron's producing partner Jon Landau. "[Webb] wants to do the next one in 3-D, which they've announced that they want to do. So, we want to try to support that as much as possible."

This is interesting news since Cameron wrote a script for "Spider-Man" back in 1991 and this also indicated that the reboot will shoot in 3D rather than convert to 3D after production wraps.

"'Clash of The Titans' is coming out in 3-D; they're converting it very hastily into 3-D. I'm not in favor if that," said Landau. "If you want to shoot a 3-D movie, shoot it in 3-D."

And even though Cameron previously said that the director who takes over for Sam Raimi would be getting "sloppy seconds," he believes that Webb is the right man for the job. "Jim loved '(500) Days of Summer,'" Landau continued. "It's not something that you would think is necessarily in his wheelhouse, but he really enjoyed that."

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:03:35 PM

f*ck you, James Cameron. You're officially worse than post neck-fat George Lucas.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:05:16 PM

well if he is just helping with the 3-D element then i don't really care, just as long as he doesn't do sh*t with anything else ...

but if i see one blue person then ...
LeeMaca writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:14:07 PM

I'd love them use the cameron script he wrote ONLY because he wrote it in 1991 also the Terminator 2 year maybe some of what he was smoking when he wrote T2 will have spilled onto spidey
GIST writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:16:59 PM

@SpookyCupcakes

'...post neck-fat!!!' Hilarious. From now on, I'm describing my penis by that.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:23:01 PM

Thanks Cameron, for pushing cinema into the WRONG DIRECTION.

Honestly, when is 3-d EVER going to affect the narrative of a story?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:25:58 PM

I couldn't be more disinterested in this film and I LOVED 500 Days of Summer. Cameron is also really trying my tolerance with him and his 3D sh*t. I swear Avatar's enormous box office numbers might turn out to be the worst thing that's happened to the cinema in quite sometime. Inflated ticket prices, 3D movie whoring, the pushing of more visuals less story, the overall barometer for what makes a great film is becoming less and less hard to climb.

I'm probably looking too deeply into this... I hope I am. Nolan is looking like our last hope these days. I mean come on, Cameron even took my Spielberg and converted him into a 3D slut... motherf*cker you. Maybe I'm just being too hard on 3D... hell maybe I just don't get it.
Goat writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:26:17 PM

Is Jon Landau sucking Cameron's d*ck or what? Since when did he become his publicist
encoreyourface writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:28:50 PM

"Maybe I'm just being too hard on 3D"

no 3-D deserves it, the little piece of sh*t that it is ...




SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:30:07 PM

"hell maybe I just don't get it."

It's not that you don't get it, its just that you just have more than two braincells.
gimple writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:30:44 PM

JAmes Cameron hasn't written anything good since the first Terminator movie, and as cool as T2 was, special effects don't make up for a crummy script (In my opinion, I know there are a lot of people who love T2, but lets face it, its just a really cool action movie, nothing more).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:42:31 PM

"but lets face it, its just a really cool action movie, nothing more."

WTF. you best be trolling.
gimple writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:53:43 PM

I'm a loser baby so why don't ya kill me.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 7:58:41 PM

Aww come on guys 3-d's not sooo bad. Its bullsh*t how expensive tickets are and whatnot, but really it is the next logical step in film-making. Especially with special effects these days. I'm not saying we have to banish 2-d movies forever, because I think there'll always be space for them, always a (sizeable) audience. But to deny that 3-d could bring about some pretty astounding cinematic experiences in the future is just being stubborn.

As digital media brings production costs down, more and more filmmakers (indie and the like) will be able to bring about their visions with less financial hardship. Some will make great, classic 2-d movies, using only whats in the frame as a window. And some will use 3-d in ways we never couldve imagined to bring us something we've never seen before...
pomme writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:01:31 PM

he wants more blue people in every movie?!!!after Sam W in every blockbuster,blue people!!
CCBlev writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:39:26 PM

If he makes a blue spiderman, ill go apesh*t and force feed his balls to vindandy's ass.
CCBlev writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:40:14 PM

If he makes a blue spiderman, ill go apesh*t and force feed his balls to vindandy's ass.
@spooky
he is starting to become worse than that milker of a f*cked franchise known as George Lucas
encoreyourface writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:43:56 PM

CC-lol!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:45:13 PM

Avatar showed us all that 3D was capable of and it really wasn't much. I was no more immersed in Avatar than I was in any other film. The 3D didn't add anything to it, the depth comes from the level of detail and density put into the environment by WETA.

Film don't need 3D to immerse the audience, immersion comes from story and characters that audiences can identify with and root for. That is what gets the people involved. It's almost as useless as putting 3D into video games which are 3D by nature and more immersive than 3D could ever add to them to be. I just don't think 3D is useful, I'd probably be a lot less hateful if I didn't have to wear uncomfortable glasses, pay more, and experience a dull image due to light loss.
CCBlev writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:03:28 PM

@encore
Seriously I'm envisioning and blue spiderman with long black hair trying to jam it in Mary Janes Vag and Harry Osbornes ass, then trying to fight Doc Ock on who stick their long appendage in each others ass.
barley_cat writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:06:51 PM

3D's ok but it's not show-stopping like it's made out to be, it's like HD telly's though, I don't see the hype about it!
BUT just like HDready, 3D's the next big thing, and soon it's going to be everywhere, so we might aswell accept it.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:13:27 PM

CC- lol, and Green-goblin is watching from afar playing with his glider ...
CCBlev writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:20:19 PM

@enocre
nice, wonder if his glider comes complete with a dildo and fleshlight?
barley_cat writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:29:50 PM

CC, if it does, then it's not the goblins anymore is it, COC stole it.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:30:37 PM

CC-i dunno but i'm pretty sure i saw a blow-up Robert Pattinson doll ...
encoreyourface writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:30:51 PM

you know, the same kind Dandy uses ...
D.O.C. writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:54:36 PM

@barley - What a funny joke. That made my year (lie).
barley_cat writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 9:58:05 PM

COC i doubt you want to mess with me again or is getting caned by a female something you like?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 10:06:24 PM

i'm quite certain he prefers the male of the species ... and i'm not talking about humans ...
barley_cat writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 10:10:36 PM

Lol Encore, no matter what species or gender he prefers, he still cries himself to sleep at night, alone.
telur writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 10:11:21 PM

is it Spider-Man going and have tail?
barley_cat writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 10:14:36 PM

No telur, but COC's mum does (Hippo's have tails right?)
pjmbdm writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 10:31:18 PM

Hey my ps3 will play movies but won't read my games......any ideas? HELP! Oh and to make this relevant to the topic.........uh...James Cameron.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 11:39:03 PM

@ pjmbdm:

Try your games on the DVD player.
Considering the reverse logic, the DVD player should run your games just fine!

On topic: James Cameron, please, STOP HELPING!!!
D.O.C. writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 12:41:17 AM

@barley, encore - I saw you guys sex tape.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kSErVufRKAQ
nope.com writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 1:06:03 AM

smart move... just don't let Jimmy Cameron anywhere near the story
Peter Parker writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 1:08:58 AM

COC, you stupid motherf*cker, try to get this through that big festering turd you have on your shoulders:

NOBODY'S FOLLOWING YOUR f*ckING LINKS!

Idiot.

Also, if you're going to try and be sarcastic... LEARN HOW TO f*ckING WRITE FIRST, YOU IGNORANT f*ck!!

That moronic sentence you wrote makes no sense whatsoever, you dumbsh*t!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 1:27:17 AM

PP- i agree.

he must not be paying attention to what he's writing at all, almost every time he posts something, he f*cks it up.

because this is how DOC would write that sentence:

must no be pay attentive two what hes write at all most every time he post something he f*ck it up.

in the future DOC ,pay attention to what you're typing ...
Peter Parker writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 1:35:53 AM

@ encore:

LOL! The dude talks/writes almost like Yoda, but without the wisdom!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 1:41:46 AM

lol ...
SACdaddy writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 4:01:37 AM

"'Clash of The Titans' is coming out in 3-D; they're converting it very hastily into 3-D. I'm not in favor if that," said Landau. "If you want to shoot a 3-D movie, shoot it in 3-D."

This is both some of the best news and the worst news I've heard in a while. While dropping the bad news about Clash of the Titans (skaing my head), Landau also announced that somebody actually understood how to properly use 3D. I think in some of your hate for Cameron and Avatar yall have missed an extremely important point. 3D was making waves before Avatar showed up. It was already the next step in film tech, the box office returns dictated it. All Cameron did was prove that 3D could be used the right way and not just as a gimmick. Now it sounds like he's teaching others how to use it the right way too which I have NO problem with.

True, Avatar may have sent the Hwood bloodsuckers into 3D overdrive but once the market is diluted, the cream will always rise to the top. A 3D Webslinger is probably every comic director's fantasy so I get it, but just wait and see what directors like Spielberg and Jackson do with there future projects. They might have ideas (like JC) that have been on the shelf for years waiting for the tech to catch up, and now they have their opportunity to go all out. Many door may be opening. Case in point, 3D AIW is probably Burton's favorite secret acid trip. sh*t looks pretty nuts! It might not make a lick of sense to us when it comes out, but you know Burton will creatively give it his heart because its his sick little dream come true.

By owning the rights to his new effects camera and being this Yoda figure of 3D filmmaking, Cameron is just adding to the industry what Lucas added with ILM and THX. Quality never hurts when the Hwood vultures are pushing crap by the truckloads. Somebody has to make sure its not all bad.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 4:02:39 AM

When 3D will be more than just a gimmick, I'll accept it. But for the moment, it's just some fancy wrapping-paper.

@COC: Dude, seriously, do you spend all your time on youtube (besides the obvious getting assraped by daddy, of course)? Cause you never come with an comeback of your own, only links to youtube, which no one will check out. You should try to think outside the box, or at least kill yourself.
thetheeyecreature writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 7:14:44 AM

Even when 3-D works, it's a stupid gimmick that interferes with good composition and cinematography. (And how does one "convert" a single image into two images from different angles, post-production? That requires visual information that wouldn't be there.)
SACdaddy writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 8:49:50 AM

@FN and others: There's a big difference between gimmicky 3D and Avatar's 3D styling. Some years ago when Hwood went on through another 3D phase movies like Nightmare on Elm St. 5 or 6 used this gimmick where at certain point of the film a message would appear telling you to put on your 3D glasses. A couple of thrills would fly your way and it was over. This is the same technique that cheesy movies like My Bloody Valentine and The Final Detination use today for cheap thrills. They just stopped running the message.

Avatar's 3D, on the other hand, serves merely to immerse you deeper into the environment and cinematography of the film. Every scene is so rich with its use that after a few minutes you hardly know you're watching a 3D film. Furthermore, it never once gets in the way of the plot or the action onscreen. Cameron plot problems came when the script was written 15 yrs ago. He just didn't update them upon the films release. Unless they are reshooting scenes for Clash of the Titans that gimmick you hate so much will probably ruin an already decent film, but when it fails and Burton's AIW is a success producers MIGHT begin to notice what works and what doesn't. In the long run, the most profitable style will win out. By that logic, Avatar's success is already a step in the right direction.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 10:02:28 AM

^Seconded.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 10:20:46 AM

@SAC: I haven't seen Avatar in 3D, but I can see your point and, to a certain extent, agree with you. Avatar was a necessary evil to push the technology forward. However, Avatar didn't really have a story to be distracted from, which makes it feels more like a showcase of "This is what we can do now. Freakin' awesome, right?". Like a commercial.

But I look forward to a time were you can watch 3D-movies just as easy as you can watch 2D-movies. A time were 3D-movies will a have decent plotline and when you don't have to pay overprices to see them. This is a pretty much inevitable future, no need to deny it.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 11:39:18 AM

Like I said, just wait until you see what these other creative directors do with the technology. Obviously many were inspired by what they saw. But remember, there are probably just as many directors out there that are just as inspired by what they didn't see in Avatar. Either way I'm excited to see what's on the horizon. Watch out for The Green Lantern. Its got great 3D potential and award winning writers behind it I've heard.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 12:04:19 PM

Uh what ever I still think this is going to suck.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 4:14:35 PM

I was supposed to go see James Cameron today at the Actor's Studio but I don't even want to anymore. I've had enough.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved