WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Las Vegas Bets "Avatar" Will Win Best Picture Oscar

Posted: February 6th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Las Vegas Bets "Avatar" Will Win Best Picture OscarSubmit Comment
The 2009 Academy Award nominations were recently announced and Las Vegas has already started taking bets on which films will take the Oscars. "Avatar" and "The Hurt Locker" were both nominated nine times, but "Avatar" has 5/1 odds of winning in all nine categories, while "Locker" has 16/1 odds.

For those who don't gamble. 5/1 means that for every $1 that you bet, you stand to win $5 dollars. The more you stand to win, the more unlikely that it will happen.

In the Best Picture category, "Avatar" has 1/2 odds of winning (win $1 for every $2 bet). These are incredibly odds considering that it's very rare for a movie to win the Oscar for Best Picture and not have its screenplay nominated as well. It's even more difficult to win an Oscar without a screenplay nom and an acting nom. Only 1952 film "The Greatest Show on Earth" was able to accomplish that, but Vegas believes "Avatar" will still take home the prize.

Some of the easy bets are Jeff Bridges for Best Actor (1/5 odds) and Christoph Waltz (1/9 odds) for Best Supporting Actor.

BEST PICTURE
* Avatar: 1/2
* The Hurt Locker: 7/4
* Up In The Air: 13/2
* Inglorious Basterds: 20/1
* Precious: 28/1
* An Education: 33/1
* A Serious Man: 40/1
* The Blind Side: 40/1
* Up: 40/1
* District 9: 50/1

BEST DIRECTOR
* Kathryn Bigelow: 4/6
* James Cameron: 6/5
* Jason Reitman: 16/1
* Quentin Tarantino: 20/1
* Lee Daniels: 33/1

BEST ACTOR
* Jeff Bridges: 1/5
* George Clooney: 4/1
* Colin Firth: 16/1
* Jeremy Renner: 18/1
* Morgan freeman: 28/1

BEST ACTRESS
* Sandra Bullock: 8/11
* Meryl Streep: 8/5
* Carey Mulligan: 9/2
* Gabby Sidibe: 16/1
* Helen Mirren: 22/1

Source: BettingPress, GetTheBigPicture


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
abhisal writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:26:32 AM

"The more you stand to win, the more unlikely that it will happen."

Thanks WP for Gambling 101 interspersed with profound life lessons.
Supersweetguy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:33:09 AM

Hahaha, i really don't get it. Maybe Avatar was good but how will this be able to get the best Oscar Picture? Puhleez.....
eximius007 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:14:18 AM

i dont see Transformers 2 in here, ah who am i kidding, that was the worst piece of crap ever
SamuelClayton writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:36:26 AM

There are a lot more obstacles affecting Avatar's chances of winning besides the lack of a screenplay or acting nominations.

For one thing, the only major precursor that Avatar has been successful with was the Golden Globes, which have become increasingly contrary to the Academy's choice of Best Picture (Atonement over No Country for Old Men, Babel over The Departed, Brokeback Mountain over Crash, etc.).

Even worse, since the guilds started handing out prizes, no film has yet won Best Picture without winning at least one top award from them. Avatar has lost both the PGA and DGA awards to The Hurt Locker, the Best Cast award to Inglourious Basterds, and it is extremely unlikely that it will win the WGA awrd for Best Original Screenplay on February 20th.

No science fiction film has ever won the Academy Award for Best Picture, and in the wake of such unsuccessful nominees as A Clockwork Orange, Star Wars and E.T., are voters *really* going to want Avatar to be the first sci-fi Best Picture winner?

Also, at least from my point of view, the backlash has been growing significantly against Avatar, while The Hurt Locker (the TRUE front-runner, IMHO) has only grown more popular since its release on DVD.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:30:50 AM

so i just watched A Serious Man... I consider the Coen Brothers one of my favorite directors... but damn what a let down... didn't see what all the oscar hype was about... nothing stood out to me.... New Title: A Serious WASTE OF MY TIME Man
cjwalk36 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:43:40 AM

Ted Mosby, do you know much of the bible at all? Not saying that I do or that you should even, but there are many religious references in the movie. I thought it was pretty damn funny. Maybe give it another chance some time down the road. The Coen bros have this knack of creating a different kind of comedy. It's definitely not for everyone but these guy continue to make movies that are different, engaging and thought provoking. Sadly, so few filmmakers do these days.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:06:05 AM

Want to make a little extra cash? Place $10 bet online on Renner to win Best Actor. $10 wins $160 and if Hurt Locker turns out to be the Academy's Cinderella this year, Renner's chances will take a huge boost. Its really not that much of a longshot considering Bridges has been nominated 4 previous times and has never won. He didn't even get nominated for the best performance of his career as the Dude in The Big Lebowski. Maybe somebody at the top has it in for the guy.

Its only $10 :-)
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:44:31 AM

@cjwalk36
Ehhh... I'm just saying it was a total letdown... But i will admit it is wasn't their worse movie...ie The Lady Killers... but i just couldn't get into the who Jew Movie. The tornado part was nicely done though.
abhisal writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 11:58:55 AM

@sacdaddy: yeah, the bums lost. the bums will always lose.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:55:16 PM

Condolences!!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 3:04:05 PM

Hey Alex one day that is all I ask one f*cking day with out avatar news. Is it possible?
alexgi writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 3:34:20 PM

Yes jeffw1978, We'll make sure not to mention the weekend box office results or the Oscar winners since Avatar will likely be involved.

It's the highest grossing film of all time, that's what happens. We have just as many articles for The Dark Knight and Pirates of the Caribbean 3.

If we were constantly talking about "All About Steve" then you would have a point.
Blank x2 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:44:21 PM

esimius007 - We have our first Michael Bay boner of the day!!
ilovebatman writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:48:42 PM

Whoa, it's....Alex! I neve new you had a profile! Cool!I must be living under a rock...Or lohan vag...
Lowryder writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:19:04 PM

katryn bigelow with the most below is in the #1 spot?!
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:31:14 PM

Holy sh*t he answered, I understand it is the highesdt grossing film and oscars and yada yada yada....thats fine, it just seems like every time I come to the site there is an avatar article, thats all. In my opinion just slightly excessive.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:35:18 PM

And alex is a smartass no wonder he lets us get away with so much sh*t. Which is appreciated BTW.
BigFoot writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 8:09:32 PM

Shouldn't the title of this article be changed to " Las Vegas is about to lose a sh*tload of money"?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 8:32:01 PM

lol
vwkombi writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 8:48:06 PM

@ Bigfoot

Hey man! i haven't seen you since you stopped boneheading in hunting videos, what happened? (had to say it)

Think off all the things WP has given us:
- Pictures AND videos of Jessica Biels stip scenes.
- Endless arrays of jokes
- Taught me how to gamble

And that's just the icing on the cake. This website is awesome.
BigFoot writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:02:45 PM

@vwkombi: I'm just taking a much deserved vacation on the island of Fiji. :)

And i do love the jokes on here at WP. I don't think I've laughed this much at a movie website. Just wondering, how did this whole "dandy" thing start?
vwkombi writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:18:08 PM

@ Bigfoot

There was a poster on here named Dandythelion. He was a complete moron who claimed to be smoking pot with movie directors and having sex with Kat Dennings. Every other poster gave him sh*t, and now popular speculation is that he returned under the name Vin12.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 9:33:59 PM

there are several other user-names people speculate is him as well.
thetheeyecreature writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:49:55 PM

Avatar may have blown a quarter billion on production, but it had a hackneyed, silly script. It would be a travesty for it to win Best Picture. Same was true in 1996 when Titanic unfairly won.
joshmihaly writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 12:02:49 AM

f*ck Avatar. The Road deserved to be in its spot in my opinion. The Oscars have been transformed into a popularity contest in recent years, especially this one.
BigFoot writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:15:12 AM

@vwkombi:
Ahhhhhh I see. I think it's hilarious all the sh*t yall do to him/vin/other posters.
AvatarRULES writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:40:09 AM

Hey, hey, hello!
I'm an AVATURD!
Get angry, insult me, come on! Look at my nickname, it's just plain stupid!
Know what? AVATAR RULES, HELL YEAH!

No, really.
I just want to laugh at you, f*cking morons. It's really funny to see how angry you get at this stupid movie and its fans. And yet, you keep coming and coming and coming to every f*cking article of "Avatar".
You love it, don't you?
You must have a very sad life, or a lonely one, because you have nothing better to do than bashing "Dances with smurfs".
Get a life, or a job, have sex, do something important. It's sad to see f*cking monkeys like you people. Avaturds who wants to suicide should do it. And you should follow them.
Such a f*cking waste of oxygen.

I LOVED AVATAR SO SUE ME. I bet you will not resist to answer me. Poor miserable beings.
joshmihaly writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:47:51 AM

@AvatarRULES:
I'm not saying Avatar sucked even though the story was weak to me. I am saying that it does not deserve to be nominated for Best Picture when much more deserving movies, such as The Road, belonged there instead. It deserves to be nominated and win for its graphics but Best Picture is absurd.
vwkombi writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 7:06:30 AM

@ Bigfoot

Yep, let's see what happens to AvatarRULES. :)

@ AvatarRULES
I think you will find that the majority of people here actually enjoyed Avatar, but find if undeserving of the praise it has received. Why? Because we are intelligent people who believe in certain standards.

Also, as fans of movies, we often enjoy discussing the good and the bad points of cinema. EVERYONE here leads full and happy lives (except Vindy, who i guess you could say is happy that he has become an important WP meme). Just because we come to an internet discussion forum to talk about our interests doesn't mean we are all 40 year old nerds in our parents basement. Hell, the fact that you actually believe that shows that:
A) You are insecure and are trying to make yourself look good to strangers for some weird gratification.
B) You have no personality of your own

An' 'dats all i hav' tu say about' dat.

lostwarrior writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 12:08:01 PM

^^^well said...
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:19:01 PM

What about dragonball-z for best picture? Ha
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:25:16 PM

@avatardrules, I think naviblue.com is more along the lines for you, you n the rest of the tards can go circle jerk to your terrible movie on that website
BigFoot writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 2:50:07 PM

@vwkombi:
LOL, well said.
@AvatarRULES:
Just because we're saying that Avatar shouldn't win Best Picture doesn't mean that some of us didn't enjoy it. I thought it was pretty good, but in no way does it deserve Best Picture. Now please, pull that dildo out of your ass and try to have an intelligent conversation.
telur writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 9:33:20 PM

I bet $1000 for Avatar Best Pictures. Its easy money
Eben1277 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:44:44 AM

I think I might be the only person in America that liked The Lady Killers. And I don't give a f*ck, I still like it.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:29:11 AM

@ AvatarRULES:

"I LOVED AVATAR SO SUE ME"

- I'm talking to my lawyer tomorrow.
I'll See you in court, mister!

(sigh)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved