WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Super Bowl Becomes Most Watched TV Program Ever

Posted: February 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Super Bowl Becomes Most Watched TV Program EverSubmit Comment
Sunday's showing of "Super Bowl XLIV" became the most-watched TV program in US history. The game drew 106.5 million viewers, destroying all previous Super Bowl records and overthrowing the 27-year-old record held by the final episode of "M*A*S*H," which garnered 105.97 million viewers.

"Super Bowl XLIV" is the first sports program to ever domestically crack 100 million viewers. Granted, the population has grown from when the "M*A*S*H" finale aired, with the TV audience having climbed from 218 million viewers to 292 million. Yet that audience is also much more specialized and segmented in terms of viewing habits. Most broadcast shows struggle to pull ratings that were commonplace just a few years ago.

"It is not surprising that the Super Bowl broke viewing records," said Bill Carroll, vp director of programming at Katz TV Group. "When you have a once-a-year event, particularly suited to HD, with little to no competition on broadcast or cable, while in this economy it's mostly watched from home, with a blizzard on the East Coast, it would be more surprising if the game did not set a record."

The big game was followed by CBS' latest reality show "Undercover Boss," which also scored for the network. "Boss" drew 38.6 million viewers, the biggest post-Bowl numbers since CBS aired the second-season premiere of "Survivor" after the Super Bowl in 2001.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:46:20 PM

106.5 million viewers watched Manning walk off the field w/o a handshake

class act huh
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:38:37 PM

this is no surprise, and frankly i don't give a sh*t.
chrisc20002003 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:54:29 PM

I had two TV's on, so subtract that and get back to me later.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:21:17 PM

rugby league is better
SaulSilver writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:52:59 PM

Uggghhhh....So you're telling me 106 million people witnessed me lose 500 bucks?
Great!
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:24:46 AM

I want my Rams back in Los Angeles!
Iam_Jack_smirking_revenge writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:05:02 AM

RUGBY sucks! Football rocks!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:14:33 AM

Even curling is more exciting than american football, and I'm not even being sarcastic.
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:19:39 AM

Nightmare are you Canadian?
matternm58 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:45:49 AM

THIS YEARS WAS THE MOST BORING HALF TIME SHOW I'VE EVER SEEN.
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:44:46 AM

I know right, I am upset that the Who didn't play a whole set! To get their talent and waste it like that.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 7:38:38 AM

I have to admit, those old guys still had a lot of energy. The lead singer has lost a few steps and his vocals, but Pete Townsend can still play the sh*t out of that guitar. I did think they missed a good advertising opportunity by not having Caruso onstage to give the famous Horatio walk-off at the end of the set.

Queen Latifah was terrible. Bring back Janet's titty dammit!!!
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:22:32 AM

I hope next year they use the German band Oomph! That would kick ass
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 11:22:38 AM

I hope next year they use the German band Oomph! That would kick ass
rabid writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:31:01 PM

Most watched show ever? really?
because I only know 2 people who watched it. Seems to me this was the first year in a long time where noone really seemed to care about it.
Iam_Jack_smirking_revenge writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:35:37 PM

Could it be Ribid that you only know 2 people? jk everyone i no had a superbowl party..
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:26:10 PM

I watched it, so there you go rabid now you know three people. And the only person I know that didn't care was a friend from pittsburgh who was butt hurt that her team sucked it up this year
FBO writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:26:31 PM

Freakin' lost to the Browns
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 5:26:32 AM

we all just watch for the commercials
rabid writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 11:51:53 AM

I don't even get the point of people watching a game they have no interest in playing. Or of people rooting for teams from cities they've never set foot in. These are people who need real hobbies.
whoever writes:
on February 11th, 2010 at 10:54:59 PM

Get a life Rabid, I even held a Superbowl party here in Australia. It started here at 9am (still a good time to crack a beer) on Monday morning but it was still a hell of a game!
MadHatter writes:
on February 18th, 2010 at 7:00:48 PM

@jigsaw23
I agree. The superbowl commercials are always something interesting to see.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved