WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Escape From New York" Remake Details

Posted: February 10th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Escape From New York" Remake DetailsSubmit Comment
After many years of talking, New Line Cinema is finally moving forward with plans to remake John Carpenter's 1981 action classic "Escape From New York."

The studio recently hired Allan Loeb (Wall Street 2) to do a rewrite and loved his version so much that it is now fast-tracking the project. Loeb apparently nailed the humor in Plissken without slipping into camp, and he changed Snake's rescue-mission target from a president to a female senator.

In the new movie, Manhattan is evacuated and turned into a privately run penal colony after the detonation of a crude radioactive dirty bomb on the outskirts of the city. Much like in the original movie, the authorities have set up shop in the Statue of Liberty (though this time it's not the police, it's a private, KBR-like security company), and now new prisoners are being processed through Ellis Island.

Snake will remain largely the same, mostly because New Line had to sign a contract with Carpenter stipulating that Plissken must be called Snake, must wear an eye patch, and that he would "always be a 'bad-ass.'"

A little over two years ago, Gerard Butler (300) confirmed that he was in talks to play the lead role, originally handled by Kurt Russell.

Click here to read more about "Escape From New York."

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SuluNakamura writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 7:52:52 PM

A female senator, huh? Will love bloom on this battlefield?
wonderBOY writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 7:58:30 PM

how old is this. I heard about this on tht kevin smith QnA dvd that came out in 05-06.

this doesnt need a remake it needs a better blu ray transfer
jdl107 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:02:41 PM

"After many years of talking"

Yeah, you don't say. I'll check out wall Street 2, looks okay I guess. i hope they do this female senator thing right.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:09:11 PM

sounds cool. like the original, it doesn't need a remake. but if done right it can be just as good.
KirkLazerus writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:33:53 PM

"always be bad-ass" hahahahah that's great
bale01289 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:36:16 PM

Only if its not another "Escape From L.A."! Not sure about G Butler being Snake......just doesn't fit to me.
telur writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:39:04 PM

I start thinking what the different 'remake' or 'reboot'?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:39:54 PM

eh, i think he can fit the role pretty well.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 8:40:17 PM

*talking to Bale
bale01289 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 9:17:06 PM

@Encore - I'm a fan of GB, I am, I just for some reason can't see him filling those boots. He's just so far from Kurt Russell (in a good way). Depends on the whole scheme and make up of this movie before I cast down my movie money for this, once again, remake!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 9:27:01 PM

Bale-"Depends on the whole scheme and make up of this movie before I cast down my movie money for this"

same here.
Tizzle writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 9:54:17 PM

They already remade Escape from New York it's called escape from LA. It sucks... (Well, personally I love it but it's definitely not a GOOD movie.)
SACdaddy writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 10:03:17 PM

"Snake will remain largely the same, mostly because New Line had to sign a contract with Carpenter stipulating that Plissken must be called Snake, must wear an eye patch, and that he would "always be a 'bad-ass.'"

"A little over two years ago, Gerard Butler (300) confirmed that he was in talks to play the lead role, originally handled by Kurt Russell."

Good, that covers the main hurdles. Now they just have to get a badass villain to replace Issac Hayes (which shouldn't be hard) and we've got a winner.


SACdaddy writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 10:12:43 PM

Actually would like to see an American cast as Snake. He really was a true American hero dead set on the pursuit of life, liberty, and happiness (ok he never was happy). Butler's American accent is horrible! Looks like he's got a mouth full of taffy everytime he tries to pull it off. Too bad, I thought he was the next Arnold.
Tyrkae writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 11:22:38 PM

Jeffrey Dean Morgan should be snake i love that guy and ya he would make a bad ass snake plus he already was The Comedian in Watchman and rocked the sh*t outta that role and thats so close to Snake my vote is for Mr.Morgan
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 12:49:55 AM

Love the hell outta the first movie...the second one was gayer then 9 fags blowin' 8 fags.

Let's hope this one doesn't let us down.
Ranger writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 12:52:45 AM

Lovin' your new avatar AF!

Poor Nick. Looks like 500 miles of bad highway.
-apocolyptic- writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 2:55:03 AM

David Hayter for Snake.
side_effects writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 3:46:45 AM

I wish they wouldn't remake this.

I think Aaron Eckhart would make a good Snake though.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 5:07:43 AM

I have the hair and all i need now is the patch. Still wont be a cool as him :(
jdl107 writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 5:32:13 AM

hey, why not Christian Bale instead? He's proved his scruffy voice worthy.
Carpen7er writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 5:59:09 AM

Another sh*t remake of a great movie...
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 8:02:41 AM

f*ck REAMKES f*ck YOUUUU NO MORE! THIS MOVIE SUCKS! NO MORE OF THIS sh*t HOLLYCRAP SUCK MY BAAAAALLS!
eddie499 writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 9:07:47 AM

Jeez. This would make the third remake of a Carpenter classic by my count. The other two were mere shadows of the originals. This better be good. Agreed with the comments above. Snake is one of those action (anti-)heroes who is distinctly American. I think I could handle this if 1) there is a decent script and direction. 2) they have a Snake that can actually hold a candle to Kurt Russell's rendition.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 9:08:06 AM

Jeffery Dean Morgan for Snake...'nuff said.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 10:35:34 AM

^^^ JDM is a great suggestion. HOLLYWOOD LISTEN UP!!!
MontoyaWA writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 11:11:36 AM

GD... Can't we atleast get an American actor to play Snake? This role should never go to a foreigner.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 11:39:13 AM

@Ranger-Thanks for kudos on the Avatar...In truth, it's a photo of when I woke up one morning and I realized Loslag was next to me in my race car bed. Actaully, she more than likely cuts on herself because of our 3 second "barry allen micro-thrust sex"
thedotsays writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 1:42:37 PM

....in 3D
Ranger writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 3:58:48 PM

Even a 'micro-thrust' into Loslag is life-threatening my friend!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved