WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Why "Inglourious Basterds" Might Win Best Picture Oscar

Posted: February 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Why "Inglourious Basterds" Might Win Best Picture OscarSubmit Comment
Ever since Oscar nominations were announced, Las Vegas has been taking bets on which film will win for Best Picture. "Avatar" is currently in first place, with the "Hurt Locker" trailing closely behind.

And even though this years awards have been all about those two movies, Harvey Weinstein is convinced that his "Inglourious Basterds" will take home the prize.

"We're going to win Best Pictures. This is the movie people love and it's Quentin's time. We are going for it and we are gonna get it," he told LA Times. "Look, best director may be a question, but we won the SAG award for best ensemble. Actors are the biggest branch in the academy and they love the movie."

His logic is not just wishful thinking. Many believe that this is the reason why "Crash" was able to beat "Brokeback Mountain" back in 2006.

Click here to read our "Inglourious Basterds" review.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:53:50 AM

Maybe Brokeback Mountain didn't win because the site of one man's COC inside another was a lot disturbing (unless you're COC's Dad).
nope.com writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:55:52 AM

well there you have it, Weinstein basically told you he's going to fork tons of cash (again) at the feet of the academy to get what he wants
takai writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:06:19 AM

I don't care what anyone has to do, so long as 'Avatar' only wins what it deserves. (SFX)
Bigcheese writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:18:15 AM

I want this to win, it was fabulous. Avatar does not deserve best picture, copying Dances with Wolves is not Best Picture worthy!
Bonzaitri writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:30:40 AM

As long as Avatar doesn't win.
IB and Hurt Locker were great.

It's bad enough that Pulp Fiction lost for Best Picture and Titanic has won.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 7:01:12 AM

@nope: if it were a cash issue you know Avatar backers would offer the biggest bribe.

As much as I think it deserves it this year, IB will lose to Hurt Locker for 3 reasons:

1. Female action director finally gets respect.

2. Backing this movie in Hollywood may be seen as self indulgence for the Jews that control a lot of the industry. QT's revisionist history almost amounts to a Jewish wet dream which might be a litttle too ostentatious for their liking. Plus Tarantino isn't Jewish so they may not back him. If Spielberg directed it the odds would be more in its favor.

3. HL gives Hwood a chance to show its support of the troops even though it hates the wars they're fighting. There are still plenty of old farts around the Academy that will view this as an opportunity to show their patriotism, something the US film industry used to cherish before Vietnam.
j-man writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 7:09:26 AM

and chris waltz for best supporting actor!!!
SamuelClayton writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 8:15:25 AM

Harvey Weinstein is just being (as he should be) a dedicated promoter of the only film he has left at the Academy Awards, since Capitalism: A Love Story wasn't nominated for Best Doc*mentary Feature and Nine tanked with audiences and critics. I remember him talking big about how The Reader was going to win Best Picture last year, and we all know how that turned out.

As interesting as it would be to have Inglourious Basterds take the top prize, I just don't see a bloody, pulpy, irreverent WWII fantasy siphoning enough votes away from the highest-grossing film of all time (Avatar) and the critical darling of 2009 (The Hurt Locker). What's more likely is that Academy members will give it Best Supporting Actor and possibly Best Original Screenplay as a way to reward the film.
coldplayesence writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 9:18:57 AM

To be fair, The Hurt Locker is highly overrated, too. I saw it 'cause you guys won't stop talkin' about it; it has a great start but all the "tension" that it's supouse to create it's lifeless and even if the main theme its "a adrenaline as a drug" it doesn't delivers. And no, I am no talking about car chases, i'm talking about characters been more than just plain "reckless". And finally, Eric Bana play an adrenaline junkie on Black Hawk Down and it was brilliant. Sorry but neither Avatar or The Hurt Locker deserve the oscar. Maybe IB, but i'll go with Up in the Air.
Agent Calavera writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 9:23:24 AM

Inglorious Basterds mas MEH.. not worthy of an Oscar in my book.

tcu21 writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:03:48 AM

Hurt Locker=Overrated, not a lot of people saw it and I can say that there was definite negative reaction from the military community
Avatar=Everyone saw it, but it was great mostly for it's visuals
Inglourious Basterds=Original story, excellent acting AND over 300 million worldwide.
Up in the Air=3 separate acting nods and closing in on 100 million at the box office.

There's been all this talk of Avatar vs. The Hurt Locker but I fail to see why it's not Basterds vs. Up in the Air. They can have 20 Best pic nominees but they'll probably still find someway to f*ck up who gets the award
Bob82 writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:19:45 AM

Well, I agree that it's Quentin time, this is his masterpiece. So it's now or never.
barley_cat writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:20:54 AM

Why inglorious bastards may win oscar: Brad Pitt f*cked the whole oscar nomination board.

And Tarrantino.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:30:29 AM

"Why "Inglourious Basterds" Might Win Best Picture Oscar"

Because it's good?

Hurt Locker should win though, that movie had me on the edge of my seat for the parts it needed me to be on the edge of my seat for.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:47:17 AM

Another reason why IB wont win:

QT is extremely violent towards the women of this film. Not one survives! There might be some Hwood female blowback especially considering a woman is up for Best Director for another war film.

BTW why the hell didn't the french cinema owner get nominated for best supporting actress? She was one of my favorite characters in the film. Sure most of her scenes were in French but she still deserved some love. Maggie Gyllenhaal is a waste of space and should never be nominated for an award after her Dark Knight performance.
tcu21 writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:54:52 AM

I actually feel that women might find this movie enjoyable considering the two female leads were incredibly bad ass and were both terrific should've-been-nominated performances.

He's violent towards EVERYONE in this film haha.
barley_cat writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 11:19:55 AM

TCU21, SEXIST, i get it, all women want to be bad-ass? huh?

Only joking
Powderedtoastman writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 11:27:28 AM

Please. No.
shayhiri writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 11:46:53 AM

BastErds will fEil.
shayhiri writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 12:02:05 PM

Forget Armond White!

Worst Previews write as of now the WORST (P)REVIEWS on the net.

It wasn't always so. But for the last couple of months it has been beyond pathetic.

I'm sure this site is run by obese feminazis - it's the only logical way to explain most of the ratings it their reviews.

What sad days we live in when every sorry amateur runs a site...
Osiris3eagle writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 12:11:01 PM

That would be great, IB was my #1 film of the year. Avatar was good but it's not Best Picture material. I wouldn't have a problem seeing The Hurt Locker or District 9 win it either.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 12:14:07 PM

Don't blame WP for the reviews, they pretty much asked a guy (Dustin Putman does all the reviews) who isn't affiliated with the site if they could post his reviews. Dustin Putman has had his own review website for a number of years before WP showed up.
Blank x2 writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 12:27:28 PM

shayhiri has a little sand in the vagina again.
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 12:59:51 PM

I would love to see Inglourious Basterds win Best Picture. It was definitely my favorite movie of 2009. Avatar and The Hurt Locker were both very good, but Tarantino's latest film was just amazing.

And, Brokeback Mountain was definitely a better film than the good, yet fairly forgettable Crash.
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 2:01:05 PM

@shay - you want I should FedEx you some new batteries for your dildo fella?

PS: do you squat when you piss too?

Deal with the real issues of your Dad molesting you, you whiny bitch. Go to Navi.blew and go hug a f*cking tree.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 2:04:41 PM

Okay so I'll put my thoughts in here, Avatar shouldn't win, it was okay but not worthy of a best picture. I haven't seen The Hurt Locker but I have it just haven't watched it yet so I won't pretend to make a judgement call. However Inglorious Basterds isn't exactly screaming best picture either. I know people with diagree with me and that's fine everyone can think what they want, but if I'm going to watch a movie like this I want it to have great acting (which Brad Pitt a great actor HA!) and a great story which usually means a true story which this was not. The only reason this movie got all the hype was because of who made it and who stared in it.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 2:39:45 PM

I'd say it deserves it. Hurt Locker should get best director, but overall as a movie IB is really just a classic, and it deserves to be awarded as such.
Jabba_RT writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 2:49:46 PM

@FFantasy:

Would you please pull your head out of your dad's ass and look at what you wrote?

It makes no f*ckin sense. Why would you comment on a subject and not have anything to comment on? Most of the postings have dealt with whether or not IB is deserving of the oscar and subsequently, which others would be more deserving.

Your whole comment about IB not being worthy is that the story wasn't TRUE?!? Really? So, in your opinion a true story is a great story. I hate to say this, but a lot of times a true story is a boring story. Most people go to the movies for escapism; to get away from their normal lives and escape for just a couple of hours.

And the acting was bad? Did you actuually watch the film because besides Eli Roth (who is a f*ckin retard who sucks Tarentino's d*ck) everyone else in that film was great. Christoph Waltz PWNS that best supporting nod.

The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 3:25:16 PM

it was definitely a tight movie, but as long as Christoph wins for Best Supporting Actor, im good
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 3:27:44 PM

^seconded
Jedimax writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:04:32 PM

http://www.awardsdaily.com/?p=19146#more-19146

Here this is a really good article about the state of the race right now.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:38:20 PM

I f*cking hate it when people discredit Pitt because of his looks and because he's always in the gossip magazines(not his fault). He's a great actor and anyone who thinks otherwise is a f*cking idiot.
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:58:34 PM

Not sure they're a f*cking idiot...

But I'll agree 100% Pitt is amazing in every performance. AND he's acted with absolutely everyone that's anyone in the Biz (except DeNiro... am I right... although DeNiro is cranking out a lot of (mostly) commercial crap the last bunch of years).
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 5:04:07 PM

Pitt is good when is allowed to be weird. Didn't like him in Benjamin Button or Troy.
ToatsMaGoats writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 5:31:09 PM

IB was easily the best movie this year....avatard was easily the most overrated. The hurt locker was good but not great and Brad Pitt is one of the best actors of his generation.

he was hilarious in this movie
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 5:32:18 PM

@Freudian - have BB on the PVR so haven't seen it yet. But I liked him in Troy. He was to play a 2-dimensional killing machine/lover (he gave that virgin the goods... lucky bastard!). There wasn't to be much more depth than he either killing and loving. He did learn remorse after meeting the father of his victim (Bana), and started to see the Trojans as people rather than something to exterminate.

When you watch it again... give his character a chance in that light.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:02:55 PM

never saw Inglorious Bastards, it looked mildly interesting though ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:19:26 PM

@Ranger: BB is worth a watch (just because the story is somewhat stupid), but all I could think of during the film was how Oprah masturbated to it (sorry, for the image that will pop up in your head).

Troy might be a worth a second watch, but I can't really be bothered. Too many unseen films with potential is prioritized before Troy. And Pitt was way outshined by Bana, was totally pissed that I knew how it would end.
pjmbdm writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 8:03:57 PM

I hope he is right cuz I'm putting money down on those Oscar odds since I'm in Vegas that weekend!!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 8:44:41 PM

Weinstein thinks all his films are f*cking great, this was probably the only one worthy of a f*cking Oscar nomination
RORSHACH writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 9:07:53 PM

yeah IB all tha way....either IB or District 9 shud get best movie
TeemSelami writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 12:41:19 AM

I hope basturds wins. Christoph Waltz was brilliant. plus how can you not love seeing hitlers face disintegrate.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:23:54 AM

I hope basterds wins, because killin Nazis is much cooler than giant blue tree hugging cat people.
rocketman writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:22:14 AM

Good film but the last 15 mins was just stupid.
Jedimax writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 1:41:17 PM

Last 15 minutes are amazing!
TwoTakez writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 5:55:51 PM

It's got to be the Hurt Locker for me, Christoph Waltz has got to get best supporting actor though. He nailed the Jew Hunter role....
Eben1277 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:07:04 PM

Freudian, definitely give Troy another look see. Ranger's right on about Pitt's character arch in it. Eric Bana getting put down was a shame, his performance was awesome, but the most maddening thing in that movie to me was Orlando Bloom finishing off Pitt.
GIST writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:12:27 PM

Hope it wins! That's it.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:25:19 PM

its a great movie if avatar wins then they do not understand the quality of a good film. i just hope avatar does not win just whatever else basterds would be nice or district 9.
Clair_de_Lune writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 10:10:29 PM

I'm not an expert on how Oscar voting works, but I thought I remembered reading that Academy members only voted in their own branches--actors vote for acting categories, producers for picture, directors in directing, etc. Can anyone clarify this?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved