WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Daryl Hannah Says She is Blacklisted by Hollywood

Posted: February 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Daryl Hannah Says She is Blacklisted by HollywoodSubmit Comment
Actress Daryl Hannah (Kill Bill) claims that at the beginning of her career she was "blacklisted" by Hollywood studios because she suffered from Asperger's Syndrome.

The illness limited social interaction and made it very difficult for her to do film promotions since it required talking to lots of people.

She said: "I never went on talk shows, never went to premieres. Going to the Academy Awards was so painful for me. I'd almost faint just walking down the red carpet. I was so socially awkward and uncomfortable that I eventually got blacklisted."

"Studio executives would call me but I'd be too shy to call them back. So after a while a couple of studios literally told my manager that I was blacklisted."

Despite first starring in films like "Splash," "Roxanne," "Wall Street" and "Steel Magnolias," she eventually had to settle for many straight to video projects.

Source: PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:08:12 AM

cry me a river
OneTime writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:40:38 AM

whos daryl hannah?
autiger10 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:52:25 AM

who cares.
she's a great actress, loved her in blade-runner and kill bill 1&2.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:53:16 AM

really WP you dont even mention the only good film she was in? Kill Bill? Really? you mention Splash and Roxanne... but not Kill Bill... REALLY? haha
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:53:45 AM

@Autiger
YES THANK YOU! lol
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:59:04 AM

There's a difference in being blacklisted and not being wanted. If you don't want to promote your film and go to award shows and represent your film, the producers won't hire you.

Go play marytr else where
autiger10 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:13:30 AM

@ted
don't thank me. i just acknowledged some of her best roles. WP is kinda pathetic 4 not even mentioning them.
f*cking "splash" lol
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:17:34 AM

@autiger
yeah seriously... SPLASH! lmao if it weren't for Hanks being in that movie... i doubt i would have EVER seen that movie...
encoreyourface writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:17:52 AM

is it me or does she look completely wasted in that picture? and also looks sorta like a man ...

also who gives a sh*t, none of the moves they listed don't look to great any way (except maybe Wall Street)
Ari Gold writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:40:52 AM

If I was her, I'd change my name to Hannah Daryl.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:08:21 AM

@Freudian - EXACTLY!

Maybe she'd get more work is she swallowed and didn't spit. Or gave up for the bum sex more.

And apparently 'Asperger's Syndrome' didn't make her so shy so as to stop giving JFK Jr. a blow-job on the front (public) step into his condo.

Hey Daryl, swallow... don't spit, and you'll be back in the 'ball' game in no time honey!
SofaKing writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 5:28:14 AM

"Studio executives would call me but I'd be too shy to call them back. So after a while a couple of studios literally told my manager that I was blacklisted."

This is what happens when you blow off high powered Jewish men... and not do blow off of high powered Jewish men. There's a subtle distinction there.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 5:44:37 AM

Blow... good!

Blow off... bad!
rocketman writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:51:59 AM

She always looked like a bloke in drag to me,huge Judge Dredd/Kirk Douglas chin thing going on.Somewhere to rest your balls i suppose,every cloud n all that.
telur writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:30:31 AM

her body size like a man
SACdaddy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:05:36 AM

@Rocket and Telur: I always thought the same thing! Between her and Shawn Young I'm sure some Bangkok chop shop made a lot of money doing their banana splits. Funny they both were in Blade-runner :-)

SHE'S A MAN BABY!!!
rocketman writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:51:05 AM

Great minds SAC,soon he/she will reveal to the world that she/he is in fact Lady Ga Ga's dad.
NatG83 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:06:12 PM

Hmm...if she had such a hard time calling people back, what the hell was her manager doing?
rocketman writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:09:31 PM

Looking at her masculine jaw line?
tcu21 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:30:16 PM

I don't buy this.

She's been acting since 1978 but now here Aspergers is so crippling that she can't walk down the red carpet? I call bull sh*t.
KirkLazerus writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:52:35 PM

isn't Val Kilmer Blacklisted?
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:56:47 PM

@Nat & TCU - exactly!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:03:24 PM

She didn't get blacklisted... She got old!
Denial is a f*cked up thing.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:07:06 PM

Wasn't she climbing trees and handcuffing herself to them only a few years ago?

Funny... people that do that. I'll bet her *sshole has seen the benefit of toilet paper over the years...

Yeah Daryl, I'll help you save the trees. Right after you blow me!
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:10:03 PM

Yep:

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.cbsnews.com/images/2006/06/13/image94faae5d-0caf-4479-86cc-0beff87d424f.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php%3Faz%3Dview_all%26address%3D102x2336681&usg=__2aRmxutuZyWOYR-IN1xvK_Z1WzU=&h=465&w=512&sz=86&hl=en&start=14&itbs=1&tbnid=15tWxjmbNGWNoM:&tbnh=119&tbnw=131&prev=/images%3Fq%3Ddaryl%2Bhannah%2Bin%2Btree%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:12:53 PM

And of course by: 'Helping you save a tree!' I mean 'giving you the bum sex!'
Peter Parker writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:32:18 PM

Well, if saving trees leads to having anal sex, COC will surely cuff himself to a large pine tree and hope to be raped by a bunch of big, angry lumberjacks.
bacci40 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:34:27 PM

ok...has hannah been diagnosed, or is this another one of those self diagnosis?

and she wasnt blacklisted...she wouldnt do pr...so the studios didnt want her

but if she feels bad, i would be happy to lend her my lap to cry on
bacci40 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:35:57 PM

oh, and please change illness to syndrome

aspergers is high functioning autism

dan ackroyd also has it
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:39:28 PM

@PP - true dat!

@Bacci - all good points. Another comment above was if she wasn't returning phone calls, what was her Manager doing? Exactly. It's NOT her job to return calls. This chick had a head full of bad wiring (saving trees on PRIVATE Property - hey Daryl... f*ck OFF (or on... Mmmmm... crazy Daryl!).

AS for this syndrome being 'high functioning'... it must be. I've heard Ackroyd never forgets his lines.
billofill writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:13:30 PM

And not the fact the bitch belongs on a soap opera and not movies but is in the latter cause she was kind of hot 24 years ago?
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:32:08 PM

She was.

I certainly would have impregnated her.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 5:07:00 PM

Ranger-if she ever got pregnant i'd just punch her in the vag 'tell the baby dies!
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 6:57:37 PM

That's harsh...

I always use a flight of stairs (looks more like an accident).
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:21:03 PM

How the f*ck did she become an actress then!
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:26:10 PM

She swallowed back then.

barley_cat writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:24:09 PM

I saw this woman on Alan Carr: Chatty Man like yesterday, she was the most boring celeb I've ever seen.

Sob story = lame.
makingcircles writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 9:48:56 AM

@TCU -totally agree
@Pete - lol...lumberjacks...
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 10:12:40 AM

Pfft she's not good enough even to get blacklisted
Rick Taps writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 10:34:43 PM

She blacklisted she-self.
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 12:36:13 AM

Hey Daryl... tranny porn is on the phone for you!
monstermanuel writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 1:46:21 AM

WHATEVER! Don't hate because you can't act!
PrevalentMind writes:
on February 17th, 2010 at 6:05:22 PM

Well...maybe being an ACTRESS was a very stupid career choice given the facts you cant talk to people, interact with people, promote your film to people, be interviewd about your film by people...

...being a people person increases your chance of being a successful performer. Just a smidge though...just a smidge.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved