WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith Took Huge Pay Cut to Keep "Cop Out" R-Rated

Posted: February 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith Took Huge Pay Cut to Keep "Cop Out" R-RatedSubmit Comment
Now that "Cop Out" is less than two weeks from hitting theaters, director Kevin Smith is out there talking about his movie. On Twitter, he revealed that there was not only a battle with the studio over the title (previously called "A Couple of Dicks"), but also about the rating.

Apparently Warner Bros was pushing for a PG-13 rating and would only agree to an R-rating if everyone involved took a pay cut. "I took a 65% pay cut to do the flick," said Smith on his Twitter account. "It was a budget concession lots of us made to do it R instead of PG13. It was worth it."

He then added: "Then, I gave back half of that to help." If you do the math, he was left with about 18% of his original salary.

Click here to read more about "Cop Out."

Source: Twitter


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lemus869 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:04:56 AM

HE IS BRAVE but I am Braver
nope.com writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:12:11 AM

not only that.. think of the meeting when discussing casting pairs
BDeck writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:27:34 AM

Tracy morgan and bruce willis were signed on before kevin smith.

I honestly don't think he put up that big of a battle with the title because he saw how much it effected with zack and miri make a porno,not having tv spots and such.

he might be "selling out" but he's doing some one elses sh*t on there terms so he can do his sh*t on his terms, its pretty smart.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:32:49 AM

Which was probably no less than six figures. He'll be alright.
autiger10 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:59:30 AM

Snootchie Bootchies?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:06:40 AM

thank God for that. the Cop Out pg-13 trailer was deserving of no less but to be thrown down a sewer.

the R-rated one looks hilarious.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:10:23 AM

Judging by the fact that the man has an own atmosphere, I think he will be doing allright.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:14:46 AM

& this is one of the reasons why i love the guy... he's not all about the money... he does what he likes even if he's directing a piece that he didn't write.
Lordchristo writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:17:26 AM

Wow, fat jokes about Kevin Smith. Classy stuff! So, wasn't everyone here bitching about Smith just a week ago? I love it when people can't remember who they think they hate.
Aingx writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:26:41 AM

Good.....I've lost all respect for the man.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:29:48 AM

@LordC - for you buddy...


Kevin Smith took a pay-cut?! His grocery bill should take a pay-cut! That fat bastard!!!


There... don't say I never do anything for ya.

takai writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:40:01 AM

Man, this post really helps me see the selfish prick others are trying to portray him as.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:45:04 AM

about?

It's 17.5%

Who is the genius with the missing beads on their abacus that couldn't figure out that Final Jeopardy question?!
johnny_boy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 5:07:32 AM

I respect him alot now for doing that....NOT
Wallace writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 6:35:20 AM

good news
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 8:30:46 AM

good. and i still do not get why a couple of d*cks was change and not zack and miri make a porno. twilight should be changed to faglight
bale01289 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:12:15 AM

Hmmm...at least they are keeping the "R" rating! Should be fun. Tracy Morgan is hilarious! Can't wait!
@Lordchristo - seems you read a lot and didn't have the sack to put in your two cents on the last KS thread. I was one of the people taking up for KS, but I respect the peeps who were stressing the other side of the story, cause at least they voiced an opinion about the topic. You don't speak up, you got no imput, pal! Don't bring up old sh*t if you got nothin to do with it!! "I love it when people can't remember who they hate"....you are on a first class ride to being hated if you call people out like that, FYI.
telur writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:40:32 AM

so how much million he's get?
SACdaddy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:48:00 AM

I don't know Bale, I think the guy's got somewhat of a point even if its a little misguided. Its kind of hard not to have a love/hate relationship with Kevin Smith. The guy has been hit or miss for years now. Sometimes he's an indie film champion and sometimes he's a Hwood studio puppet. Will the real Kevin Smith stand up?!?! He's turned into a director that you really can't rely on 100% and I think the fans are confused on whether to bash his shortcoming or praise his independence. I'll hold judgement until I see Cop Out. Taking a paycut doesn't mean sh*t if its for a crappy film.
bale01289 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:12:46 AM

@SAC - misguided, YES! Say whatever you want (Lordchristo) about Mr. Smith, I know where I stand. BIG FAN! Just gets me that he states "everybody" was bitching, when in fact, it was about 50/50 pros and cons in that thread. Not everyone gets on here just to talk sh*t (although sh*t talk is heavy here *not complaining*). I don't like getting swept into a group, hence the many comments trying to divide myself from those opposed to the subject at hand. All I'm saying is that if you don't comment and make your voice heard, don't bring up week old news to bash someone...that's all.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:23:58 AM

I hear you Bale. Keep up the good work.
bale01289 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:28:53 AM

@SAC - I know you understand, and I am truely sorry for the spat in the other link. You have a good point, and I'm not above seeing that. Thanks for the reality check! We all tend to venture off subject (take this case for instance)
bale01289 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:30:09 AM

@SAC - I know you understand, and I am truely sorry for the spat in the other link. You have a good point, and I'm not above seeing that. Thanks for the reality check! We all tend to venture off subject (take this case for instance) sometimes, lol. Gonna try to stick to the buisness and not the bashing pleasure. You're a good sh*t, SAC. Now....sober up, lol!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:48:32 AM

Tryin to get there, but the hangovers get tougher and tougher the older I get. Its a process now but I'll make it. Sorry for the rant. f*cking Valentines Day is gonna suck! The little lady gets to pick the movie today, and that never seems to work out right. I'll probably have to see that sh*tty movie with Ashton Kutcher and Julia Roberts in it. Kill me now!!!
bale01289 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:59:22 AM

From 30+ man to 30+ man, I hear you, lol! Not like when we drank in high school! We're old and salty! V-Day IS gonna suck cause I'm in the same boat you are...lady friend picks the flick and probably gets too tired to do it after the movie...LAME! At least you don't hafta go to the theater to see that "Dear John" movie. I'm thinking about loading my pistol right now, lol! On subject, I wish "CopOut" was in theaters right now. My girlfriend actually wants to see it! Please keep me in your prayers, while I have to sit through hell tonight!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 11:31:19 AM

Dear John.....NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

thomas deadison writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:29:11 PM

BDeck,

Not true at all. Kevin Smith was signed on before anyone else.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:51:44 PM

@Bale - well said to LordC. No sh*t about his judgment coming in after the 2 minute warning shot was fired... DAYS ago!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:57:08 PM

I dont think Smith has made a flick that hasnt run into trouble with either the distributor (based on the title) or the MPAA (based on the films content). He's always come out on top though, and even when his movies arent box office successes, he still holds a huge fanbase. I think hes a great director (a better writer of course but his skills as a director have greatly improved since the 90s) and, especially based on the R-rated trailer, I have hopes for Cop Out
bale01289 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:03:45 PM

@Ranger - Thank you, kind sir! Just ruffles the old feathers, ya know! Happy holiday to you. Peace, love, and p*ssy to you!
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:22:47 PM

Thx. Bale.

Same to you.

Aaron writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:28:24 PM

I uh.... liked Jesey Girl.
nope.com writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:04:13 PM

poor Smith.. now he's kicked off a flight for being too fat

http://www.tmz.com/2010/02/14/kevin-smith-southwest-airlines-twitter-safety-risk-fat/






... LMFAO ROFL LOLOLOL LULZ HAHAHAHHAHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA
AHHAAHHAAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:30:59 PM

@nope - priceless!

I personally like fat people on flights...

1. The can be used as ballast and 'repositioned' within the craft during turbulence.

2. Should a window 'pop' (maintenance, fatigue, gunshot, etc.), fat people are the best to jam into that hold to plug it and avoid further decompression. The skinny ones (the models I f*ck in the bathroom) just get sucked out... and that's a loss to all of humanity.

3. If you crash... they make tender eating, and plenty of it my friends!

Southwest Airlines should review their flight policy, and have at least 1 fat person aboard per flight.

Maybe Kevin should 'beg' for funds for a timeshare in a private jet service.
Kindlegolas writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:50:01 PM

This movie is gonna bomb...The previews looked retarded
Eben1277 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 8:12:28 PM

The motherf*cker should just lose weight!
KoJay writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:43:33 PM

DOES HE WANT A MEDAL OR WHAT?

Remember 18% is probably round what we get all year in total so don't expect us to feel sorry for you.

Ok you're a hero but it would be more heroic if someone else said it not him.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 2:53:51 PM

Good job Kevin, enough of this PG-13 kids bullsh*t.
SugaTits writes:
on February 20th, 2010 at 1:15:56 AM

Does Kevin Smith ever stop talking?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved