WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese to Remake "Taxi Driver"

Posted: February 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese to Remake "Taxi Driver"Submit Comment
While promoting "Shutter Island" in Germany, director Martin Scorsese revealed that he and Robert De Niro have been talking about revisiting the world of mafia in another movie. "No doubt about it," he said. "But it's from the vantage point of older men looking back. None of this running around stuff."

Everyone assumed that he and De Niro might be planning a sequel to one of their older films like "Raging Bull," "Taxi Drive" or "Cape Fear." And it turns out that the assumption was absolutely correct.

It turns out that the collaboration has another man in the picture, director Lars Von Trier (Dogville, Antichrist). And the idea behind the project is similar to Von Trier's 2003 film "The Five Obstructions."

"Obstructions" was a challenge that the director proposed to his colleague Jorgen Leth, which was to do a remake of his own 1967 film "The Perfect Human." The task was to remake the film five times, each time with a different obstacle, such as making it animated.

It seems that Von Trier proposed a similar challenge to Scorsese, asking him to remake his 1976 classic "Taxi Driver." Apparently one of the obstacles would be to tell the same story but from a point of view of a much older Travis Bickle (De Niro).

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 5:14:25 PM

telling the same story over? this different point of view better be WAY different.
burman writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 5:16:28 PM

I must be one of the only people aged 30+ who hasn't seen Taxi Driver or indeed any of Scorsese's early films. I'll have to take the advice of many people and check it out along with Raging Bull & Mean Streets.
swoooop writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 5:17:23 PM

My thought goes out to all the creative screenwriters out there. All the menal power, all the creativity lost, because of Hollywoods chicken sh*t adetude.
I hate remakes!
TeemSelami writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 5:27:30 PM

the five obstructions was actually pretty awesome. didn't have too much of a remake feel. it will be cool to see scorsese be given limitations. i hope it won't be the same movie with gray hair then again scorsese isn't known for pussing out.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 5:31:06 PM

No, this is bullsh*t. Nothing but lies, FILTHY LIES! They won't remake Taxi Driver, no chance in hell.

Scorsese, stop listening to von Trier. He's Danish, he's drunk and retarded. Did you see Antichrist? The guy's crazy I tell you.
AP102390 writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 6:01:08 PM

i kind of like this idea. i don't know if it'll be any good, but i think it's an interesting idea.
Salvador writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 6:01:34 PM

WHAT???

Ok, is this a remake or not?

I hope NOT.
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 6:09:31 PM

...I'm confused....
SofaKing writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 6:49:36 PM

I don't know know if De Niro has enough thinning hair to make into a Mohawk anymore...
DoucheNozzle writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 6:49:46 PM

Hmmmm... At CHUD, they are saying that Von Trier wants to remake it with DeNiro in the main role, with Scorcese involved in a lesser capacity, so this report seems strange, as I can absolutley see Von Trier challenging himself with something like this (like Herzog's Bad Lieutenant), but Scorcese wouldn't remake it (only possibility would be a sequel). Yeah, if Von Trier wants to do it, I'll see that crazy Dane's film day one. Oh, he has to let Anthony Mantle Dodd be the cinematographer, as he made genital mutilation seem beautiful, just great camerawork in Antichrist.
Rush_66 writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 7:02:25 PM

Interesting. Let's see how this ends up. Taxi Driver is one of my favorite movies of all time. If Sorcesese and DeNiro are involved, I think it has a lot a potential.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 7:13:29 PM

Interesting premise. Sounds like that animated Batman film that came out recently that used different animators to tell several different perspectives from witnesses at the scene of a crime that Batman foiled. That really turned out well for that film.
lost_addict writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 8:12:57 PM

taxi driver 3D !!!
bale01289 writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 8:43:31 PM

I just don't see Scorsese agreeing to making a remake! I hope this isn't true, only because this is a waste of talent and a total spat of man milk in the face of originality! *NOTE - if this happens, Hollywood owes freudian_nightmare some f*ckin royalty checks! Told you, freud! (In regards to yesterdays thread)
wonderBOY writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 8:46:49 PM

remakes are pointless now just make a great video quality transfer 2 blu ray
Jedimax writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 8:52:51 PM

I mean if it turns out fantastic then that will be awesome, but Taxi Driver is one of my favorite films of all time, anyone touching it, even Scorsese himself seem sacrilegious to me.
liverpool67 writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 9:03:08 PM

remake remake remake, where did i heard that word before?? <__<
johnny_boy writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 10:06:13 PM

Whatever happened to that mafia film he was gonna do with de Niro?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 11:58:05 PM

I can't even imagine how graphic this film would be with Lars at the helm, guy is a shock value junkie.
TheHundreds writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 12:05:17 AM

although the man has played a thousand kinds of killers, Taxi Driver was the one movie that i was genuilly scared/creeped out but him. This could be good, but could go horribly wrong.
monstermanuel writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 1:39:21 AM

Why? It's not needed!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 3:02:50 AM

@Bale: Yeah, my fortune is made. Too bad it's by making the world a lesser place...Who am I kidding? I'm sadist. Show me a remake and some royalties.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 3:36:00 AM

@everyone: Trust in Marty! He's never let us down before.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 4:23:41 AM

Which means, statically, he getting closer to the day he will let us down.
Evil_Disco writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 4:50:28 AM

Lars von Trier is a worthless piece of sh*t!
I don't get it - what is it that is SO great about that man?! Just look at his last film, "Antichrist".. It was extremly, over the top, bad!!
TwoTakez writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:23:52 AM

Taxi Driver..........Can't they just leave things alone? It's still as good today as it was in 1976, there is no need for another perspective or anything else for that matter.....Scorsese and De Niro making a film about Richard Kuklinski, with De Niro as the Iceman hitman and the film told in flashback..... Am I the only one that thinks this would be a winner?
TwoTakez writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:29:17 AM

All the source material is already written, add a slice of Marty magic and a dolop of De Niro dryness.....Everyone's a winner!!
MattC903 writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 8:37:44 AM

this could work... from a different point of view.
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 1:08:55 PM

I'm curious from a film lover's point of view. I just hope it's Martie and Bobby doing it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved