WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

It's Official! "Avatar" is Highest Grossing Domestic Film

Posted: February 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
ItSubmit Comment
Even though James Cameron's "Avatar" has already broken most of the box office records out there by grossing over $2 billion in worldwide ticket sales, it is only now that the film was able to pass "Titanic" domestically.

"Avatar" reached $601.1 million in just 47 days to pass the $600.1 million earned by "Titanic" during its entire theatrical run. Internationally, "Avatar" passed "Titanic's" $1.2 billion several weeks ago.

Worldwide, "Avatar" has grossed $2.05 billion, leaving "Titanic" behind with its $1.8 billion total. And with the Oscar bump, "Avatar" will likely keep going strong for at least another month.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:23:28 PM

i thought it was already official.

well good for the Avaturds who can masturbate with their hair in peace for once, painting d*cks blue, practicing bestiality and whatever turns those sick f*cks on ...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:23:47 PM

no. It's GAY!
Aaron writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:34:07 PM

issues much?
KirkLazerus writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:38:12 PM

Dances with Smurfs Wins
warlord writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:49:18 PM

witch tells me people have no tast
mdp711 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:18:25 PM

I haven't seen the movie yet, so no comment. Maybe I'll check it out this weekend to get me out of my unemployment blues...no pun intended.
Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:50:37 PM

Everyone knows no one cares, f*ck off avatar bullsh*t
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:58:17 PM

Holy sh*t instead of a weekly total now it f*cking daily whats next a damn counter on this site.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:22:16 PM

Seriously Alex, f*ck off with the Avatar news. We know everyone is going batsh*t insane over it, but us posters with an ounce of taste in film are sick of f*cking getting "AVATAR IS SOOOOO GUD OMFG UR A LOZER IF U DUNT WACH IT!!!!!11!1" shoved down our throats.
jdl107 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:24:24 PM

What happened to Spooky?

He's like, annoying.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:27:36 PM

^^^ LOL.

I heard a kid today say "Modern films suck because they stories lack depth and creativity. The only one that's different is Avatar"

I practically threw up in my mouth.
lost_addict writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:30:04 PM

James Cameron=good karma
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:32:57 PM

"I heard a kid today say "Modern films suck because they stories lack depth and creativity. The only one that's different is Avatar"

I practically threw up in my mouth."

I would've violently barfed on him, then tell him why he was wrong and that he should stick to his macbook and his iPad.

oh, and thanks jdl
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:10:05 PM

Thank f*cking god!
It's about time WP had an article about "Avatar"

So, I hear it's doing alright? Anyone?
SofaKing writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:26:42 PM

This is the first I have even heard of this movie... Who is James Kamron? Am I spelling that right?
GIST writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:31:25 PM

I figured 'Naviblew-every-Avatar-off' would be all over this sh*t.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:39:44 PM

We all realize that the reason there are so many Avatar articles is because it helps increase site traffic and improves ad revenues, right?
CCBlev writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:43:09 PM

Yay, now since it's official we all need to kill ourselves so we can be reborn on Pandora. Seriously though, wonder how much money this will have finally made throughout its theatircal run? Does anyone think it can hit 700 million?
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:47:39 PM

Definitely will hit 700 million. I think by the time it runs out of steam, it will be the highest ticket selling movie of all time.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:00:39 PM

"It's Official! "Avatar" is Highest Grossing Domestic Film"

HOORA- oh wait, I don't give a sh*t.
Mudders writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:34:22 PM

porn has better scripts than this....and i know for a fact id rather watch 3 hours of porn over this....well maybe 3 mins will do....not sure if i could last 3 hrs of jenna and friends... ;)
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:20:04 AM

Its funny how no one on this site likes Avatar!

Makes me wonder if you guys like rap and basketball.
GIST writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:22:46 AM

I think Avatar & Zac Efron are head-to-head on making the most headlines news on WP.

Who will win? the Gay Avatards? Or the Gay Analtard?
You decide next week on "WP's Most Gayest Headlines."
*Credits Roll (BG music: Samwell's 'What What (In the Butt)"
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:49:36 AM

I like Avatar. I like rap as well, but I'm not a big fan of basketball, mostly because I suck at it though, and the fouls are too easy to get. I think most people on the sight do not like rap music though, and I can't really speak for anyones enjoyment of basketball.

However, even though I thoroughly enjoyed Avatar and can't wait to see the IMAX 3D of it, I will say the script was lacking. I'm confident though for the sequel. I feel like Avatar is to the Abyss what Avatar 2 will be to Terminator 2.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:50:26 AM

Or in other words, Avatar is to Avatar 2 what The Abyss was to Terminator 2
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:03:36 AM

"Makes me wonder if you guys like rap and basketball"

What? So black guys can't like Avatar?
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:08:22 AM

Maybe only black guys like Avatar... black guys... AND ME bwah hah ha ha ha !!!!!
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:28:00 AM

@Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger - careful with your generalizations. Not ONCE did I say Avatar would fail. And... haven't seen it yet to offer up an opinion.
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:38:13 AM

I hear you Ranger. I read the same topic over at joblo and while there are haters, there´s nothing like WP. Seems u guys bash for the sake of bashing.

Jedimasta writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:38:52 AM

Avatar hits stupid people critically.
Stupid people shut up!
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:44:17 AM

Harry, I'm going to let you in on a little secret. Every day, once a day, give yourself a present. Don't plan it. Don't wait for it. Just let it happen. It could be a new shirt at the men's store, a catnap in your office chair, or two cups of good, hot black coffee.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 1:54:32 AM

Where the f*ck is Trueman right now to bash Sam W.???
Parker_Von_Mink_Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:01:31 AM

He probably has a schoolboy crush on Sam W. Nobody wastes that amount of time to bash an actor.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 2:06:24 AM

What makes it great is that Sam W. is like a middling actor. He's not the best by any means, but he's not bad by any means either. I think that aspect of it is what cracks me up the most about that particular obsession
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:32:11 AM

"Nobody wastes that amount of time to bash an actor."

- Unless we're talking about Lohan. Or Julia f*cking Roberts, I personally can't stand the human black hole she is.
barley_cat writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:44:25 AM

WE GET IT WP, AVATAR IS EARNING sh*t-LOADS OF MONEY! STOP TELLING US!
vaodsi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:37:24 PM

called it
bacci40 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:45:06 PM

avatar is the wow of sci fi films

vaodsi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:15:25 PM

and spooky hates apple products... wow... I really don't think I can take you seriously man... ;)
Yaniez writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 10:42:57 PM

I literally joined this site because of the comments that are being left here. I'm a huge movie buff and I feel that people who bash movies, actors, and directors from the comfort of their mothers basement are unjustifiable form of pretentiousness. 

Ask yourself these questions and in the end see if your in a place to judge:

1. How many big budget films have you directed?
2. How many big budget films have you acted in?
3. How many Oscars have you won?
4. How many times have you attended the Oscars?
5. How many star studded premiers have you attended?

I have done none if these but I do know my place
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion but if your opinion is judgemental and crude then why bother?

I agree withParker_Von_Mink_Ranger
 
Bashing for the sake if bashing is just sad...  

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved