WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Will You Get "Avatar" on DVD/Blu-Ray?

Posted: February 5th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Will You Get "Avatar" on DVD/Blu-Ray?Submit Comment
"Avatar" has already earned more than $2 billion, 70% of which came from 3D screens. I constantly hear people say that the movie is only enjoyable in 3D, and is terrible in conventional theaters. So what's going to happen when the film is eventually released on DVD/Blu-ray?

The plan is to dump the movie into stores only in 2D and then maybe release the 3D version when home theater technology catches up a bit. But would anyone be interested in purchasing a movie that's all about the visuals?

"Avatar" has already leaked online. It's also in 2D, and the resolution is terrible. I can't imagine that anyone would want to download this.

Question: "Avatar" is the highest grossing film of all time, but are you planning to get the 2D DVD/Blu-ray?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 72 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 5:35:12 AM

No
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 5:43:38 AM

ha
Bob82 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 6:11:29 AM

I don't own a Blu-ray, but yeah.
Lodead writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 6:25:27 AM

f*ck that, without the 3D Avatar will suck ass.
Sonic writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 6:33:52 AM

DVD don't have a Blu-ray player.
HannibalK1ng writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 6:51:04 AM

i will get the BD and rebuy when the 3d version is released
Sveppi writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 6:52:49 AM

Getting it on Blu-Ray.
VDODSON writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:05:09 AM

No, dont want to be even remotely associated with those d*ckface's talking about commiting suicide over a movie. It pains me to say it, but I hope they do. The world needs less idiots.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:09:00 AM

Get it? Yes. Buy it? No.
Ari Gold writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:11:54 AM

I would rather lick the herpes off a crack whores gash..
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:12:12 AM

I will get the 2D Blu-ray, and then later i΄ll get the 3D release.
Aido4258 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:21:13 AM

I'll get the Blu-Ray, then the 3D one when technology catches up.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:43:46 AM

f*ck that. i still need a bluray player anyways. f*ck avatar. and those idiots who kill themselves over a fake place go get help.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:05:29 AM

no f*ck no! i won΄t pay one more cents for this sh*t
————————–/ /)
———————–/—-/
——————–-/—-/
————-/΄/΄―`/΄―`•_
———–/’/–/—-/—–/¨―
——–(’(———- ―~/’–’)
———-————-’—–/
———-’’————_-•΄
-————-———–(
———-—–-———– f*ck YOU CAMERON
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:24:26 AM

BetaMax.
Kill-the-director writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:51:48 AM

will get the blu-ray then get the 3d version when it comes out. Even though I didnt like Avatar That much.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:14:12 AM

Liked the film but NO. Really, what's the point if I don't have a 3D tv. I'll probably wait another 10 years when they (3D tvs) go on sale at Best Buy for under $1000 then I might consider buying a $5 copy of Avatar. Then it will sit on my bargain basement shelf at the crib next to Hollow Man 2 and Rocky Balbao and collect dust.
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:51:41 AM

actually there's a dvd-quality version of it online now, taken from a dvd screener
TheStig writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 10:08:30 AM

Oh yeah! There is nothing I'd rather do than watch an extremely mediocre movie after it has lost the ONLY redeeming quality it has.
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 10:13:18 AM

Under 1000$? Are you a cheap f*cker? There΄s nothing better than paying full price and bringing it home. What are you, a student? Homeless?
Clarence Worley writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:19:41 AM

Only if it comes with an IMAX 3D theater and priced at 20... pesos.
pomme writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:26:51 AM

NO no No! i like to see again an original story and now i Hate the Blue!
warriors187 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:52:41 AM

i will get the BD and rebuy when the 3d version is released"//

This is just their way of making even more dough off of this blue piece of sh*t
The-BRAD writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 11:55:33 AM

No
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 12:06:34 PM

@Ari that was hilarious, I've already wasted the $12 to see it in theater, Im not goin to pay another $20-$25 to buy it when all I'll do is break it before I even get home
gtrip writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 12:11:52 PM

i would buy it. i saw it in 3D and in 2D and it was just as good in 2D.
Salvador writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 12:20:32 PM

Of course in DVD.

I already saw the 3D version in theaters 3 times.

Amazing!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 12:33:01 PM

Yeah it being in 3d is kinda half the point. Its like watching extended LOTR in fullscreen... f*ck that man. Story's not THAT good.

Though dammit Ill probably still buy it in 2d. Its so pretty... also how else am I gonna bate to the thought of Neytiri's hair tentacles invading my urethra?

ALSO, I like how people complain about too many Avatar articles and more just keep coming and coming, especially ones that arent news at all...
carl4prez writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 12:44:20 PM

I love how worst previews has a thing about hating AVATAR. I've yet to hear this site posta postitive thing. When it breaks records WP finds any excuse to say it's no big deal. And now WP claims people are constantly saying it sucks in 2D. Bull sh*t! I've seen AVATAR in every format as have dozens of people I know (plus I work at a theater that showed AVATAR in 2D) and I've heard nothing but good things. I constantly hear that whiole the 3D is like icing on the cake, in 2D it's just a sgood a s a film. We've had dozens if not more of people come out of AVATAR (all ages) saying how great it was. We even had a little old lady say it's the best thing she's seen in cinemas since movies got color! So in closing, WP needs to get off their bitch box and accept AVAATAR and get on with their lives. And yes, not only will I buy AVATAR in 2D on blu-ray, but I'll love it just as much as IMAX or 3D.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:03:40 PM

You know WP is using the illegal downloads as examples of the 2D version. I mean come on, seriously?! When the actual DVD comes out it's going to be spotless and clean. Now While of course I recommend the Blu-ray because it's the one that will most closely capture the sharpness James Cameron sought after when making the film, the 2D version will be extremely clean. You can't use illegal downloads as examples that have been ripped from DVD screeners, which that alone makes the copy that is ripped less than the original copy. I mean Spy Kids 3D was 3D and 2D and it was extremely clear on DVD. I'm just saying.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:03:58 PM

I own a Blu-Ray player (PS3) but the last Blu-Ray I've bought was The Dark Knight lol. 1080p Blu-Ray rips for me, I just don't have 24-35 to drop on a movie and I'm so tired of physical media.
paulina_0228 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:06:05 PM

nope, waste of money.
victor arroyo writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:15:17 PM

I have like 500 movies, including:

Funny People, Inglorious Basterds, District 9, Minority Report, Shawshank Redemption, Seven, 300, Watchmen, etc.

But I also have:

Crank 1&2, Fast & Furious, How High, etc.

so...I'll probably get it.

Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:24:51 PM

@victor...

So your answer is 'yes'?
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:30:08 PM

Burt Reynolds is on here... sweet!

Burt... what did the inside of Loni Anderson feel like (I mean ALL her holes bro!)? And don't leave out a single detail. Did you pull back on that amazing blond mane of her's whilst you rode her bareback? Was she a squirter?! (lie to me if you have to!).

Oh... Avatar... Blu-Ray. Hmmm, no - probably not.

VN1X writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:32:39 PM

There's no reason to get this in 2010 any time soon. The later editions will probably include all kinds of cool stuff to go in conjuction with the new 3DTV's.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:34:56 PM

"I love how worst previews has a thing about hating AVATAR. [blah, blah, blah] I've seen AVATAR in every format as have dozens of people I know [blah, blah] and I've heard nothing but good things. [blah, blah, blah] We've had dozens if not more of people come out of AVATAR (all ages) saying how great it was. We even had a little old lady say it's the best thing she's seen in cinemas since movies got color! [blah, blah, blah] And yes, not only will I buy AVATAR in 2D on blu-ray, but I'll love it just as much as IMAX or 3D."

- Says the idiot with an "Avatar" avatar. That's just beautiful.
You're just as redundant as the f*cking picture you chose.

BTW, the old lady that loved "Avatar"? That's not surprising.
The last time she had been to a theater, Larry King was still chocking the monkey!

I bet granny even wet herself, eh?


Idiot.
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:43:49 PM

"There's no reason to get this in 2010 any time soon. The later editions will probably include all kinds of cool stuff to go in conjuction with the new 3DTV's."

Yeah, you know with Fox theyre gonna release the dvd and blu-ray (regular and special 2-disc edition), then some sort of directors cut, then all over again in 3d and finally maybe two ultimate-editions around the release of the next movie. And all the hardcore fans will willingly submit and pay out the ass the whole way.
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 1:59:19 PM

@carl - are you being a bit over-sensitive.

I don't remember one thread WP started that slammed Avatar. They post the facts. Maybe it's without the Pandorian passion you' would like to see... but what do you want, a picture posted of WP licking Avatar's vagina?

It's the Posters on here that have been bashing Avatar. It's their right to do so, as it's your right to come here to defend the movie, as part of you is insecure enough to think it needs that defending (despite it's box-office take), or you're just full enough of yourself thinking your post will make the Avatar-haters see the light and come around to your opinion of the movie. Buddy... it ain't happening. Don't you have a BlueBlow.c*m site to shovel your love for this movie with the other Avatar fans on suicide watch?

If you need a widdle, hugsy-wugsy Bro... I'm here.

XOXO!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 2:16:35 PM

"a picture posted of WP licking Avatar's vagina?"

- It would have to be a picture of WP licking Avatar's ponytail.

But yeah, I bet that's carl4putz' dream.

The old lady that loved "Avatar"... WHAT A f*ckING JOKE!
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 2:19:48 PM

Yeah... probably her first movie outing since getting gangbanged on V-E Day!
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 2:36:15 PM

Who cares what old people think anyways, they're just so irrelevant. Save us our social security and die already!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 2:46:56 PM

@ MoneyHayabusa:

YOUR COUNTRY NEEDS YOU! (picture of Uncle Sam)
charmed23 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 2:52:59 PM

only if it is released on 3D Bluray
encoreyourface writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 3:15:07 PM

absolutely not. i tried watching it again and it was unbearable, it's more of a one time deal, kind of like a crack whore.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 3:56:48 PM

Maybe if I got a labotomy.
Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 4:37:25 PM

lol.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 5:01:45 PM

Spooky-lol
BigUnit writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 5:16:50 PM

Im buying a Blue-ray as soon as Avatar comes out. Strickly for that purpose
Jamall316 writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 5:26:04 PM

Blue Ray? What the hell is Blue Ray? I'm still rockin Laser Disk baby.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 5:50:32 PM

"Im buying a Blue-ray as soon as Avatar comes out. Strickly for that purpose"

Idiot.

Anyway, it'll be great to see the dvd sales of this, because of course it'll make massive piles of cash, but, just like titanic, when they can't watch the special effects since it's not on screen/3-D, people will have to pay attention to the story (or lack thereof) and, once again, just like Titanic, people will see this movie for the sh*t it is.
mjbodnarek@gmail.com writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 6:23:21 PM

HELL YEA! Best film of the year.
victor arroyo writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 7:17:50 PM

@ranger:
yes, I will buy it, the movie was fun.

But I'm not gonna make an ass out of my self by saying this is the best movie of the year, cause It's not, it was ok I guess, entertaining enough, like XXX, The Fast and The Furious or Never Back Down.
vwkombi writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 8:10:19 PM

Seen it once at the movies, kind of enjoyed it, never plan to watch it again if i can avoid it.

So no.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:01:54 PM

i'll definitley buy it on blu ray
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:40:31 PM

Peter parker, you are so good with words, and you are so f*cking funny. I want to be like you... you are a king among slaves.

You are so funny and everything you write is correct. Did i say you are funny?

I want to clean your glasses! I want to put all your comic books in alphabetical order. I want to make your face clean of pimples.
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:41:14 PM

Got damn Peter Parker is funny.
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:42:24 PM

i have somewhat diffrent ways of expressing my joy for your existence.

You are nr:1
Aingx writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 10:57:01 PM

Wouldn't watch that sh*t if they paid me.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 10:58:43 PM

Buddy, I'm not sure about putting my comic books in alphabetical order, but if you can do accounting, I may have something for you.


... accounting, or sex with animals.
I have projects that require some attention in both those fields.
vaodsi writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:26:35 AM

YES!
Ranger writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 1:52:14 AM

@carl4prez - I found the video of the old lady (after) enjoying Avatar you're talking about.

Is that you and your buddy trying to stay in her good graces so you don't get kicked out of her Will?

http://www.j*zzhut.com/videos/german-granny-162514.html
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:54:16 AM

Sex with animals, i΄ll take that! What animals are we speaking of? I don΄t want some cute pets to molest, i want the hideous animals.
Ranger writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 12:25:34 PM

There's the not so elusive Lohanoupagus!
mjbodnarek@gmail.com writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 4:21:41 PM

victor arroyo - XXX, The Fast and the Furious, and Never Back Down were all terrible movies/franchises. None of them have received any where near all the Critical and commercial recognition as Avatar has. Those movies will be forgotten, Avatar has an integrity about it that will last for many many years. It's situation more resembles Ben-Hur.
AvatarRULES writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 1:35:53 AM

Hey, hey, hello!
I'm an AVATURD!
Get angry, insult me, come on! Look at my nickname, it's just plain stupid!
Know what? AVATAR RULES, HELL YEAH!

No, really.
I just want to laugh at you, f*cking morons. It's really funny to see how angry you get at this stupid movie and its fans. And yet, you keep coming and coming and coming to every f*cking article of "Avatar".
You love it, don't you?
You must have a very sad life, or a lonely one, because you have nothing better to do than bashing "Dances with smurfs".
Get a life, or a job, have sex, do something important. It's sad to see f*cking monkeys like you people. Avaturds who wants to suicide should do it. And you should follow them.
Such a f*cking waste of oxygen.

I LOVED AVATAR SO SUE ME. I bet you will not resist to answer me. Poor miserable beings.
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 4:46:23 AM





'You must have a very sad life, or a lonely one'


You should talk.



KalVicious writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 2:39:22 PM

Yes, I'll get it. :)
lostwarrior writes:
on February 7th, 2010 at 7:04:46 PM

well the best posts go to PP and TRUMAN. and Burt your just kool as f*ck cuz your Burt . BUT PP and Truman, you two are f*cking on itlike blue bonnet.And regarding this film.Idownloaded it from home and well fell asleep not even half way thru it. So in other words NO NO NO. I would rather walk on to on coming traffic than watch that over hyped piece of sh*te unless the blu ray has megan fox getting gang banged or something like in it. And Cameron, please go back to your roots. IE make a another good action film with Arnold in it.... I mean that is what the people really want.
masht7 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:24:52 AM

Probaly rent 2d blu-ray and get 3d blu-ray. No way i'm watching this on dvd.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:55:34 AM

I'm definitely waiting for the Final Ultimate Extreme Edition Remix Directors Cut before I buy.... Which will probably about the sixth release of it.
MadHatter writes:
on February 16th, 2010 at 12:00:36 AM

I remember seeing some other movie on blu ray and it was in 3D, and it took away alot of the color in the movie, and the video quality and that honestly sucked watching it that way, so if anyting, when this movie gets released to stores that sell dvds and blu ray movies, i will be buying the 2D version of it. 3D really sucks for movies, i don't know why it is that even now, there are still movies in 3D, that is so boring already,they really need to leave 3D out of all movies. Why can't they just release movies in the way that regular movies are released, at least movies that are as big as avatar are good enough to be seen in only 2D and in IMAX theaters with out 3D being involved.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved