WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kevin Smith is Begging for Money on the Internet

Posted: February 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kevin Smith is Begging for Money on the InternetSubmit Comment
Kevin smith has been trying to raise money for the political horror movie "Red State" for several years now. The Weinstein Company usually backs Smith's projects, but is not interested in "Red State." And neither are any other studios or investors. "It's this weird f*cking dark little seventies horror movie that nobody wants to make," he said.

So Smith had the great idea of getting the fans to pay for it. "We're creating this website. We're seeing if it works to set up and collect donations," he explained. "It becomes a weird tax nightmare, but I would be into it, and I'll match it. Whatever you raise on line, like f*ck it, you put it up, I'll put it up."

To clarify... Smith wants you to pay for his movie, and then pay again to see it. If "Red State" makes any money, it will go straight into his pocket. So what do you get out of it? "[I'll] put their name in the credit," he stated.

And if you think this is messed up, Smith completely agrees. "God bless them. Motherf*ckers want to see the movie so badly that they're willing to pay for it with their own money."

Source: CINSSU


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Loki writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:01:46 PM

I'm in. Smith kicks ass
BDeck writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:04:22 PM

What the f*ck?

First of all it was a fan on twitters idea, and fans haven't dropped the idea in about 2 months.

He also has stated that the money he makes from "red state" would go into independent movie fund to help out some other movie.

Why make it sound like kevin smith is a panhandler, who wants to pocket our money?


encoreyourface writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:17:24 PM

good idea Kevin(A.K.A unclef*cker), insult the people that for some reason would want to see a movie by a lard sh*t like you.
nope.com writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:20:04 PM

I'll support Smith.. but wont fork any money online

f*ck that sh*t
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:33:03 PM

I wanna see Red State.

f*ck you Alex, Smith kicks ass.
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:38:57 PM

I like Smith... but I'm going against the majority here.

So... he's not selling shares that could net a dividend. Like the article says, we pay, then pay again to see it... and no return?! Why not then just go out and rent a whore like SlusHO's Mommy?

Again... I like Smith. The guy is comes right out in left field. He's a trailblazer even. But... he's willing to match our $'s? If he's so confident in it... why not self-finance? If this was only an idea from a fan like BDeck says... kewl. If it's a strategy to draw attention to this project...kewl again.

But the cash stays here Kevin.
BDeck writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:41:38 PM

@encore

How is he insulting his fans?

He is one of the mose grateful directors out there.he cares about what his following thinks.

Can you name one other film maker that talks to his fans on a daily basis?
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:55:03 PM

Ron Jeremy?

But that penis handshake is a put-off.
BDeck writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:55:14 PM

Here's the link to the article that they're reporting.

http://cinssu.ca/blog/?p=610

it gives some light on the subject and its a lot more then just hey f*ckers can pay me to make this flick.

He also just said on twitter that he will be selling old props from old askview productions (ie. Clerks,chasing amy,mallrats).

I know I know I sound like a fanboy, I am.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:56:28 PM

@BDeck-

wither he was kidding or not calling your fan a motherf*cker is insulting them. it is funny though!

i agree it's an amazing idea "you want to see this film so badly? pay for bitches!"

and also having them pay a SECOND time is an added bonus, i wish i had i had that dudes brain, but it's his over-confidence that annoys me really, just expecting his movie to be payed in full by the fans and collect whats left for his pockets.
Roadimus writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:04:52 PM

Count me in Kevin.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:11:10 PM

just tell me where to sign
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:33:00 PM

Oh Kevin...you smug fat bastard. I hope you get the cash, but my money stays with me (I've got whores to pay)
telur writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:46:26 PM

i'm out. i never interted abobut kevin smith movies..... also michael moore too... the two a like... fat
Lordchristo writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:49:20 PM

He's not fat, he's fluffy!
BDeck writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:08:31 PM

@encore

He's planning on matching everything that his fans put he even states that above, and he's fund raising for the film also.

I wish I could find the tweet that started all of this but dude tweets like 100 times a day,but it went something like this

Via some dude"how about a fan financed redstate"holysh*t sounds like a good idea, ill look into it

As far as him calling us motherf*cks, he talks like one of us.I call friends motherf*ckers all the time. I know he's not my friend but it shows he's down to earth.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:17:20 PM

BDeck

i didn't find his calling people motherf*ckers insulting myself and if that's how he always talks then,whatever.

and if what you say is true that WP is WAY one-sided, it makes it sound like the dude is a complete ass-hole who doesn't give a sh*t about anything but money.

however I'll watch the movie i guess and see how it is and see if this guy is good at what he does then maybe he's just "down to Earth" like you said.

but he's still not getting a dime from me.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:41:57 PM

I've been wanting to see this damn movie for years, Smith is one of my favorite directors, if I had a good amount of cash to fork over I'd definitely be in. But at the moment, I'm pretty broke. Sorry Kev. However, knowing Smith, you give him about 30 grand and he'll make one of the best movies of the decade.
BDeck writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:51:20 PM

@encore

Wp is way-one sided on this one, that's why I was pissed to begin with.

And hey your moneys your money,ill be damned if haiti or f*cking jerrys kids gets a buck outta me.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:53:42 PM

BDeck-lol! same here!
MattC903 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 10:27:31 PM

hey worst previews.com f*ck YOU!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 10:52:08 PM

I now feel like giving Kevin Smith $5 and tell him:

"Don't go spending it all at once, mister!"
Aingx writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 10:56:34 PM

What a Douche-hole......
alexgi writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:17:18 PM

I'm seeing a guy that wants to make a passion project, but can't get funding cause the script is probably terrible. So he uses his celebrity to get money from people who don't have it to throw around.

If he loves fans so much, he can make it on his own dime. Or at least have some sort of profit-sharing going. Fans can be investors, but deserve a cut of the profits. And definitely let those who put money in see the movie for free.

I don't see him mention any of that.
Effector writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:20:10 PM

Smith is a great Screenwriter and we should all back him the f*ck up?! why the f*ck cant people show some love?! He's a great Screenwriter and needs a hand now to produce a great film that the sh*t as Wein-something company wont back for some stupid ass reason. what the f*ck is the world coming to?! i say we back him up. i'm a put in as much as i can. who's with me?
Effector writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:23:13 PM

f*ck you alexgi. u dont know what it really takes to write a (great) script so shut the f*ck up. stick u'r f*cking ideas and comments where them stars dont show bieyartch
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:23:45 PM

"I'm seeing a guy that wants to make a passion project, but can't get funding cause the script is probably terrible. So he uses his celebrity to get money from people who don't have it to throw around.

If he loves fans so much, he can make it on his own dime. Or at least have some sort of profit-sharing going. Fans can be investors, but deserve a cut of the profits. And definitely let those who put money in see the movie for free.

I don't see him mention any of that."


Oh. That actually makes sense.

Delete my previous comment plzkthx
Blank x2 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:29:13 PM

Why is everybody freaking out? All I keep reading is "Not a dollar out of me", "people don't have the money to spend", "making people pay twice".....

You guys do see the word "Donation" right? He's just seeing if people would like to help out. Granted, these studios throw away more money than we'll all ever see, but it's not like he's demanding money like the IRS.

I kind of like it. You can buy your way onto a movie credit. As the guy on the RoboCop commercials always says, "I'd buy that for a dollar".

But I would never actually do that. LoL
Peter Parker writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 12:06:50 AM

@ alexgi:

"a guy that wants to make a passion project, but can't get funding cause the script is probably terrible."

- I may be misinterpreting, but I sense some judgment there. If that's the case, what's wrong with a passion project?
To me, it's much better than commercial projects, where all that matters is the potential for profitability, and all the investors jump all over it, like dogs after a bone, only to deliver a mediocre movie for the masses.

So, here we have a guy who feels he has something worth fighting for in his hands and he's thinking outside the box to make it happen. Sounds like a smart man to me!

And a script about a political horror movie? Definitely sounds interesting. You said he can't get the funding "cause the script is probably terrible". How do you figure?
The fact alone that it has a political element in it, is more than enough to scare most investors away.
The fact that it sounds like a horror B-Movie probably scared the remaining ones.

I do agree that sharing the profits would be more than fair, though. It could actually start a new trend in Hollywood, should the experiment give good results.

However, him not mentioning the possibility of profit sharing, doesn't necessarily mean he didn't consider it.
TeemSelami writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 12:34:39 AM

i would rather pay him to stop making movies. i haven't been impressed by him since dogma. kevin you fat loser go wear a XXXL baseball jersey somewhere else lard ass.
bale01289 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:01:31 AM

I love Kevin Smith and I really hope this movie gets made! Gonna keep MY money, of coarse, but if I had money to throw away at a cause....Keven would get it! Smith is the King of fan appreciation and also has the best dialog EVER! Personaly, I think this movie would be a welcome breath of fresh air.
BDeck writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:13:08 AM

Kevin smith has stated that he would create a independent movie fund to help people like him get there passions made. Of course he'll get his dough back but can't hurt right?
Ranger writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:29:11 AM

@BDeck - who would monitor the spending of such a fund... Kevin?

Oh... I need to lease a new Mercedes SLR to get around to meet all these Indie Director wannabes... and I need something reliable...

A public-created bank account managed by one person? Hmmm... no! We call people like that, Fund Managers. No thx.

thedudeman69 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:32:56 AM

If he actually made commerically sucessful movies, then he would be able to make the movie.
wonderBOY writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:41:21 AM

Should I put my $1 towards this or 1 second film
hoohoo3000 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:25:17 AM

Question: Don't we pay to make the movies anyway?

We pay money to see a movie which goes in the pockets of producers who then turn the money around to make more money?

The only difference here is we aren't getting anything out of the first transaction. We'll get to see a movie the second time we pay for it.
hoohoo3000 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:25:17 AM

Question: Don't we pay to make the movies anyway?

We pay money to see a movie which goes in the pockets of producers who then turn the money around to make more money?

The only difference here is we aren't getting anything out of the first transaction. We'll get to see a movie the second time we pay for it.
CornLord writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:32:57 AM

This article has it completely wrong. It wasn't Kevin's idea to have fans pay. Someone asked via Twitter and the idea spread. This just makes him sound like a douchebag, when really he's gotten even closer with his fanbase thanks to Twitter.
Ranger writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:39:03 AM

@Corn - yep... covered in the 2nd. post. No worries... no serious Smith haters here. And I'm sure he'd never get the licensing to set-up such a 'charity.' He's just getting some free attention (and good for him for doing so).
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:41:59 AM

Kevin Smith is a bad director. Whoops I said it. Fantastic writer, bad director. And I love all his movies. But. He's a bad director.

Anyway, he's rich enough to self-finance.
Ranger writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:47:47 AM

He is (wealthy enough to do so). Which is why I think this is just a publicity stunt (plus, as he's not offering an investment, I don't think (as I posted above) would get him a 'Charity License' to collect 'donations' from people).

A best friend of mine is a big Smith fan. And I'll watch his movies (but usually his older stuff), instead of f*cking a wool sock full of broken glass.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 2:48:03 AM

My name is Commander Shepard and this is my favorite store on the Citadel.
takai writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 3:36:45 AM

Anyone badmouthing Smith should go watch Clerks, and then come back and tell me the dude is desperate for money.

The man can make a living doing Q/A at colleges.

Also, he's not disrespecting anyone with the "Motherf*ckers" comment. That's just the way he talks. It's offensive to some, but he's not belittling anyone.

As for his idea,

I can't say that I'm all for him doing a horror movie, but if he thinks something is cool, it usually is.

(for the record, he has stated many times that he never thought chasing amy and jersey girl were cool)
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:03:00 AM

I'll give some money. But I would give more money for him to make another Jay and Silent Bob Flick
abhisal writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:56:36 AM

why can't he just sell advance tickets for the movie, you know, like donate 10 bucks and you get a ticket for the movie when it comes out or a booking for the dvd, or something similar. this could become a trend where people can pre-order movies they wnna see.

f*ck the studios!
alexgi writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:13:53 AM

abhisal actually has a good idea. When a new building goes up, apartments are sold before anything is actually built in order to cover some of the costs.

If we could pre-pay for "Red State" tickets at a bargain price, he can get his funding.
admordem writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:39:56 AM

This article is way off. Click the source link and read the source article. Contradicts have the things in this one. Who ever wrote this is an idiot. Fans came up with the idea. Even the spin on the weinstein company is kinda wrong, those guys just left mirramax, so dont have extra cash for risky or low return projects right now.
Reilly Mac writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:57:21 AM

You should at least try to get it right. It wasn't Smith's idea, it was several twitter fans who brought it up. He is going to match the money, so it isn't going to be totally fan based funding.
billofill writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:44:56 AM

Ranger if you know anything about Smith these day's in his Pothead Sloth faze that he's in. f*cker is on twitter all the time he doesnt even need to leave his bedroom to watch movies cause he has a 100inch HD tv given to him. Wait i was going somewhere with this.
thomas deadison writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:13:37 PM

Kevin responded, WP.

ThatKevinSmith
We know the real story so f*ck the made-up story. Wasn't my idea to fan-generate budget, but I'll match every $$$. So where's the "begging"?
about 10 hours ago from web

ThatKevinSmith
Via @coryangen "Kevin Smith is Begging for Money on the Internet Article is totally wrong" But... but it's on the INTERNET! s'GOTTA be true!
bacci40 writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:17:15 PM

ummm...not sure why worst previews is against this, but i think it is brilliant

he isnt taking advantage of his fans, he is allowing them to be a part of the process

and sh*t, i think ill send some money....cuz if it gets made, my name will go on imdb
thomas deadison writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:29:55 PM

Exactly. I've criticized Kevin Smith a lot, even recently, but this is a stupid article. I even remember when it happened on Twitter. Some guy was like, "What if we donate for Red State?" And Kevin responded, "Sure. I'll look into that."

He's not making anyone do anything they don't want to. And why the hell would the tickets have to be bargain-priced? This movie has absolutely ZERO commercial value as it is, and the prospects of it even being released wide are slim, let alone finding a distribution deal. Let him make it and fork up the 8 bucks if you want to watch. f*ck, some people are cheap, man.
Kal-El writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:16:49 PM

Kevin Smith is a f*cking hack.
vagos1268 writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 5:06:26 PM

i didn't know that i can be racist with fat people until i saw wacthmen!I HATE FAT PEOPLE!I HATE Kevin Smith.!
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 5:14:40 PM

@bill - lol.

Kevin should let us f*ck his wife for cash. I'd be up for that. It would be like: 'Hey... I'm f*cking fat Kevin's wife into a tizzy! I don't think her ass can take much more, and I don't care!' kind of a thing.
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 5:29:24 PM

$50 says Kevin has one (or several) of these:

http://loyalkng.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/comfort-wipe.jpg

thomas deadison writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:36:43 PM

Hey Alex, Kevin responded to this stupid trash article.

http://silentbobspeaks.com/?p=391
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 5:28:57 PM

Yeah... and nothing on renting out his wife.

Kevin... keep eating and running your comic store. Stick a fork in ya.

You're done (teasin' Bro... luv ya (and yer Wife!)).

thomas deadison writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 2:57:45 AM

Ranger, he talks about rimming his wife every day on twitter. Seriously. Also he doesn't run the comic store, Walt does!
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 7:31:59 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved