WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fox Hires Writer for "Daredevil" Reboot

Posted: February 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fox Hires Writer for "Daredevil" RebootSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox is currently hard at work on its "Daredevil" reboot and has hired screenwriter David Scarpa (The Day The Earth Stood Still, The Last Castle) to pen the script.

While Ben Affleck starred in a "Daredevil" movie only seven years ago, fans believe that it is too early to reboot the franchise. Deadline is reporting that the studio has no choice. If Fox doesn't keep pumping out movies based on Marvel superheroes, the rights to the characters will revert back to Marvel.

But Fox is not simply making another "Daredevil" movie in order to keep the rights. Co-chairman Tom Rothman previously stated that the goal is to get real talent behind it. "What it really needs is a visionary at the level of Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight)," he said. "It needs a director who has a genuine vision. We wouldn't do it just for the sake of doing it."

Unfortunately Fox is not the best at picking directors. After they signed Mark Steven Johnson to helm the original "Daredevil," which was ripped up by the critics, they decided to hand him the "Ghost Rider" franchise.

Obviously none of the original cast members (Affleck, Jennifer Garner) will be asked to return.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Supersweetguy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:30:33 AM

Haaay, as if this story really sucks??? Now, 20th century fox, what gives? As if you're now trying to copy Director Nolan's Batman's formula... Please....
dissident187 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:06:12 AM

Fox deserves all the bashing it gets, only when it's rightfully due. Ghost Rider was by Columbia Tristar (technically Sony Pictures), not Fox
eximius007 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:06:56 AM

you know if Ben Affleck was not in that, it probably would have been loads better. Than again if Ben Affleck wasn't alive the Universe would be much better.
FBO writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:51:30 AM

@ eximius - If you're going to pin only one element of the movie to it's failure it should be the horrible depiction of Bullseye not Affleck's acting. That bit with the stained glass window was hand's down the worst part of the movie.
wonderBOY writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 8:25:03 AM

i have heard the directors cut is soooo much better than the original version is this true
madaseel writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:00:22 AM

This is the one franchise that can strike GOLD if done properly. The Daredevil story is amazing, and that ABOMINATION with Ben Affleck needs to be avenged. I say go for it!!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:02:53 AM

Look, this was a terrible movie about a lame Spider-man ripoff of a character starring probably the worst cast ever assembled. Like the Spawn movie, it never had a chance to be good with such horrible casting and inexperienced directing. If Fox knows what's good for them (which we all know they don't) they'd let this one go. Maybe Marvel can give him a cameo in a future project like the Avengers. Cast him in the next Blade installment where he can feel at home fighting in the dark.
Kurskij writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:14:05 AM

sh*t, this is just way too good to be truth!

Fox says "we wouldn't do it just for the sake of doing it!" A company that relesed Street fighter: Chun Li and Dragonball in the same year!

What about Deception? What about The Epic Movie?

What about all those homeless black people you've burned in your backlot, Tom? You didn't so it for the sake of doing it as well?

SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:20:30 AM

I hate to say this but as sh*tty as Daredevil was and as good as TDK is, I always had a problem with Nolan basically stealing from Daredevil. The only redeeming thing in that entire film was DD's "sonar sight". It looked great and was very true to the character. Not only did Nolan use this concept in TDK but he gives it the exact same look. This always felt like flat out plagarism to me and may be one of the few reasons I didn't enjoy TDK as much as most people. Its nit picky but I'm just sayin, since we're bashing Daredevil and its director let's give credit where credit is do. I've got similar feelings about how The Matrix stole from Blade but this isn't the time or the place for that discussion.
Luminus writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:50:57 AM

@SACdaddy: That nitpick is ridiculous. What next, you're gonna claim that the Pink Power Ranger stole the color pink from the movie Pretty in Pink? Some criticisms just don't make any sense at all and yours is a prime example of that.
Kurskij writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:55:59 AM

@Sac
What exactly did Matrix stole from Blade? Just wondering? The concept of some action visuals?
coldplayesence writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:23:04 AM

They don't need talented directors, writers or actors, it just need to be in 3D! Wich is the best way on Hollywood to make a good movie.
Taco writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:41:54 AM

@ wonderBOY, yes the directors cut is way better than the theatrical cut. they basically cut the entire story out of it for time reasons. When Hulk came out it was bashed for being too long and boring. Daredevil is a little over 2hrs in the directors cut, but its accually a good story. The things in Daredevil that were bad were the action scenes and uncompleted CGI which is talked about in the commentary. With studio help and a bit more direction it could have been great.
lawman writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:09:54 AM

I actually didnt mind the Assfleck version of Daredevil. Bullseye was f*cking GAY! There was NO need for him to have that faggoty bullseye lumped onto his forhead with what lookes like cheap costume store fake skin! I personally dont like or dislike Assfleck. Hes just THERE for me! Nothing special. I liked Paycheck!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:41:10 AM

@Luminus: Its really not that unreasonable. Two movies in film history have used what I would call Sonar Vision. One created the concept and used it well. The other copied it with no modification whatsoever. If another film had an alien antagonist in it that used Predator vision I would have the same complaint, but luckily no other major director has been cheap enough to go there.

@Kurskij: "Bullet time" I realize that both films might have been in production at a similar time, but Blade did come out a full year before the Matrix. It distinctly has a standoff where Snipes throws down and gets several shots off at Dorf with that badass gun he carries. The slo mo ring producing bulletdodging looks very similar what eventually was viewed as groundbreaking in the Matrix. Add in the similarities in the costume designs of the main characters (black leather designer trench coat, sunglasses, heavily armed) and the obvious martial arts overtones, and you've got 2 movies that share a lot. In the long run, The Matrix was heralded as "groundbreaking" but used concepts that Blade pioneered.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:52:17 AM

@Lawman: agreed, Bullseye sucked balls. Colin Farrell should never be allowed in another American film.
Kindlegolas writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 12:03:34 PM

I actually liked the first Daredevil
Kurskij writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 12:04:33 PM

@SacDaddy

That's what i thought. Yeah, that was a cool scene, but I don't think Matrix stole it. Matrix had a ring shot and in Blade there were just three bullets flying in slomo. (Better made than those in the matrix btw). Sniper (the first one) had a "flying bullet" effect, and that wa in 1993. Lost in Space had "bullet time" looking sequence. Matrix may've ripped of from many movies.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 12:47:23 PM

@Kurskij: I hear you (I'm nitpicky) but what about the other similarities I mentioned. There's actually something familiar in the general premise of Blade and The Matrix too. Both utilize a dual reality concept. There's the world most humans know and then there's the real world where humans are being manipulated basically for food. Substitute Vampires for machines and you've got the pretty much the same antagonists. Both introduce this idea through somewhat disturbing sequences early in the films. Both also give a main character a choice whether to return to the fictional world at there own risk or "follow the rabbit hole and see where it takes them." And both have a Yoda type father figure who councils and looks after the protagonist.

I think some of the similarities might come from the fact that David Goyer wrote Blade and also wrote Dark City. The Matrix has widely been critcized before for possibly lifting some plot cocncepts from films like Dark City and Terminator. Goyer obviously likes the alternate reality plot device so Blade might have been copied unwittingly by default.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 12:53:18 PM

You actually could almost go scene by scene and find something Blade pioneered and The Matrix used.
TeemSelami writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:30:57 PM

i don't think it's to early for a reboot they could have got to work on this while the first one is in the theatre
BK-201 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:37:30 PM

I think that this remake could end up well, mostly because im not a fan of Ben Assfleck unless its a Kevin Smith movie or if hes the director. Last time i watched i remember that i would of preferred it without him (not that he was terrible)just like Paycheck.
BK-201 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:40:39 PM

Oh ya and Bullseye was a joke. Should of only been Kingpin.
Ranger writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:47:55 PM

@Lawman - couldn't have said it better myself.

I didn't mind the Daredevil either. Whatever people think of the movie, if bad... it was a lot less Affleck's fault as it was just a so-so movie (it was no 'Gladiator'... but I don't think it was aspiring to be).

Reboot? No... just move ahead with a new, original story Hollywood you lazy f*cks! Yeah Hollywood YOU! Sharpen your f*cking crayons and write something NEW! I put in more effort pinching one out in the morning than you fat-asses put into new work!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:51:11 PM

Maybe Stewie Wonder should direct?
Kurskij writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:28:32 PM

Daredevil always was a guilty pleasure for me.

Like manslaughter or running around drunk and naked dangling penis near schools.

One of those things people think of as being wrong and you think as being awesome.
BK-201 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:31:43 PM

@wonderBOY

The Directors Cut of Daredevil is leaps and bounds better than the theatrical cut.
Kurskij writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:33:53 PM

@SacDaddy

Agree completely.

But when people watch Hollywood movies and say "rip off", I light a fine cigar, drink some Hennessy, smack a whore and say *takes a deep breath*: "HOLLYWOOD!"

skatemaster62 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:46:26 PM

i would love to see a reboot of the daredevel franchise. i dont think its too early, i belive 7 years is long enough. they diffrence is that marvel should do it not fox
eximius007 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:52:42 PM

@FBO yeah, i forgot all about that "Outstanding Performance" by Colin Farrel. No offense to anyone, but the guy is a douche and i hate him
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 3:06:00 PM

The original actually met my expectations, since I went in with none it wasn't that bad.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 3:45:08 PM

I don't think Daredevil was Affleck's fault he gets a ton of crap for movies being bad because of him. Yes he's done some bad movies and bombs but who hasn't even the great deniro and Pacino have done it. I like the idea of a reboot but these executives have got to stop citing nolans batman as the type of way to go with their movies.
bacci40 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:10:38 PM

rothman hates comics and comic book movies

his goal is to destroy the industry, and as long as he stays chair, he will continue to work hard to do it

not sure what happened to him as a kid...maybe he was beaten up by some comic book geeks...

but all he is doing is making sure that the rights dont revert back to marvel

he is a bastard

so download every fox movie you can..
makingcircles writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:15:25 PM

I always thought the Frank Miller/Jason Stratham combo was a good idea for writer/actor. They could make Daredevil pretty awesome in terms of gritty action hero. Maybe Fox will surprise everyone and pick a decent director.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:54:06 PM

^^Not a bad idea. If they had to reboot this sh*t Statham has the right look and ablities for the part. Don't know about Frank Miller for PG-13 film though. Lets not ruin one of the last good R directors we have left.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:58:34 PM

"Daredevil" movie only seven years ago, fans believe that it is too early to reboot the franchise"

several good movies have been rebooted in about that amount of time:

the crappy Batman & Robin was rebooted only 8 years later, and let's face it Batman Begins was a much better movie.

i might have been the only one who liked it, but Punisher:War Zone was rebooted only 4 years later and it turned okay to me.(however the 2004 Punisher had a better story, but the 2008 had better action)

another good example The Incredible Hulk was much better then it's 2003 counter-part,Hulk.

so I don't think 7 years later is to early, and with the right people working on it, this film can be good.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 8:48:27 PM

Dont do it, there's nothing cool about a blind superhero.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 8:49:52 PM

However, Blind Fury with Rutger Hauer was a cool movie. But he wasnt a superhero.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 5:42:48 AM

Affleck's not that bad, it's not his fault the director lacked basic sense. And Bullseye was the only redeeming part of that movie, other than that stupid bullseye carved into his forehead and that absolutely awful scene with the stained glass. I loved when he killed that bitch with the f*cking peanut.
TheStig writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 9:51:16 AM

@Sac:

Interesting comparisons b/w Blade and Matrix....I would argue that The Matrix used these techniques to make a much deeper and thought-provoking movie that was far more than just an action flick. The Matrix was far more philosophical than Blade also. Although there is no arguing that the similarities in visuals are there.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 10:58:42 AM

@TheStig: I totally agree ^^. Also pretty sure thats why it made a lot more money too. But like someone said earlier its Hollywood where nothing is safe from being jacked. As long as you put a stamp on it to make it your own nobody will care where it came from. Kind of sad though considering we're always looking for "originality" in the industry. With the amount of similarities between the films, something tells me one film might not exist without the other. The Wach Bros. (can you still call them that?) didn't exactly go on to make great films after the Matrix. The team behind Blade went on the write Batman Begin and The Dark Knight.
TheStig writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:49:56 PM

solid point there...however I LOVED V for Vendetta...
lostwarrior writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 2:43:20 PM

theonly good actor in the film was the jon, thats it. i mean the film was just sh*t. And affleck really isnt to blame. Imean he auditioned for the role, its the producers and casting directors that are responsible for that. You cant hate on Affleck for wanting a big pay day...
DetroitFanRick writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 4:10:38 PM

I have the Director's Cut of Daredevil. Totally different story than the theatrical release. Much better. But that's just my opinion.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 8:17:14 PM

Blade is so much better than the Matrix it's not even funny. Based on the ability of the performers alone (acting wise) it would be better. But even the f*ckin action is better.

I think, don't quote me on it, but I believe that low budget ass Wing Commander movie pioneered bullet time. Unless it actually came out afterward, and it's just so under the radar that it seems older.
rabid writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 9:10:22 PM

The firt Daredevil film wasn't a total failure. I like to think that it was a great film with flawed casting. Every actor was completely wrong for the part. Colin Ferrel would've made a better Matt Murdock. There's nothing Greek at all about Jennifer Garner. And it was unnecessary to change Kingpin's race.
I really wouldn't mind seeing Frank Miller helming a Daredevil movie. After all, he's the guy who made the character famous in the comics.
rabid writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 9:11:49 PM

DetroitFanRick, you're totally right on director's cut. Totally different film.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:34:24 AM

Rabid, right on about not having to change Kingpins race, but, that motherf*cker was good for the part.
atn5022 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 10:33:19 AM

i actually kind of enjoyed daredevil, and ive always liked ben affleck. I guess im one of the rare few
THE MAD HATTER writes:
on February 10th, 2010 at 1:49:31 AM

Ben Affleck Admits Daredevil Kinda Sucked No sh*t. Daredevil didn't have a chance in fox hell . Just look at the cast Jennifer Garner Ben Affleck Colin Farrell .And The Kingpin was played by Michael Clarke Duncan .Not that he is a bad actor by any means.Daredevil needs a reboot It could kick ass. Punisher War Zone was the worst Marvel Yet it was like a bad porn with little people and clowns. The Punisher needs a reboot ,the first one was pretty good .

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved