WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Confirms The Invaders in "Captain America"

Posted: February 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Confirms The Invaders in "Captain America"Submit Comment
Director Joe Johnston has been answering questions about the upcoming "Captain America" movie during "The Wolfman" press junkets. We already know that Red Skull will be the villain, and Johnston has now revealed that The Invaders will make an appearance as well.

"They'll be in the entire second half," he said about the WWII superteam that includes such characters as the Human Torch, Toro, Namor the Sub-Mariner, and the Silver Scorpion, in addition to Captain America and Bucky.

Johnston didn't confirm which characters will make it into The Invaders, but he did say that there will be six members. And according to Kevin Feige, this is "an opportunity for much more international casting."

It sounds like "Captain America" will do what "GI Joe" did, which is to make the movie more international. So expect lots of European actors playing European characters.

And regarding Captain America... Johnston said that an unknown will be cast, but he will be surrounded by more well-known actors.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: Chud


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:11:45 AM

So is the whole movie set in wwII now then gets frozen at the end
nope.com writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:30:55 AM

best case scenario from a Joe Johnston picture that this film can be: October Sky or Rocketeer

worst case scenario... Jurassic Park
nope.com writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:31:01 AM

3
LastActionHero writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:42:23 AM

"And regarding Captain America... Johnston said that an unknown will be cast"

Good, that means no McCanaugay like some of the fags on here actually wanted.
eddie499 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:47:37 AM

Casting an unknown is almost always a good step when dealing with significant characters. Hopefully they make a good decision.

@ nope

I think I could handle a Rocketeer-esque Captain America film. It would definitely capture the spirit of the original comics.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:30:09 AM

"an opportunity for much more international casting."

...are any of 'The Invaders' outside of America and England?

Apart from Namor of course but then he lives under the sea :)
Matiax writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:22:04 AM

Awesome!

@nope.com "worst case scenario... Jurassic Park"

Nazis riding dinosaurs! LOL
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:29:28 AM

"And regarding Captain America... Johnston said that an unknown will be cast, but he will be surrounded by more well-known actors."

Didn't work for Superman Returns or Watchmen, won't work for Cap America. What a huge risk to take with the upcoming Avenger franchise!

@actionhero: At least you have a chance for success with McConaughey. Superhero films with little known stars always struggle to make their money back. Find a younger actor who would fit the role better than MM and guarantee $$$ at the box office and I'll start listening. But it already sounds like this director, who admittingly doesn't know the character, is determined to roll the dice on some no-name and gamble with Marvel's furture.



lost_addict writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:42:56 AM

gary coleman confirmed as captain america
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 10:01:39 AM

Matthew Mcconaughey is far too old for CA and he lost all respect once he finished his 47th RomCom.

His films even struggle to make over $90 million in most cases. I know they are RomComs but you can point at 'The Proposal' to see that even Ryan Ryanolds is more bankable.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 10:09:01 AM

The first X-Men film is a good example of success with alot of unknown actors supported by a few well-known. I think this is a good decision on Johnston's part but his lack of understanding of CA prior to taking this project on worries me.

Peter Parker writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 10:12:03 AM

... also, Matthew McConaughey couldn't be Cap., since Cap will have to WEAR the suit!

He could play Namor, though, since both of them walk around in speedos all the time.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 10:19:09 AM

Drew Brees for Captain America. Payton Manning for Red Skull.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:46:28 AM

Casting a virtually unknown actor for CA would be a mistake, in a long term. Cause there's no secret that Marvel is working to get a The Avengers-movie, and if I understand correctly CA will be the leader of the Avengers. If they cast an unknown actor, he will be forced to play second fiddle to Downey Jr, which would undermine CA as a character. They must have a guy who can share top billing with RDJ, otherwise it will not be an Avengers-movie, but a new Iron Man-movie
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:47:58 AM

I'll agree that MM's star isn't exactly shining as much these days, but the ladies still love him which translates into $$$. Of late MM's big problem has been getting guys to the theaters. His serious dramatic career has turned into "Fool's Gold" and is starting to look like one big lame romantic comedy. Recently becoming a father has slowed him down more than age and might be taking away some of his edge too. But this is the age for one of those infamous Hollywood midlife crisis to kick in a get MM back to doing some serious work. If he gets back into Reign of Fire mode (a film where he made Christian Bale and Gerard Butler look like a couple of Limey puffs), he may be able to get the guys back in the theaters for CA.

Its the whole cowboy Cap America thing that's got me interested really. MM doesn't have to be some hick, but, like I said before, there's no easier way to make the character truly American than giving him a slightly country accent. Forgive my patriotism non-American WPers, but I have to insist that CAPTAIN AMERICA be disgustingly American. For far too long we've given up our best superhero roles to British and Aussie actors. "The line must be drawn here!!!"
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:53:52 AM

@Ricky: Jackman was definitely a great find by Singer, but when he tried to duplicate that feat with Brandon Routh in SR he failed miserably. Finding Jackman could have been pure luck.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:54:17 AM

I hear you SACdaddy. They gave Thor, the NORSE GOD of thunder, to Kirk's aussie dad. That's almost like giving a japanese dude the job to play John Holmes.
HankTheTurtle writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:02:52 PM

I wonder if Kevin Smith still owns the rights to Sub-Mariner.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:29:27 PM

@FN: Didn't know Hemsworth was an Aussie. sh*t, do they grow action stars in labs in that country? That place is an actor factory!
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:33:55 PM

@Ricky - I don't know how much age will play into this (make-up?), or if they're just looking for the 'right guy.' And MM is absolutely my last choice to play CA.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0270559/board/nest/156652301

Skywalker121289 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:34:45 PM

Alright, first of all- the human torch would be crossing barriers. No Torch in the film.

However, I think that this will be a great platform to build the Avengers off of. ... The whole "He was good in the 40s, he'll be good now" mentality. However that means that they're going to have to really develope this guy as a leader- and very few unknowns can establish themselves as a leader with a single movie, much less with RDJ and CH in the new movie.
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:31:32 PM

@LastActionHero

what the f*ck are you talking about? McCanaugay of old prior to his current chick flick run would be great for the role. He's blonde, fit and country enough for Captain America... Or maybe Jon Hamm could pimp it.

Anyhow I dare to ask you, who would you propose anyhow Mr.Unoriginal, Dandy?
rabid writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:39:03 PM

Those guys are way too old to be playing Cap. Glad to see he's going with a fresh face.

I wish Johnston wold stop opening his big mouth. Everything he says is pretty spoilerish. Let's leave it alone and just make the movie Joe. Invaders is awesome, but I'd have been alot more excited if I didn't know it was coming.
rabid writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:39:08 PM

Those guys are way too old to be playing Cap. Glad to see he's going with a fresh face.

I wish Johnston wold stop opening his big mouth. Everything he says is pretty spoilerish. Let's leave it alone and just make the movie Joe. Invaders is awesome, but I'd have been alot more excited if I didn't know it was coming.
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:44:03 PM

@rabid - I hear ya. This 'Secret, secret... I got a secret' crap they play with spoilers all the time doesn't do it for me either. I guess they think they're keeping interest up in the project. But even if we never heard another thing about CA until it comes out... none of us would have forgotten who he is.

I'm not a spoiler fan.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:55:39 PM

@skywalker
The umantorch there talking about isn't Johnny Storm. He was an android(if I remember correctly) and he served in WW2

Anyways I think casting a relativly unknown actor and sarounding hin with well known actors is the best way to go. Its the same formula there using for Thor, witch is shaping up to be really good. So I'm gonna give this director the benifit of a doubt (until I see something)
Skywalker121289 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 2:04:16 PM

skatemaster62@

You serious? A crappy android?? ... That just- reaks of suckage. Namor I can see, but I can't say I've ever heard of any of the other members before.

But I agree with you on the fact that CA needs to be an unknown. Do something like Bill Cambell in the Rocketeer- that movie had the shizzle down straight. One of Johnston's nicer moments...
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:03:07 PM

@Rabid- i agree. this is guy is giving us everything but the names of the actors. it's getting kinda annoying. but on a side-note the Invaders rock and this'll kick ass.

@Skatemaster- don't think Data from Star-Trek android. this one is pretty much a human, but made with synthetic parts.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:27:43 PM

@Ranger - I understand what your saying about the age and I think CA is about 23 when he gets frozen. I presume they will try for someone young otherwise he will need more slap with each sequel :)

@Rabid - Good call. This dude is talking far too much about it at the moment.

@SACdaddy - I thought Routh was not too bad as Superman. He had to play to the sh*tty script as well. I would hate to be in a position of casting for these parts though, must be tough to find the right person.
rabid writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:28:47 PM

The weird part is that Human Torch and Toro look exactly alike... excep one is a robot and one is a mutant.
Namor wold be great to see. They don't really have to explain that he's Atlantean right away... they can save it for after the credits, when Namor finds his frozen corpse!

I wonder how they're going to tie in ick Fury. It wouldn't be that realistic casting Samuel Jackson as a commando sergeant during WW2. Maybe they'll go withthe Ultimate version, where he's the first test subject for the super soldier serum.
rabid writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:29:47 PM

In the comics, I think Rogers was 23 when he became Cap, and 26 when he was frozen.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:31:11 PM

@skywalker: The Rocketeer is just another example of how a no-name can tank a hero film. I actually liked that one too but it just couldn't make money to save its life.

Try to look at it this way, like I said, those films I mentioned before are all decent movies but lack a leading man with the acting chops and the star power to carry them let alone justify sequels. On the other hand, you've got other comic films like Ghostrider, Constantine, and Wanted (Jolie was who everyone came to see) that sucked balls but had big enough star power to garner sequels.

Ranger and others have brought up another great point in considering CA will eventually have to hold his own on camera with RDJ, Don Cheadle, and possibly Ed Norton. What no-name jabroni won't be overshadowed by any one of these established actors? This still seems like a huge risk if you ask me and this director sure as hell doesn't act like he cares much.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:38:02 PM

Who would want to act when going up against the power of Ed Norton and the charisma of RDJ.
rabid writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:42:21 PM

Rocketeer's failure had alot more to do with a) the film being a bit boring, and b) most people having never heard of the character.

Sometimes, casting an unkown is a great choice: Hamill as Skywalker, Arnold as Conan, Jackman as Wolverine.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:44:28 PM

@Rabid and others: Some small details can be changed for the benefit of a film. A 26 yo is gonna look pretty silly leading a 40 yo RDJ in the Avegers film. Remember nobody complained about Jackman's height after Xmen came out. He was the tallest guy in the film next to Sabretooth, but his character is one of the shortest heroes of the comic world. Singer didn't let this get in the way of getting the right guy for the role.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:44:35 PM

Like Lindsay Lohan in Parent Trap?
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:54:02 PM

@Rabid: Arnold wasn't exactly a no-name when before Conan. The guy won 5 Mr. Universe and 7 Mr. Olympia titles and was known worldwide. Arnold's famed physique got him the part in Conan.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:16:38 PM

I know this is off topic, but today is Gary Coleman's birthday
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:41:16 PM

f*ck him. I hope he dies!

On with CA news... (lol)...

I think age has less to do with this than them finding 'the right guy.' Make-up, stature, leadership (for the eventual Avengers)... plus the SSS makes a 'man' out of Rogers. So that boyish thing only works for Slusho's dad.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:41:47 PM

that's kinda funny because i was looking at one of of those Inquire magazines (the ones that talk about hell coming to Earth every other issue) says Gary Coleman has only months to live. Ranger should be happy.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:42:29 PM

@Rnger- that's funny, i just said he's about to die in a couple of months!
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:46:04 PM

Thx. Encore...

With that news... my birthday comes early this year!

Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:47:52 PM

Coleman was arrested Jan. 24 at home on a warrant for failing to appear in court. He spent a night in jail before a fan paid his $1,725 bail.

A 'FAN' paid his bail? He has... A FAN?!?!?!?!?!

2012 can't come fast enough!!!!!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:56:26 PM

the end of the world is 2013. Avatar 2 proves this fact.
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 5:35:35 PM

I hope with all these other superheros, Invaders, origin story, Red Skull battling, WWII battle, Bucky (ugh!), etc... this movie doesn't become a cluster-busy, epic, whereby Capt. America is lost in the mix (see: Spidey III, X-Men III, The 3rd. Matrix, etc.).
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 6:58:05 PM

@Ranger-

i think they can fit it all in if they make it longer then the normal super-hero movie, or release a directors cut. either one is good with me. even though Johnson isn't a comic book fan, from what he's been saying it seems like it's gonna be pretty good.

also if he leaves for London on March 1st, then with the spoilers he's been dropping by then there is a high chance we'll hear who's gonna be Cap and Red Skull,etc.
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:11:23 PM

They're sure keeping this casting a secret... aside from those that have tried out... by their own words, it doesn't seem like they are settling on any of the guys mentioned.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:17:44 PM

yeah but like i said they need to decide quickly, so at least we won't be waiting for more then a month (probably)
TheHundreds writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:24:02 PM

had no idea they were even thinking about this...not sure how I feel about it would be cool to see Namor in a movie but i feel like its too much and should just focus more on CA....may not like where this is going
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:25:15 PM

It does seem like a REALLY BUSY movie. CA's battle with the Red Skull, freezing, thawing to present day is a FULL movie right there.

If they jam it up like like Transformers 2... ugh!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:46:23 PM

did you just say jam it up Megan Fox? I'll bring the lube!!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:58:32 PM

I personally like Namor a lot. In contact with water, his strength can go up to 100 tons, he's super fast, he's capable of communicating via telepathy, he can generate electricity and he can fly.
Should they decide to use his full potential in the movie, he'll be one bad-ass superhero, capable of spectacular things.

There are numerous possibilities for his participation in the movie.
He's an Atlantean with a big chip on his shoulder against humans, he has had ties to the Illuminati, the X-Men, the Avengers and, especially, to the Fantastic 4.

I'm happy to see the path they're taking with this Captain America movie.
If done properly, it can lay down a solid foundation for the following movies, linking all the character's stories together, as they're meant to be.

Of course, there's also the possibility they can be including all the heroes in one movie as treats for the fans, trying to have a little something that can appeal to everybody at the same time, with little concern for developing the character's stories and importance in the Marvel universe.

The casting choices should be very, very interesting...
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:14:40 PM

@PP - agree 100%. I'm a Namor fan as well. If done right... this will be the greatest Super Hero movie ever... I just hope CA's story doesn't get lost in the mix.

felix559 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 12:17:06 AM

please dear sweet baby jesus, don't let them ruin Marvels...
Skywalker121289 writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 1:06:57 PM

Actually, this is sounding a lot like Wolverine instead of Transformers. They're trying to fill every last inch of this movie with characters and comic cameos that they're going to forget to actually develope a good story. Wolverine was the crappiest movie I've seen in a long time- however, the box office figures aren't bad. ... ... This makes me ticked enough to crap Lohan's pants.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved