WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hughes Brothers to Direct Live-Action "Akira" Films

Posted: February 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hughes Brothers to Direct Live-Action "Akira" FilmsSubmit Comment
NY Magazine has learned that Warner Bros is negotiating with the Hughes brothers (The Book of Eli) to have them direct a live-action remake of the cult favorite "Akira," from a script by "Iron Man" scribes Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby.

Out of respect for the complexity of the property, the studio won't try to squeeze the story into a two hour film. Instead, the plan is to make "Akira" into two parts, with the first three volumes of the six-volume manga making up the first film, due out next year.

"Akira" originated in 1988 as a manga and then as an animated film co-written and directed by Katsuhiro Otomo. The story was set in a neon-lit futuristic post-nuclear war "New Tokyo" in 2019 where a teen biker gang member is subjected to a government experiment which unleashes his latent powers. The gang's leader must find a way to stop the ensuing swathe of destruction.

The remake story will take place in Manhattan and will include the famous motorcycle.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jdl107 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 7:55:14 PM

Ah f*ck, I haven't seeen The Book of Eli yet, and since it doesn't look interesting, I'm kinda worried now.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:20:55 PM

never heard of the series. but i do want to see Book of Eli and if that and a trailer for this is any good, it's a possibility i might watch it ...
bale01289 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:26:42 PM

Hmmmm....I've been hearing about this brewing for some time now, but I thought Leo DeCaprio had his name in the mix somewhere. I think this one is VERY risky for a couple of reasons: A) Gonna hafta please the fanboys first! I'm a fan, and it CAN be done, just needs the right crew. Not sure if the Hughes Bros got it in them. B) If done correctly (see reason A) it will be hard for a main stream audience to understand what the f*ck is going on! The Manga is a total mind f*ck!

On that note, if it comes out and is done well, I'm stoked! Would love to see the motorcycles scenes!
bale01289 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:28:59 PM

Damnit, Encore!!! Get on your computer RIGHT NOW and download that movie, lol! Once again, you're missing out, friend!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:29:18 PM

I'm so happy I could sh*t on the head of someone I don't like!! This will rule!!!
KirkLazerus writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:29:55 PM

boooo, the book of eli was f*cking terrible,they are gonna make it gay starring Zach efron
thedotsays writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:31:38 PM

The Hughes did From Hell and that was very good. Although much credit should be given to Johnny Depp for that. But still, I think they could pull it off especially since they won't try to squeeze the whole story into one film.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:36:39 PM

@Bale- 1'm gonna watch it right now,lol.
telur writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:37:26 PM

It will suck like Dragon Ball Evolution. Let the Japanese do their work
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:37:27 PM

I'm, not 1'M ... where the f*ck did i get 1'm?
gimple writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:39:28 PM

Book of Eli sucked, and from what I've heard about From Hell and how Alan Moore hates it doesn't make me too interested in seeing that...
bale01289 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:48:25 PM

@Encore - Good man! (1'm, lol)
@Gimple - From Hell is really good! Hughes Bros have some good movies. I haven't seen Book of Eli, due to negative reviews by my fellow peers/pervs @WP, and I don't forsee Akira being one of them that is going to be good! I pray for them to do this right!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:49:29 PM

Akira is the great anime ever...@encoreyourface-you need to get that movie like yesterday, brother.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:54:33 PM

@ACTIONFIGURE- Like i said, i'm on it like d*ck Gayson on another mans c*ck!

@Bale-"I haven't seen Book of Eli"

what the hell you trying to get me to watch a movie you've never seen yourself!
bale01289 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 9:03:05 PM

@Encore - did you really just ask that? AKIRA, 40watt!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 9:11:07 PM

@Bale-

oh! i thought you meant the Book of Eli, you confused my ass.

i don't know if I'll watch Akira, I'll read more about it first ...
bale01289 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 9:21:45 PM

@Encore - SEE....just talking about this movie confuses the sh*t out of people, lol! In that case, if you watch it, take multiple doses of acid/shrooms to get the full "Akira" experience, lol!
shayhiri writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 9:28:08 PM

Hughes are good, but Akira won't make it anyway.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 9:29:16 PM

Bale-lol, i was making a trip to my back-yard anyways to bury my latest hooker ...
GIST writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 10:07:23 PM

I don't know... The Hughes Brothers attached to direct Akira?
Loved their early work, f*ckin' Dead Presidents. Best soundtrack! Personally, I think it's the best compilation of 70's Soul music you will hear in a film. Guaranteed!
'Only a limited time offer. Call 1-800-Get-Soul! And we will throw in the actual make-up kit the characters used in the heist scene.'
Anyways, I would actually want (I know it's typical) Spielberg to take on this project, A.I. and Minority Report already has that grim futuristic feel Akira has. But I'm no one special, so who gives a f*ck.

@encoreyourface

Uhh...like what everybody said. Get on that sh*t!
GIST writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 10:07:43 PM

Sorry for the shameless product plug, I felt like I was advertising their soundtrack. Because it's that GOOD!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 10:12:25 PM

how come every body else has heard of the series but me?
Aaron writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 10:19:35 PM

From hell - very good?
Not sure about that.

I barely remember the movie, but the graphic novel will stay with me for the rest of my life.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 10:20:24 PM

It'll be tough to match the tone of that awesome cartoon version, but I'd like to see them try. Book of Eli was a stinker, but the Hughes Brothers are still a good bet with Akira.
GIST writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 10:37:46 PM

You know what animation I would love to see made into a live-action? Fist of the North Star. I know they did one already in the mid 90's with Malcolm Mcdowell (which I can't believe that he was in). Awful, awful movie.
But with the actors, directors and the great cinematic achievements done in the last decade or so. It wouldn't be hard to adapt this story into some badass sh*t.
eximius007 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 11:39:49 PM

The first mistake made for this movie already, WHY THE f*ck would you put this Manhattan. I dont care if this is american made, you leave it where it should be in f*ckING JAPAN
gtrip writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 12:01:17 AM

this is not a good idea!!
takai writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 2:58:35 AM

First - 'Book of Eli' was a good movie. Those saying it sucked probably didn't like the religious overtone. To that I say, grow the f*ck up.

Second - Akira is a legit anime. I say legit because there are many anime that come to America and get butchered by censors and terribly translated dubs. (There are also a lot of terrible anime that stay in Japan and still suck)

Having said that, not even the Japanese dare to touch legit anime when it comes to live action adaptations. So I laugh at the fact that Hollywood thinks it has the understanding to make a live action version of something that can only be taken seriously as an anime. (that itself is hard to comprehend)

I've said it before, but there are many anime that should be taken more seriously than a live action film.

Example : 'Grave of the Fireflies'. Roger Ebert said it belonged on the list of greatest war movies of all time, which includes live action. That movie is one of the only films to ever bring me to the point of almost sobbing.

Yeah, they made a live action version of it, and it sucked.

Americans just can't grasp the level of maturity some anime have when the only animated flicks you see in theaters are Pixar films. (for the most part)

I hope all of that made sense, but in a nutshell :

Akira (the animated version/manga) = Amazing sci fi film that blows the mind

Akira (live action version) = Hollywood either tries too hard to match the source material, or doesn't at all, and the end product is laughably terrible.

I'm leaning towards the second, since they already screwed up big time setting it in Manhattan.



I'll go on record saying, that if they do somehow put out a good adaptation, the budget will have to be bigger than 'Avatar's'.
takai writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 3:00:39 AM

And @GIST - I completely agree. A live action 'Fist of the North Star' would be insane.
takai writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 3:05:17 AM

I'd also like to correct myself.

Not all people who disliked 'Book of Eli' felt that way because of the religious content. That just seems to be a running similarity. So if you just didn't like it, then that's fine. I have no problem with you.
takai writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 3:13:05 AM

Aaaaaaand @Gimple - You can't judge an Alan Moore film adaptation by Alan Moore's response. He hates every adaptation no matter what. He hates Hollywood.

Whether you liked Watchmen or not, the film adaptation was the most accurate adaptation anyone could ever hope to produce, and Moore still hates it. At least, that's what he tells the public.
VDODSON writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 4:28:05 AM

From Hell was an excellent film. Alan Moore is a pretentious c*cksucker who wrote some quality novels. He just doesnt like the idea of his storys being made into movies.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 5:31:25 AM

".. will take place in Manhattan"??? Maybe I should do a drive-by "Menace 2 Society" style and shoot some sense into these brothers..
jdl107 writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 7:28:20 AM

@Encore:

The reason is because you've been living in a cave. Now what you need to do my good man is go to Mininova, find Akira DOWNLOAD that sh*t and watch it immediately. You've litterally been missing on one the best anime's/manga's to ever come out. But yeah, do keep in mind that it is a mindf*ck, but it is an excellent mindf*ck. So let it rape the sh*t out of your brain and come back and tell us what you think.
jdl107 writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 7:37:20 AM

They should let the director of the new Tron have a crack at this. Or at least a director who's experienced with neon lights.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 10:04:56 AM

I'm a Hughes Bros. fan but I have a hard time putting them and Akira together. They've never made a film on this scale before with the amount of CGI Akira will dictate. They definitely should go with someone more experienced in the CGI game than the HBs.

I still dont see a problem with it being in NY. Any major metropolis would work as long as it could convey the same feel as the anime. If an American studio is doing the flick why not set it here? You all know that the upcoming Ghost in a Shell movie wont be in Japan either , right? Bladerunner is a good example of how it could look in a futuristic American (well sort of American) metropolis.

@encore: don't worry bub, I haven't seen the series either. The 2 hr movie was enough to make my head hurt. Don't get me wrong its one of my favs but only because its visually stunning, well animated, and action-packed. The story, like many animes, makes little sense and might be lost in translation. I get it like I get Ju-on but its overall message is lost on my meager American brain.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 10:14:10 AM

@encoreyourface-Did you watch it yet?? After the first time I watch, birds started to sing and "qeefs" smelled sweeter.
VDODSON writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 12:29:12 PM

I consider a queef to be just as bad as a fart. The good thing is that no one can try to blame the queef on you.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 1:01:21 PM

@VDODSON-LOL. I've known girls who have tried...But it's cool...I love fish market smells.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved