WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Miramax on Sale for $700 Million

Posted: February 2nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Miramax on Sale for $700 MillionSubmit Comment
Some of you have heard that Walt Disney Company has closed the doors to Miramax, the studio that the Weinstein brothers founded in 1979 and then sold in 1993 before moving on to found the Weinstein Company.

Initial discussions indicate a price of around $700 million for the Miramax name and its 700-film library, including films like "Pulp Fiction," "Shakespeare in Love," "Chicago," "Kill Bill," "The Queen," "The English Patient," and "No Country for Old Men."

The films in the library have been nominated for more than 200 Academy Awards.

At this point the Weinsteins are not interested in purchasing the company back, but word on the street is that Summit Entertainment may end up being the buyer.

The privately owned studio is full of cash these days thanks to their "Twilight" franchise. But since it's a new company, Summit could use the steady DVD and television-resale income that comes from a big library. Analysts estimate that the Miramax library generates more than $300 million in annual DVD and TV revenue.

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SeWerin writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:03:41 AM

I'll give 2$. Who's with me?!
chrisc20002003 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:36:56 AM

I got some pocket lint
Barney Stinson writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:24:08 AM

I got three-fitty. Take it or leave it.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:10:03 AM

I can see the proper slogan already:

"Buy Miramax, we'll throw in MGM for free!"

The WP community should all put together some spare change and get ourselves our very own film company.

And then, we could approach Jayden Jaymes and have her doing anal for the first time on camera.
Instant success.
SeWerin writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:44:26 AM

You still didn't work that out Peter P.?!?! Damn man, what's wrong with you?!!!
lawman writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 9:58:50 AM

HOW ABOUT 5 BUCKS AND YOU CAN TOUCH MY FEET AND THEN TOUCH MY d*ck!
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:02:19 AM

@ SeWerin:

I've been trying, man, trust me!
The little c*ck tease is playing hard to get!
Blank x2 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:30:34 AM

Wonder if they'll take a check?
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:33:34 AM

700 MILLION? Wasn't that the Weinstein budget for their "snack fund"? Shouldn't it be far less now since their gone??
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:36:17 AM

@Blank x2-Yes, you could use a check. Remember, If you have checks in your checkbook, then you must have money, right?
Loki writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:51:58 AM

Too bad the Kevin smith Films aren't in there. I laugh at d*ck and fart jokes
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:24:12 AM

@PP: Hard to get? Just stick a dollarbill on your pants...no, wait...that's how you get Lohan to do anal.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:33:29 AM

Summit might own 'Pulp Fiction' one day?

Well boys, if this becomes a reality, I will most likely cry like a little man-baby.
Loki writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:39:50 AM

I will trade them the spare key to Volkswagen charocko for it.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:50:05 AM

I have a pack of clorets with 3 pieces left, and some belly button lint
Peter Parker writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:13:43 PM

$700 Million, eh?
Why make "Avatar 2", then? Cameron should just come up with some new bullsh*t to make FOX pay for this, and buy himself a film company.
jeffw1978 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 1:22:27 PM

I will give 4 bucks and the gimp I won in the last auction.
darkraven28 writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:05:42 PM

Harvey Scissorhands!!!!?!?! Rawwwwwsummmmm!!!
GIST writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:45:51 PM

Guys, I just bought Miramax for 7 pesos on Craigslist.
Let's make "BANK BRO!"
I'm also renaming it WIRAWAX.
THE MAD HATTER writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 2:48:53 PM

Yea come on guy we could buy it after "fixing" the White Rabbit's watch] Two days slow, that's what it is.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:01:42 PM

i'm not gonna give anything ... well maybe a used condom covered with lohan stank.
encoreyourface writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:02:02 PM

that's my bid btw.
Kurskij writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:02:53 PM

Ok, fine. I'll take it now, money tomorrow. Deal?
Kurskij writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 3:05:53 PM

sh*t, I've just realised they'll pass for porn-remakes!
"Pulp F(r)iction," "SHAKEspeare in Love," "Chic(k)ago," "Kill Bill," "The Queen," "The English Patient," and "No Country for Old Men."
No country for old men sounds nasty.

THE MAD HATTER writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 6:15:17 PM

smurfette Sucking Balls Yea yea ,your a bad little blue bitch .Suck on my blue ball's . That well be one of are first porns .We will be rich it will be the next big thing in 3D .Just think of all the mindless Avatar fans that want to see more blue ass. c*mING ATTRACTIONS theaters bring you smurf c*m splattering 3d all out smurf f*ck Shh, shh! I think this is the one where pap. smurf sits on his own nuts!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:03:12 PM

hahaha what the f*ck mad hatter? You just, goddamn.
BigFoot writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:10:17 PM

So if Summit buys this can I expect a remake of No Country for Old Men, titled, No Country for Straight Men, where Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner have gay anal sex for the entire movie and sparkle so much it blinds the teenage girls that are all watching it?
Kurskij writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 8:34:40 PM

@Big foot
That's definitely an option for them.
And I do mean for all of them. Take no country for old men, throw in a bit of brokeback mountain, add a mint of twilight boys. and voila! we've got sure bet blockbuster oscar-material on our hands!... and lots of dead tween girls...
BigFoot writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 10:32:31 PM

@Kurskij
what's sad is that oscar material is somewhat true.
If there's aliens out there watching us, they're gonna wonder what the hell happened to our teenage girl population, and then they'll see No Country for Straight Men, and realize that the universe will really end on 12/21/12
*sigh* Hollywood these days....
telur writes:
on February 2nd, 2010 at 11:03:01 PM

even that jew who build moramax won't buy it. summit is stupid
Eben1277 writes:
on February 3rd, 2010 at 12:06:38 AM

PP, that is the greatest idea EVER. Cameron should just bullsh*t Fox into buying him a movie company, f*ckin awesome.
eximius007 writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 12:10:47 AM

buy the company for like $5, rename it to The Better Disney cause we like Jews, and see if you cant sell that
Peter Parker writes:
on February 4th, 2010 at 9:54:02 AM

"The Better Disney"?

Yeah, it's called Pixar.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved