WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Writing "Avatar" Prequel Story

Posted: February 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Writing "Avatar" Prequel StorySubmit Comment
Speaking to MTV News, producer Jon Landau revealed that James Cameron is currently hard at work on a prequel to "Avatar." But it's not for the big screen.

"Jim is going to write a novel himself," said Landau. "Not a novelization. A novelization basically retells the story of the movie. Jim wants to write a novel that is a big, epic story that fills in a lot of things [we] won't have time to do in the movie, or maybe in sequels. [So the novel will] give a foundation for the world."

He continued: "It would be something that would lead up to telling the story of the movie, but it would go into much more depth about all the stories that we didn't have time to deal with like the schoolhouse and Sigourney [Weaver's character] teaching at the schoolhouse; Jake on Earth and his backstory and how he came here; [the death of] Tommy, Jake's brother; and Colonel Quaritch, how he ended up there and all that."

Regarding when fans will be able to read Cameron's prequel novel, Landau said: "I'm hoping by the end of this year."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 56 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:08:56 AM

go on Jimmy.. steal some more ideas

that will show em huh
lemus869 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:11:00 AM

I LIKE NOT LOVE AVATAR!!!
I LOVE "THE DARK KNIGHT" and batman 3
!GO NOLAN!
wonderBOY writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:12:35 AM

whats the point, who went to avatar for the story
pomme writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:17:03 AM

after "pocahontas" story ,what's next? "the lord of the ring" story?
NOooo! "terminator" story in blue!!
BDeck writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 2:42:59 AM

Oh for f*cks sake, milk that cow james.
autiger10 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:01:50 AM

eh, thanx for "aliens" jimmy.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:02:27 AM

will the novel be in 3-D? words jumping out and hitting you right in the f*cking face would rule!

Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:14:41 AM

For fock sake!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 3:43:47 AM

I'm hoping i will wake up and find out that Avatar was just a dream.
Whitta writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:04:47 AM

f*ckin hell jimmy, do another Terminator or Alien movie, that seemed to work for ya
takai writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:42:34 AM

hahahahahaha.


Man, Cameron is not even trying to hide how badly he wants 'Star Wars fanboy' fans.

He needs to get put in his f*cking place.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 5:19:10 AM

@ horrorjunky.... Just out of curiousity, what makes avatar that bad that you hate it that much? I've yet to see it and just wonder why people hate on it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 6:07:39 AM

so we are going to have a prequel (in a book) to a film which despite all the money it is making no one wants, I think this man has lost it, eversince sh*tanic won all those oscars he has had too high opinoin of himself
I knw it won't happen but he needs a couple of box office bombs to wake him up a bit
rcazzy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 6:20:24 AM

The fact that the movie is gathering some original screenplay award nominations (good on the academy not hopping on the bandwagon) and people praising the story or having 'spiritual revelations' is disgraceful. One of the least imaginative stories ever used for a big budget film, and thats saying something given the amount of similar storylined movies today. It looked great in it's use of 3D and believable CG characters. It was only saving grace from being viewed publically unoriginal garbage. And as for the world of Pandora, bioluminescent plants have been done elsewhere, along with flying dragon beasts and earth-like animals, why so impressed?
rcazzy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 6:23:50 AM

*as unoriginal garbage
rocketman writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:48:55 AM

Finaly saw Avatar. What a load of bollocks. Lucas did it better with the Ewoks. And as for 3D,all i wanted to do was take the glasses off after an hour and was left with a splitting head ache after 3.
Kurskij writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 8:30:56 AM

Ahhh, Hollywood!

When they smell money the start sh*tting books, shirts and novels.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 8:33:50 AM

i hate you now jim.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 8:35:00 AM

and the only ones who will buy it are the suicidal s that thought pandora was real
telur writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:27:59 AM

I know it's trilogy movies
SACdaddy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:11:08 AM

@Jigsaw and others: Why the hate for JC? The man's just tryin to make that money. That's what we do here in America. We earn big and we spend big (bigger in most cases). It's capitalism at its finest (or worst lol).
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:21:20 AM

so the book wont deal with the na'vi or pandora??? then it shouldnt be called avatar.
barley_cat writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:25:37 AM

I hate film to book adaptations even more than the other way round!

Heroes released a pile of crap that was meant to be Hiro & Charlies story. It was bollocks.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:29:54 AM

God the first story and writing sucked why would I want to read about. Unless it has native naked pictures or if it's a coloring book I don't care. It'll probably have as good of writing as one too. "Jake was sad because his legs were not working anymore"
Wallace writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 11:03:29 AM

good for him.
The Scythe writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 11:15:17 AM

@SACdaddy

"Why the hate for JC?"

It's the everyday bread. When Avatar wins the Oscar for Best Picture, many will get diarrhea. That's for sure.
Anyone cares about the Oscars?
barley_cat writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 11:20:39 AM

Scythe, It's not just SACdaddy that hates JC btw.
He's just a money-grabbing, unoriginal loser!

Though kudos to him, he's a rich fother mucker!
Blank x2 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:01:22 PM

I honestly don't understand the Cameron bashing. He's only made two movies in fifteen years. If he was money-grabbing, he'd be pumping out movies every six months.

And I'll defend Avatar like I do ROTF. They are not great movies, but people shouldn't expect them to be. Cameron never said Avatar would be the most epic story driven movie. He knows it's eye candy just like we do, which is why the CGI was THE MOST important thing to him as well as the audience. Movies like these aren't supposed to be great with story, intricate plot twists, surprises, characterizations, and such. Some movies are mindless and you just wanna kick back and eat some popcorn.

I understand why people don't think Avatar, Transformers, G.I. Joe, and such aren't great movies. They're not. They're experiences. No thinking, no wondering...just watching. Looking at these movies, they don't even take themselves seriously, so why should we?

I still love all the old 60s and 70s Godzilla movies from when I was a kid, and those are awful. Level of quality (for ALL aspects such as plot, story, characters, directing, action, etc.) does not mean level of entertainment. At least not to me.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:08:46 PM

@barley: Actually, I don't hate Cameron at all. I look up to the guy in fact. He makes mostly great movies and other than Avatar and Aliens (because its a sequel) all of his work has been very original. He's not doing anything different then Gene Roddenbery (Star Trek) or George Lucas by tapping into the literary market that surrounds their creations.

In the words of Michael Douglas in Wall Street "Greed is good"....well, as long as its creative.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:10:56 PM

@Blank: I agree with you, and I think most of the people that bash on Avatar and JC also does. The problem is that it has earned an undeserved amount of praise for being well written movie (it got some serious Oscar noms) and the sh*tload of cash it has pulled in is way more than it deserves.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:11:16 PM

Cameron writing an "Avatar" prequel?
That should take like... 10 minutes.

20 minutes, maybe, in case he runs into some trouble rewriting WALL-E's script.

To suit the Na'vi language, he'll probably rename the main characters to:

- Wal'ee
- Ee'vee

And, since Cameron seems to like using Sigourney Weaver she's already there too, so that adaptation should go smoothly.
Blank x2 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:31:04 PM

@Fraudian - totally agree, I just wish people wouldn't act like it's HIM doing it. He never said (I don't think) that Avatar was all about the plot and story. He knew that wasn't the strong points.

But you're right. The masses will always blow things out of proportion with misconceptions. It happens.
U-BMCS09T writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:35:13 PM

lol "working hard"

@ peter, shhh james was just going to change some of the narrative from avatar from past to present tense, now you given him enough to write a multi book saga
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:32:46 PM

@Blank - well said.

If Cameron were a money-grabber he'd be cranking out the commercial stuff like Bay. And who isn't a money-grabber... let's be honest. Try living without it. And Cameron and others provide 'experiences' for the $'s. They've earned it.

I have never bashed JC (Jean Claude yes... James Cameron no). We're going to see Avatar this upcoming week (thought we'd await the thinning of the crowds, but thx. now to the Oscar nods, and the Mar 5th pull-out deadline, that isn't going to happen). Like Blank says, I have NO expectations on the story. I AM looking forward to a 3D - IMAX 'experience.'

I have never been jealous of the success of others. Everyone I know that s successful has earned it. Every penny.

Cameron has taken risks in his career that would crush a normal human being. Great on him for producing the 2 largest grossing movies in history. Even Lucas or Spielberg can't boast that.
Planetastudios writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 5:44:16 PM

Like somebody said b4, just good popcorn fun. Don't take it to seriously. To many serious critics out there that don't get paid ;)
shamusot00le writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 6:05:34 PM

This Fanboy culture that he's trying to push is starting to look needy. first the language guide so you can sound like an avatard in their own tongue, but now books "expanding the avatar universe" 'Star wars and Star trek has books,no-one approached me about an avatar book, I'll do it myself!'
TwoTakez writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 6:18:18 PM

I thought he wrote the whole thing like 13 years ago? I actually enjoyed Avatar, not because I thought the story was something original or because of the acting...........in fact maybe it had something to do with the green I was smoking beforehand? Either way it gets a lot of stick when everybody knew it was just going to be a visual feast and typical Hollywood blockbuster, yes we all know that it's just dancing with wolves in space (with a fit blue chick)but you can't hate the man for making Benjamins..........I for one won't be buying the book but i'm sure plenty of people will..
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 6:56:31 PM

@encore - that's his boyfriend.
Lister writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:55:44 PM

ITT: pseudo-intellectual circle jerk
MattC903 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:57:59 PM

i'll buy and read it.
barley_cat writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:13:01 PM

@ Planetastudios "To many serious critics out there that don't get paid ;)"

Lol, pretty much every single member of this site then.
Some are just worse at it than others, cough..COC.
The Scythe writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 11:40:15 PM

@barley_cat
I didn't say that.
I know SACdaddy doesn't hate JC. I was just answering his question.
HOCK writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 1:36:48 AM

Here's a memo for you Hollywood. Pay attention closely. PREQUELS ARE STUPID. Very few reasons I'd ever approve of one. Start where the story needs to start, and move forward.
HOCK writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 1:37:49 AM

After I wrote this I totally realized he's writing a book and not a movie. Thus I humbly apologize for my outburst lol. I still stand behind everything I said however.
lost_addict writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 7:05:33 AM

false!!!james cameron will make 'aliens 2','terminator judgment day 2','true lies 2' in the next 5 years.
barley_cat writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 9:35:24 AM

Scythe, Sorry mate, must have missunderstood your post. My bad :)
makingcircles writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 9:56:22 AM

I don't have ill-will towards James. He's passionate about this original idea that he stole so he's milking the fans for all they've got. A prequel? Easy. Let's see him do sequel to Avatar...what the f*ck will that story be about? Rebuilding a big tree? His big teradactyl has babies and comedy ensues and Jake becomes Mr. Mom? Jake gets hooked on putting his tentacles all up in every species and his Navi girlfriend has fits of jealous rage? So many options Jimmy...so many options.
barley_cat writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 9:59:00 AM

MakingCircles, apparantly the sequel will be set on different moons, so Jake and his Navi mates will meet a range of different colour people, it'll be like...London!
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 4:16:31 PM

@barley_cat - a little of topic, but you a brit?
barley_cat writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 4:22:28 PM

Lol, How you guess?
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 4:23:31 PM

lol well lots of "mates" (could have been OZ) but the london comment nailed it, im in North East
barley_cat writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 4:27:20 PM

Lol i'd tell ya where i'm from but COC may find and rape me so all I'll say is I'm no stranger to the crap-hole that is now London!
AYT BALL writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 4:43:14 PM

lol i hear ya! well nice to bump into a fellow brit
encoreyourface writes:
on February 15th, 2010 at 5:09:35 PM

Barley-"Lol i'd tell ya where i'm from but COC may find and rape me"

don't worry, D.O.C. only goes after men ... sweaty, fat, dildo wearing gay men ...

MadHatter writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 3:49:46 PM

If Cameron is really writing a Avatar prequel story, then he might really be beating a dead horse with the whole Avatar craze going on now! Isn't one movie enough?
vwkombi writes:
on February 22nd, 2010 at 12:40:07 AM

I think this is a good idea, might add a little bit of depth to the Avatar universe. Maybe even make the movie interesting.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved