WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Captain America" Director is Not a Comic Book Fan

Posted: February 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Captain America" Director is Not a Comic Book FanSubmit Comment
"The First Avenger: Captain America" director Joe Johnston (Wolfman, Jumanji) sat down with Sci-Fi Wire to talk about the status of the new film and the direction he wants to take it in.

"We need to cast it soon," said Johnston. "We have a very short list, but we're still juggling actors here. I'd say within the next couple of weeks we'll have ourselves a Captain America, I hope."

He added that the film is still "fairly early" in pre-production, but will likely go in front of the cameras by the end of June. "We're getting ready to go to the UK, it looks like," he said.

Regarding the story, Johnston said: "While I'm not necessarily a comic-book fan, I think the interesting thing about this guy is that he's a superhero without any superpowers. He is the epitome of human perfection. He can't fly and throw tanks around and see through walls and things like that, but he's strong and runs fast."

"And the interesting thing about this guy is that he starts out as a 98-pound weakling and he becomes this Adonis. How does that affect his arc in the story? How does that affect where he goes and what happens to him and everything? I think that's the part of the story that was fascinating for me. And, of course, being a Marvel movie, there's fantastic action scenes in it and all kinds of great stuff. But there's an interesting story there as well."

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 114 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:22:35 PM

He. Has. Super Powers. He keeps saying this. God, this guy is retarded. Cap isn't Batman. He's a SUPER soldier. He has f*cking powers. He didn't go to the gym for a few weeks. Glad he finally admitted he's not a fan, at least now I know why he's a dumbsh*t.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:28:22 PM

Worst Previews Poster s Not a Captain America Helmer's Fan
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:29:13 PM

f*cking stupid.

Scrooge is right, the super-soldier serum COUNTS AS A f*ckING POWER. in about a minute he turns from weakling to perfection, and comes straight from this guys own mouth and he says he has no super-powers?

"he starts out as a 98-pound weakling and he becomes this Adonis"

the dude said it himself!

you don't have to fly or stuck to walls to count it as a power.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:34:51 PM

the guy who directed Batman & Robin thought The Thing broke Batman's back, not Bane ... imagine what this guy will do ...
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:38:59 PM

*stick not stuck ...
Aleksandar The Great writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:44:11 PM

Captain America, promoting steroids since WWII.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:11:35 PM

Encoreyourface is wrong

Spiderman doesn't have any powers, he was just bitten by a spider!

The Hulk doesn't have any powers, he just gets angry and needs gravol!

The green lantern doesn't posess any powers, just a ring!

Like gosh people, dont you no nothing about superheroes?!

U GUYZ SHULD WATCH AVATAR ND TWILITE IF U WANNA SEE REEL POWARZ XD
Kurskij writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:12:46 PM

wow, he's strong and runs fast! mystery solved - captain america is lebron james!

so basically, Joe thinks that CapAm is just a some guy who recently discovered gym, steroids, plastic surgery and rock-band queen - hence muscles, looks and unexplainable love for wearing tights.

encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:14:19 PM

@Spooky-lol
TheHundreds writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:18:39 PM

Not a bad thing. It's not like he's not gonna do research. The Rocketeer was a sick movie back in the day and jumanuji blew my mind so I'm likin this guy and where he wants to take the story.
c-prime writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:26:08 PM

Reading this article, I am immediately reminded of the Tim Burton/Batman commentary from "An Evening with Kevin Smith". I think Smith's sentiments could be effectively applied to this abysmal situation. "I would never degrade myself by reading a comic book..." Priceless.

I'm not a Captain America fan and this news story definitely doesn't inspire faith that it might be a good flick. But then again, nothing Joe Johnston is involved in ever does.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:29:29 PM

@TheHundreds wrote "It's not like he's not gonna do research."

God forbid he should research the main character in a movie he's directing.


jeffw1978 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:56:50 PM

Research Takes too long and keeps them away from their cocaine addiction
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:57:17 PM

"he's a superhero without any superpowers. He is the epitome of human perfection. He can't fly and throw tanks around and see through walls and things like that, but he's strong and runs fast."


this guy is a dumb sh*t brother-f*cking moron, it takes literally seconds to go from a 98 pounds whimp to the peak of human perfection...at lest we know hes not a fan, me thinks that the studio is helping him out with this project so we get a good cap movie
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:01:58 PM

@jeff-lol

@skatemaster- i agree
TheHundreds writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:08:04 PM

i dont get what you guys are saying the mans a director he knows what to do...the rocketeer was a comic book adaptation and it was done superbly. The "epitome of human perfection" is exactly what the super soldier serum was supposed to do in CA #1. Nothing here suggests Johnston shouldn't be able to do this effectively.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:16:38 PM

i never said it was gonna blow, i said i was concerned about it.

i'm sure when it's all done and filmed it'll be fine, but if he did more research it could be closer to the comics.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:26:47 PM

I say it's gonna blow, you know why?

1. I'm cynical
2. Christopher nolan knew his batman and made 2 solid films
3. Schumacer had no prior knowledge of source material, and had two sh*tty films

He who knows source makes good movies, he who doesn't is a fagget.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:33:19 PM

lol.


it might be sh*t compared to Captain America comics, but i'm not saying it'll be a bad film all together.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:34:42 PM

i'm mean whoever made FF f*cked it in the ass putting Doom on the space shuttle with the team among other things, but as a movie it wasn't all bad (not compared to source material)
Lordchristo writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:58:46 PM

Wow. Just wow. I don't think I've heard of such overkill in a while. The guy said specifically what he was talking about with the powers reference. Did you people even read the article? He can't throw tanks and see through walls. He can't do ANYTHING a normal person couldn't do. Which is the truth. This whole movie is about some dude taking steroids, and that's it. He's not flying, sticking to walls, or shooting laser breams from his eyes. Settle the f*ck down, people.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:14:01 PM

@LordChriso - Wrong. Normal people can't do sh*t compared to Cap. When Buddy took over as Cap for a while he was like "sh*t, this shield is f*cking heavy" and he was in some good ass shape. And in Civil War when Cap fights Spider-Man, he's like "Holy sh*t, I'm even having trouble fighting this guy, I
m probably gonna lose." He can do sh*t no normal person could ever dream of. I'm sure he'll make a good movie, it's just troubling when the director clearly doesn't know the character well. And that's the way the cookie crumbles.
Lordchristo writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:17:37 PM

@Scrooge - Oh, I see you're a comic reader. Then it would be safe to assume you know that 'Buddy' is actually 'Bucky'. Am I right? Anyways, back to your 'point', the shield was made for Steve Rogers, specifically. Other people find it odd to hold because IT'S NOT MADE FOR THEM. Also, Spider-Man, for all his powers, is a sissy, and wouldn't dare strike someone like Captain America, the symbol of. . . wait for it. . . America. He holds back, that's what he does. Try again.
Lordchristo writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:19:15 PM

Actually, I'm sorry I brought this up, it's obvious you're all stuck in your ways. I do enjoy the anger on this site often, but Jesus, sometimes in sent in the wrong direction. Hey, look, Lohans' vagina! That'll distract you.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:23:49 PM

LoVag??? Where??
Foop writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:29:38 PM

I hate to be the nerd here, but Captain America does NOT have super powers folks. Not in the technical way; he is at the peak of human perfection in every category (prowess, flexibility, charisma, strength, hearing, etc.), but technically not superhuman. that's what the supersoldier serum did; it elevated him to NEAR superhuman status, but he's still human, and he's the only one.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:36:17 PM

He really doesn't have super powers guys. OK it is pretty super for him to go from McLovin to Dolph Lundgren in 1.2 seconds, but after that ended, no more super powers. Does that mean he is just like some olympic athlete? No of course not, Joe Johnston said it himself, he's the epitome of human perfection. Which means some biologist and anthropologist will be able to look at the human body and break down what the strongest a person could possibly be, the fastest, the best nervous system reaction time a person could have, etc. and tell Joe, "Cap should be able to do: this, this, this, and that. These other things over here would be beyond his reach." Now is that the course Joe Johnston will take?? Probably not. If we're lucky he'll do a little tiny iota of research and look in that Marvel Guide thing they came out with when I was a teenager, the one with all the card pages that went into a binder, and look at the official Marvel breakdown of what Cap can do. Lift 1 ton, Run 20 MPH whatever if it was (I don't remember). Just because of the way he became what he is doesn't mean he has super powers. And even if going from a little bitch to being the perfect human specimen was a super power, it wouldn't mean anything, because after the first time it happens he doesn't go back to being a little bitch, he stays the ultimate human all the time. The whole point of differentiating if he has a power or not would be if he was going to use the power intermitently (I'm not sure how to spell that). If it's on all the time, and all he is is the maximum of human development, than that's not a super power, it's just being the maximum of human development.
Kenny writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:41:02 PM

"Spider-Man, for all his powers, is a sissy, and wouldn't dare strike someone like Captain America, the symbol of. . . wait for it. . . America. He holds back, that's what he does. Try again."

Not really. Spider-Man had to face CA several times, actually, and it was always a hard challenge for SM to overcome. And he wasn't holding back, despite of what you said.
If you want to discuss what constitutes "powers" or "super powers", that's different. To say CA has no powers is to ignore numerous occasions when he did things that were completely impossible for a normal human being, no matter how well trained one can be.
Lordchristo writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:47:17 PM

Oh Jesus f*cking Christ! It's stated in New Avengers, when Spider-Man and Cap ARE STANDING NEXT TO EACH OTHER that Spider-Man also holds back and would never hurt Cap. IT'S f*ckING TALKED ABOUT! IN THE f*ckING COMIC! And he's the peak of human perfection. He's never shown doing something a perfect human can't do! BECAUSE THAT'S WHAT HE DOES! What the f*ck are you retards even arguing about! Jesus f*ck, I'm done with you idiots.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:55:30 PM

I'm still looking for Lohans vagina. don't say it's there if you can't produce it pal.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:07:48 PM

Spidey versus Caps? That's been properly doc*mented and everybody knows what happens.
It's all here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4SVLNylpD0
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:13:47 PM

didn't cap ever appear in those 70's spiderman movies???
HideousSecretion writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:20:32 PM

Joe Johnston = "I don't have a f*cking clue about Captain America, but they offered me a big fat paycheck so f*ck it! Here comes some cartoony bullsh*t with rubber nipples bitches! Maybe I'll be too busy snorting coke off a hooker's ass to f*ck up Captain America too badly."
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:22:36 PM

I really don't think Marvel will allow sh*t to get too out of control.
telur writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:45:09 PM

hey, where is ranger? He's not post a comment yet
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:56:16 PM

He's probably off somewhere having one of those life things. I think I'm about to go get one myself
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:58:29 PM

Eben, what is this "life things" you speak of?
What strange concepts are you trying to slip into this website, mister?
eximius007 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:06:40 AM

so if he thinks he knows what he is doing, he will put Eric Bana in? oh wait didn't he do a marvel movie, and didn't that get horrible ratings
pnkntndr writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:14:18 AM

@PP

Was it just me or were those Cap and Spidey toys placed in some anal love positions?
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:30:29 AM

@ pnkntndr:

LOL!

Yeah, the kid that was playing with them probably couldn't find his Barbie doll, so he used what he had, I guess...

He's now a successful public figure and calls himself Ryan Seacrest.
Aingx writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:34:56 AM

Makes me very nervous for the future Avengers movie......If Capt. America sucks then it'll put a damper on the whole thing.
GIST writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:40:41 AM

Wow. The discussions and quarrels in this thread is really interesting at the point where I am leaving myself out of it.
I give you my salutes to Scrooge McDuck, Lordchristo, Eben1277 & Peter Parker. Now, I'm out of here. I'll just continue reading.

@TheHundreds

You haven't responded back to me whether you were the store in Fairfax, LA. Or just a fan of the brand. Hollerback!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:02:58 AM

Thank you GIST, thank you.
pnkntndr writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:08:20 AM

@PP

hahaha that explains everything! I have to admit that I was a huge fan of the climax of the video. Spider-Man blows his "webbing" all over Cap's chest and exclaims "Yay!"
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:08:45 AM

@cupcake
look you have to look at the whole picture, in schumukers films warner bros was the studio working on it, and while they do own DC Comics...they have been living with there heads up there asses sans the last few years (besides Superemo Returns). in this case the studio is Marvel so you bet your ass there gonna make sure this is done right(after all its there character, and if there paying for it they want the most bang for there buck) so there is no need to worry. were just concerned that this directer is only focusing on Caps physical atributes and missing is intelectual atributes
GIST writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:18:45 AM

@Eben1277

Hey man, no problem. It's cool that once and awhile that all of us in this WP community ramble off-topic and talk about irrelevant subjects relating to one's membrane or orifice. But at the same time, it can get really saturated. So it's hard to ever find a discussion where it's an on-point back-to-back debate.
Everybody here has the gift of gab, which is f*cking awesome to read. It really shows that we are passionate about our creative writing as well as our written altercations. I enjoy reading everybody's quips on certain news. It's better than Mas†urb†ing, and that's my profession and middle name.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:19:07 AM

He is the epitome of human perfection and goes by the name Captain America. Is it just me or does this sounds utterly stupid and dangerously patriotic?

And if he has no super-powers, why would he be the leader of the Avengers? He can just run around and be a slightly superior human (nazi?) while the others can do all kind of sh*t.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:22:07 AM

plus cupcake i think the wb and dc work seperatly if im not mistaken i dont fallow dc that much
TheHundreds writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:24:08 AM

@eben there actually was a 70s-80s captain america movie. very, very bad...very, very cheesy.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:26:42 AM

Freudian, he is the leader because in addition to being a physically perfect human he's a tactical genius as well as a master of hand to hand combat, and his shield is indestructible.
TheHundreds writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:26:57 AM

actually its from 1990 which means theres no excuses and you can watch it herehttp://www.imdb.com/video/hulu/vi4053009433/
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:27:57 AM

Hundreds, I saw the sh*tty 90's Captain America when he was riding around Italy in a piece of sh*t little fiat chasing after the Red Skull.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:29:23 AM

We have to be talking about the same one
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:29:50 AM

@ GIST:

And just to show how much respect I have for the topic:

M.C. Hammer learned the hard way that Chuck Norris can touch this.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:30:11 AM

Also:

Chuck Norris can play the violin with a piano.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:30:28 AM

And:

Chuck Norris can strangle you with a cordless phone.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:31:18 AM

And finally:

Chuck Norris beat Halo 3 on legendary with a guitar hero controller.
GIST writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:36:41 AM

@Peter Parker

See! That's what I'm talking about!
But wait...

I thought Chuck Norris beat Halo 3 with the RockBand Drumkit?
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:36:51 AM

chuck noris doesnt do pushups he pushes the ground in
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:37:55 AM

Chuck Norris doesn't walk on water...

He wades through land!
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:38:28 AM

Chuck Norris thinks COC is a retard...

Who are we to argue?!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:39:15 AM

Chuck Norris can win in a game of "Connect 4" in 3 moves.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:39:44 AM

And Bruce Lee still whooped his ass
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:40:25 AM

COC can't win a game of "Connect 4" against himself.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:41:03 AM

... but Bruce Lee is now dead!

Coincidence? I think not!
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:41:09 AM

chuck noris once beat mike tyson with his pinky fingure
encoreyourface writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:44:03 AM

@PP -lol!!

Chuck Norris will never have a heart attack. His heart isn't nearly foolish enough to attack him.

Chuck Norris is the reason why Waldo is hiding.

Chuck Norris doesn't breathe, he holds air hostage.

The best part of waking up, is not Folgers in your cup, but knowing that Chuck Norris didn't kill you in your sleep.
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:45:00 AM

LOL!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:46:08 AM

Bruce Lee's not dead, he's frozen, and they're going to thaw him out as soon as the economy gets better... can anyone tell me what movie that's from?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:47:15 AM

Chuck Norris does not hunt because the word hunting infers the probability of failure. Chuck Norris goes killing.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:48:49 AM

Chuck Norris doesn't hunt, animals just walk up to him and drop dead
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:52:21 AM

"can anyone tell me what movie that's from?"

- "D.C. Cab".
"Forever Young", "Vanilla Sky" and "Abre los Ojos" could be applicable too, although not word by word.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:53:37 AM

@ encore:

But Chuck Norris did have a heart attack once.
The heart lost.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:53:49 AM

Eben-lol!

GIST writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:54:26 AM

@Peter Parker, Ranger, & encoreyourface

L-Oh f*ckin'-L
You guys gotta stop my f*ckin' sides are hurting!
I'm making so much noise that I don't want to be in the Folgers in Chuck Norris' cup right now.
GIST writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:56:08 AM

Chuck Norris is my spellcheck.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:57:12 AM

Peter Parker, A+ on movie trivia, DC Cab is the winner!! Now don't let your d*ck run your life, that's Mr. Rythms good advice. Just saved your ass. Only cost you a quarter.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:59:59 AM

That's exactly what us fans want to read when they're months away from shooting. A director us fans are kinda needing to hear more from to trust telling us he isn't a comic fan but is doing a comic movie. I'll bet ang lee wasn't a comic fan and look how hulk turned out.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:03:44 AM

I'll leave you guys with this as I run out for a minute. What classic 80's comedy also featuring Paul Rodriguez revolved around him and his con man friend attending etiquette school?
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:19:02 AM

lawls I said Buddy instead of Bucky. I'm retarded. Too much Santa Buddies what can I say.
FBO writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:44:16 AM

Also the writers decided that instead of a movie about a superhero they would just film the american president raping america.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 3:03:30 AM

lol.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 3:18:15 AM

then f*ck him very hard
tolgaboy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 3:18:16 AM

then f*ck him very hard
Shogo1307 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 4:36:38 AM

Blond Hair Blue Eyes Tight Butt Firm Thighs! These are the things that make a perfect german...... err i mean Captain America
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:26:46 AM

"Blond Hair Blue Eyes Tight Butt Firm Thighs"

... I'd f*ck that! Twice!
Johnny Neat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:47:06 AM

Matthew McConaughey is Captain America. Plus he should look like the Ultimates' Captain America combat boots and all.

f*ck I'm worried for this movie. Johnson better hope Wolfman doesn't suck and he starts reading some f*cking Captain America comics asap.

p.s. Jon Hamm is a runner up behind Matthew, take note.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:06:39 AM

If that McConaughey is Cap, I'll stab my eyes out. Cap needs to be a badass, not some hillbilly homo.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:57:38 AM

This movie is sounding less and less promising by the minute. Batman would kick this steroid freak's red white and blue ass :-)

But seriously, I saw Jon Hamm the other day in some sh*tty film (the Day the Earth Stood Still I think) and I wasn't that impressed. He's not a bad actor, but he doesn't exactly scream superhero either. I hate to say it but McConaughey actually does fit the bill better (I can't believe I'm saying this). He already looks the part and I know its hard to believe but he used to be a pretty damn good actor. He was great in A Time To Kill, Amistad, Reign of Fire, U571, Lone Star, Dazed and Confused, We Are Marshall, Tropic Thunder, and Frailty. Its all this Failure To Launch Fool's Gold crap that makes him look like an idiot now.

As for Cap being a cowboy, I ask you, what's more American than that?!?! This is a great opportunity for the director to take a new spin on the superhero genre by making the Cap undeniably American. A country accent does this better than anything else without having to get arrogant. Then, add in the fact that MM would put butts in the seats (especially females) and would have no problem doing sequels. You've got a real franchise there with a new distinctly American kind of a superhero. He might be the BEST choice for the role.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:02:32 AM

@Ranger, PP, and Eben: what yall think of that^^? I know its somewhat sickening but very true!
Green Mist writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:10:51 AM

Oh my god....Joe is a living c*nt. How can he say that...CA does have powers and he can lift a tank. My god.

But then again I don't know where I stand...i can't say that I am a major comic fan myself just in the middle.
Green Mist writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:17:38 AM

Joe is just a c*nt..i bet i could make a better film. And this movie will drop like a bomb over hiroshima because who the hell wants to see red and blue tighted c*ck running around..not me and not the rest of the world besides texas.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:22:50 AM

Didn't Superman wear red and blue tights?
hobbes3000 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:28:19 PM

I just hope he doesn't pull a Schumacher on it.
If he does, that's it for comic movies
Green Mist writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:43:21 PM

@SA Caddy.

Superman did...his films still sucked giant balls.
Green Mist writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:47:10 PM

I agree with you guy above. Superheroes have been on a string of late. The last good film was TDK. Since then even last year and before TDK have all been manure. Wolverine respectively.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:10:24 PM

@ SAC:

Is respect to Johh Hamm being a possibility for the Cap role, like I said about a week ago, I don't see it, at all.
I don't know why anybody would even think of him for the part.
I mean, it's gotta be the chin, it's the only thing that reminds me of Cap in him. Other than that, I don't see it.
If they'd give Hamm's chin a suit and a shield, maybe the chin could play Cap by itself.
Other than that, Hamm doesn't convince me.

Regarding McConaughey, he'd bring to the table the same qualities as Brad Pitt would (I suggested Pitt some time ago).
Both would make the movie much more appealing to a wider audience, other than the one normally targeted by the studios for a super hero movie.
McConaughey, specifically, would have to do something about his accent. Despite of the fact that I can't think of anything that feels more American than a cowboy from Texas, fact of the matter is that Cap is supposed to have been born in Manhattan. Not that hiding a southern accent would be a difficult thing for McConaughey to do, he's an actor and I'm sure he could pull it off. Regardless, I'm not even sure if Johnston is willing to preserve characteristics such as the accent in the movie, so maybe that wouldn't even be a problem at all.

The two major problems I see with McConaughey being Cap are age and star power.

Age because, from what I could gather until now, it seems they're starting the story from the WWII period, so they need someone in his early 20's, like Cap was at that time.
McConaughey is 40, it's a bit of a stretch, despite of his good shape and young looks. Pitt would have the same problem there.
Also, they'll need the same actor for the sequels and possible participation in "The Avengers", among other movies that could derive from there, so a young actor could age along with the part and the release of future movies.

His star power could hurt the movie as well, just as much as it could help it commercially-wise. How much of the movie would be revolving around McConaughey himself, instead of it being about Cap? Again, with Pitt they could have the same problem, if not worse.

I feel that a fresh face is what this movie needs.
But I wouldn't be disappointed, at all, if they went with Pitt or McConaughey.

What I'm worried about, is the fact that Johnston seems to be in the dark about the source material. I'd like to see someone that grew up with the comics doing this movie, someone who could be excited about it, not only from a filmmaker's perspective, but also as a fan of the character and the whole fictional universe that surrounds Cap.

... but that's just me.


On a different note, Chuck Norris personifies Captain America.
I just had to say that...
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:13:54 PM

'I'm worried about, is the fact that Johnston seems to be in the dark about the source material.' --- my concern exactly!

Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:30:15 PM

I think McConaughey would be an awesome Cap, the dudes one of my favorite actors, and doesn't deserve the bashing he gets on here. If I could be anyone else other than me, I would probably want to be him. But that's only because Bruce Lee's frozen, and I hate the cold.

Parker's on point with the age problem, but I don't even care about that. If a 10 year old can kick the sh*t out of thugs, Matthew McConaughey can play a 20 yo.

I'm slightly concerned about JJ's lack of familiarity with the material (ala Schumacher... who directed the best movie of all time DC Cab, and went on to ruin a promising Batman franchise)... but at the same time, he might be able to handle things. Remember, the *sshole that f*cked up Ghost Rider and Daredevil had plenty of familiarity with the source material, but he still f*cked it up. f*ckin for Ghost Rider I'd rather someone that wasn't familiar with the comics had made it, that way they would have left out all that John Blaze bullsh*t and gone straight to DK and the spirit of vengeance, which was more eyecatching, and better written.
MatchesMalone writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:34:00 PM

So, the super-soldier serum doesn't give him superpowers? Wow.
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 3:00:39 PM

@Eben - I have no prob. with McConaughey's acting (although Hollywood doesn't really give him much stuff to strut his acting chops), or his age.

But he (admittedly) admits to knowing nothing about CA. Between he and the Director... that mix scares the sh*t out of me!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 3:42:44 PM

@PP and Ranger: I'm with Eben regarding age. He's the same age as Ed Norton, younger than both Jackman and RDJ, and only five years older than Bale and Maguire. We're pretty familiar with MM down here in Austin. If the rest of the world hasn't noticed yet, he's a 40 yo with the mind of a 20 yo. He's always at UT football games drunk running up and down the sidelines or hanging out a luxury box. It wasn't all that long ago when he got arrested naked and stoned out of his mind beating the bongos. Like I said before, a true American.

Plus, CA never comes off as a young guy in the comics. CA is just something some wimp rapidly transformed into kind of like He-man.

Regarding his accent and his knowledge of the character. He's an actor like you said. We've seen him tone the hick down a little before (U571, Amistad, etc). His past ventures prove he should have no problem adapting to any character. I secretly think McConaughey thinks of himself as kind of a superhero anyway, so I have no doubt that he will attack the material like a bull in a china store. I bet he's dying to get his greasy little hands on a big summer blockbuster franchise and this may be his last chance. I can't think of anyone better now.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 4:17:43 PM

@Eben: Don't think anyone answered your parting trivia question so I'll take at shot (without the assist of IMDB). In think that film's calling the Woopie Boys and started Paul Rodrieguez and the star of Caddyshack. All I remember about the film was that stupid Hi-Li game.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 5:07:42 PM

A redneck Cap is a horrible idea. Especially with that fruitcake. No way is McConaugay a good idea.
KatManDu writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 5:27:56 PM

I just hope they make it more of just Cap in the battle of some big battle. I mean he was a soldier during world war 2 so just go off of that. Make like a private ryan action sequence with Cap doing what he can to save and protect others. Just don't put aliens in it. So many bad things can happen when you add aliens into it. The movie Knowing...I literally said "AHHH f*ck" when they said Oh look aliens. f*ck. Don't ruin a great movie with that kind of sh*t.
vaodsi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:36:44 PM

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 7:44:01 PM

@KatManDu - I hear your cry against aliens.

But Cap. has Nazi's at hand.
Nazi's are better.
You don't need to rely on aliens when you have Nazi's.
Nazi's rule (well... only for a short period of time)!
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 7:48:18 PM

@SAC - we seems to agree on some.

McConaughey is NOT the guy to play Cap. We both agree.

Age is less of a factor. Find the right actor... age is secondary. A guy in his 40's with the right physical conditioning can play CA. Make-up can take 15 years off a face. Plus there's the consideration that the SSS turns Rogers from a boy into a man. He's not the same person they started with at the beginning anyway.



Trentsteel writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 8:15:42 PM

Hoo boy, yeah he's supposed to be able to hold his own (even briefly) against the Hulk so I think this guy just means he can't fly and stuff. Still, not a good sign.

I'm guessing this guy just hasn't actually read the script yet or the comic book. A good director will do his homework once he starts analyzing the script.

Hopefully.
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:33:46 PM

@Trent - well said.

And 'hopefully' is a lot to hang on not just the CA movie(s), but his into. into The Avengers.

This Director better check his ego at the door, and realize the fictitious CA carries more weight with more people than his resume does, therefore CA comes first.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 9:02:42 AM

@ranger: I'm pretty convinced MM is the only choice for the role if they decide to cast a major actor. Like you said Marvel's got a lot riding on this film, so why roll the dice on some no-name jabroni like they did with Superman Retuns. Star power has worked more than it hasn't for the superhero genre, and MM puts butts in seats. The guy gets most women hotter than the 4th of July which means big bucks at the box office. If yall ever want this Avenger sh*t to see the light of day you better hitch the wagon to a winner.

Ranger writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 4:32:27 PM

All good points. I just don't like it that MM admits to knowing f'all about CA. Req. to fill the role... no. But it would should make for great background sh*t when the Actor playing CA makes the media rounds after the shoot.
Kal-El writes:
on February 6th, 2010 at 6:28:36 PM

Fire this guy.
seveltoto writes:
on November 10th, 2017 at 7:41:17 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved