WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg Denies "Gremlins" Reboot Rumor

Posted: February 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg Denies "Gremlins" Reboot RumorSubmit Comment
It has been reported numerous times that Joe Dante is on board to reboot "Gremlins," the franchise he originally directed back in 1984 and the sequel in 1990. But this is news to "Gremlins" writer Chris Columbus and producer Steven Spielberg.

"I spoke to Steven Spielberg a couple days ago and said, 'You know, I've been reading on the internet about this 'Gremlins 3D' and no one's approached him either, so I don't know if that's really true," said Columbus. "Maybe it's going on behind our backs."

It's very unlikely that a "Gremlins" reboot would happen without the Spielberg knowing about it, but it doesn't mean that Spielberg and Columbus would not want to give the franchise another shot. "It would be fun to go back and revisit them," said Columbus.

But he warned that if someone makes another installment to not go down the CGI route. "Something like 'Gremlins,' which is a movie I really like, I think it's impossible to recreate in a CGI environment," Columbus continued. "I think it will inevitably lose some of its charm. Those are edgy Muppets in a sense and you don't want to lose that sense of anarchy that those gremlins had, because behind the scenes are 25 puppeteers making them to come to life."

Source: io9, ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gobolog writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:42:50 AM

Chris columbus is absolutely right. CGI woud take away the personality. The animatronics were brilliant in the second gremlin film, and that was twenty years ago. Think how good it would look today now that technology has been getting better.
Evil_Disco writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:10:06 AM

Like I said before: To NOT use puppets would take away the whole charm around "Gremlins".
Screw the CGI and especially the 3D sh*t!
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:21:43 AM

yes yes yes he's so riiiiight... no CGI!! it would just be a slap in the face for the original!
bale01289 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:44:12 AM

I agree! CGI would totally ruin this franchise. I have fond memories of seeing both Gremlins movies in the theatre. A CGI Gizmo just sounds Lame!
coldplayesence writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:00:15 AM

And yet they'll use CGI anyway. I mean they haven't even to them, it's obvious that they don't give a sh*t about their opinions.
skywalkerjones writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:24:04 AM

omg i love gremlins and gizmo.i agree.CGI sucks
Stuntastic writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:07:46 AM

Man, I'm still waiting on that Critters reboot
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:46:51 AM

@stuntastic
LMAO for real i totally agree... I'd actually see Critters rebooted!!
GIST writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:10:36 PM

@Stuntastic

YES!!! & Get Leo DiCap to reprise his role.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:10:32 PM

never saw the first (don't plan to) but i'm glad there not rebooting it either way. it would probably just end up another movie completely ripped to sh*t. like Lohag on a Friday night.
bale01289 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:32:28 PM

LOVED Critters when I was a kid, FYI!
lostwarrior writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:30:53 PM

thank god, leave it be. The gremlins were classic, remaking these films would be like remaking a christmas story. Oh f*ck I just gave hollywood a new idea, damn it...
GIST writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 2:08:31 AM

@lostwarrior

I totally agree. Our iconic 80's-90's films will continuously get poisoned by money-hungry miscreants, who careless about the importance these films created for us as a child.
One-by-one, they will be ticking off every single film we've cherished, and make it into garbage for the new age generation to sink their uneducated teeth in.
The same sh*t is happening with music. f*ckin' Miley "I look like My Pet Monster" Cyrus covered GnR's 'Sweet Child O' Mine.' Pathetic. Classics as we know it will be annihilated by the industry right before our eyes. It's just a matter of time that they remake a reboot, or reboot a remake, or i don't know what the f*ck. Their concept of a fresh idea of REMOOKING timeless pieces, will always smell like sh*t.
God forbid they Remook 'Little Monsters.' f*ckin' love that movie.
bale01289 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 10:49:44 PM

@GIST - You just gave away the Golden Ticket to Hollywood, lol! LOVE that movie, haha, havent thought of that one in years! Howie Mandell and Fred Savage......PRICELESS!
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:42:50 PM

Leave these f*cking classic's alone man... Jesus.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved