WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Captain America" Villain Revealed!

Posted: February 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Captain America" Villain Revealed!Submit Comment
During the press junket for "The Wolfman," director Joe Johnston revealed lots of information about the "Captain America" movie, including casting, story, and villain.

Johnston confirmed that the film will be an origin story and will feature Red Skull as the villain. Regarding casting, he said: "We're testing five or six guys. The youngest is 23 the oldest is 32. Most of the guys in the war just kids, 18 or 19, but we want to go a little bit older. We have to have somebody locked in before I leave March 1st for London."

The only two actors seriously rumored for the role are Chad Michael Murray (House of Wax, "One Tree Hill") and Ryan McPartlin ("Chuck"). But McParlin is 34 years old. So he's likely out, even though he recently confirmed that he just auditioned.

Finally, Johnston talked about Captain America's costume. He explained: "The costume is a flag but the way we're getting around that is we have Steve Rogers forced into the USO circuit. After he's made into this super-soldier, they decide they can't send him into combat and risk him getting killed. He's the only one and they can't make more. So they say, 'You're going to be in this USO show' and they give him a flag suit. He can't wait to get out of it. It was never in the comics because they didn't really need it. In comics, he puts on the costume and the reader just justifies because of the nature of the medium."

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: ComingSoon, BigShinyRobot, LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:20:54 PM

that f*cking plot was in the worstpreviews description of thie movie
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:27:27 PM

i figured it would be Red Skull, awesome. they better have him with a really wicked and evil look, unlike that sh*t Captain America from those old movies.

and i also like the idea about the costume because it would be ridiculous for i guy to into combat dressed as the f*cking flag of USA for no reason.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:52:51 PM

hey! i just noticed something. the comic picture it shows in the article is a comic i have in my room. it's the one when Cap and Skull age rapidly but Skull dies (i think for the first time) and Captain America lives (forgot how though, will have to read it again)
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 12:35:58 AM

Red Skull rules; I hope they keep him around for The Avengers or a Captain America sequel. He's too good of a villain to be wasted in just one film.
wonderBOY writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 12:46:31 AM

its not gonna be another captain america crappy tv movie again
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:36:43 AM

"Most of the guys in the war just kids, 18 or 19, but we want to go a little bit older."

duh!
BitterPeace910 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 2:04:52 AM

God no not Chad Michael Murray
pomme writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 2:15:52 AM

it's not very exciting!i'm even afraid for the movie quality!
aioros writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 3:53:38 AM

At least chad michael murray looks the part, i saw the first season of one tree hill when it came out and he was ok on the acting department. But that story about the uniform?? why they just dont say is to give inspiration to the us soldiers and fear to the enemy, like the rumors about the inglorious basterds.
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 4:25:07 AM

Of the two... Ryan McPartlin gets my vote. He has more of the chiseled features. Chad looks like a girl (looked them both up on IMDB). BUT... Ryan is f*cking 6' 3".... he'll be giving Thor a run for the money in the height dept. (I know there are 'filming tricks' around stuff like that... but still). So between girly-man and NBA Player... still not two great choices in my book.

So much is riding on this movie, it isn't even funny. And American icon... smooth story telling to lead seamlessly into The Avengers, an actor carrying the weight of this character on his shoulders (and not sucking at it)... ugh! I wouldn't want to be directing this one.
Kurskij writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 7:26:32 AM

Chad Michael Murray?! I really hope it is just a rumor. sh*t, even Ashton Kutcher would be a better choice. He'll have to put on up to 15 kilos of muscles from what he has now. He'll look funny as hell.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 8:11:03 AM

Chad is an excellent choice. He will rock the CA-suit with his puberty-moustache.
eddie499 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 8:35:27 AM

McParlin is the way to go here. He has the look and is of a historically proper age. I'm really not impressed with this Johnston guy. He's obviously not doing his research. The average age range for American soldiers in World War II was about 26. Open up a book and make a decent movie. This character is too important to screw up.
Whitta writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 9:12:24 AM

Jensen Ackles has my vote
coldplayesence writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 12:48:17 PM

Jensen Ackles it's great but he's a midget, sorry.
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:16:27 PM

@eddie - well said. This is too important of a movie to screw up. And while Ryan (of the two has my vote), the guy is 6' 3" - they're going to have to put 'lifts' in Thor's boots so he can tower over the Captain the way he should.

Ackles - don't know enough about, but don't think he has even close to the build to play CA.

And Murray above... maybe Bucky's gay lover (at best).

@Spooky - don't ever change your avatar my friend! You're my new hero!!!
darthraige writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:20:36 PM

There's a f*cking surprise.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:41:00 PM

I had to check Jensen Ackles up, and he's really no midget. With 185 cm (yeah, the metric system) he's well above the average american lenght. This means Thor still would be taller than CA.
Matiax writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 2:34:46 PM

Red Skull. Obvious choice.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 3:30:12 PM

this makes me a little worried it might suck
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 5:11:42 PM

@Matiax - it is the obvious choice agreed. But until you hear them say it... The Lizard was the obvious choice in Spiderman, look how Sony f*cked that up.
Matiax writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 6:04:53 PM

@Ranger: Damn, you're right!

But with Spiderman 1, Green Goblin was the obvious choice too. Obvious is not always a bad thing.
Whitta writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 6:08:21 PM

on Supernatural he seems like a short ass, but thats because Jared Padalecki is 6.4ft and he's only 6.1ft, so it's not like he's short at all.

i think he'd do a great job, but not that he's even being considered, just thought i'd throw in my 2cents
SofaKing writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 6:11:56 PM

2 words: Peter Dinklage. Then they could make him a suit out of an actual flag...
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 7:03:49 PM

(snicker... you said 'dink!').

@Matiax - yep... Green Gobbie was the way to go for the first... then 2 more movies of MJ f*cking Peter over with no Lizard to distract him from her PMS bullsh*t.

SONY... YOU SUCK!!!
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:43:29 AM

NAZIS
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:45:54 AM

alien nazis is the origin story WWII.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 7:54:27 AM

I like how they dealt with the costume issue. It makes sense, plus they can actually use the costume unlike what they've done in other superhero movies.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved