WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eli Roth's "The Last Exorcism" Acquired by Lionsgate

Posted: February 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eli RothSubmit Comment
Lionsgate has acquire the US rights to "The Last Exorcism," a horror film produced by Eli Roth (Hostel) and directed by Daniel Stamm. It is scheduled to premiere at SXSW next month.

The new movie will revolve around a trouble evangelical minister (Patrick Fabian) who allows his final exorcism to be filmed by a documentary crew.

"It's always great to work with our friend Eli, who has played a key role in establishing Lionsgate in the vanguard of the horror genre," said Jason Constantine, Lionsgate's prexy of acquisitions and co-productions. "'The Last Exorcism' feels as close to a real exorcism as anyone would ever want to get -- audiences are going to find this movie scary as, well, hell."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 6:35:13 AM

so is this the real deal.. or are we getting another 'Emily Rose'
Carpen7er writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 6:38:05 AM

Bring it on !
bale01289 writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 8:22:02 AM

@nope.com - all fake. Catholic church won't allow it, lol! Not totally spatting on this one yet, but Eli Roth has a tendancy to role out more fake blood and snuff, than actual horror movies! Hostel was NOT a horror movie, just for the record!
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 8:56:47 AM

nothing tops the spider scene from the original. scared the sh*t out of me.
makingcircles writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 9:43:33 AM

Sweet! I love demonic movies. Those are the only of the horror genre that give me a scare. And with Roth involved?? I'm there.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 10:23:52 AM

@nope: I always thought The Ex of Emily Rose was a brilliant movie. On another note, I had no idea the actress that played her was married to Dexter (even though she play's his sister on the show). She's great on that show!

@bale: Call it whatever you want, but I know one thing, I'm not taking a trip to Eastern Europe anytime soon. That first film was a masterpiece in my book (so was Cabin Fever) even though it spawned a horrible genre of "torture-horror" crap like Saw 1-10 and Turista.
bale01289 writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 10:46:36 AM

@SAC - I see what you're saying, but its this whole "new genre" of horror that doesn't really strike a cord with me, personaly. I remember when it had to have a monster or non-faced killer in the film to be classified as horror! Hostile, while effective, was just a torture flick! Bunch of rich boy, sadistic f*cks paying money to kill people with over done effects (blood and guts don't look that way in real life). That being said, it is just an opinion and I'm not knocking Eli Roth. I was entertained by Hostile WAY more than the SAW movies (excluding the first).
bale01289 writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 10:52:19 AM

I do love a good flick about exorcism! I thought Emily Rose was great and these type movies seem to bother me the most. Dexter rules, BTW !
SACdaddy writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 11:58:34 AM

@Bale: Yeah, exorcism movies are great. I can't admit that they scare me (not much does these days), but they're always entertaining as sh*t. I've never laughed harder then when me and some friends got blazed and went to see the re-release of the original Exorcism. The whole "f*ck me Jesus" thing had me rolling in my seat! You've got to appreciate the religious lines these directors push just for the sake of entertainment. I'm smiling now just thinking about the religious backlash a Roth spawned excorcism film is gonna create when it hits. Bring it on!
bale01289 writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 12:04:05 PM

@SAC - Yeah, lol, I'm from the south, so I can't wait to see the BibleBelt sh*t itself upon release of this movie! I know I will end up seeing it, just maybe not at the theatre. This will play at maybe one place where I live, and they charge more than normal, just so you can drink wine and feel all uppidy and sh*t! Just talking about it has gotten me more hype than when I first posted. I stand corrected!
Osiris3eagle writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 12:38:20 PM

Nice, I'm going to SXSW this year so I'll check it out.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 1:11:53 PM

"The Last Exorcism"? WE acquired that!
It was vindy's exorcism and we all had a part in it.

Now all we need is someone to make the movie.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 1:28:12 PM

i think its ironic that the guys name is CONSTANTINE! bahaha that was a good bad movie
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 1:28:16 PM

i think its ironic that the guys name is CONSTANTINE! bahaha that was a good bad movie
SACdaddy writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 1:48:07 PM

@Bale: we've got those theaters here in Texas too but they serve wine, BEER, and great popcorn covered in real butter! Hooray for Alamo Drafthouse Theaters :-)
bale01289 writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 1:58:33 PM

@SAC - you make me sick, lol! (Jk)
AYT BALL writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 2:22:33 PM

Roth is a f*cking joke! hope he didnt have much control over this
encoreyourface writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 3:20:02 PM

sounds interesting. havnen't seen the first but now i think i'm gonna.
bale01289 writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 4:42:55 PM

@encore - "haven't seen the first but now I think I'm gonna"....First what?
SACdaddy writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 6:19:05 PM

Best thing about exorcism movies is that they seldom have happy endings. (cue the happy ending jokes)
encoreyourface writes:
on February 12th, 2010 at 7:00:23 PM

@Bale-well, what i meant was an Exorcist film(by Friedkin), but then i realized it wasn't part of the series. i also meant i haven't seen any kind of exorcist film period. like Exorcism of Emily Rose or whatever.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 12:15:23 AM

Eli why did you give up on Cell!? Come on now...
WhoisKyle? writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 11:54:05 AM

Trailer?
Eli_1994 writes:
on February 13th, 2010 at 12:59:57 PM

@PP

lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved