WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Terminator" Rights Sold for Only $29.5 Million

Posted: February 9th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Terminator" Rights Sold for Only $29.5 MillionSubmit Comment
The Halcyon company has been trying to sell the rights to the "Terminator" franchise in order to pay for some of the failing ventures that the company is involved with.

Halcyon let studios place bids, but nobody was interested. A bit later, Lionsgate was chosen as a stalking horse bidder, which means that Lionsgate would set the bar by making the first bid and would keep other bidders from low-balling the purchasing price.

That first bid was only $15 million, which is incredibly low, considering that Halcyon paid $30 million for the franchise in 2007. But on the last day of bidding Sony came in with a higher undisclosed offer.

While Halcyon was hoping to get at least $70 million for the "Terminator" right, in the end, Sony's bid was too low and the franchise was sold to a hedge fund called Pacificor for only $29.5 million.

Pacificor was the debt-holder that pushed Halcyon into bankruptcy and whom Halcyon accused in a lawsuit of extortion, bribery, and fraud, demanding $30 million in damages.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:30:52 AM

Terminator series is nothing without Christian Bale or Sam worington
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:30:52 AM

Smart!

Force a company into bankruptcy... then buy up their assets for cheap.

Pacificor would make Gordon Gekko proud with this kind of Corporate Raiding!

Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:43:35 AM

@telur - or Arnie apparently.
VDODSON writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:46:49 AM

Shut the hell up Telur, I hate your guts.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:50:12 AM

LOL!!!

telur writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:55:27 AM

LOL VDODSON 'the stupid man'

btw, $29.5 Million is very cheap for Terminator Right

@ ranger
Arnie won't do it again. It only Christian Bale or Sam Worington right now
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:03:24 AM

I know Telur... but the Terminator franchise has sucked since Arnie's departure.
Whitta writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:06:20 AM

hmm, it was a tough bid, i lost to Pacificor on $2.70 and a green highlighter :(
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:15:06 AM

Arnold was in T3, so the series started going down hill even w/ the governator
telur writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:16:01 AM

@ ranger
nope. Terminator 3 Rise of Machine is also suck, but Arnie got a lot money from that
AYT BALL writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:31:04 AM

Think we all know ranger means the arnie from the days he was still young enough to be intimidating, should have stopped after T2, T1 is still the best one though
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 6:06:24 AM

Now, now, we all know Ranger watched T3 with a bottle of baby oil and no tissues. He likes it messy when he watches Kristana Lokken.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 9:26:27 AM

Well at least they got close to their $30 million in damages.

Yeah I was going to click the "Buy Now" option for $50 million but my paycheck didn't direct deposit this week.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 9:37:02 AM

Yep still looks like I'm the only one that liked T3. Hope that's not an early sign of brain cancer or something horrible. People do tell me I need a CAT scan everytime I give that movie props.

Its still better than Salvation though.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 9:40:04 AM

Arnold should buy the rights from the hedge fund. That way he could put it in the hands of a real director like Jackson, Blomkamp, or Raimi and make a real movie.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 10:41:17 AM

f*ck you halcyon $4.50 and a gimp isn't good enough for you!
pomme writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 10:42:10 AM

they must find a real director with balls and not only movie stars!
WV-Films writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 10:51:20 AM

I woulda bought it for $29.6 million, and not a penny more.
bale01289 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:05:05 AM

@Telur - didn't you hear??? This movie is being rebooted at the beginning of next year. Heard Zac Effron is gonna be the new "Reese" and Vin Deisel is gonna be the new Terminator! You're gonna love it!
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:12:23 AM

I heard that Billy Crystal is going to pay John Conners and Jack Black was going to be the new Terminator
Kurskij writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:47:00 AM

Well, now this franchise is officially f*cked, raped, burned, raped again, buried, exhumated then raped again and... peed on I guess.

Don't get excited Dandy, if you're still around!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:53:44 AM

So...Halcyon were suing these guys but then sole them the rights anyway...no wonder these guys are going broke...This just in,Lohan will be the next terminator...and she is still a c*nt.
Johnnyb writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:02:09 PM

I really saw this one coming... Well, but what else can you expected from some crappy studio that destroysthe franchise since T3!!!!! Take that Halcyon for making a crappy plot in one of the greatest scifi films never seen before!!!!!

And once again, Cameron please come back!!!! Write or bring a really good screenwriter who can reboot the Terminator franchise, for god sake... So we can forget T3 and TS!!!!!
Derp88 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:16:01 PM

Carrot Top should be the next Terminator
Rodge88 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:57:34 PM

Oh, this is just great... you have a big name company in Sony that wants it, but instead you give the rights to some stupid douchebags who screwed you. What kind of world do we live in?!
VDODSON writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:04:38 PM

Get the hell outta here Derp!
LeeMaca writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:27:07 PM

@AYT BALL
what is major malfunction, did yo mama have any kids that lived how was t1 better than t2 ???
nope.com writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:30:34 PM

after the last piece of sh*t, it should be worth less than that
LeeMaca writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:31:13 PM

Chubbs from teenwolf is the T-500000000000000 and
corey haim will be john, I personally feel chubbs will bring us a more human terminator and T5 will be the first of Corey Haim's rise to top of the A list.......
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:53:52 PM

@VDOD - still... lol (you're killing me Bro)!

To others... I didn't mind T3 (and I'll tell you why).

It had the balls to still have 'Judgment Day!' Despite the knowledge from the future and all the efforts to stop it... it still happened. That was a ballsy thing to do. Despite ALL the efforts of the humans, they didn't 'win' at the end of the movie... SkyNet kicked their ass!

THAT is what made T3 great.

Mister Pickles writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:04:53 PM

@ telur...
This one time, I saw 2 guys kissing in a park, and that was the gayest thing I'd ever saw until I read your comment.

I'll be dreaming of you tonight...
...with a bullet in your head.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:34:09 PM

This one time, I saw 2 guys kissing in a park, and that was the gayest thing I'd ever saw until I read your comment. ----- Priceless!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:13:31 PM

eh ... i don't really care, if they can make a good film then great, f*cking fantastic. if they can't well ... that sucks Lohan vag.

@Mister pickles-lol
encoreyourface writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:13:57 PM

that is if they make a 5th film.
ajsteele30 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:18:29 PM

It's sad the franchise has took a dump after the second one. With the right studio, director, and half the budget of the 4th, they could actually produce a pretty good Terminator film. It's to bad we'll probably never find out.
GIST writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:44:08 PM

I haven't seen T3 or Salvation. I don't plan to because Arnie used T3 as his marketing ploy before he ran for governor. Making that one of his last contribution to action-jackson films. (Although he is making an appearance in The Expendables)
And as for Salvation, once I knew Mc*sshole was attached to direct. I lost all interest in the project. Not a fan of his work, and never will be.
First & second, is...
"The best there is, the best there was & the best there ever will be."

-BRET 'THE HITMAN' HART
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:20:10 PM

@Mister pickles - That was pretty f*cking funny!
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:20:29 PM

@GIST - was in one of my fav. coffee shops once (a friend of mine from school was Bret's trainer), and Bret was in line in front of me... we chatted. Nice guy.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:21:30 PM

Yep... Mister Pickles wins this one with:

I'll be dreaming of you tonight...
...with a bullet in your head.


f*cking still laughing over that one!
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:22:37 PM

@GIST - You're not really from JC's hometown... R U?
pnkntndr writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:58:19 PM

Pickles comes outta left field with one of the best comments I've read here... Made my day
GIST writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:43:12 PM

@Ranger

I'm glad you picked up on The Hitman's famous line. It's, 'The best...' I'm not going to recite it again.

Fortunately, I'm not from Kapussucking. I'd kill myself if I lived there. I live in on the outskirts of Toronto. Although I've been to his hometown before on a class field trip (which is an 8-hour motherf*cking drive). My elementary teacher's hometown is Kapuskasing, and one of her siblings or relatives went to school with JC...VD. (I just had to put that). Come to think of it, my class actually funded our teacher's trip back to her hometown, to "visit" this so-called landmark town because James Cameron Van Damme lived there. Bullsh*t, we actually visited her haggard family, and saw the boring country side of NOTHING. That lying old dyke.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 5:49:43 PM

Well... hopefully the class ended the trip with a sweet gang-rape of that dried-up, self-absorbed, deceiving bitch by all her students!
GIST writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 6:00:13 PM

@Ranger

Not only has she been gangbanged in the ears by all my classmates. She also poses as my 'Welcome Home' mat outside my front door.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:30:28 PM

If she's as old as you say... her meat curtains alone could be your welc*m mat.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:37:55 PM

Bale was a cool Conner thats all i got to say for now.
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 11:47:25 AM

what a waste of money to spend on a depleted franchise.
Wallace writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 2:00:20 PM

70 Mio - 29.5 Mio = McG
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 1:01:18 PM

i'm suprised cameron didnt buy the rights back after the millions he's made on avatar
Sean writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 7:02:57 PM

Hopfully the Terminator rights being sold for $29.5 million will do some good for that movie franchise!, because the last terminator movie (terminator:salvation) left a bitter taste in my mouth "mediforically speaking!"...
Ranger writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 7:41:30 PM

Sure it wasn't your Dad dumping a load in there while your Mom was out playing Trailer Park Bingo with all the other welfare recipients using their d*cks inside of her as their bingo dabbers?

U f*cking goof!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved