WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Jay Leno and David Letterman Came Together for Super Bowl Ad

Posted: February 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Jay Leno and David Letterman Came Together for Super Bowl AdSubmit Comment
Most of us were very surprised to see Jay Leno join Oprah Winfrey and David Letterman in a Super Bowl ad for Letterman's "Late Show." To find out how everything came together, Entertainment Weekly caught up with the show's producer Rob Burnett.

"The 10 seconds we did with Dave and Oprah for the Super Bowl in 2007 went pretty well and CBS came back and said we got 10 seconds again for this one," Burnett said. "We were banging heads together. How do we come close to topping the last one? Then Dave got this idea. My first call was to Oprah she got it right away and then I called [CBS Corp. Chairman] Les Moonves to make sure he was OK with Jay being on CBS. And then I called [Leno's executive producer] Debbie Vickers, who said: 'Dave and Jay, in the same room?' She laughed for a good minute and said Jay would want to call. I hung up, and two minutes later it was Jay. He said 'This is the way show business should be.' Debbie then cleared it with NBC Entertainment Chairman Jeff Gaspin and NBC-Universal CEO Jeff Zucker."

He added that the goal was for the ad to be a surprise. "We began having logistical meetings that would make the CIA proud. NBC arranged to have Jay fly on the NBC jet at 7:30 in morning on February 2nd and he was at the Teterboro Airport [in New Jersey] at 3:30pm. We snuck him through the front door on Broadway. Jay wore a disguise, a hooded sweatshirt, dark sunglasses and a mustache. Fifteen minutes later, Oprah arrived, but not in a disguise. We shot it in the balcony of the Ed Sullivan Theater."

Regarding the behavior of the stars, Burnett said that everything was professional and cordial. "We shot it in 25 minutes, and it went really, really well. It felt like one of those things where you wake up and say, 'I had the strangest dream.'"

"Late Show" Ad:


Source: Entertainment Weekly


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thedotsays writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:20:28 PM

Then later it was one in the pink, one in the stink.
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:22:34 PM

Pretty kewl of Jay to do an ad for David's Show (yeah, yeah, I know... he IBangBatman-f*cked Conan!).
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:41:34 PM

that commercial was certainly nothing special,however like Ranger said it was cool of Leno to do it.

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:20:51 PM

Wow, I give a sh*t, where's conan?
CCBlev writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:46:00 PM

shot it in 25mins and the other 5 min was spooning in the back making an opra sandwhich, helluva way to end the day
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:52:31 PM

Yeah... a reverse OREO!
CCBlev writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:58:40 PM

@ranger
reverse oreos can be good especially with a lil chocloate sauce on it
Lloyd Christmas writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 10:56:26 PM

@ thedotsays: don't you mean, "one in the PURPLE, one in the stink" ?
FBO writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:07:28 PM

Ewwwie, Now I have thoughts of Opera naked in my head, Thanks *ssholes.
FBO writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:08:38 PM

Besides you all know that Jay's c*ck was in Oprah's mouth and Oprah's c*ck was in Letterman's mouth
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:42:00 PM

and Letterman couldnt help but put it in Leno's butt?
Lordchristo writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:31:23 AM

Or, and help me if I'm wrong about this, they could all be people paid to make a commercial? Is that possible? Not here, I'd guess. . .
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:40:13 AM

@Money - with Letterman yelling:

'This is from Conan you *sshole!!!'
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:08:14 AM

Who cares, Leno and Letterman can kiss my black ass. Oprah....okay I'll kiss her black ass for the right $$$ :-) I'M RICH BITCH!!!!!
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:17:06 PM

Oprah "Fingercuffs" Winfrey.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:33:30 PM

@Bunny - good reference. I saw that movie with my best friend and his wife only this past month.
whoever writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 10:25:49 PM

'This is the way show business should be.'

I'd like to see Conan punch Jay in the face for each letter in that sentence!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved