WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sony Pictures is the Highest Bidder for "Terminator" Rights

Posted: February 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sony Pictures is the Highest Bidder for "Terminator" RightsSubmit Comment
The Halcyon company is desperately trying to sell the rights to the "Terminator" franchise in order to save some of its other dying businesses. Unfortunately, there aren't too many interested buyers.

As a result, the company previously named Lionsgate as a stalking horse bidder, which means that Lionsgate will set the bar by making the first bid and will keep other bidders from low-balling the purchasing price.

The studio offered $15 million and 5% cut of future gross receipts. But on the last day of bidding (Thursday), Sony Pictures put in an offer that is likely higher than Lionsgate's.

The actual auction will take place on Monday and it looks like Sony will acquire the "Terminator" assets, which includes the rights to future films, TV series, DVDs and merchandise. It's still unknown how much Sony bid for the franchise, but Halcyon bought it for $30 million in 2007 and expected to sell it for $70 million.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 6:00:05 AM

I've got eight bucks if you throw in the mom from tv show.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:13:41 AM

I would throw in an extra 5 bucks if you share her with me. We'd be sure to win with that!
VDODSON writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:15:50 AM

Watch out Sony, we've got thirteen bucks riding on this sh*t.
j-man writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:25:14 AM

ive a packet of half eaten doritos...???
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:54:47 AM

nooo. they will just pg13 and kill it like spiderman. give it to lionsgate or fox or something else
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:30:15 AM

The next batch of Terminators will be powered by the PS3.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:32:17 AM

NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!
pnkntndr writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 10:32:45 AM

I'll toss in $25.78 for Summer Glau from the tv show
lawman writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:55:23 AM

ARI>>> You ever get my email address I left on another post for you?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:00:07 PM

BLU-RAY POWERED TERMINATORS WILL KICK ASS!!

Can't wait for Sony to "reboot" like Spider-man..."T-800: THE PRE-PUB YEARS"

Wonder if we'll see sparks when the Terminator beats his d*ck like it owes him money??
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:05:14 PM

What if Sony IS The Matrix?!

Oh, oh... we're all f*cked now!!!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:17:53 PM

@Ranger-You choose the Blu-ray disc and I show you how far the rabbit hole goes.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:30:05 PM

Is there really anywhere left for this thing to go? Like, really?
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:34:16 PM

@Money - I think so. If Cameron got a hold of the project. But I don't think he comes in to fix things like this franchise requires. They can go with virtually ANY storyline. Alternate time lines, etc. Pretty easy to clear up the whole clusterf*ck that is Terminator with one, really good solid movie.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 3:18:49 PM

good for Sony, now they can ruin another franchise ...

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 3:58:06 PM

Okay. I hope they make a movie.
FBO writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 4:23:57 PM

great, now they're going to reboot the franchise with one of the Jonas brothers playing the part of John Conners, Kathy Bates will play the mother and Michael Cera will be the Terminator.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 4:25:47 PM

@lawman - Yes. But that was last year, and since then I left it atwork and the bitch cleaning lady threw out my sh*t during the Christmas break! Give it to me again man!
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 4:30:09 PM

@Ari - What a bitch! You should f*ck her!
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 4:30:18 PM

(if you haven't already).
Supersweetguy writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 7:25:52 AM

If i got 150 bucks, guys i'll put all terminator on Superbit HD with THX....
lawman writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 10:19:10 AM

LAWMANFIG@AOL.COM
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 1:45:30 PM

Whatever, Cameron should have bought this franchise back to stop anymore milking of it. Such a shame.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved