WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar" Ticket Sales Skyrocket After Oscar Nominations

Posted: February 3rd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar" Ticket Sales Skyrocket After Oscar NominationsSubmit Comment
Now that "Avatar" has been nominated for nine Academy Awards, ticket demand on Fandango has increased by 45% for the movie, which means that James Cameron's sci-fi epic will continue to dominate the box office charts for weeks to come.

Unfortunately for "Avatar," its deal with theater owners to take up 3D screens runs out on March 5th to make way for Disney's "Alice in Wonderland." Since 70% of all ticket sales came from 3D showings, it is expected that the film's theatrical run will quickly come to an end soon after.

What's worse is that March 5th is just two days before the Academy Awards are presented and the winners are announced. That means that "Avatar" will not be able to get a bump that films usually get after the Oscars. 20th Century Fox is now looking for ways to keep their film on 3D screens.

At this point "Avatar" has grossed around $2.05 billion.

Click here to read our "Avatar" review.

Source: Fandango


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:45:11 AM

Try to make money without 3D now, you FOX-c*nts
shine2rust writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:47:21 AM

Just as any credibility these awards might still have had plummeted. These ceremonies seem to be more and more about rewarding financial success rather than artistic achievement.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:50:36 AM

@shine - The Oscar's lost credibility with me YEARS (decades?) ago!

So Avatar... hmmm...

$2.5 bil. anyone?

And what douche-bags weren't influenced enough from the hype of this movie already, that the Oscar nod pushed them over to the spending side... f*cking cattle!
HannibalK1ng writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:51:56 AM

@shine

and avatar isnt an artistic acheivment?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:03:12 AM

Avatar is a technical achievement, not an artistic
HannibalK1ng writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:06:32 AM

You wouldnt call all the planets/wildlife artistic? why should "another" drama win best picture it will be forgotten, but this movie is shapping cinema for the next 10 years or so. it deserves everything its been nominated for.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:57:46 AM

Damn, Cameron should run our economy.
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:09:01 AM

IF IT WASNT FOR THE 3D THEN IT WOULDNT BE THIS BIG. IF 3D DID NOT COST AN EXTRA LIKE 5 DOLLARS THEN IT WOULD NOT BE #1 WHICH IT DOES NOT DESERVE IT.
telur writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:22:47 AM

yeah i buy ten ticket of avatar after oscar nom..... all in 3D. Do u want one of it? i give you on free
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:49:41 AM

@Hannibal: Well, cause another "drama" is actually good. And just because it will be remembered doesn't mean it's good. Do you remember Showgirls? Sure you do. Without googling who won the Oscar for best film same year?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:20:44 AM

Avatar does have some artistic merits regardless of the view of the overall film. Just because something has been created digitally does not discount it from being some form of art.

I have to agree with shine2rust here that the massive financial success of the picture will be a major factor in winning awards.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 9:34:39 AM

"but this movie is shapping cinema for the next 10 years or so"

- Oh really? Does that mean we can expect copy&paste screenplays for the next 10 years or so?

Does that mean we can expect cartoons to replace live action actors for the next 10 years or so?

Does that mean we can expect movies to depend on gimmicky technologies to have success, rather than good acting performances, good scripts and character development for the next 10 years or so?

Does that mean we can expect colorful and pretty pictures to be the most important element in a movie for the next 10 years or so?

Wow, the next 10 years or so are shaping up to be the most retarded period in cinema history, then!


Dude, let's put things in their place. "Avatar" is a pretty movie, with pretty visuals, and that's about it.
It's eye-candy.

"You wouldnt call all the planets/wildlife artistic?"

- I would call the GRAPHICS artistic. That's not the same thing as a movie being artistically interesting.
The visuals are only a part of the process, and not the process as a whole.
By that same logic, lots of video games and cartoons have incredible graphics so, would you say they should be nominated for an Oscar?

The obvious answer is "f*ck no!"
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 11:33:11 AM

Hannibal, that is the most retarded sh*t I have read since Vindy made his last post.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:08:02 PM

What a ridiculous debate. Defining art is like defining whether a glass is half full or half empty. Everyone's opinion and perception is different. I've seen someone take a sh*t on stage and call it art.

Avatar has done nothing more than push the technical ball forward for an industry that is in constant flux. You need movies like it to come along every few years so the industry doesn't become stagnant and resort to copying itself. We've already seen what happens when these c*cksuckers run out of ideas (remakes and reboots 24/7). Sure Avatar may not be pushing film in a direction that everyone agrees with, but down the line its flaws may inspire as many positive innovations as its accomplishments. There's always someone out there who thinks they can do better (not just bigger but better), so lets not give up hope too soon.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:19:30 PM

"I've seen someone take a sh*t on stage and call it art."

- That's some pretty artistic sh*t!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:30:50 PM

PP LOL!!! You never miss an opportunity :-)
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:43:54 PM

SAC:

Hey, you practically handed me that one on a silver platter, bud!

I actually hesitated for a few seconds, undecided whether I should go into a discussion about what constitutes art and what doesn't... but I just don't feel that serious today.

I'm having a One-Liner-Wednesday today.
skatemaster62 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:48:40 PM

oh sh*t!! i cant belive the run this film is having. totally unexpected
SACdaddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:02:21 PM

PP: Lol! I'll keep serving up meatballs, you keep hitting homeruns.
pomme writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:10:29 PM

why????
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:15:44 PM

"serving up meatballs" - In vindy's terms, oral sex with grandpa.

"hitting homeruns." - In vindy's terms, when grandpa doesn't pull it out before coming.
Goober3000 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:23:24 PM

Is that blue chick's hair on fire?
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:58:12 PM

Yeah... it's her Michael Jackson - Pepsi scene!
SACdaddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:22:56 PM

@pp: I see oneliner day is going well for you.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:40:17 PM

I heard they used Owen Wilson to model her nose.
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:42:31 PM

Sac, was that GG Allen??
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:11:52 PM

@Ricky - no.

Were it Owen's nose you'd see the training wheels under it.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:12:28 PM

I saw someone take a sh*t on a silver platter once on stage...

That was some silver-plated, artistic sh*t right there!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:12:46 PM

this comes to little surprise, every time i hear news about blue people it barely phases me any-more ...

but since this reign of tree/horse/bathtub/sink/comb/car/table/towel/ shirt/pipe/etc "syncers" is ending soon ... THANK YOU,GOD!!!
rabid writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:33:09 PM

Avatar is definitely an artistic achievment. It is a work of artistry.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:39:43 PM

People are sheep.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:46:13 PM

"Avatar is definitely an autistic achievment"

Fixed.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:06:47 PM

"People are sheep"

- And Cameron is their shepherd.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:22:18 PM

You're baaaaaaaaa-ddd.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:46:14 PM

Cameron's The shepard With the Over sized boots and velcro gloves.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:47:16 PM

... and C.O.C. goes:

"What's wrong with sheep? I like sheep! Best sex I ever had!"
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:32:04 PM

And (he adds), they're nice to cuddle with and their sh*t makes excellent gravy.
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 5:32:26 PM

Sheep sh*t eating COC sucker that he is!
vwkombi writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:49:02 PM

@ SAC

Yes, Avatar is a work of art, defining this decade. So is Twilight...
vwkombi writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:57:23 PM

@ Peter

C.O.C walks into his bedroom with a sheep under his arm. His wife is sick in bed. He says "honey this is what i have sex with when you have a headache". His wife looks up, sighs and says "i think you'll find that's a sheep moron". C.O.C replies, "i think you'll find i wasn't talking to you".
vaodsi writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:01:36 PM

it feels good to be right
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:07:38 PM

HAHAHAHAHA!!!! that was hilarious!!



encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:08:06 PM

talking to @vwkombi
mas guanteng writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:40:59 PM

At the first time, people underestimated this movie but now they are addicted to this movie.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:43:12 PM

@ vwkombi:

f*ckING HILARIOUS!!!

Honestly, the best laugh I had on this website to this day!

I'm gonna shamelessly steal that joke and tell it to my date over a few bears.

And then I'm gonna shamelessly get her drunk and shamelessly do other things to her.

In case she turns out to have a higher tolerance for alcohol than Lohan, I'm gonna shamelessly slip a date rape pill into her drink, then I'm gonna shamelessly perform sexual experiments on her body and then I'm gonna shamelessly get her on a cab, get her the f*ck out of my place and then I'm gonna sleep like a baby.

... and your joke inspired it all!
Aaron writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:54:39 PM

Film is (by and large) a visual medium. Narrative is highly overrated. That's not to say that a film with a strong narrative and nothing else can't be great - but to say that a film without strong narrative is automatically crap is ridiculous.

In Avatar narrative was by and large irrelevant. It was setting and and thats it. The point of avatar - the thing that it was trying to accomplish was to convey a sense of wonder and awe. You were supposed to relate to sam worthington's character running through the alien wildlife touching things that light up and react in strange ways. To that end the 3d was very relevant and the realism of the cg was very relevant. As a piece of art meant to convey a sense of wonder and awe Avatar succeeds with flying colors.

To say that it was not dramatic and the story was crap is to say that your hot dog doesn't taste like a very good cheeseburger. It's popularity and financial success aren't due to people mistaking it for the godfather or Lawrence of Arabia.

If you want a burger go to a burger joint you freaking twats. James Cameron runs a hotdog stand.
vwkombi writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 10:39:39 PM

@ Peter Parker

I'm always happy to hear that i am the direct cause of a woman being date-raped. Brings a tear to my eye.

@ Aaron

Film uses visual representation to bring a narrative to life. If Avatar was only designed to inspire awe, why did it go for 3hrs when the same feeling (minus the boredom) could've easily been induced in 1hr?

James Cameron said he wanted to inspire awe and make us feel fully immersed in his imaginitive world. You can't do that using the only visual aspect, UNLESS you carry it with a decent narrative. That's why me and many others felt no connection to Pandora.
Aaron writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 3:26:10 PM

"Film uses visual representation to bring a narrative to life"

that's not necessarily true though. It CAN be true - but it doesn't HAVE to be. The narrative doesn't HAVE to be the basis for a great film. That's what I'm saying. Narrative HAS to be the basis for great novels - if it isn't - than it's poetry. But film is (as demonstrated by avatar.. or hell - any of Darrin arronofsky's films (save Pi, I guess) or a multitude of other films - you could take Apocolypse Now as an example too - or 2001: A Space Odyssey) defined as much or possibly more so by its execution.

In avatar the narrative was context. thats all. If you felt no connection (which again - it wasn't trying to be the godfather) it's because you were trying to connect to something it wasn't offering. you were looking for a cheeseburger at a hot dog stand. You wanted to care about the characters while he just wanted you to poke the funny looking plants and watch them light up. It's an adventure movie - not a drama.

Why three hours instead of one? - well the obvious is that most theaters won't run a one hour film. But why three hours instead of an hour and a half? Immersion. Scale. He wanted it to feel big. A one hour movie would have felt like an experiment or a tech demo and he wanted it to feel like an experience. I don't know - I didn't make it. But I did do one thing that you apparently didn't - I accepted it for what it was - and as such - it was great.

bleh. who cares. It's a freaking movie.
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 4:14:11 PM

@vw - priceless!
vwkombi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 5:45:52 PM

@ Ranger

Here's another:

C.O.C is driving with his best mate through the country one day, when de randomly pulls over and stares at a tree. His bewildered friend asks "C.O.C, what are you starring at that tree for?". With a look of nostalgia in his eye C.O.C says "i lost my virginity under that tree. It was a summers afternoon 10 years ago, me and my girl were running around the fields, enjoying out youth. We stopped under this tree for a break, and after a while one thing lead to another. It was beautiful until her mother found us."
The friend asks "what did her mother say when she found you screwing her daughter?"
C.O.C answers "baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh"
vwkombi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:08:34 PM

@ Aaron
Avatar only exists so Mr Cameron can so off his fancy technology, he even said he went with a formulaic plot so the narrative wouldn't outshine his technical accomplishments.

If so, why did he not simply make Avatar into a fake doc*mentary about Pandora? He could've shown just as much of his amazing world, it would've been far more immersive and there would be less criticism of his fill-in-the-blanks script. But he didn't, he used a narrative to show us Pandora. It really wasn't even the plot that ruined was bad, it was the acting (with the exception of Sigourney Weaver), the characterization (with of course the exception of the character Sigourney Weaver played) and the terrible dialogue.

He decided to utilize all these elements to help show us Pandora, and they became just as much a part of the film as the visuals.

Of course it also doesn't help his cause that i play video games.
vwkombi writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 6:09:27 PM

P.S

Thank you for being one of the Avatar fans who can actually hold down an intelligent discussion.
Aaron writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 8:49:06 PM

I play video games as well.. (really looking forward to "Heavy Rain" - and "The last guardian" after that.. but that's a way's away.) but come on - nothing comes CLOSE to what avatar has accomplished visually.

I have to say though - the only absolutely terrible acting performance or rather - terribly written character - was the main villain's.. the others weren't noticeably bad (granted they weren't noticeably good). I understand people's dislike of Sam worthington seeing as how he is in EVERYTHING for the next couple of years. but - he really wasn't that bad. He wasn't all that bad in terminator either - the horrible and abrupt change of script ruined that movie.

Anyway - Yes James Cameron said the plot was a carbon copy of Pocahontas. He didn't want you to wonder what was next. He just wanted you to "fall in". I mean - if you're questioning it than obviously it didn't work for you... which sucks for him..

BUT - Frankly, if it were a doc*mentary style film you would have found something else wrong with it. Why didn't he do it like that? I suppose because he's used to traditionally narrative films. I don't know. Everything he's done has been a traditional narrative.

I don't really care that much and I don't want to defend it any more on a message board. - you thought it was crap, sucks for you. the end. :)

-@
Ranger writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:22:48 PM

@vw - why would you assume COC would be with a girl under that tree?
vwkombi writes:
on February 5th, 2010 at 3:26:21 AM

@ Aaron

Want to know the hilarious thing? I didn't actually hate Avatar. The plot was worked (it was other aspects that let it down) and the Na'vi culture was interesting enough. It was just so underwhelming.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved