WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

John Carpenter Not Involved in "Escape From New York" Remake?

Posted: February 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
John Carpenter Not Involved in "Escape From New York" Remake?Submit Comment
It was recently announced that writer Allan Loeb (21, Wall Street 2) to pen the remake of John Carpenter's "Escape From New York." MTV has now caught up with him to get an idea of what he's planning.

"I see it as a big movie," he said. "I see it as possibly, hopefully the beginning of a franchise. I know [New Line] tried with 'Escape from LA' a few years back and it didn't work out but [it's] try, try again [in] Hollywood."

Loeb added that he's not sure whether Carpenter will be brought on for the project. "I don't know how much John Carpenter is involved," he said. "I don't think he's involved extensively. I know I did my work without his tutelage."

Regarding Kurt Russell, Loeb revealed that the actor will be replaced but there will be a cameo for him if he wants it. "The only reason I would think [he wouldn't be involved] is if Kurt didn't want to do it," the writer explained. "I'd be the first to jump on my computer and find the cameo for you. If [New Line] asked me to, it would be a lot of fun."

And regarding the story, Loeb gave a brief plot synopsis: "Put four walls around the island of Manhattan, drop in the world's most dangerous criminals and what's the ecosystem that arises?"

Click here to read more about "Escape From New York."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:56:32 AM

If it's a mystery to anyone as to why 'Escape from LA' failed... let me give you a hint:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rs-mrHXL0zY

Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:59:36 AM

And if you ever wondered why David Hasselhoff is a drunk:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJQVlVHsFF8
SACdaddy writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 7:05:11 AM

LOL Ranger. Worst scene ever!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 7:14:50 AM

Though the original concept was great EFNY is not one of Carpenter's best movies. The Thing, Holloween 1 and 2, Assault on Precint 13, The Warriors, and Prince of Darkness are all far better. So I don't have much of a problem with his lack of involvement in some sh*tty remake. He'll still get paid and get credited (usaully as an execctive prod) for the use of his characters and ideas. Carpenter is one of a very small group of directors that create and film almost all original material. Other than The Thing most of his other work is from his own mind and not some other adopted source material. He'll get paid for sure!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 7:15:58 AM

"Halloween 1 and 2" Jesus!
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 8:53:30 AM

@Ranger

Uga-chaka-uga-uga!!!

Ahahah, nothing beats David Hasselhoff. Something tells me that this video wasn't a result of drinking though.

Massive amounts of drugs were involved and, based on direction, Brett Ratner.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 9:35:06 AM

@Ranger: Holy sh*t Hasselhoff is funny! I cna't believe I idolized this guy when I was a kid. This guy murdered Michael Knight and replaced him with some lame German pop star :(
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:28:49 AM

The original movie was a pile of f*cking garbage, why would there be a remake?!
barley_cat writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:29:16 AM

Wow Ranger, good link, that's probably the most imense CGI i have ever seen, and the actors? Cor talent and a half huh?

"Bitching"
barley_cat writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:31:45 AM

@ Spooky, why the hell wouldn't there be a remake, you can't make it any worse, it's a win-win really.

And Hitler? Really? Grow up.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:36:30 AM

@Barley_cat

HAHAHAHA WTF "OMG GUISE GROW UP U GOTS HITLUR IN YER AVTAR !!!!?!!!"

Who gives a sh*t? If you're that concerned over some *sshole over the internet using hitler as an icon, then maybe you should be the one doing some growing up. (Besides, it's pretty hitler, see the pink suit?)

And yea, I guess. Hollywood has remade good movies and made them sh*tty, so maybe remaking a sh*tty movie will make it a good remake.
barley_cat writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 10:44:15 AM

I appreciate your efforts to insult me by completely miss-quoting my post to make me sound more immature than you.

However you failed.

Yes it bothers me that some fag is using Hitler as an Avatar, it doesn't make me childish, it proves i have morals.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 1:01:03 PM

@SAC, i dont wanna come across as one of those d*cks that corrects people but JC didnt make Halloween 2 or the warriors, that said, yeah Halloween 1 and the thing were better that Escape from new york, but for its time it was a really cool film (regardless of what gay hitler thinks) and i agree, good or bad the guy makes movies that havent been done before. Escape remake could be interesting but its been done alot of times since the original, most recently DOOMSDAY, that movie even had a female version of snake with one eye! so not sure its needed in the market or wanted by the fans but i would still check it out, its still a great concept
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 1:28:12 PM

@barley_cat

yep, because anybody that uses a picture mocking Hitler as an avatar must be automatically devoid of all morals in the real world. Yes. Totally and completely sound logic right there.

I'm sorry to break this to you, but the internet, see? The internet isn't a real place...

I just thought I'd let you know. I'm sorry to be the one to tell you :(
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 1:32:14 PM

"it doesn't make me childish, it proves i have morals."
Great job, fag. You point out that I have a photoshopped hitler picture as my avatar, you give yourself a pat on the back, then you masterbate to girls that you'll never have.

Gl;hf n*gger
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 1:55:02 PM

EFNY I didn't mind at all. Obviously it was good enough to warrant a sequel - not the one they did, but a good sequel.

Anyone else ever wonder why they put 2 American prisons on some of the most expensive real estate in the US (they left out Florida)? I mean c'mon... RoboCop had the decency to show urban decay in Detroit!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 2:28:03 PM

@AYT BALL: By all means correct me when I make mistakes. It would be the first time on this site. I'd rather look like an idiot once than be one for the rest of my life (like the Profd*ck). Carpenter didn't direct Halloween 2 but we did write it. You're right on the money about The Warriors though. I sometimes get get Carpenter and Walter Hill's works mixed up. They both share a gritty style nobobdy else in the industry has been able to match. Thx again though man.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:28:23 PM

Mixing the JC and walter hill styles of back in the day isnt a big mistake, similar tones and feel to alot of their movies, warriors could have easily been set within the EFNY universe, may show my age here but love those grainy movies from back in the day where black is actually black the actors have real sweat on them! they really dont make em like they used to! lol

@ Ranger - i wondered about that too, seems strange that they would pic somewhere like NY, but im sure they say something about it at the start of the movie, saying that the gangs grow in numbers and end up running the place, so guess thats the reason to just build a wall around them.....personally i think its just a cooler title, ESCAPE FROM DELAWARE doesnt quite have the same ring to it
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 4:40:34 PM

Well, the gangs taking over, etc. if said/explained in the movie makes a lot more sense... thx. Bro. It's been 100 years since I've seen that flick.

I hear ya...

"Escape from Boise!" - wouldn't do it for me either.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 5:01:19 PM

@Spooky: You do know that Barley is a girl? If you are going to insult people, some research really helps...
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 5:37:04 PM

@barley - those 2 videos give me the runs!

As for Spooky (and his avatar)... he's usually on here to play 'devil's advocate' and to stir up the sh*t-storm on here. But he does contribute (unlike other pathetic COC-sucking, SL-leezy lurkers on here). I think his avatar is a riot. Don't take Adolph's battering of the world too personal. I had family live and die in that war. If we can't laugh at Hitler's genius/insanity now (let alone in HAWT Pink!) then when?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:12:43 PM

@Ranger-yeah i agree. just because some-one has an avatar of Adolf doesn't mean they're some sort of Nazi or satanist. and it's a pink suit as well, which is kind of obviously mocking Hitler.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:21:33 PM

However, if you have an avatar that is Tom Welling or Kristin Kreuk, you are gay.
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:31:26 PM

@encore - exactly.

@freudian - was that ever in question?!
AYT BALL writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:34:43 PM

just watched that Hoff video......f*ck thats awesome!! lol
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:42:10 PM

So we'll assumed you're stoned my friend?!

lol.

Yeah... don't know WTF he was thinking doing that.

Although... I did fire off the link to that vid a few month ago to a few hundred people... and surprises of surprises... views went through the roof!
AYT BALL writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 6:52:56 PM

lol never been stoned (i get drug tested for my sport) but im guessing that being stoned would be like living inside that wonderful video! Yeah dont get me wrong, worst thing ive ever seen, i mean even for the Hoff, WHAT the hell were you thinking?!?! but lifes a little happier now ive seen it, and yeah, just sent it to everyone i know! haha classic
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 7:05:17 PM

Classic it is (exactly why I forwarded it as well)!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 8:31:03 PM

I think Escape from LA would have been better if it had been made 5 years earlier,as there would be no CGI available, or 10 years later, as there would have been better CGI available.
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:16:06 AM

I think it best were it never made.
barley_cat writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 9:46:06 AM

Lol, masturbate to girls i'm never going to have?

Thanks for clearing up my gender for him Freud.

@Ranger & Encore, it's not the fact that he's using Hitler as an Avatar, it's why that narked me off.
liverpool67 writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 4:55:09 PM

remake remake remake, i think i heard that word before
Ranger writes:
on February 14th, 2010 at 7:19:31 PM

@barley - gotcha.

HVD m'dear!
lostwarrior writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 3:31:40 PM

just dont remake they live.. leae it as it is perfect...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved