WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

2009 Oscar Nominations Announced!

Posted: February 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
2009 Oscar Nominations Announced!Submit Comment
Nominations for the 82st Academy Awards have been released with "Avatar" and "The Hurt Locker" leading with nine noms, followed by "Inglourious Basterds" with eight. Pixar's "Up" received five nominations and became only the second animated movie to be nominated for Best Picture.

The Oscars will be presented on Sunday, March 7th at the Kodak Theatre and will be televised live by the ABC Television Network.

Take a look at the full list of nominations and let us know what you think.

BEST PICTURE:
* Avatar
* The Blind Side
* District 9
* An Education
* The Hurt Locker
* Inglourious Basterds
* Precious
* A Serious Man
* Up
* Up in the Air

DIRECTING:
* James Cameron (Avatar)
* Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)
* Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds)
* Lee Daniels (Precious)
* Jason Reitman (Up in the Air)

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart)
* George Clooney (Up in the Air)
* Colin Firth (A Single Man)
* Morgan Freeman (Invictus)
* Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker)

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
* Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side)
* Helen Mirren (The Last Station)
* Carey Mulligan (An Education)
* Gabourey Sidibe (Precious)
* Meryl Streep (Julie and Julia)

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Matt Damon (Invictus)
* Woody Harrelson (The Messenger)
* Christopher Plummer (The Last Station)
* Stanley Tucci (The Lovely Bones)
* Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds)

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
* Penelope Cruz (Nine)
* Vera Farmiga (Up in the Air)
* Maggie Gyllenhaal (Crazy Heart)
* Anna Kendrick (Up in the Air)
* Mo'Nique (Precious)

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY:
* District 9 (Written by Neill Blomkamp, Terri Tatchell)
* An Education (Screenplay by Nick Hornby)
* In the Loop (Screenplay by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche)
* Precious (Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher)
* Up in the Air (Screenplay by Jason Reitman, Sheldon Turner)

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY:
* The Hurt Locker (Written by Mark Boal)
* Inglourious Basterds (Written by Quentin Tarantino)
* The Messenger (Written by Alessandro Camon, Oren Moverman)
* A Serious Man (Written by Joel Coen, Ethan Coen)
* Up (Screenplay by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter. Story by Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy)

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* Ajami (Israel)
* El Secreto de Sus Ojos (Argentina)
* The Milk of Sorrow (Peru)
* Un Prophete (France)
* The White Ribbon (Germany)

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* Coraline
* Fantastic Mr. Fox
* The Princess and the Frog
* The Secrets of Kells
* Up

ART DIRECTION:
* Avatar (Art Direction: Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg. Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair)
* The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (Art Direction: Dave Warren, Anastasia Masaro. Set Decoration: Caroline Smith)
* Nine (Art Direction: John Myhre. Set Direction: Gordon Sim)
* Sherlock Holmes (Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood. Set Direction: Katie Spencer)
* The Young Victoria (Art Direction: Patrice Vermette. Set Direction: Maggie Gray)

CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* Avatar (Mauro Fiore)
* Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Bruno Delbonnel)
* The Hurt Locker (Barry Ackroyd)
* Inglourious Basterds (Robert Richardson)
* The White Ribbon (Christian Berger)

COSTUME DESIGN:
* Bright Star (Janet Patterson)
* Coco before Chanel (Catherine Leterrier)
* The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (Monique Prudhomme)
* Nine (Colleen Atwood)
* The Young Victoria (Sandy Powell)

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE:
* Burma VJ
* The Cove
* Food, Inc.
* The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the * Pentagon Papers
* Which Way Home

FILM EDITING:
* Avatar (Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua, James Cameron)
* District 9 (Julian Clarke)
* The Hurt Locker (Bob Murawski, Chris Innis)
* Inglourious Basterds (Sally Menke)
* Precious (Joe Klotz)

MAKEUP:
* Il Divo (Aldo Signoretti, Vittorio Sodano)
* Star Trek (Barney Burman, Mindy Hall, Joel Harlow)
* The Young Victoria (Jon Henry Gordon, Jenny Shircore)

ORIGINAL SCORE:
* Avatar (James Horner)
* Fantastic Mr. Fox (Alexandre Desplat)
* The Hurt Locker (Marco Beltrami, Buck Sanders)
* Sherlock Holmes (Hans Zimmer)
* Up (Michael Giacchino)

ORIGINAL SONG:
* The Princess and the Frog ("Almost There" - Music and Lyric by Randy Newman)
* The Princess and the Frog ("Down in New Orleans" - Music and Lyric by Randy Newman)
* Paris 36 ("Loin de Paname" - Music by Reinhardt Wagner, Lyric by Frank Thomas)
* Nine ("Take It All" - Music and Lyric by Maury Yeston)
* Crazy Heart ("The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)" - Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett)

SOUND MIXING:
* Avatar (Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson, Tony Johnson)
* The Hurt Locker (Paul N.J. Ottosson, Ray Beckett)
* Inglourious Basterds (Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti, Mark Ulano)
* Star Trek (Anna Behlmer, Andy Lenson, Peter J. Devlin)
* Transformers: Revenger of the Fallen (Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Geoffrey Patterson)

SOUND EDITING:
* Avatar (Christopher Boyes, Gwendolyn Yates Whittle)
* The Hurt Locker (Paul N.J. Ottosson)
* Inglourious Basterds (Wylie Stateman)
* Star Trek (Mark Stroeckinger, Alan Rankin)
* Up (Michael Silvers, Tom Myers)

VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Avatar (Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R. Jones)
* District 9 (Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros, Matt Aitken)
* Star Trek (Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh, Burt Dalton)

DOCUMENTARY SHORT:
* China's Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province
* The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner
* The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant
* Music by Prudence
* Rabbit a la Berlin

ANIMATED SHORT FILM:
* French Roast
* Granny O'Grimm's Sleeping Beauty
* The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte)
* Logorama
* A Matter of Loaf and Death

LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM:
* The Door
* Instead of Abracadabra
* Kavi
* Miracle Fish
* The New Tenants

Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 127 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bob82 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:37:06 AM

I'm glad for "A Serious Man" and "Inglourious Basterds", but I wanted something for "500 Days of Summer" (original screenplay would've been nice). And of course, Argentina made it! ;D
AYT BALL writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:38:29 AM

District 9 or Hurt Locker for best pic, would love to see district 9 get it to be honest, Avatar should win all the effects stuff which is fine, but not pic or director, that would be bullsh*t
Carpen7er writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:39:02 AM

District 9 best movie ?
Every year the Oscars are getting worst...
coolguy writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:39:17 AM

so happy that the hurt locker got the noms (which it deserves). Up and Up in the air were overrated and shouldnt win best picture. cant believe avatar got a nom for cinematography even though it was computer generated lol, The Road deserved a nomination for that award at least.
workingdead writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:40:24 AM

It's as if they put eight or ten movies in a bag and shake them out
Coasterkid345 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:42:07 AM

As soon as I read Avatar for Best Picture, I stopped reading. I'll just be surprised next month.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:57:55 AM

where's 500 days of summer? That movie deserved awards and Watchmen deserves as well but I knew it wasn«t going to be nominated but 500 days of summer deserved to!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:03:11 AM

Christoph Waltz better win for Best Supporting Actor, I mean its practically in the bag!
makingcircles writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:09:42 AM

@the5thBeatle5 - Totally agree with you.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:10:10 AM

Well at least Avatard didn't have anyone in the acting categories.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:13:12 AM

The Oscars are a joke.

Ever since Liz Taylor won the Oscar for "Butterfield 8", when everybody knew it was all about the damn tracheotomy, it became an institution that just keeps sinking itself down further and further, and has very little credibility at this point.
It's a vanity fair.

Howard Stern explained it very well, when he said what he thinks of the Oscars. It's a bunch of people trying to push their own agendas on others, rather than awarding movie merits.

I'll watch it just to see Martin and Baldwin.
As far as who the winners and the losers will be, I couldn't care less.
paulina_0228 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:23:34 AM

Were is The Road???... I am happy for The Hurt Locker hopefully it will win, but what in the world is Avatar doing in best pic category??? and what is Up in the Air doing there as well??? geez were is THE ROAD??? this is messed up.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:24:28 AM

HURT LOCKER ALL THE WAY!!! KICK IT ASS, SEA BASS!!
Blank x2 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:26:51 AM

@Carpen7er -

"District 9 best movie ?
Every year the Oscars are getting worse..."

Couldn't have said it better myself. It isn't terrible, but District 9 is definitely overrated. Hurt Locker is the best film on that list.


eddie499 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:29:17 AM

I was really hoping to see Jackie Earle Haley on there for Best Supporting Actor. I thought his performance in Watchmen was incredible. Not bad for a guy who started out as the little foul mouthed kid in the original Bad News Bears.

Seeing District 9 in the nominations for all of those awards really says alot. That was by far my personal favorite movie of this year. A great story, some good messages and themes, and some seriously kick ass action. Films like that just show that you can make a genuinely entertaining movie (on a considerably economic budget) that still has some serious substance to it.

Blank x2 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:30:06 AM

I'm hopin' The Hurt Locker cleans out most of the awards it's up for. Anybody who hasn't seen it, it's a fantastic movie. The only thing I hope it loses to is Christoph Waltz for Basterds. That dude is money.
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:34:25 AM

I'm am going to hate it when Up wins for animated movie instead of The Fantstic Mr. Fox. I loved that movie and it was very very good. So much better than Up. And the animation was a break from all the CGI crap that's been all over the screens.

And I so agree, Waltz should win for IB, he was amazing.
I'm just praying they don't pull a Jennifer Hudson and give an Oscar to Gabourey Sidibie for Precious. She was good and all but they will again make a joke out of the award by giving it to someone out the clear blue, for playing a role she could play in her sleep. It would be like them giving an Oscar to Eminem for playing himself. or to Vin for playing a tranny/hermaphrodite S&M boyscout skin flute player.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:36:43 AM

Yeah im with you on that eddie, gonna keep defending district 9, great "little" movie that was alot better that alot of the big guns, dont get me wrong i will be just as happy for the hurt locker to clean up.

@ paulina_0228 - your right, its shocking that the road isnt up there, one of the best movies ive seen in a long time, but moon should have been up to, if SONY had bothered backing it! idiots!

BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:38:12 AM

looks like the dudes getting an oscar!
paulina_0228 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:44:09 AM

@AYT BALL I am just pissed b/c The Road is not there for anything and to me it was the best picture of the year oh well too bad, while there are so much crap up there that do not deserve to be. I have not seen Moon yet but heard good things about it. Will definately check it out.
Digital Desperado writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:54:56 AM

For once, it´s refreshing to see some genre movies like "D9","Inglourious Basterds" or "Avatar" show their faces at the Oscars´categories.

Having said that here are my picks and predictions for the main categories:

BEST PICTURE:
Who´ll win: Avatar
Who should win: District 9

DIRECTING:
Who´ll win: James Cameron
Who should win: Kathryn Bigelow

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE:
Who´ll win: Jeff Bridges
Who should win: Jeremy Renner

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE:
Who´ll win: Sandra Bullock
Who should win: Gabourey Sidibe

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
Who´ll win (and should win): Christoph Waltz

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE:
Who´ll win (and should win): Vera Farmiga

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY:
Who´ll win: Up in the Air
Who should win: District 9

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY:
Who´ll win (and should win): The Hurt Locker

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM
Who´ll win (and should): Up
Finally, my rants:

"Nine" GETS NOTHING!!!!

"D9" and "The Hurt Locker" RULE!!!!

Feel free to disagree!!!

AYT BALL writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:57:50 AM

I think if you liked the Road you will like moon, both very character driven over a bleak setting, wondering if the Road was too late to make the cut? it just came out here in england and i know its been pushed back alot in the US so who knows, its a shame though
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:58:18 AM

"or to Vin for playing a tranny/hermaphrodite S&M boyscout skin flute player."

- LOOL!!!! Hilarious!
Vin12 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:05:12 AM

avatar's gonna win in every category get over it now
P_Dangerous writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:10:48 AM

I wish Moon had got some recognition, deffo my fav film from last year
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:18:41 AM

Avatar is nominated for best picture.

Well, it's official, the oscars suck d*ck too.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:21:46 AM

@eddie: I totally agree with you once again. District 9 was easily one of the best films to come along in the last 10 years. The barriers it breaks on a such a minimal budget are amazing to say the least. Not only did it set a new standard for the sci-fi action genre by merging top notch doc*mentary style camerawork with nearly "photorealistic" (yes I said it) CGI, but it also proves that an FXs heavy film could still have a great plot, stellar acting, and most of all HEART. This ability to deliver on all aspects of film making probably makes it one of the most complete films up for nomination this year. Its too bad Sharlto Copely didn't get nominated for his heartfelt role as the unlikely hero. Other than Watlz Jew Hunter, this was the most entertaining performance of the year IMO. Its also a shame Blomkamp wasn't nominated for his efforts, but I'm sure there are plenty of producers on their knees ready to reward him personally with tons of projects to develope.

I'm also very happy to see both Tarantino finally get back in the Oscar picture. It only makes sense considering IB is best film since Pulp Fiction. One of these days he may win one.



paulina_0228 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:28:26 AM

Yeah Inglorious Basterds is good too, happy to see it up there.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:28:57 AM

District 9-----Avatar
Inglourious Basterds------The Blind Side

They give and they take Spooky.
chrisc20002003 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:29:41 AM

@Digital Desperado & SACdaddy

Really? Who writes a post THAT long?
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:34:45 AM

Avatar can take home every tech-oscar there's, but if it's rewarded with some heavy stuff...well, let us just don't go there.

Good to the some love for D9, and a couple of more noms wouldn't have hurt.

And yes, Moon should've been there. f*cking mongloids running SONY.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:40:32 AM

Congrats to Woody Harrelson on the second Oscar nom of his career! You never hear his name get mentioned amongst the greats in Hollwood, but he's definitely proven that it should be. Pretty good for the pot smokin son of a convicted hitman from Midland, Texas. He's come a long way since polishing bar tops and beer mugs on Cheers.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:43:19 AM

@chris20002003: You're kidding right?
BREALZ writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:45:15 AM

"82st"!! At what grade did you get kicked out of school to write this sh*t?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:45:53 AM

"District 9-----Avatar
Inglourious Basterds------The Blind Side

They give and they take Spooky."

Well as much as I love district 9, I do not think, in any way, shape or form, that it should be nominated for best picture. I think that last year (excluding december) was a great year for movies, independant and studios alike. I think Moon and Watchmen should be up there, and not f*cking Avatar and District 9.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:48:44 AM

Moon and Watchmen's total combined nominations: 0.

surely I'm not the only one who thinks the oscars are sliding downhill into commercial appeal rather than honestly nominating, right?
AYT BALL writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:51:55 AM

chris20002003 dont like readin none too much
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:56:49 AM

@SpookyCupcakes
agreed Moon got ROBBED! i would of been satisfied with at least one nom! Same goes for (500) Days of Summer... but nope Avatar gets everything... f*ck
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:02:52 PM

David Lynch's reaction to the nomination list:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exli6rGldBc
TheHundreds writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:04:02 PM

D9 was great but not the kind of movie that should up for awards. DEFFF not best picture is that list gonna be cut down before they air or what?
Blank x2 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:17:16 PM

Spooky, you or anyone else can answer this, but is Moon worth the hype? I haven't seen it, but I've heard more than a few people say it was by FAR the biggest snub this year. Just wondering if it was really as good as what I hear.


And Avatar will not win anything big. To my knowledge, it hasn't won anything big like picture or director at any other awards show (although it probably doesn't matter), so I don't think we'll have to suffer through it winning picture or director until the MTV awards roll around again, unless they once again are massively overhauled with eleventeen year olds voting for sparkly vampires.


I don't have a clue, but I would like to see:

Picture: Hurt Locker
Director: Kathryn Bigelow
Actor: Jeff Bridges
Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz
Cinematography: Hurt Locker
Original Screenplay: Hurt Locker
Adapted Screenplay: District 9

Everything else....meh.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:22:23 PM

@Spooky: I can't argue with your Watchmen nom, but it and D9 have a similar appeal to me. That fact that Blomkamp put D9 together for a fraction of Watchmen's budget elevates its status IMO.

I haven't seen Moon yet but I've heard nothing but good things. Rockwell's a great character actor!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:23:04 PM

YES! District 9 got a nomination for Best Picture! It frikkin' deserves it too. I perfer it to win. It had one of the best stories of the year. Plus, I love it win the solid, underdog film wins. It's like when "Rocky" beat "Taxi Driver". By the way, has anyone else noticed Martin Scorcese lost out to two boxing movies. He lost to "Rocky" with "Taxi Driver" and then to "Million Dollar Baby" with "The Aviator". I love upsets. Sometimes it shows that politics doesn't always rule the nominations...and other times it does such as the infamous "Shakespeare in Love" win over "Saving Private Ryan". I haven't seen either movie and I could tell "Ryan" was the superior movie.
Blank x2 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:26:36 PM

In my personal opinion, anyone who hasn't seen Saving Private Ryan needs to. Soon.

Private Ryan to me is one of the best movies ever made. The Normandy scene at the beginning? Wow. Best scene ever? Maybe.

And again, anyone who has seen Moon, I'd love to know if it's worth the hype. So many movies fail to live up to their hype, but I've heard a few people say it's amazing.
eddie499 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:27:39 PM

@ Hundreds

I really have to disagree. District 9 is exactly the type of movie that should receive awards. The Oscars have become considerably more commercial over the years and for the most part District 9 is an independent film that not only reached commercial success, but has some significant themes in its storytelling. It's more than just an action flick. People are just going to have to realize that science fiction is one of the best mediums for social commentary and other heavy themes as well as entertainment. You see that heavily in District 9.
weezy208 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:41:28 PM

this sucks the blind side gets nominated but star trek and (500) days of summer gets nothing. (500) days of summer didn't even get original screenplay. the Academy really messed up. the blind side was a OK movie didn't deserve the nomination please tell me it was all a mistake
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:42:05 PM

It was really similar to the part in 2001: a space oddysey, y'know, the part where the plot happened. It was a very, VERY excellent film and I highly recommend it to everybody.

And I know that Blomkamp made it for 30 million, which is mindblowing, but I just can't see it winning best picture. But then again, Slumdog won best picture, so I guess anything can win nowadays.
momong writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:45:51 PM

awesome for monique. district 9 was amazing too but inglorious basterds sucked
eddie499 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:50:08 PM

One more quick post. Congrats to Kathryn Bigelow. She's really moved up in the world since Point Break.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:51:16 PM

I'd really like to see Harry Potter win Best Cinematography. That was something that really struck me with that movie. Beautifully shot.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:02:31 PM

@jeffw1978

What acting??? are you sick, AVATARD, only have reacting no mother f*cker "actor" in AVATARD should be nominated ever, they sucks so much all of them, this Oscar are pure crap!, how you nominated a movie and none of his actor, i am the only thats see this farce!
Cameran buy all the critics on HOLLYCRAP with his 2B$ or what?
BunnyFooFoo writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:06:06 PM

Blank, Moon was great. It didn't try to play cute by making the plot twist a huge secret. As a matter of fact, it's what drives the movie. And Rockwell is brilliant. It's one thing to play by yourself like Hanks did in Castaway but to play by yourself AND opposite yourself is a task. And Rockwell did it effortlessly. To be able to show the dire straits of isolation and the utter confusion of what his character comes to understand and still bring it together in more than one personality was just awesome. I've been a fan of Rockwell's for some time and in that performance, he just showed that he is on pace to TRY to run with the torch Gary Oldman will someday (hopefully no time soon) pass down.
Just his delivery and versatility alone puts him in my top 5. My only knock on him is if he can deliver in a period peice that requires some type of European accent. If anyone has an example eof him pulling this off, please let me know.
But definitely check Moon out. So horribly overlooked thanks to the scrotum clowns at Sony (which I think is the Japanese word for Fox)
Lister writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:17:18 PM

@Spooky

"I think Moon and Watchmen should be up there"

Watchmen sucked. It also failed both critically and financially. So no.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:24:08 PM

Holly-weird is just too f*ckin' impressed with "Avatar" and it's shortcomings. The Oscars is just another way to show the world how impressed with themselves they are.
So, anybody wanna guess who's gonna win big??
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:28:20 PM

@ TRUEMAN - I was saying basically THANK f*ckING GOD Avatard was not nominated in those categories.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:33:20 PM

"Watchmen sucked. It also failed both critically and financially. So no."

YES BECAUSE POPULARITY AND A LOT OF MONEY = MOVIE GOOD.

DUH, HOW COULD I BE SO STUPID! It OBVIOUSLY has nothing to do with whether a movie has plot, character, tension, or ANY of that! what matters is that the movie makes a lot of money and EVERYBODY likes it!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:35:42 PM

It's hilarious that after the general public shouted foul last year when Dark Knight had no Best Picture/Director nod, that they expand to 10. I think it's a joke to be honest. While they're expanding take out A Serious Man and put Moon in there.

Other than that its as Ranger and I (now Peter as well) have said before. Oscars are nothing but pay boosts in the film biz. They lost their credibility a long time ago. Sometimes they'll get some bits right but rarely do they even get half of it.
TheHundreds writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:43:10 PM

@ Eddie

Again I agree it's a great movie but it was just kind of jumbled together and anything that has literaly exploding aliens/people with blood and guts flying every five minutes doesn't exactly scream high brow
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:02:14 PM

"They lost their credibility a long time ago. Sometimes they'll get some bits right but rarely do they even get half of it."

Agreed.
GIST writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:03:42 PM

Come on! Christoph Waltz, I just want the Jew Hunter to win. Then I will make my eggs sunnyside up.
Bonzaitri writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:39:56 PM

Moon and 500 Days of Summer completely snubbed, yet mediocre junk like Avatar and The Blind Side get nominated for nest picture, madness.
Kurskij writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:40:14 PM

renner got a best actor nod. f*ck yeah!
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:55:20 PM

Don't like the Oscars. Not since they gave Actor of the Year to Henry Fonda (of whom I'm a huge fan!)... On Golden Pond wasn't his best work, so they gave it to him because he was snubbed for so many years, they just had to give him one before he died... thus snubbing more deserving actor's that year.

Their snubbing causes a backlog to those that deserved and deserve to win.

I suspect... 'The Hurt Locker.' If Avatar takes it (and I'm not saying it's not deserving), then The Academy is bowing to Cameron's $'s he's raked in for the Industry.

Basterds will probably lose because The Academy doesn't like Pitt. He's (still) too young, good-looking, has given 10's of millions to charity, is too successful, and bangs a really hot (albeit crazy) woman. The dried-up old f*ckers in The Academy can't stand all he is, for it's in their face of what they're not.

So Oscar... suck my d*ck!
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:57:06 PM

Whoops... for clarity...

Didn't mean to say Basterds will lose, I meant Brad Pitt will lose.

They didn't give it to him for Benjamin Buttons (and others), I doubt they'll come clean and give him Actor of the Year (although... I wish they would). They snubbed Cruise like this. He should have won for Born on the 4th of July... snubbed.

So Oscar... suck my d*ck!
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:00:34 PM

And I hope I'm wrong about Pitt losing.
Tizzle writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:07:43 PM

If District 9 and Avatar are nominated for best picture, then where the hell is Star Trek?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:12:48 PM

Wow when 500 Days of Summer gets completely shut out and Michael Stuhlbarg isnt nominated for best actor and Star Trek doesnt get a best picture nom or a best director nom but Lee Daniels and Avatar and District 9 do, thats cause for anger. Avatar just needs to stay winning nothing and there need to be some surprises. To see Jeremy Renner walk home with an Oscar would just be mindblowingly awesome...even though Jeff Bridges is the sh*t, but whatever.
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:25:00 PM

Star Trek again...

Too successful for The Academy to give credit (in this case, like you're saying if D9 and Avatar are nominated). I'll just be the Academy wished they had a Slum-Dog Millionaire sequel to give the Oscar to this year.

Oscar... you suck d*ck!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:29:05 PM

Avatar is on about half of them, and i bet will win all of those half.

several of them where desrving, such as film editing and cinematagraphy ... but best film ... no. District 9 deserves this.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:35:23 PM

I can't decide between hurt locker and district 9 for best film...even though avatard will win it through bribes....Oscars Suck Dandy d*ck!
Spedattack writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:53:02 PM

If District 9 wins best pic cinema will officialy end Avatar needs to win
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:07:54 PM

@Evil. Nice.

Ques:

1. Why didn't you just drive away for the masked, axe-wielding offender instead of confronting him?

2. Was the car door lock broken?

3. Please tell me the person under the mask was Loslag and you really did off her at the side of some country road?!


j-man writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:17:29 PM

chris waltz for best supporting and basterds for best screenplay and best pic (havent seen hurt locker btw)
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:25:29 PM

Q: How many members of the Academy does it take to screw in a light bulb?

A: Depends on when the light bulb was released. If it was before November, none. They won’t even give it a chance to shine.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:32:46 PM

Q: Who will be this year's "Million Dollar Baby"?

A: Ask Angelina Jolie
Tizzle writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:36:50 PM

Just give Jeremy Renner and Chris Waltz an award and I'll be happy. Obviously Fantastic Mr. Fox is going to get screwed over by Up. Why is that movie nominated for best picture. WHY!?
rocko writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:37:15 PM

This year is hurt locker, it's gonna win picture and director. I want renner or clooney to win best actor but it'll probably go to bridges. For actress anybody but bullock or streep. Waltz deserves supporting actor. Supporting actress should go to either farmiga or kendrick but they'll choose mo'nique. If Avatar wins it'll be prove that the awards are rigged.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:38:10 PM

82st? Really Alex? Wow, first horrible rumor stories, now easy grammar errors.
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:59:05 PM

@Blank - agree completely.

Saving Private Ryan is a MUST-SEE!

Jabba_RT writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:11:57 PM

Honestly, why the f*ck would you give UP a best picture nom when it already has a specific category in the animated feature category?

I'm not saying it will win Best Picture (it will win Best Animated), but it does take away a nom for another picture that could have been in the running like Moon or 500 Days of Summer.

Stupid ass academy...
Evil_Disco writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:17:52 PM

@Ranger: Thank you :)

Answers:

1. I've just directed this one and the whole thing was improvised :)

2. Yes. The car door lock was broken at the time.

3. It could be anyone you want, but I choose to say "Yes" on that one! XD

Jabba_RT writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:24:06 PM

Blank and Ranger:

I also agree on Saving Private Ryan. So great. It was just announced for BluRay release in May. Can't wait to hear that in lossless audio. Woofa!
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:30:00 PM

@Evil - you're welcome.

Re: #3... lol.

@jabba - Saving Private Ryan should be required viewing in High School social classes (as should Band of Brothers). Maybe get these people bitching that they didn't get an iPod for Xmas (and assorted whiney sh*t like) that isn't the worst thing that could happen to them.

The Skippy Spartan writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:41:57 PM

I thin Avatar will win the majority of the desgin, CGI, science awards. Not sure about best picture, i havent seen 'The Hurt Locker' but from what i have heard from you guys it is worthy of winning awards!

Best film = District 9
Best Director = Tarantino
Best Actor: Clooney
Best Actress: ?
Best Sup Actress = Pen Cruz
Best Sup Actor = Christoph Waltz

Foop writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:47:00 PM

I'm sorry...there's 5 animated nominees this year and 9 isn't one of them? did I miss something?
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:47:33 PM

I know some don't want to think it works this way... and I know (suspect/hope) Clooney's Telethon was a genuine effort because he cares (hey... how come no one has held a telethon for those f*cked over by Katrina and Bush (FEMA didn't f*ck over Louisiana... their hands were tied with NO cash as it was all going through Bush to Iraq)? Where's the telethon held by Americans FOR Americans?

Anywhore... back to my point...

Clooney holding the Haiti telethon won't hurt his odds for he Oscar (deserving or not... all that charitable stuff counts... even though the Award should just be based on the work WITHIN a film).

$10. says Clooney wins.
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:03:32 PM

But wait! The Academy doesn't like successful, good-looking guys like Pitt and Clooney (that do a ton for charity)... ok, Jeff Bridges it is for the win!
blinkbomber writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:27:02 PM

I'm glad The Messenger got Woody a nom as well as Original Screenplay, but I would've liked to see Ben Foster get some sort of recognition. I really loved The Hurt Locker, but I hope The Messenger wins both is it's noms. I was a very good humanistic drama, the king I hadn't seen in a while. Speaking of which, I still REALLY need to see The Road! :-/
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:31:22 PM

The only one I really care about is seeing Christoph Waltz win for "Inglourious Basterds". His performance was incredible.

The rest of the awards I don't really care too much. Although, I'd like to see "Inglourious" win Best Pic, too. That was my favorite of the Best Pic nominees this year.
MontoyaWA writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:33:10 PM

Wow, can't believe The Road didn't recieve a single nom. I'm certain it was eligible, unless it fell to the same fate as Moon, and wasn't submitted for consideration.
Arlo11 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:15:33 PM

Sam Rockwell in Moon was hands down the best performance of the year!
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:20:10 PM

@Montoya - your post just reminded me...

Although I haven't seen Moon (yet), I remember the article here on WP about Sony (wasn't it?) NOT submitting it to The Academy for consideration (to screw over the lead actor for some reason?).

If true... and it was Sony... Sony, you suck sh*t!
BeCertain writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:24:15 PM

@ Carpen7er
District 9 may be one of the best movies I've EVER seen, on all levels besides acting. Storyline and writing are close to impeccable. I would say if u don't understand why it gets the nod then you may be an idiot. Then again in your post you proved my point...it would be "every year the oscars get WORSE" not "worst" moron.
BeCertain writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:27:43 PM

To all who keep asking about "the road" ..the movie looked pretty..and that's about it. its been universally panned and doesn't deserve sh*t.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:28:13 PM

we already know Sony is sucking sh*t ... just looked at what they did to Spider-man 3 and 4 ...
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:28:38 PM

that was to @Ranger ...
Blank x2 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:32:16 PM

District 9 was good, I just didn't think it was great. Something about the first quarter of the movie that just made it a little too goofy for me. Can't put my finger on it, though.

The CGI in D9 was hands down amazing. I still can't believe they made that movie for 30 million. Like I said, something about the first part just seemed so "meh". Hope nobody hates me, I just didn't think it was the great.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 7:56:09 PM

"I just didn't think it was the great."

I agree with you, but for different reasons. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie as whole, but thats the thing, I ENJOYED it. I wasn't moved by it, I wasn't blown away by it, I just thought it was a good little flick to keep in the dvd collection, definitely not worth best picture.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:00:43 PM

@Spooky-

District 9 i think should get nominated, certainly kicked the crap out of Avatar. it was a great movie with fantastic CGI,original plot and well thought out, it makes my top ten list for sure (if i had such a list)

(PS: i'm not trying to be a douche bag and say you where wrong for thinking it was only okay or anything)
FpJGarcia writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:05:28 PM

If District 9 is up there for best movie Star Trek should be up there as well!
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:05:38 PM

TAKE AVATAR OF THERE INGLORIOUS BASTERDS AND DISTRICT 9 ALL THE WAY.
masKritic writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:07:31 PM

Evil Disco your video was lame sorry buddy i wanted to be honest so you dont get ignorant
jigsaw23 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:07:49 PM

AND I DONT REMEMBER DARK NIGHT GETTING ANYTHING WHEN IT DID SO GOOD.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:17:41 PM

"(PS: i'm not trying to be a douche bag and say you where wrong for thinking it was only okay or anything)"

No no, I understand what you were saying, it was on my top 10 list for a while, but it was my personal 10 best list, not my technically-speaking 10 best list, which is what the oscars used to nominate, technically-speaking best movies, not popular ones.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:21:25 PM

right, i see what you're saying.
ironwoman13 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:38:31 PM

I wish that Bright Star would have been nominated, and by the way i hate Sandra Bullock!
gimple writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:04:34 PM

Bullock has got to win.
CCBlev writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:11:56 PM

Hurt Locker is def best choice this year, but I agree with all the Avatar nods, effects hell yes, everything else hell no. But who gives a sh*t I'll be jacking off to internet porn or f*cking dandys mom while this is on tv, I'll read about in the paper the next day.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:36:31 PM

Monique will win for Precious.
vwkombi writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:46:31 PM

If Avatar wins Best picture, the Oscars lose all credability (and they have very little in the first f*cking place anyway).

Avatar is proof that modern cinema is about pretty pictures and not story-telling.

f*ck the Oscars and f*ck Avatar.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:03:09 PM

vdkombi- some of the awards it deserves, but best film, i don't think so.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:11:58 PM

*sorry,vwkombi not vdkombi.
telur writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:55:10 PM

I bet $1000 avatar will win best picture. who want bet with me?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:46:27 PM

you don't need to bet Telur, because it's just fact.
mas guanteng writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:50:20 PM

come on avatar...
lost_addict writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:03:58 AM

rise of the cobra all the way!
vaodsi writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:31:51 AM

dark horse... hurt locker
best pic
best director
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 1:55:39 AM

@Ted - you know that Sony didn't submit MOON for nomination?

And no Oscar category for Vin to win with gayest avatar - which they could award to his family posthumously after he's consumed by AIDS. It would be the coolest thing ever seen in that trailer park!

vwkombi writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:38:27 AM

@ encoreyourface

Don't take this the wrong way, but i did say
"If Avatar wins Best picture, the Oscars lose all credability (and they have very little in the first f*cking place anyway)".

It deserves any award for effects it gets. But Best Picture, hell no!
encoreyourface writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:40:13 AM

oh, my bad, i thought you meant it didn't deserve ANY awards!
Ranger writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 2:55:29 AM

But Vindy still takes it hard from his Grand-daddy, right?!
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 3:49:02 AM

Spooky, Watchmen is definitely not BP material. And I'm not saying that because it didn't do super exceptionally well (it did do all right if I recall correctly) or because I didn't like it (I found it entertaining), I'm saying it because it's just not that good. There's a reason comic book movies stray from the source material, it's because it doesn't always translate well between the mediums, they stayed too true to it (god I can't believe I'm saying that.)
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:02:51 AM

And the Oscars are sh*t. f*ck Titanic, LA Confidential all the way motherf*cker!!!!
James.Speed writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 4:28:08 AM

Miracle Fish will own Best Live Action Short. Believe me, one of the finest films I've ever seen, feature or short.
PirateDave128 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 6:24:24 AM

Where is a Best Supporting Actress nomination for Diane Kruger? She deserves it more thean Mo'nique.
Everyone thinks its an amazing performance when a comedianne puts on a serious face and "acts" like a bitch when really she was nothing special
telur writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 8:15:47 AM

no robert pattison and zac efron? academy awadrs must be scandal
bill the butcher writes:
on August 16th, 2011 at 7:57:36 PM

best film
The Hurt Locker

best director
Katherine Bigelow

best actor
jeremy Renner

best actress
Gabourey Sidibe

best supporting actor
Woody Harrelson ties with
Stanley Tucci

best supportng actress
Anna Kendrick

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved