WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Sgt. Rock" to Take Place During a Futuristic War

Posted: February 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Sgt. Rock" to Take Place During a Futuristic WarSubmit Comment
Hollywood has been trying to make a big screen adaptation of the "Sgt Rock' comic book for a while. Back in the 1980s, a script was completed and Arnold Schwarzenegger was prepared to play the hero, but everything fell apart. Then just two years ago, Guy Ritchie was set to develop the film with Bruce Willis. That fell apart as well.

Producer Joel Silver claims he knows why the project never got off the ground, and he believes it has something to do with the 1940s setting. As a result, Silver has brought "Sgt Rock" into the future.

"It's a little bit in the future," he explained. "As a war movie, it's not going to be 'where it's been,' it's going to be 'where it's going.' We didn't want to do Iraq, we didn't want to do a contemporary war. We wanted to do a sort of futuristic war. It's pretty strong. Chad St. John wrote the script and we've got Francis Lawrence involved in developing it with us."

He continued: "What we've done is gone back to it and we've done a new draft that actually came in this week. We have a shot at that one now. I feel good about it. That one might happen."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:45:14 AM

mmmmmm i smell aliens
japaninmotion writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:22:57 AM

what? how can you wrong with Nazis? everything is better with them.....maybe even the smurfs.
Eddie writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:27:20 AM

Agreed, you can't go wrong with Nazis. Indiana Jones, Captain America, Hellboy, they all took on those Nazis and it's fun as hell to watch them mow 'em down.
Eddie writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:28:02 AM

Agreed, you can't go wrong with Nazis. Indiana Jones, Captain America, Hellboy, they all took on those Nazis and it's fun as hell to watch them mow 'em down.
Eddie writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:32:01 AM

Sorry about the double posting. Second time that's happened to me. As for Smurfs, aren't they more like communists than nazis?
ChainsawX writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:48:15 AM

I got two words for you joel silver F YOU I understand changes to comic continuity but why call it sgt rock whats the point just call it starship troopers 4: more BS....I loved Sgt Rock as a kid but to take it from the ww2 setting is complete crap
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:16:25 AM

You can't go wrong with Nazis they are fun to watch getting their asses kicked and they were great cooks to!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:01:15 AM

Hey, SAC, what about this one?
Action or war? ehe...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:55:23 AM

mmmmmm i smell stupid
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:02:44 PM

"mmmmmm i smell stupid"

- That was vindy.
rabid writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:29:18 PM

You don't f*ck with Sgt. Rock like that. I won't be seeing this film on general principle.
Why even call it Sgt. Rock if it has nothing to do with the comic book character?
Sinestro writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 12:32:39 PM

One less movie I have to see.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:19:39 PM

Nazi's are aways a good choice. their uniforms always looks good on-screen.

matters how far in the future, if it has aleins then this'll may be a flop.

Nazis putting smurfs into ovens would kick ass, with the new film they deserve it!
Tizzle writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:51:05 PM

Maybe it will be in the future of Pandora... in which the Nazi Alien Regime is killing all the little smurfs. I'd watch that. But I'd root for the Nazis.
Kurskij writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 4:08:41 PM

@ japaninmotion
and that's the way the cookie crumbles
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/39/85247798_a8bc4c9e2c.jpg
Ranger writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 5:01:28 PM

Funny...

Just had movie night with my friend and his wife the other night, saying just then that Nazi's are a must in movies...

@Eddie - I pretty much listed you list.
jdl107 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:23:43 PM

Francis Lawrence? Jesus they could at least try with this thing. Sounds interesting.
warlord writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 7:47:12 PM

WAY f*ck-UP A AWESOME COMIC

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved