WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Watchmen" Sequel is a Possibility

Posted: February 4th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Watchmen" Sequel is a PossibilitySubmit Comment
"Watchmen" only made $185 million in theaters, which could be a reason why we haven't heard anything about a sequel. But according to BleedingCool, there is another reason.

Apparently DC Comics president Paul Levitz has been very protective of the property and has made sure that the comic book series didn't get a sequel, prequel or spin-off. But Levitz is now no longer in charge, and SVP/executive editor Dan DiDio has made it his personal mission to expand the franchise.

This means that a writer will soon be hired to begin work on new "Watchmen" comics, which could eventually lead to a new movie. And if Warners wants to get back director Zack Snyder, the film sequel better be based on the new comics, cause otherwise Snyder won't return.

"If they wanted to go and hire some guy to make them a sequel to 'Watchmen,' I don't know that they would get any of those actors to do it, and I know that I wouldn't have anything to do with it," he previously stated.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 67 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masKritic writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 5:56:51 AM

Impossible you can't just create a new story to something that's as great as the original comic.

You can't just grab a sequel out of mid air. i bet they want it in 3d too those f*ckin c*nts.
vwkombi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:18:32 AM

One thing that remained with me after reading Watchmen was the brilliant ending. It leaves it open to interpretation and discussion. I would not be interested in a sequel and i know many other fans would agree.

IF they must do something, how about a prequel depicting the rise and fall of the Minutemen? I thought i head about Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons discussing that as a possibility.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:21:57 AM

Stupid f*cks. I actually liked Watchmen, but there are no sequels possible to this. There are no loose ends to pick up on. Maybe a prequel, focusing on the Minutemen, but even that is a stretch.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:26:11 AM

A sequal?? NO!!
A Prequel?? Maybe!

I admire Snyder having the guts to say no to a sequal, he obviosuly knows making a sequal to a great comic book that has no need for a sequal is suicide!

I only say this, if Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons do a Watchmen sequal, i will be down with a second film.

But that raises two problems

One Alan Moore will never, never write a sequal to one of his comics that ended perfectly.

Secondly, he will never, ever write a comic book so they can make a film version of it. I assume most of you guys know how Alan Moore feels about Hollywood making his books into films.......he hates them all, but i have heard a rumour that he didn't mind the adaptation of V for Vendetta!
shayhiri writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:34:09 AM

Besides everything else, Watchmen BOMBED!!

The mere thought of a sequel is ridiculous, WP.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 7:35:23 AM

prequel would be nice i dont really no about a sequel. some sequels are better off left behind
Popcorn101 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 7:59:35 AM

whaaaat, i thought the first one was great! cant wait!
Kara writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 8:04:36 AM

Watchmen was the WORST movie of 2009.....
Eddie writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 8:31:30 AM

vwkombi - exactly. That ending was brilliant and a sequel would simply disgrace that. As a fan of the graphic novel, as well as the movie, I would not want to see a sequel to this. And Kara, there were plenty of movies that came in 2009 that were MUCH worse. Didn't Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, Mallcop, and Miss March come out in 2009 (to name a few)? Personally I put Watchmen on a top ten of 2009.
telur writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 8:48:10 AM

it just like The Blind Side make a sequel... hmmm maybe The Two Side will be good title, and watchmen sequel is watchwomen
telur writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 8:50:18 AM

it just like The Blind Side make a sequel... hmmm maybe The Two Side will be good title, and watchmen sequel is watchwomen
AYT BALL writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 8:59:57 AM

...............ok..........soooooo no thanks, no follow up
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:09:17 AM

Shame on DiDio...he of all people should realize how bad of an idea this would be. Alan Moore is gonna f*cking kill someone :)
Ranma-Irias writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:24:11 AM

f*ck no! I loved watchmen movie, but there can't be a f*cking sequel!
Bob82 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:26:15 AM

I've seen many people bashing "Watchmen" as well as many people defending it, so I just wanted to give my opinion: I thought it was a masterpiece. And they should leave it alone, because with time it'll become what it trully is. A classic.
Matiax writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:26:37 AM

FUUUUUUUUCK NO!

Didio's greed knows no limits...
bale01289 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:45:26 AM

Anyone who has read "The Watchmen", and not just seen the movie, is goin ape-sh*t right now, cause they know there is no possibility of a sequel! Leave this one alone, please, I beg of you, Hollywood. I loved the graphic novel. They will only screw this up, if attempted! Still wished they had kept the original ending in the movie....reading it the first time kinda mind-f*ck'd you for a few days. I say no way to another Watchmen movie!
barley_cat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:04:08 AM

I liked watchman, but as you said Freudian, there is no way this can be followed, and a Prequel? Hmmm i hope not. This film is a one-hit wonder, NOT meant to be ruined by its succesor.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:04:12 AM

theyre talking about a sequel, and next thing you know they will be talking about a damn remake! Watchmen was an incredibly good adaptation and shouldnt be tampered with!
RickPeters writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:21:08 AM

The Watchmen movie was a piece of sh*t. The comic book is basically the characters standing around, talking about ideas and philosophical issues. That works because it's a book. But a direct translation to a movie amounts to almost three hours of people dressed like idiots trying to talk about philosophy. It gets unwatchably boring.

Plus Zack Snyder can't direct to save his life. He's never made a good movie.
barley_cat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:25:07 AM

I value you opinion Peters, but I think you're wrong, the film was very well made and the directing made half the film. It was a unique style that wowed a lot of people. I've never read the comic book, but i enjoyed the film.
MattC903 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:30:08 AM

nononononononononononononononono NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:42:02 AM

@Bale - you are right I have read watchmen and they need to leave it the f*ck alone.
RickPeters writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:45:07 AM

I understand barley_cat. (I also appreciate you maturely disagreeing with me, it's rare.)

I think if you read the book first, you might've been bored too. I think that's why I was so bored. Since I knew the plot of the comic, the direct adaptation didn't offer anything new, so it was like having someone read the comic to me.
bale01289 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:56:40 AM

@Rick - I can see why your opinion rests as it does. I, on the other hand, enjoyed the movie for the exact things you didn't like it for. I thought the movie was very well made and stayed, for the most part, VERY true to the graphic novel. Anyone who was expecting a all out, fight-fest in the Watchmen were disapointed, cause they didn't know a lot about the novel. The novel was political and touched on many social views and issues that occur daily. True, it was basicly scene for scene, same angle, same dialog straight from the book. Not for everyone, which is perfectly fine, but I think Fans of the book are gonna revolt if they try to make another one. That, Rick, would be very hard to watch (for me, lol)
Green Mist writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:00:56 AM

Oh my god, you won't believe what these fan f*cking boys reaction is. They should just do it....and i agree i bet the studios want it in f*cking 3d.
bale01289 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:04:40 AM

Vins back!
barley_cat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:24:35 AM

No prob Peters, i see no need on slating an opinion unless it's utterly needless!
I know what you mean though, I hate book to screen adaptations that do nothing for the original books. I.e Harry Potter, or Twilight lol. (ok crap examples as they were meant to be crowd-pleasing instead of meaning to do justice for the books)

My sister's Keeper is a good example, that film did no justice for Jodi Piccult, they completely changed the damn ending and completely ignored the big issues Piccult included!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:14:37 PM

Like Bale and Barley, I also like the almost page-to-screen adaption Zack did. It shows that he cares and have understanding of the original comic, something other directors could try.
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:22:17 PM

JESUS CHRIST, what's next?....a sequel to Citizen Kane?!!?...This is gettin' to be ri-goddamn-diculous!! LEAVE IT ALONE!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:31:53 PM

Citizen Pain: The Resurrection of Kane
bacci40 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:36:37 PM

only 185 mil

funny, but that sounds like the movie made a profit

if dc attempts to make prequels or spinoffs, the backlash will be huge
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:38:53 PM

Wacthmen? The the sequel would be...

(yes, I'm gonna say it, and nobody can stop me...)

WATCHWOMEN!!!

barley_cat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:40:49 PM

What's wrong with watchWOMEN? Huh? You all know that You rule the roost boys, but us girls rule the rooster!

Keep that in mind :)
Salvador writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:41:45 PM

@Peter Parker

WATCHWOMEN???

I like that!

Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:42:20 PM

(and now, even better, without misspelling)

Watchmen? Then the sequel would be...

(yes, I'm gonna say it, and nobody can stop me... again...)

WATCHWOMEN!!!


Next, I'm gonna try juggling knives on a unicycle.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:44:52 PM

@ Salvador:

We all do, buddy... we all do...

Fingers crossed for Watchwomen to happen!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:46:31 PM

@ barley:

Hey, I'm a modern man, I don't mind the bossy woman who wants to be in charge.

If she comes with a whip, leather boots and willing to take it up the toosh, even better!
bale01289 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:54:43 PM

@barley - Lol, I think I just got an eBoner!
barley_cat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:55:14 PM

Oh Stop it Peter, you BAD boy...
barley_cat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:56:27 PM

Bale, talk to Parker, he's got big Genes in his Jeans, maybe he can help you out :P
eddie499 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:01:10 PM

No. Absolutely not. No. Leave it be.
bale01289 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:09:51 PM

@barley - lol, you just earned yourself a stalker, my dear! I love a woman that can hang with the fellas and talk trash with the best of 'em!
barley_cat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:16:23 PM

Aw awesome, i'm touched, honestly lol. I've always been more of a mans girl than a girls girl.

Honestly, that isn't meant to sound sexual in any way (parker).
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:21:37 PM

... the thought didn't even cross my mind!
takai writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:24:30 PM

I really don't care what they do. I mean, I won't support a sequel, but neither will Snyder.

If they DO make a new film, it's going to be based off of new comics in a new time period and it will completely destroy what made Watchmen great. Yeah, that'll go over well with comic book fans.

Me and my Ultimate Cut aren't going to lose any sleep over this.
MatchesMalone writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:24:49 PM

Worst. Idea. Ever.
Joker1282 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:51:53 PM

...it will be called "WHAT IF WATCHMEN"
-dont care didnt like this movie...
bale01289 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:55:08 PM

@bale - Note to self.....place barley_cat in the "Cool Book".

@bale - Another note to self......place Justin Mentell in "Cool Book".
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:59:26 PM

LOL. Snyder you're a joke. Like losing any of those damn actors would be a loss, it would do the next film more good. Plus I'm sure if there was a quality script-- something you know nothing about-- they would jump at the opportunity. I mean Jackie Earl is doing what... Human Target and Freddy... yeah.


As for the idea itself... dumb as rocks.
GIST writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:00:24 PM

@Peter Parker

WATCHWOMEN! Hilarious.

It's where the remaining Watchmen become perverts and Watchwomen undress.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:00:31 PM

f*ck no. Snyder done as well as anyone could with the source material and to create another book or film without Alan Moore being involved would be suicidal.
GIST writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:01:36 PM

Chuck Norris just signed to be an extra on Watchwomen.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:12:49 PM

Damn, late for this conversation. I thought watchmen was watchable, but like PP and bale, I'd much rather watch women...

@barley... quick question, if girls rule the rooster, is that like a euphemism for command the c*ck???
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 3:09:19 PM

They'll more than likely put the sequel in 3-D so that Dr. Manhattan's massive dong will comes off the screen and gives the the crowd a radioactive mushroom punch.
Aido4258 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 3:47:54 PM

NO, leave it as it is, don't destroy the greatness of the graphic novel.
simplytyson writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 5:01:35 PM

how bout no the first one wasnt even good
billofill writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 5:18:37 PM

Watchmen Babies in V for Vacation can become a reality YAYYYYYYYYYYYY.
vwkombi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 5:39:50 PM

@ Kara

Whilst i can completely understand that you didn't like Watchmen (are you familiar with the novel?). Really how can you can you call Watchmen the worst movie of 2009. Did you not see Terminator: Salvation, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, GI Joe, Wolverine, Land of the Lost, All About Steve, Twilight 2?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:20:15 PM

@ACTIONFIGURE- lol, that's true.

also the reason why the graphic novel/film was so good was because it had Rorschach in it and
(SPOILER ALERT)

he died at the end of the first, and he was certainly the coolest of the whole cast of characters so unless they get some-body cooler then him (which is unlikely) then please, leave this alone.


also a squeal would be horse-sh*t if they didn't get Alan Moore to to a graphic novel first, or help with the script for the film.

encoreyourface writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:21:16 PM

*sequel, not squeal ... lol.
RickPeters writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:47:29 PM

@Bale and @barley: I see where you guys are coming from. Obviously, I don't feel the same way, but I definitely understand why you did in fact enjoy Watchmen.

Also, I dunno what more to say since it seems like any actual talk about Watchmen has been taken over by talk of Watchwomen haha
Sveppi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:57:22 PM

This is a bad idea.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:33:38 PM

who the f*ck cares/would see that
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:40:20 PM

Watchman came out long after my time in comics.

The movie:

Loved 'the look' of it. The old-age characters.

I thought the story dragged on a bit. They could have taken out half an hour easy.

Dr. Manhattan is amazing. He's pretty much a God... so talk about no limits on the story writing. They would have to make the sequel something so big... I mean, were this Marvel, Dr. Manhattan could give Galactus a run for the money.

That's my thoughts from a long time (ago) comic collector, that doesn't know thing 1 about Watchman other than having seen the movie.
NorCalDre writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 5:44:55 AM

I think if they made a sequel to Watchmen that didn't come from Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons I would literally puke. I absolutely loved the movie and graphic novel (actually liked the ending better in the movie). It's a shame when people in positions to make these kinds of movies put money in front of maintaining the integrity of classics like Watchmen. I'm sure they make up all sorts of lies to tell themsleves how they are "expanding" on the story for the benefit of the fans, so they can sleep at night while dreaming of the next Ferrari the are going to buy with the money they make.
HOCK writes:
on February 9th, 2010 at 4:59:27 PM

I would be somewhat open to it but you can't without Rorshach, and you can't really bring him back either..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved