WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Films That Were Snubbed for Best Picture

Posted: February 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Films That Were Snubbed for Best PictureSubmit Comment
Fans seem happy that the Academy Awards expended their Best Picture category to include ten nominees. This allowed many other 2009 favorites to make the cut. On the list are: "Avatar," "The Blind Side," "District 9," "An Education," "The Hurt Locker," "Inglourious Basterds," "Precious," "A Serious Man," "Up," and "Up in the Air."

But apparently there were even more films that moviegoers would have liked to have seen nominated. In an online survey by Fandango, users were asked to pick the movies that should have made the list.

Check out the list of top picks below and let us know which film you feel should have been nominated.

1. Invictus - 27%

2. Star Trek - 15%

3. 500 Days of Summer - 12%

4. Where the Wild Things Are - 11%

5. A Single Man - 9%

6. The Hangover - 9%

7. Nine - 6%

8. The Road - 6%

Source: Fandango


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 80 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:51:20 AM

What about Little Nicky in 2000?!?!
AYT BALL writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:56:05 AM

The Road was the main one i was pissed about, moon should be up there too tho
Mudders writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:56:47 AM

did wolverine get a sniff??
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:03:37 AM

Sony didn't even submit MOON for consideration.
Bob82 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:22:04 AM

500 Days of Summer, definitely. The Road and Nine were pretty good pictures, too. I think that more actors were snubbed, like Viggo Morternsen, Sam Rockwell and Joseph Gordon-Levitt.
Kurskij writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:47:35 AM

In short (like dandy's dong):
f*ck the blind side - add the road or the moon to the list. or watchmen.
f*ck all the others - they ain't worth it.
what's with all the talk about how bad it is that star trek wasn't nominated for BP. Star Trek? For Best Picture? Are you f*cking insane?
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:00:31 AM

A Star Trek nod would be astronomically less insane than a Watchmen nomination. Movie was a two hour music video in slo mo. Didn't capture the feel of the comic at all. And it wasn't well received either.
coolguy writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:01:04 AM

THE ROAD!!!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:01:15 AM

No Beverly Hills Chihuahua? Your f*cking kidding me.
Gazz writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:21:58 AM

The lack of a nom for Moon and/or Sam Rockwell is shocking. Sony really dropped the ball on that one.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:26:48 AM

hmmmmmmm of course they through some out.
smithsonian writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:41:12 AM

Moon and The Road should have been there for Best Picture and Viggo Mortensen and Sam Rockwell should have been nominated for Best Actor, as well as Michael Stuhlbarg for A Serious Man.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:53:41 AM

agree with Moon and Road f*ck the Oscar f*ck HOLLYCRAP!
Doc_Brown writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:14:30 AM

And yet MOON still doesn't get a look in.
Carpen7er writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:20:19 AM

f*ck the oscars, who gives a sh*t about those fake awards anyway ?...
Simpathy votes and so on...
telur writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:31:43 AM

no New MOON?
chrisc20002003 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:37:52 AM

The Road was amazing, seriously. I really thought that movie was a guarantee.
charmed23 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:42:29 AM

Star Trek
The Road
Where the Wild Things Are
makingcircles writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:21:35 AM

I think Where the Wild Things Are should have gotten nominated personally.
bale01289 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:23:07 AM

No mention of f*ckSluts 8, YourMommyLovesMyc*ck 3, Down&Bound: MidgetRodeo, TakeMyc*ckPlease, and ThatGoesInTheOtherHole......I call shenanegans!!! Stupid f*cking Academy Awards!
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:29:50 AM

The fact that "the hangover" is actually on that list makes me want to punch someone in the neck. Frat boy dumbsh*t Bradley Cooper doesn't need any more encouragement.
bale01289 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:57:29 AM

@i3u7n5 - read closely, The Hangover isn't on that list, bud. The list you speak of are the movies fans think should be mentioned. You're out of the WP Wolfpack!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:57:40 AM

"Gigli", all the way!

What? It wasn't a 2009 movie? Who cares?!
Someone needs to recognize that magnificent piece of art, and it's never too late!
BigUnit writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:16:21 AM

the road and where the wild things are, deserve to be on this list.
BigUnit writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:16:42 AM

Nine was terrible. dont know what daniel day lewis was thinking.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:16:54 AM

Sam Rockwell shouldve definitely got a nod for Moon, such a good flick and he was insanely good in it. Thats the Academy for you, I wouldve been extremely pissed if they snubbed Christoph Waltz though!
Kurskij writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:19:49 AM

@scrooge
tastes differ, I guess.
but still Star Trek for a best picture? no friggin' way
it was good, I liked it, it was really-really good. but it was like iron man-good, no more, no less.
Kurskij writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:22:32 AM

@BigUnit
maybe once in a lifetime he was thinking something like:
"20mil you say? hot women you say? italy you say? wait... can we leave nicole kidman and singing out of the picture?... no? 20mil you say?!"
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:24:02 AM

I was a little dissapointed to that "This isn't Twilight" was not there.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:43:09 AM

Moon didn't get a look because the studio didn't submit it. Time to stop blaming the Academy for its lack of attention.

The Road has to be the biggest snub IMO. I dont know if people just didn't see it or were just a little freaked out by its utter dispair, but it was one the best films I've seen in a few years. Viggo might of delivered his best performance ever which, in his case, is saying a hell of a lot, and for the small amount of time she has onscreen Charlize Theron is absolutely amazing. The film's postapocalyptic setting may be the only reason I could see getting in the way of a nomination. People may not be ready to accept a film from such a diluted genre no matter how good it may be. Its too bad considering this may be the most realistic vision of a postnuclear holocaust that has ever been portrayed. I encourage every true fan of film to check it out when it hits DVD.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:50:17 AM

I know sony didnt enter Moon for consideration (MORONS) but to me that points out one of the stupid things about the oscars, the awards should be given to the movies that did well that year, not the best of the bunch that certain studios put forward for consideration.....rant over!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:57:26 AM

"Sony really dropped the ball on that" (Gazz)

No f*cking sh*t! I never even saw one promo for MOON before its theatrical release. In fact, I have no clue when it actually was theatrically released!
Sev writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:09:23 AM

No District 9???? f*ck sake, the actors improvised their dialogue froms start to finish, not an easy thing to do. Really f*cking dissapointed!
Sev writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:10:01 AM

Oh wait no, my bad, it's on there, hahahahaahaahahdsdjafpodkfpk9345984059890*)(*)(*(!!
Derp88 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:10:51 AM

f*ck the Blinde Side,Invictus was way better then that piece of sh*t.
lost_addict writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:13:38 AM

doesn't really matter.'avatar' win is a done deal.
Bigcheese writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:14:38 AM

WHERE IS District 9???
Bigcheese writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:15:10 AM

Oh wait it was actully nomintated!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:18:06 AM

"f*ck the Blinde Side"

- Yup, that's usually how it works, the blind eye gets the d*ck.
BigUnit writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:31:33 AM

SacDaddy - i couldnt agree with you more, The Road was a really good flick and in my opinion i felt it was Viggo's best performance by far, a really good film to be his last... but i hope its not his last...

Kurskij - and yes i would have to agree with you, it seems for the first time in daniel day lewis's career he picked money over script...
Aingx writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:47:57 AM

Moon

500 Days of Summer

Star Trek


Guess they didn't pay enough 'charitable contributions'...
eddie499 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:59:20 AM

@SAC

You and I must really think alike. I was appalled when I didn't see The Road on the list. You might have something there about the film's environment, but I don't see it being any different than a more typical science fiction film, such as District 9. I see it as difficult for people to understand the brutality of what a post-apocalyptic world would be like, i.e., the color or lack of color in general and the necessary violence for day to day survival. I agree with you totally about the realism of it being somewhat off-putting. People like to think that a time like that would look more like the Mad Max films, somewhat bright and desert-like in many cases, rather than the constant nuclear winter seen in The Road.

On a sidenote, This film being overlooked is just short of criminal. It's a great film with a great cast and expert direction. Anyone who has not heard of John Hillcoat needs to become familiar with him very quickly. His previous film, The Proposition, is a must-see.
i3u7n5 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:03:05 PM

@bale I know they were films that people thought should have been nominated, and that's my point. The hangover was marginally funny at best and nowhere near Oscar quality (whatever that is anymore)and the fact that anyone would think it deserves a nomination is retarded. And I think I'm ok with being out of the WP Wolfpack :)

Jerry Garcia87 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:19:16 PM

Star trek sucked balls I don't known if it was
nominated for a razzy but it definitely should have been. where the wild things are was great, I lver everything about the film. As for the road, I was never able to see it, they never had it showing around my house (which is bullsh*t) but I hear good things so it gets my vote
SACdaddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:22:27 PM

@eddie: Yeah we seem to have some similar tastes, but really how could anyone not like that movie. Sure it doesn't show human nature at its best but that what makes it so good. Its humanity at its breaking point and I thought it was beautiful.
pomme writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:08:45 PM

don't forget Moon or Public Enemies!
GIST writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:38:41 PM

I thought 'The Hangover' was nominated for at least one award? Ken Jeong's penis for Best Supporting Actor. Although it was shown only for a few seconds and hiding under all the pube amazon. It still made a dramatic impact.
Bigcheese writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:59:55 PM

I'm actully really pissed off that the Road got nothing. It was the best film i have seen in a long time and Star Trek 15%? Please, Wolverine deserves a oscar more than Star Trek!
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:02:45 PM

I'm pissed they overlooked: 'Vin's Mom and The Trailer Park Boys - BINGO Night... infected dabbers!' off the nominations!!!
Kurskij writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:26:50 PM

@pomme
raggedy andy up the ass of dandy! you're right!
not even a single mention for public enemies? no best sound/sound mix? no art direction, no cinematography, no editing?
now that's a WTF
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:03:10 PM

The fact that The Road didn't get a nod shocks me. What a great film.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:16:08 PM

@TH3D4RKKN1GH7 - then your expectations of The Academy is too high my friend.
rabid writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:31:18 PM

The Road wasn't bad, but neither was it great. Same for Hangover. Star Trek deserved a win.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:45:30 PM

f*ck DA ACADAMY
swoooop writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:01:20 PM

and what about Pink Panter 2?? Why did`t that flick get nominated? What a cruel world.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:07:47 PM

"G-FORCE" is the ultimate oscar snub.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:21:26 PM

Don't go all Mentall on us AF.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:21:46 PM

Whoops... Mentell.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:31:07 PM

LOL @ Ranger.

swoooop writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:35:54 PM

No scifi movie have ever been nominated best picture. I think. And I dont think that will ever happen anytime soon.

What? Avatar?? Nononono, that is a true story, it just sank, and got sendt back thru time...after having a bad belly ace.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:12:22 PM

/ /)
/-/
-/-/
-//`/`_
///-//
((- ~/)
--/
-_-
--(
--

f*ck THE OSCARS AND SAM W.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:14:02 PM

//)
/-/
-/-/
-///`_
///-//
((- ~/)
--/
-_-
--(
--

FUUUUUCK! HOLLYCRAP!
FpJGarcia writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:32:05 PM

I really think Star Trek should have been on there instead of District 9!
KoJay writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:41:06 PM

Star Trek instead of Blind Side
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:00:07 PM

So... you Mother instead of a whore?

Is that really a step up?
pjmbdm writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:01:12 PM

What the need to do is have a best comedy/musical category that way films like Hangover can get nominated. Am I wrong?
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:57:49 PM

i heard The Road was pretty good, and Star-Trek was also good, you'd think they would get more then 6 and 15%.

however considering Avatar is the only one on the best picture award that made insane amounts of money, i don't get why these where voted off. oh well, doesn't mean they where bad movies.

vaodsi writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:58:57 PM

the road
KirkLazerus writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:10:11 PM

Invictus, Star Trek and the Hangover shouldnt even be on this list, Moon is so bad ass
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:33:00 PM

Seriously people, if you think 'Star Trek' is best picture material, no wonder sh*t like Avatar is nominated.
jdl107 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:20:00 PM

Nine, The hangover, WTWTA, Star trek...... well I think it's pretty clear why no one takes advicde fromk bloggers. Or internet people.
guillotine117 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:53:31 PM

Star Trek, 500 days of Summer, or the Road all deserve to be nominated instead of the Blind Side in my opinion.

but it is the academy's choice, and in the end, we all have our own favorites. That's why im glad the Hurt Locker made it.
guillotine117 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:55:06 PM

oh and MOON not being nominated for anything pissed me off; Definitely a great achievement that deserves the recognition.
Whitta writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:22:07 PM

Zombieland was better than most of the sh*t nominated
thebreach writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:19:58 PM

the road, star treck
jdl107 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:40:31 AM

Zombieland should of at least been nominated for a Gloden Globe. No mention of that though.... tralk about snuub.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 4:02:21 AM

my prediction for 2010 oscars- Gayvatar to win all the oscars it is up for best pic, dir, art dir, cinematog, editing, music, sound editing,sound mixing & visual effects, when all it should really win is visual effects. might put bet on win me some money haha, seriously tho there are def better pics than Fagatar, I think Battlefield Earth will make a late entry that's right "c*mming from behind!!!!!"
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 4:10:57 AM

Have'nt seen the road yet but heard & hearing great things so will def check it out, and agree with most on here sony really screwed themselves not putting forward moon really great film and sam rockwell was brilliant
Skywalker121289 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 11:17:47 AM

The movies that were actually nominated all sucked! Well, aside from District 9 and The Hurt Locker. The Road and A Single Man should have been nominated for sure. But Avaturd isn't anywhere near being original. [sighs] I need to shoot someone. Anyone seen Vindy?
masht7 writes:
on February 8th, 2010 at 12:38:20 AM

I wanted Watchme to get a nomination for best apated screenplay. Like GI Joe, the Oscar noms are f*cked up.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved