WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Meryl Streep in "Arthur" Remake?

Posted: February 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Meryl Streep in "Arthur" Remake?Submit Comment
THR is reporting that the filmmakers behind the "Arthur" remake have already made an offer to Meryl Streep to play Hobson, the title character's valet. In the original film, actor John Gielgud played the role, so this will be a bit of a sex change for Hobson.

As was previously rumored, Arthur will be played by comedian Russell Brand (Forgetting Sarah Marshall) in a story about a happy drunk who is promised a fortune if he marries a woman he doesn't love instead of his girlfriend.

The role of the girlfriend was played by the 33-year-old Liza Minnelli, and Brand joked (I hope) that the 63-year-old actress should be brought back to reprise her role. "I'd just go back to Liza," he said. "There's no one like her."

At this point a new script is being written by Peter Baynham (Borat, Bruno).

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
autiger10 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:53:35 AM

not worth my $
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:01:56 AM

If he plays his cards right, hemight pull off a threesome with Liz and Meryl. If that ain't a commercial for hip replacements, I don't know what is.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:14:58 AM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:37:53 AM

Will Dudley be in this?

Oh right...

He's DEAD like loser COC's Mom!

Bwwwwaahahahahahahahaaaaa!!!
COC... you're a LOSER!!!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 5:04:19 AM

Eventhough Meryl Streep is a bloody good actress, I have to say "NO NO NO NO NO!!!!!!!!!!"
to this fudgen remake, wish hackwood would stop this sh*t right now
rocketman writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:53:38 AM

Oi America,you have guns right? Well point them at Russell Brand will ya please.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:52:19 AM

I f*cking HATED the Arthur films! There was nobody in the world more annoying than Dudley Moore. I'm glad he's dead.
barley_cat writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:10:48 AM

Written by the writers of borat and Bruno...promising. Ha.
Eli_1994 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 11:52:41 AM

@Ranger

c'mon man, I now you can do better than calling COC a loser. Both of us know that COC does nothing but check out man-meat at mall's and wishes for nothing more than a "All-You-Can-Choke-On" sausage feat every second of the day
murphyslaw93 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:50:49 PM

Wait? Someone WROTE Bruno and Borat?
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:58:46 PM

@Eli - well said. I agree. It was late... I was tired...

But COC's mom is still dead, because God took her from him because he knew he was an loser. So in fact, he's the one responsible for her death. Wow, COC = mother killer!
bale01289 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:40:03 PM

Only thing I want to know is if Christopher Cross is gonna do "Arthurs Theme" again? +fact of the day....Me and Dudley Moore share(d) the same birthday....Cheers!
liverpool67 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:54:18 PM

remakes remakes remakes, i think i heard that word before.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:01:57 PM

Which makes one ponder...

If a movie is worth re-making... why not just re-release the original?! I know, I know... NEW $'s.

I've seen VERY FEW remakes I've liked better than the original. Will Smith's 'I am Legend' really surprised me. He was excellent (as usual), but it still didn't give me that chill Heston's version did.

I like the ORIGINAL Planet of the Apes best... and a TON of others.

f*ck your remakes HackWood... you get paid enough to TRY and be original!

seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 6:03:52 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved