WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mary Elizabeth Winstead to Star in "The Thing" Prequel

Posted: February 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mary Elizabeth Winstead to Star in "The Thing" PrequelSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures is moving forward with "The Thing" prequel by hiring actors Joel Edgerton (Kinky Boots) and Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Grindhouse) to star. Matthijs Van Heijningen is directing the new film, which goes in front of the cameras on March 15th in Toronto.

The film revolves around Kate Lloyd (Winstead), a graduate of Columbia and a Ph.D. candidate in paleontology (the study of prehistoric life). On the recommendation of her friend Adam Goodman, Kate is tapped for a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity by Dr. Sander Halvorson to join his research team in Antarctica, where an extraordinary discovery has been made. Upon arrival, Kate soon finds herself at odds with Halvorson about how best to proceed with the discovery -- an alien spaceship with a mysterious and sinister frozen THING found nearby -- specifically whether to transfer the specimen undisturbed to a more appropriate facility for analysis, or, per Halvorson's wishes, to drill into the specimen's ice encasement for a definitive tissue sample.

Kate's misgivings about her involvement grow when Halvorson ignores her advice and collects his tissue sample -- a critical error in judgment that ultimately frees the trapped organism and triggers a series of horrific incidents and attacks. Furthering her sense of isolation, most of the scientists at the site speak Norwegian, a language she doesn't understand. Kate looks to her friend, Adam, for help stopping Sander's obsession from getting them all killed, but eventually must take matters of life and death into her own hands. In the end, her only hope of survival is to join forces with Sam Carter (Edgerton), the chopper pilot who flew her team to the remote Norwegian base.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:11:20 AM

loved the original. lets see how this will look like when it comes out...
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:20:39 AM

oh and i like mary. prequel sounds good but there were somethings that i think should be set really good with carpenters like story recreating somethings and same, forgot the word i was going to use. and it better be a hard R with loads of gore.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:37:46 AM

Since this means that the norwegians will be the stupid ones (for once Hollywood makes something right) and that they will be massacred by an extra-terrestial being, I'm psyched for this.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:00:15 AM

@FN: Knew that would make you happy. I bet you smile evey time you see that chopper pilot get one right between the eyes at the beginning of the original :-)

I'm so glad they didn't decide to remake The Thing (again) and went with a prequel instead. At least someone knows that they would never be able to top Carpenter's classic. I am a little worried about the language barrier they seem to be going for but if it adds to the sense of isolation and confusion, I'm all for it. That isolation and paranoia is what made the original so great in the first place. A lot of the film's success will lie in the creature effects too, so I hope they dont cheese it up with a heavy dose of CGI. Stan Winston's creature looks amazing even by today's standards and should serve as proof that completely digitalized characters (thx Avatar) aren't always the answer.
bale01289 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:27:33 AM

I'm stoked they aren't doing the remake too! If it has to be done, at least it sounds like they are going about it the right way (prequel)! Love the original (one of Kurt Russells finer films) and SAC, you have, once again, nailed it on the head when you say CGI can't always make a movie better! I'm kinda old school, and I think its just lazy sometimes that they don't make more phisical costumes/puppetts to make monsters these days. I'm actually really looking forward to hearing more about this one!
Coasterkid345 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:43:40 AM

Nice! She's a great horror actress. Have you seen her in Final Destination 3? Priceless!
coldplayesence writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:46:36 AM

And lets not forget that, well, she is so damn hot!!! I love to see ir in that cheerleader uniform.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:47:24 AM

"The Thing", a true story about vindy's life.
Goober3000 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:54:48 AM

the Thing prequel??? holy sh*t awsome......cmon dead space movie
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:57:36 AM

@bale: I don't know if you've seen it, but I consider The Relic to be a near perfect merger of old school creature FX and new school CGI. Jurassic Park would be a good example too. These films always gave you the feeling that you could reach out and touch these monsters, not like now where you've got people basically interacting with cartoons.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:59:20 AM

@Goober: I thought I heard a Dead Space live action movie was already in the works. If not, it needs to be.
bale01289 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 10:16:33 AM

@SAC - The Relic is the sh*t! Saw it in the theatre and almost sh*t myself, I was so happy with it! *SPOILER* Loved when she hopped into that nasty speciman tank at the end. Having a monster eating people in a mueseum is always cool...think they expired a couple of kids in that one too! Always makes it a "must-see" when they push buttons, like killing off children. I'm actually snowed in today and can't get to work. Looks like I know what movie I'm watching this afternoon! Thanks SAC!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:10:09 AM

No problem my friend. I called in today after a long Super Bowl Sunday, so I might check out some old favs too. If you like kid killin, you might want to try Mimic too. I cant get enough of Roc in that one.
lost_addict writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:26:21 AM

I hope we get to see her sexy feet :-)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 11:35:01 AM

@Sac: Yeah, each day I can see a norwegian bite the dust it's a day well spent.

It was a long time since I saw The Relic, so I really can't remember how the creature looked. But I do recall it was some B-grade horror fun. With Tom Sizemore. Where's that wifebeater these days?

So far DJ Caruso is set to direct a Dead Space-movie, but nothing is written in stone yet. However, it's a nice step towards ending the days of "every movie based on a videogame is crap"-bullsh*t.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:34:12 PM

@FN: Sizemore is in Dr. Drew's Celebrity Rehab for cocaine and heroin addiction. He apparently likes to make sex tapes now too.
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:35:25 PM

Who doesn't?!
Goober3000 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:00:52 PM

@SAC No sh*t huh how cool would that be
Goober3000 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:04:28 PM

OH and RANGER on a previous note "@Goober - you're a valued poster here on WP" dude...*sniff* thanx man :)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:12:04 PM

Glad to see he didn't put his career on hold
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:38:48 PM

Didn't the original see two Norwegian speaking males or could one have been a women? I don;t remember that being the case or possible.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:40:34 PM

She has a Sex Tape..

Whoops sorry I saw her then the sex tape comment and got a little excited.
rabid writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:53:15 PM

The one with Kurt Russell is pretty good, but the original version of The Thing from the 1950s is even better. If they're going to freshen it up with a prequel then I wouldn't mind seeing another remake.
jdl107 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 2:16:15 PM

Holy sh*t, I've been somewhat following this movie ever since I heard about back in '06, and it's finally getting somewhere. Haha I remember when this was supposed to be mini-series.

MAYBE this can work..... I hope to god she has the skill enough to portray fear, paranoia, and isolation. She definately hasn't made me think she's a bad actress, maybe except for Final Destination 3, she just needs a breakout role one where she can give it her all.
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:09:38 PM

'I hope to god she has the skill enough to portray fear, paranoia, and isolation.'


---- She's female isn't she?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:11:50 PM

@johnnyneat: It's very likely one were female. All norwegians look the same, female or male. So whatever you do, don't go to a norwegian bar. You could wake up next to a sealclubbing dude named Trond.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:14:08 PM

"She's female isn't she?"


Ah! Almost like Anthony Hopkins, in "Mission: Impossible II":

"She's a woman. What training does she need?"
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:17:47 PM

tghe original was great, this one as well looks okay.

@Ranger- we could just show her pictures of Dandy, that would definitly inspire fear, paranoia, and isolation!

also was i the only one who thought almost the entire plot was told to us right there?
rabid writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:37:54 PM

I just found the 1951 version online. Since I'm currently snowed in, it seems like the perfect Thing to watch!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:52:20 PM

Prequels are so 5 years ago, remakes are all the rage now
Snarebeast writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:00:58 PM

I'm so excited they're making a prequel. I love it when Hollywood decides that everything has to be revealed and leaves nothing to imagination. The masses demand all details! Screw the idea of showing them the aftermath and letting them figure out for themselves what happened!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:02:11 PM

@rabid: I got to tell you, you're f*cking crazy if you think that version is better than Carpenter's film. I'm all for film nostalgia but thats just f*cking ridiculous.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 4:45:08 PM

Spooky-lol
Salvador writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:13:53 PM


I'm in Love with this beauty...
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 8:38:52 PM

And she does anal!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:02:02 PM

... now I AM in love with this beauty!
jdl107 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 9:04:38 PM

@Ranger;

Lol, good point sir.
Flav writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 3:16:59 AM

MW is Beautiful.... just wish she take her clothes off.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved