WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

MTV Finally Admits It's Not a Music Channel

Posted: February 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
MTV Finally Admits ItSubmit Comment
I can't even remember the last time that MTV was considered a music channel. "Beavis and Butthead" reruns on MTV don't even have music videos anymore.

Well... The network has finally broke down and after thirty years in business it has decided to change its logo to more correctly represent its programming.

The original Frank Olisnky-designed logo (pictures, on the left) has now been replaced with something that closely resembles it. The bigger difference is that the "Music Television" tagline has now been dropped.

Press release states: "It represents a new visually defined MTV, stimulating its past, present and future and embracing its diversity. Everything from Jersey Shore, to the VMAs to collaborations with the MoMA. The logo is part of MTV's re-invention to connect with today's millennial generation and bring them in as part of the channel."

So what does the "M" in MTV stand for now?

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:26:19 AM

"Mundane"
telur writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:43:10 AM

Microsoft TV?
MacDonald TV?
Marvel TV?
Maverick Dallas TV?
Mr. and Mrs. Smith TV?
Mary Elizabeth Winstead TV?
My TV?
Gates writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:44:58 AM

Is there really a point in spending thousands of dollars on a music video when there's only one channel (VH1 if that) that will play them?

MTV has been dead since the late 90's.

Whitta writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:54:25 AM

VH1 all the way,

M for Misleading
johnny_boy writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:11:03 AM

Wonder when they'll admit that they don't put on shows with talented and entertaining people
wonderBOY writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:18:56 AM

Music TV?
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:25:29 AM

How the hell is MTV still around anyways? I stopped watching after Daria. Their shows SUCK BAWLS! Then again my step son, Derp88, only watches MTV...
dleyton writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:52:53 AM

MIERDA!!!!!!!!!!
WhoisKyle? writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:53:00 AM

This is just in America right?
the logo was like that years ago here in the UK. its different now.
and over here it still has the Top 40 download chart, and new releases.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:53:34 AM

Migger.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:55:27 AM

Mtv, I'ma let you finish, but YouTube is the best music video channel of all time.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 6:55:33 AM

Minkowski TV
johnny_boy writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:02:55 AM

Is there even anything worth watching on MTV? Never got what the big deal was with those f*cker from jersey shore. All I know about it is some female midget got socked by a guy in a bar
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:23:13 AM

^^ That was the shot heard round the world. Mike Tyson never had a shot that good. That alone earned those annoying Guidos another season. Between this and Puffy's first Making of the Band I've never seen so many ethnic stereotypes get in fights. It's beautiful :-)
CCBlev writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:53:21 AM

@gates
looks like everything died in the late 90's in terms of good music, the last decade sucked balls. I'm sorta glad mtv isnt showing videos anymore, im tired of lady gaga, plz kill that bitch, and taylor c*nt too, i hate them more than I do Lohan. This past decade of music sucked vin dandy's balls
kevo10183 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 8:29:23 AM

Pathetic they have been in business over 30 years and the best show they come up with is jersey shore. i think the situation here is that Vh1 is way better.
Matiax writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 8:49:34 AM

Great! I don't give a sh*t.

MoronTV?
j-man writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 8:55:13 AM

any channel that shows the hills, the city, my super sweet 16th or any of those sh*t reality shows should be destroyed!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 9:09:25 AM

Doesn't MTV own VH1?
Lowryder writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 10:07:57 AM

Mad tv
felix559 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 10:14:49 AM

misleading?
Tramadoldrums writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 10:23:37 AM

Markassbusters





TV
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 10:55:02 AM

Motherf*ckers!
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:05:46 AM

Yeah the company that owns MTV also owns VH1. Fuse TV
used to rock out but I haven't seen it for like two years now.
yourfriendwiththebigd1ck writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:34:18 AM

Horny and willing ;L....
Johnnyb writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:37:51 AM

Mature TV¿? Let´s be honest there´s nothing mature on the programs that pass in MTV... Is really interesting why the change¿? I really think is have to do with the dropout of videoclips, that usually people are not seen anymore... Since jackass, Daria, Beavis and Butthead, and everything else... MTV has been decaying in the past few years... The only thing that interest me was the classics and that´s all... but not anymore since VH1 offers that... But then again... Men´s TV, Minor´s TV, please someone... anyone¿?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:43:27 AM

Diversity? Connect with today's millennial generation?

Is this a fancy way of saying "we will continuing pissing on good music and mindf*ck the brainless generation to be douchebags and whores"?
secondbest writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:03:22 PM

In other breaking news, Barack Obama has been elected president.
Krendel writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:08:18 PM

Mindless TV
Mocker TV

as i remember, there are more than one MTV channel, and some of them even have music (though, still sh*t most of the time) :/ or am i wrong somewhere?
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:14:05 PM

Mtv Jams still kicks ass although VH1 Soul is far better and plays better quality videos.
Funny how VH1 of all channels, can get a hip hop show (Hip Hop Honors) correct. When other spots like Mtv and more sadly BET fail miserably.
Never thought I'd say it but I go to VH1 for my hip hop fix!! Besides youtube that is.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:51:12 PM

Maybe TV

Mucky TV

Misery TV

MeSoHorny TV
Peter Parker writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:42:30 PM

Moron TV
Maleficence TV
MindMangling TV
MoronicRealityShows TV
MightAsWellChangeTheChannel TV
MayTurnPeopleIntoStupidHollowRetards TV
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:43:28 PM

I'm gonna say this since we're talking about music. I am so sick of music these days. Unless I have my iPod full of great 80's music, if I put on a station that plays top 40 music, my butt cheeks tighten up. Here's what's considered music: 3OH!3, Akon, Beyonce, the Black Eyed Peas, Britney Spears, Chris Brown, David Guetta, Daughtry, Drake, the Fray, Jay Sean, Jason Derulo, Jonas Brothers, Justin Bieber, Kelly Clarkson, Ke$ha, Kings of Leon, Lady Gaga, Miley Cyrus, One Republic, Owl City, Rihanna, Trey Songs, and Usher. So all we got are a bunch of Disney divas, homos, posers, nondescript acts that sound the same, and sell-outs (Beyonce, I'm looking at you, you had a wonderful voice at one time!). I'm surprised there wasn't a report a mass orgy of homosexuals like in that episode of "South Park".
Hobo Michael writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:07:08 PM

about fu*king time.

the only thing i like on MTV is that new show. My Life As Liz lol

hey what can i say i like it & she's hot
TomBaker writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:15:34 PM

Just shows how behind the times MTV has gotten that they only now 10 years later realize they are not a music channel. It really probably has to go back to when MTV sold out and became just another money making machine as opposed to a money making machine with a side purpose. I live in Portugal now and MTV Portugal is about 50/50 music/crap shows. So as long as you don't watch at prime viewing hours you actually do get to see videos. But then again it is the same videos all the time. VH1 though in Europe is awesome. Tons of videos (mostly older ones), but good music from all over. Sad to see MTV not have music but its not like this is news anyway.
rabid writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:24:52 PM

Music died a long time before musictv did.
Evil_Disco writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:31:44 PM

MTV sucks ass. A big, hairy, stinkin' ass!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:26:13 PM

thank God MTV admitted it's not a music channel, now i can sleep at night(if i did sleep and didn't go stalking Megan Fox.

also the M stands for Masturbation TV, obviously.
GIST writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:30:24 PM

Yes, finally they admit that they are not a music channel.
I shall collect my money from a 16 year-old bet I made with a friend who is now deceased.
CCBlev writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:45:35 PM

@roaddog,
im in the same boat, they said good music died out in 2004 and i agree it has, i cant help but listen to 80's 90's all the time. i've never really hated any artist until the terrible 3 showed up, and those are lady gaga, taylor swift and beyonce. put it this way i love lohan compared to them, and i hate that bitch. They voted the last decade of music from 00-09 as the worst in the last 50 years, 80's was #1. They voted it last bc o those 3 plus lil wayne and kelly clarkson, they said thats the future of music let it die, and with the dumb c*nt that cant sing kehsa it aint getting any better, ill pay someone to kill all them and im being serious on that one
GIST writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:56:50 PM

Mythbusters TV
Munsters TV
M*A*S*H TV
Mad TV
Murder She Wrote TV
Masters of the Universe TV
CCBlev writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:58:27 PM

i mean serioulsy all i hear all in that bad romance song of gaga's is blah, blah, blah, blah, i want your disease, WELL I HOPE SHES GETS EFRON'S SPECIAL AIDS AND DIES A HORRIBLE DEATH!!!!!!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:04:25 PM

"MayTurnPeopleIntoStupidHollowRetards TV"

Thats it!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:25:12 PM

Also, theres a very large divide between the quality of 'popular' music these days and the quality of indie music. I love metal and underground hip hop so I have absolutely no problem finding good music these days. But turn on f*cking 'top 40' corporate-owned radio and youre gonna be bathing your ears in lukewarm piss-music.
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:44:45 PM

Talk about music being dead, I am almost scared sh*tless that even a new album from Blink is going to end up Emo
pnkntndr writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:13:05 PM

I'm with you on that FBO. I saw them in August and they were amazing so lets hope they stay with it.

I've, like every last one of you, have been saying this for the last ten years. One thing I have always added is when with they change the M to an R. Nothing but sh*tzilla reality shows.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:31:00 PM

Manipilation TV: Turning Teenagers in to even bigger douchebags on a daily basis!
barley_cat writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 6:08:49 PM

Oh i love MTV, they show all those awesome programmes like The Hills, The Osbournes, OHH and My super Spoilt 16th, Yup, love it.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:38:39 PM

OMG really i never knew that
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:39:56 PM

MILFHUNTER TV
Goober3000 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 8:17:14 PM

More or less TV
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 6:41:19 PM

MTV is a decade late saying they are no longer a music channel...all they ever used to play was music videos back in the day when it was cooler than it could ever be...my interpretation of the 'M'?...Modern TV...that's what it should've been called a decade ago...MTV may be dead, but music videos will still be made, with or without them

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved