WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Goonies" Remake is Being Considered

Posted: February 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Goonies" Remake is Being ConsideredSubmit Comment
We've been hearing about a "Goonies" remake for a while, one that would focus on the kids of the original characters. And during a press junket for "Percy Jackson and the Olympians," director Chris Columbus confirmed that he and Steven Spielberg have been working on ideas.

"I'd love to see another Goonies movie out there," said Columbus. "The kids would have to be the parents, and their kids would be the Goonies. We just need something, as Steven [Spielberg] said the other day, he said, 'How do you beat finding an entire pirate ship filled with treasure underground? What can be as exciting?' So we have to come up with something that can be equally as exciting. What can be the next adventure?"

Unfortunately, until there is a story, the "Goonies" remake is nothing more than just wishful thinking. "I'm not working on it," added Columbus. "Everybody is coming to me asking if I have an idea - but no, not yet."

Source: io9, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
takai writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:45:48 AM

Bad idea, just like a new Sandlot......oh wait, they did that, and it sucked.

You can't recreate the films that came out of that time period. There's just something about them that keeps them untouchable.
eximius007 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:08:45 AM

seriously Columbus dont be stupid. the classic movies from the 80's where the best. you leave those alone or ill find you and kick you in the nuts
FBO writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:54:13 AM

YOU NEVER REMAKE A CLASSIC, THIS IS BULLsh*t!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 8:49:29 AM

This doesn't sound like a remake. If the original cast is still in it, its just a sequel right?
pnkntndr writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:19:49 AM

My thoughts exactly SACdaddy
myluna writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:20:00 AM

I will just say I hope they never come up with a story; that way a "reboot" may never happen...
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:23:55 AM

am I the only one wondering why Chris Columbus directed that sh*t movie I Love You, Beth Cooper?
bale01289 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:50:01 AM

"LOOK, 50 dolla biwls!" Great original, BAD idea for a follow up!
billofill writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:38:29 AM

I have an idea how bout the New Generation of Goonies find a Aztec Pyramid on top a UFO? Nahhhhhhh.
Lowryder writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:44:00 AM

this sounds more like a sequel to me "The kids would have to be the parents, and their kids would be the Goonies"

lawman writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:58:48 AM

f*ck THAT! No kids. Lets have all of these *ssholes all grown up, but dying off from the unknown disease they contracted while f*cking spelunking in the filthy underground! They would all be loosing theior hair, pissing blood, and wasting away! NOW THATS A GOOD RE-BOOT!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:12:54 AM

The article pic isn't from the original movie, it's actually the studio execs
BK-201 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:33:47 PM

Really? of all movies...this just won't be the same. Some movies are meant to just "be" if that makes sense... I imagine it will be way more geared towards kids and overly cheesy and not nearly as fun as the original.
Ranger writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:18:16 PM

@takai - I won't speak for you, but I think what you were hinting at was the look of movies from that era was called 'the 80's'... and you're right. It's a look that can not be duplicated.

Weird Science.
Breakfast Club.
Man... I don't even want to get into that list.

Great decade for music (not for hair: see - 'Flock of Seagulls') and movies!
eximius007 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:58:20 PM

hey guys my name is Chris Columbus, and im gonna remake Goonies, and Back to the Future, and Dream a little Dream, and maybe some of the other classic 80s movies
JRprime writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 3:59:45 PM

GOD NO
bacci40 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:07:16 PM

mistake doing it on the kids of the kids....make it like IT

the original fans of goonies are now all adults and want to see what happened to the kids...

they wont go if the movie is about their f*ckin brats
gtrip writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:52:45 PM

A remake is a horrible idea but i could settle for a sequel.
takai writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:18:03 PM

@Ranger - Yes, that's pretty much what I was getting at. There was a certain feel to them, but the look is what made that feel.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:15:39 PM

@Lamman wrote "They would all be loosing theior hair, pissing blood, and wasting away!"

so you want a doc*mentary on what happens to people living the Lohag life-style?


encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:17:48 PM

seriously though, i never saw the original and like other people said it sounds like a sequel, not a reboot.

either a sequel or a reboot, don't make this horse-sh*t.
bale01289 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:38:24 PM

Do yourself a favor, Encore, and watch the original. Its f*ckin funny to this day. I just watched it like a moth ago, and I laughed my ass off!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:00:04 PM

I might try it @Bale, but it always seemed like a kids movie to me.
bale01289 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:27:01 PM

@Encore - you're right, it is a kids movie, but its one of those that is slap stick comedy with a well rounded cast that makes it so good. Two words..."Truffle Shuffle"....watch it!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:54:10 PM

I'll just "mark" it as a small possibility.
bale01289 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:24:37 PM

Ok, dude....it seems you post ALOT about movies you haven't seen. I'm tryin to fill you in on classics that MAYBE you should see if you want to have any kind of cred, as far as movie knowledge. Seems your too busy trying to play tough-guy, than actually being a credible source for any kind of info. True, might not be your forte, but at least have the decency to know what the f*ck you talk about. For f*cks sake, you didn't even know who Paul Newman or George Carlin was! I.e. - New images "Disneys Cars 2" thread. Get a clue, kiddo, when it comes to someone trying to be civil.
takai writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 4:16:37 AM

In all actuality, it's not really a kids movie. I mean, it certainly was at the time, but now a-days, the subject matter and script are more fit for maturer audiences. All of the old school kids movies seem that way. Sandlot, Hook, Goonies, all share that similarity. At least in my opinion.
lostwarrior writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 9:33:09 AM

@ takai your exactly right. and encore this just proves that you are a dumb c*nt. Your on here yet you have never seen the Gonnies, what the f*ck NANCY. its a classic. And yet you come off like your some bad ass movie guy or somesh*t. go change your bloody tampon, and then see this movie...
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 10:32:41 AM

why, and i ask, WHY, is every single movie that is made nowadays a remake, rebbot, spin-off, sequel, prequel and NOT original ones???
just if you have an amazing imagination and creation skills (like tim burton)...
lostwarrior writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 11:25:24 AM

^^^agreed, nolan, burton, anderson, are some of the few directors out there who are creative and dont do the bullsh*t hollywood remakes, reboots ect.. And ifyou think about, those are the few people who dont really have to answer hollywoods phone call, hollywood answers their phone calls. that difference. Now if others out there had balls and took chances films today would probably be better...
liverpool67 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 9:50:26 PM

Remake, remake, remake..... stop with the remakes!! can we have just one year without one remake? Seriously, isn't an original script somewhere?
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:40:06 PM

This better be bullsh*t!
The Dini writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 3:08:52 PM

Heath! In exactly 3 seconds Turn around and MEET YOUR DOOM!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved